We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

Ocean View Inn

Show Prices
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
1 room
Check In Check Out
Please enter your travel dates to continue
Check Availability
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Professional photos
Ocean View Inn
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"}},"containerClass":null,"scriptFlags":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

62 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
There are newer reviews for Ocean View Inn
See the most recent reviews
Showing 58: English reviews
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 June 2015 via mobile

I never write reviews, but I felt moved to warn others. Unfortunately, most of the othrr negative reviews are accurate even if you are into bed and breakfast and funkiness, the shabbiness, lack of charm, and hostility are outstanding. And the so-called continental breakfast next door was absurd- bagel, toast, or oatmeal, even the "day old " croissant for when... More 

Helpful?
4 Thank Amaranth23
OceanViewInn, Manager at Ocean View Inn, responded to this review

Ruth sorry to read your stay was not to your expectation. Had you notified me, we would have done everything to help you find another property and release you from your reservation with a full refund. The inn is historical and a landmark. Rooms are clean, comfortable with all the amenities of home. With repeat guests returning to stay for... More 

San Francisco, California
Level Contributor
54 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 June 2015

This was the WORST place I ever stayed in this price point- or any price. Please see pics. The room was incredibly shabby and dirty. Pro- it was the only place in the area that was available at the last minute. THAT should have given me a clue. Cons- So many, I don't have all night to write. 2 minutes... More 

Helpful?
3 Thank suz b
OceanViewInn, Manager at Ocean View Inn, responded to this review

Your posting has been reviewed and we hope this response will offer a rounded view. 1. Maintenance personnel was dispatched and repaired your running toilet issue within an hour after your arrival. 2. You were offered a cancellation with a FULL refund when you told me if was too loud for you to sleep at 3:00pm in the afternoon. I... More 

Travellers are raving about these Montara hotels

Te Awamutu, New Zealand
2 reviews
Reviewed 20 May 2015

Although this old house could do with some work, it was a lovely place to stay. The room was huge and very quaint, the bed comfy and the staff were really good. There are a few rules to adhere to but if your there for a quiet time it's no problems. Party house this is not. Watch the showers! Depending... More 

Helpful?
Thank KiwiFeijoa
Adelaide, Australia
Level Contributor
59 reviews
45 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 May 2015 via mobile

We paid nearly $270 for our room and it was certainly overpriced for what we got. The inn is in a nice location with sea glimpses. Our room was very clean, but also shabby. There were iron burn marks on the carpet and the place needs a revamp. The TV is old and we had to reset the cable to... More 

Helpful?
Thank 51traveller
Carmichael, California
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 2 April 2015

I took my family of four on a three day (night) trip to this place,, we had a great time exploring the surrounding beaches, Debbie was firm about the house rules, but that was cool... it is her house..keep in mind that this is not a place to party like a rock star, however, privacy was respected. We cleaned up... More 

Helpful?
Thank Sarah C
Southern California
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 March 2015

Do you like charmingly unique? I sure do, and that is a great way to sum up the Ocean View Inn. It reminded me of the summers of my childhood, when we would visit Grandma and Grandpa in their HUGE house and just run up and down the stairs (which, considering I stayed in the Garden Penthouse, happened often). Even... More 

Helpful?
Thank DramaDrummer
calif
Level Contributor
14 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 February 2015

the room was large and spacious but freezing. if you are ok with non conventional, eccentric atmosphere (I am), then it's a fun unusual place to stay in a very convenient location. Reasonable rates too.

Helpful?
Thank teriblum
Rocklin, California
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 November 2014

I do not recommend this hotel at all. We booked this hotel through Booking.com. We cancelled the room with the policy guidelines because after repeatedly leaving a message at the hotel, they refused to call us back. In fact, we wanted to see if there was room availability for some friends. When our friends had the same issue, we decided... More 

Helpful?
2 Thank Nancy G
OceanViewInn, Manager at Ocean View Inn, responded to this review

What is a cancellation policy? You feel it necessary to write a negative review because you did not adhere to a policy you agreed to both on Booking.com and Ocean View Inn? We are to blame for that? A room was held for you in good faith, you did not show up and you attempted to cancel the same day... More 

Dallas
Level Contributor
17 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 September 2014

We slept in the huge room at the top of the stairs (number 4 I believe) and that was more than enough in terms of space. This hotel definitely shows its age with the floor creaking with nearly every step, the carpet is from way back, but the bathroom did show signs of renovation which was a huge plus for... More 

Helpful?
Thank Yeez
Solihull, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 July 2014

They say a picture paints a thousand words, but the one I saw on the website indicated a charm that was not borne out in reality. Right on Highway 1 with an ocean view which was why I picked it. The ocean view and sunset from the private deck of my penthouse suite on the top floor was obscured by... More 

Helpful?
1 Thank PGG6450

21 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (16)
Viewed
Room/Suite (7)
Viewed
View from Room (3)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (3)
Viewed
Other (3)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (5)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (1)
Viewed
Room/Suite (4)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Montara
14.4 km away
Half Moon Bay Lodge
Half Moon Bay Lodge
#3 of 8 in Half Moon Bay
539 reviews
5.7 km away
Beach House at Half Moon Bay
Beach House at Half Moon Bay
#1 of 8 in Half Moon Bay
835 reviews
7.8 km away
BEST WESTERN PLUS Lighthouse Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.6 km away
Pacifica Beach Hotel
Pacifica Beach Hotel
#4 of 6 in Pacifica
256 reviews
5.1 km away
Oceano Hotel & Spa Half Moon Bay
1.0 km away
The Goose and Turrets
The Goose and Turrets
#1 of 2 in Montara
52 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Beachfront
  • Room Service
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
  • Free Breakfast
About the property
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
  • Beachfront
  • Wheelchair Access
Things to do
  • Restaurant
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Suites
In your room
  • Microwave
  • Air Conditioning
  • Refrigerator in room
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Room Service
  • Free Parking
  • Free Breakfast
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Perfectly situated 20 minutes south of San Francisco between Half Moon Bay and Pacifica on California's beautiful Pacific Coast. Originally built as the first mansion & residence in what then was called Farallon City, our historic property still echoes its turn-of-the-century heritage with its contemporary coastal-inspired decor, specious suites & penthouses with all the comforts of home. All of the inns nine rooms have large shared or private sundecks with ensuite bathrooms. Complimentary WiFi, premium channel lineup with 42" HD flatscreens, free parking and a mouthwatering continental breakfast hosted by Montara Cafe & Bakery. Walk to the Montara State Beach and watch the sunsets. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Ocean View Inn

Address: 8425 Cabrillo Highway, Montara, CA 94037 (Formerly Farallone Inn)
Region: United States > California > Montara
Price Range: $263 - $487 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Ocean View Inn 2*
Number of rooms: 9
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Travelocity, Odigeo and Priceline so you can book your Ocean View Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Ocean View Inn staff and other travellers.
1 question
Ask a question

See all questions (1)

Questions? Get answers from Ocean View Inn staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“All room are newly renovated and great amenities! Don't let outside of building or parking lot deter you.....go in!”
  • Very spacious room!
 of 5 bubbles Jzm0903, 11 Nov 2016 | Read review
“Rooms with the Ocean View Balcony's are great!”
  • Balcony
 of 5 bubbles bellerjeff, 8 Jun 2016 | Read review
“Check out The structure of the building first it's needs repair it's falling apart”
 of 5 bubbles theresaf769, 5 Oct 2015 | Read review
“The outdoor decks are a real treat.”
 of 5 bubbles SamNoir, 3 Oct 2015 | Read review
“Quiet, darker rooms are in the back. South side, you hear the gas station compressor.”
  • The lovely room #9
 of 5 bubbles blueworld356, 19 Jun 2015 | Read review
5 of 5
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay