We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

The Goose and Turrets

Show Prices
GreenLeadersBronze level
Enter dates for lowest prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
We check 200+ sites to find the latest and lowest prices.
Management photos
The Goose and Turrets
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

52 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
There are newer reviews for The Goose and Turrets
See the most recent reviews
Showing 52: English reviews
Friday Harbor, Washington
Reviewed 27 October 2014

A very delightful place to relax. We loved our conversations with Raymond and Emily, always informative and filled with fun stories. Breakfast was never disappointing. If you are looking for modern, posh accommodations, this is not the place for you. If you want a place that is comfortable, peaceful,a place to come and go, this is a nice place. Expect...

 Report
Helpful?
3Thank Jan C
New York City, New York
Reviewed 24 October 2014 via mobile

I went to this b&b to have a relaxing overnight stay while on vacation with my girlfriend. As I was greeted at the place, I asked if they had any toothpaste. The lady came back with a small tube and gave it to me. When I brushed with it I started feeling sick. I looked at the tube and it...

 Report
Helpful?
6Thank Randy12NYC
Reviewed 18 October 2014 via mobile

This is the place where they overcharge your credit card weeks after and they are big fraud inn.sharing credit card details with them is not safe.place itself is remote even people around have not heared about it.owners are creepy at best and I hope trip advisor is socially responsible organisation to let it post and let people save themselves.

 Report
Helpful?
5Thank Agoons
Maggiejake, Owner at The Goose and Turrets, responded to this review

This is the third derogatory review you have posted about a one-night stay. You were charged 1/2 the rate for one night because of a late check out that left the room in such a condition that it could not be re-rented that evening. We regret that the experience was unpleasant for both of us.

San Francisco, California
Reviewed 23 September 2014

My husband and I have stayed at the Goose and Turrets B&B several times. It is our "go-to" place to get away from our "big city" life. The owners are gracious and responsive to our needs, as well as extremely informative re: restaurants in the area. A very nice tea is served in the late afternoon in their pleasant, somewhat...

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank ckaulait
Maggiejake, Owner at The Goose and Turrets, responded to this review

Thank you for your kind review. You seem to understand what we try to do and appreciate that approach. Do come back soon - the garden and greenhouse are flourishing with fresh herbs and veggies. Emily Hoche-Mong

Palo Alto, California
Reviewed 23 September 2014

I'm seeing some of the other reviews for this place and seriously have to question where these people were staying; I found Emily and Raymond to be fantastic in every regard possible. I legitimately felt like a welcomed guest in their house. And what a house! It's funky in all the right ways while still managing to feel cozy and...

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank FreeRangeBiscotti
Maggiejake, Owner at The Goose and Turrets, responded to this review

Thank you for your perceptive review. Yes, the people you identified did travel together and did not ever eat the "cheap food" breakfast. We loved having you here and hope you will return. Goose & Turrets lives in an old building - c. 1907 - and has had many incarnations: from grocery and post office to Spanish American War Veterans...

Half Moon Bay, California
Reviewed 22 September 2014

This very quaint, historical inn provides such a wonderful retreat in a quiet rural community very close to San Francisco. The Inn Keepers, Raymond and Emily, are exceptionally interesting people who really enjoy welcoming their guests and sharing afternoon tea over conversation and discussion. I was also very impressed by the InnKeepers' concerns for food preferences and allergies. The Inn...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank 991vera
Reviewed 15 September 2014

We stayed at this place for one night and I think we made a terrible mistake. We called the owners and told them that we won't be able to attend the breakfast. The next morning the owner came by and yelled at us for not telling them in advance. He insulted us in every way possible. I was so sorry...

 Report
Helpful?
5Thank cksai
Navi Mumbai, India
Reviewed 15 September 2014

The hosts are terrible at best,they will try to intrude your privacy.the food they offer is of lowest quality.since the hotel is remotely located and nobody knows about it in neighbourhood,hosts are weirdos.you may find urself trapped inside.i would not advise anyone to go there.these people change their behaviour when u check out and you Vl be overcharged

 Report
Helpful?
3Thank Amit370
Reviewed 8 September 2014

Very awkward experience , not at all as pictured , outside is pretty run down and over grown . Very musty smell inside . Was told when we arrived breakfast is served promptly at 9 am and coffee not until 8:30 am ( was not out till 8:45) the decor in the clipper room pretty hookie with PVC pipe for...

 Report
Helpful?
5Thank Spost2
Bozeman, Montana
Reviewed 3 September 2014

We spent a long weekend with the goose and turrets in Montero. The hosts were very gracious and accommodated gluten free dietary needs with advanced notice. The property is roughly 100 years old and has migrated from being a municipal building to a private residence. The backyard has enormous hedges that give the property a hobbit-like feel in the back....

 Report
Helpful?
3Thank John K

12 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (7)
Viewed
Room/Suite (1)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (1)
Viewed
Other (5)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (5)
Viewed
Room/Suite (2)
Viewed
Other (3)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Montara
5.0 km away
Beach House at Half Moon Bay
Beach House at Half Moon Bay
#2 of 8 in Half Moon Bay
863 reviews
4.4 km away
Oceano Hotel & Spa Half Moon Bay
7.0 km away
Comfort Inn Half Moon Bay
Comfort Inn Half Moon Bay
#5 of 8 in Half Moon Bay
246 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
13.7 km away
Half Moon Bay Lodge
Half Moon Bay Lodge
#3 of 8 in Half Moon Bay
551 reviews
7.8 km away
BEST WESTERN PLUS Lighthouse Hotel
6.7 km away
Pacifica Beach Hotel
Pacifica Beach Hotel
#4 of 6 in Pacifica
270 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
GreenLeadersBronze level
Room types
  • Family Rooms
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
  • Airport Transportation
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
The Goose & Turrets is an old-fashioned B&B where you are pampered with comfortable beds and generous four-course breakfasts. There is also an afternoon tea of freshly brewed teas from around the world accompanied by savouries and sweets - in a setting of lively conversation. The house was built in 1907 as a grocery, post office, and town hall. After its long and checkered history, the Hoche-Mongs converted it into a bed and breakfast in 1983 and have been welcoming happy guests ever since. It sits in an acre of gardens which contains an Appalachian courting swing, two hammocks, and a bocce ball pitch. Montara Beach is a half-mile walk away as is a terrific Peruvian restaurant with a huge view. Nearby one may fish, kayak, go whale watching, aero-sightseeing, beach combing, hiking, biking, antiquing, shopping in quaint stores at Princeton Harbor and in Half Moon Bay, explore Montara Mountain or go down the coast to Pescadero's famous restaurant and market or continue to Año Nuevo to encounter mammoth elephant seals. On a foggy day, you may choose to just sit by the fire and read and listen to classical music. It's a good place for adventure and for complete lethargy. ... more   less 

Additional Information about The Goose and Turrets

Address: 835 George St., POB 370937, Montara, CA 94037-0937
Region: United States > California > Montara
Price Range: $279 - $303 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — The Goose and Turrets 2.5*
Number of rooms: 5
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline and Hotels.com so you can book your The Goose and Turrets reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Questions? Get answers from The Goose and Turrets staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Hummingbird room!”
 of 5 bubbles 949richardah, 8 Sep 2016 | Read review
“Both owners are pilots. Ask about their travels and they will have wonderful tales to tell. It's such a treat to get away from the hurly-burly of high-tech life. We loved the Demetra Room, with its garden door that opens to the back patio, but it doesn't have a tub.”
 of 5 bubbles fogcellist, 30 Oct 2014 | Read review
“Request private bath.”
 of 5 bubbles JohnK190, 3 Sep 2014 | Read review
“Our favorite is the Goose Room, a very quiet room, and we have also stayed in the Hummingbird room, and been happy there.”
 of 5 bubbles ShelleyC852, 23 Jan 2013 | Read review
“Hummingbird is quite large for $190, Lascaux has the only bed smaller than a queen, Clipper has private bath across the hall. These two are $145.”
 of 5 bubbles ArnieDonna, 4 Nov 2011 | Read review
5 of 5