We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

Americas Best Value Inn- Merced

Show Prices
Enter dates for lowest prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
We check 200+ sites to find the latest and lowest prices.
Professional photos
Americas Best Value Inn- Merced
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

259 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
There are newer reviews for Americas Best Value Inn- Merced
See the most recent reviews
Showing 186: English reviews
Clovis, California
Reviewed 28 February 2013

This stay was a last minute room on the way to our next stop. Booked online, I knew it wasn't four stars but, I am unsure as to why this place is even still in business. Sink and shower had rust all over it. Carpets were damp and sticky. Bed had holes in the duvet and furniture was mixed matched....

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank Mryme
Sonora, California
Reviewed 28 January 2013

I booked this hotel for a friday night in January. It rated okay on hotels.com user reviews, but I wish I would have done my own research. Upon checkin, service wasn't great, but no biggeie, got in the room. Our room wasn't particularly clean, but the worst was the blanket on the bed looked like they had blood on them!...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Crystal K
Mumbai (Bombay), India
Reviewed 10 January 2013

We chose this hotel for our trip to Yosemite Valley. It is one of the best places to relax in Merced after a hike in valley. The proximity of Merced Amtrak stop is also an advantage if you want to take train back to LA.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank lostroadwonderer
abvimerced, General Manager at Americas Best Value Inn- Merced, responded to this review

Short and sweet, I'll take it! Our hotel is very popular for travelers that are visiting Yosemite because of its close proximity to the park. Amtrak is only a few minutes away and many travelers will stay at our hotel, take the bus to Yosemite, and return to the hotel because of the incredible value of staying with us as...

Vancouver
Reviewed 6 December 2012

We've been big fans of this place, thanks to great value, good management and good service, despite an old property. This time, our loyalty was rewarded with an upgrade and we were sent to a suite (so-called), basically a bigger room with a sofa added. Unfortunately, the heating/cooling system didn't work at all, and the shower had no hot water....

 Report
Helpful?
Thank PeterGrant76
abvimerced, General Manager at Americas Best Value Inn- Merced, responded to this review

Well, I have to say, I definitely liked your previous review of our hotel much better. But, these reviews are important and should reflect the quality of travelers stays (good or bad) and help future travelers find there way to safe, clean, affordable overnight accommodations. Obviously we would not have knowingly put you in a room with a defective heater,...

San Francisco, California, United States
Reviewed 19 November 2012

this hotel is great... very clean and very friendly.. the front desk girls are very nice also.. whatever it is u need just ask and u shall receive.. well u know what i mean.. ive actually been coming here soo often they have me on the regulars list lols. everytime i have a problem with the ac they would send...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Thomas N
abvimerced, General Manager at Americas Best Value Inn- Merced, responded to this review

What a great review!!!!! That's a commercial if I ever read one. Even managed to give a good review to the pizza place across the street. We take pride in making all of our guests feel welcome and comfortable and like to see familiar faces walk through our door time and time again. We have so many repeat guests that...

San Jose, California
Reviewed 12 November 2012

Had a great stay at this hotel a couple of weeks ago. The girl at the front desk was very helpful and walked me threw every step on fixing up my wifi ! She also booked my room and everything very fast and made my stay alot less creepy! I believe Her name was Vanessa? The room in which i...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Ray S
abvimerced, General Manager at Americas Best Value Inn- Merced, responded to this review

Service, Service, Service! That's what we advertise and that's what you get. We all appreciate your kind words and are glad you enjoyed every aspect of your stay with us. 5 stars with a recommendation to others always looks good on a review and we all love seeing it. Thank you again for your wonderful review and we'll see you...

Yosemite valley
Reviewed 7 October 2012

Recommended by a friendly worker at the train station this was a lucky find! Large comfy bed and room. Very clean. Walking distance from supermarket, restaurants and Merced transpo which is perfect for a pre yosemite stop over. Friendly and helpful staff especially Jacky who remembered us from our previous stay. We plan to return again.

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Travellingracoon
abvimerced, General Manager at Americas Best Value Inn- Merced, responded to this review

Comfort and Value says it all. Many travelers come through Merced on the their way to Yosemite National Park, and some do so without a specific hotel in mind and entrust local business to direct them to a specific location because they know the area better than anyone else and they know what people recommend and don't recommend. I am...

Chesterfield, United Kingdom
Reviewed 2 October 2012

We were on a three week road trip around California and chose this motel because we wanted a room where we could park outside. I was bit worried about some of the reviews on Trip Advisor but it was cheap so we took a chance and booked for two nights. The receptionist was helpful - she gave us a 10%...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Traveller5247
abvimerced, General Manager at Americas Best Value Inn- Merced, responded to this review

I do apologize again for our error in putting you in the wrong room. Our property sits on almost 2 acres and four buildings so we try to place our guests accordingly based on our occupancy for any given day. You were initially placed on the very far side of the property and that was clearly our screw up :o(...

Ottawa, Canada
Reviewed 4 September 2012

If all you care about is the bottom line, you'll be happy here. If you're expecting the Hyatt, you'll be disappointed. And if you want the Hyatt, then stay at the damn Hyatt. For $50 you get a clean room (okay, the cheaper-by-the-ton carpeting is dingy and needs to be replaced) and breakfast (usual motel fare, but it's palatable), and...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Ryan K
abvimerced, General Manager at Americas Best Value Inn- Merced, responded to this review

Cleanest hotel $50 can buy! Well said,...well said. We are a budget hotel and will always advertise as such. The very worst thing a hotel can do is "over" sell itself creating an atmosphere of potential disappointment for the guest. If you are the Hyatt, then by all means advertise you are a very high end, very high priced hotel....

Oakland, California
Reviewed 28 August 2012

I stayed for one night at this hotel a week ago and was pleasantly surprised by the clean huge room, very comfortable bed and the presence of an actual bathtub. The staff was very courteous and accomodating (I am woman traveling alone and the staff was very sensitive to that), there was ample choice of parking, the room was clean...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Laurie_C32810
abvimerced, General Manager at Americas Best Value Inn- Merced, responded to this review

Clean and Safe and Courteous, that's the way it should be. I am so glad that you gave us a try and had a great experience and will come back again. The best compliment a hotel can receive is a repeat customer and we seam to get a whole lot of them. Staying somewhere away from home is a difficult...

77 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (66)
Viewed
View from Room (1)
Viewed
Dining (2)
Viewed
Room/Suite (13)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (4)
Viewed
Bathroom (4)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (7)
Viewed
Other (35)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (11)
Viewed
Room/Suite (4)
Viewed
Dining (2)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (1)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (2)
Viewed
Other (2)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Merced hotels
3.7 km away
America's Best Inn & Suites
0.6 km away
Budget Inn
Budget Inn
#6 of 14 in Merced
72 reviews
4.8 km away
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Merced
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.6 km away
BEST WESTERN Inn - Merced
3.4 km away
Courtyard Merced
Courtyard Merced
#2 of 14 in Merced
407 reviews
3.6 km away
Rodeway Inn
Rodeway Inn
#5 of 14 in Merced
142 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Pool
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
About the property
  • Wheelchair Access
  • Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Things to do
  • Pool
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Suites
  • Family Rooms
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
  • Airport Transportation
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Laundry Service
  • Multilingual Staff
  • Self-Serve Laundry
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
America's Best Value Inn, is the "Gateway to Yosemite". Americas Best Value Inn is convenient to many local attractions, including Merced Speedway, the Applegate Park Zoo, the Castle Air Museum and Playhouse Merced. We are only a few minutes from the University of California Merced and the Merced Municipal Airport. Merced is about two hours from Yosemite National Park, Monterey Bay, the Pacific Ocean and several fabulous beaches. The nearby Merced Mall will satisfy all shopping needs. Several restaurants and cocktail lounges can be found in the surrounding area. A free breakfast with hot waffles, blueberry bagels, four kinds of cereal, and fresh fruit is served every morning. Guests are invited to swim in the outdoor pool and relax. Business travelers staying with us will be pleased with the free wireless high-speed internet access and access to copy and fax services. All spacious guest rooms come with coffee makers, hair dryers, irons, ironing boards and cable television. Select rooms also feature added amenities like large desks, microwaves, refrigerators and whirlpool tubs. The next time you find yourself in the Merced area, come stay with us and experience our fantastic value and superior service. Our team of professionals will show you why this is the perfect place to call home during your travels. Enjoy the Journey. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Americas Best Value Inn- Merced

Address: 1213 V St, Merced, CA 95341-5630 (Formerly Quality Inn)
Region: United States > California > Merced
Price Range: $68 - $103 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Americas Best Value Inn- Merced 2*
Number of rooms: 92
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Sabre Hospitality Solutions, Hotels.com and Priceline so you can book your Americas Best Value Inn- Merced reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
America`s Best Value Inn Merced Hotel Merced
Quality Inn Merced
Merced Quality Inn
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Americas Best Value Inn- Merced staff and other travellers.
1 question
Ask a question
Questions? Get answers from Americas Best Value Inn- Merced staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Don't eat breakfast at the hotel.”
 of 5 bubbles U1985CCbenr, 10 Nov 2016 | Read review
“Ask for a room close to the pool.”
 of 5 bubbles 245jessee, 29 Aug 2016 | Read review
“Go for a room away from the highway. Very quiet.”
 of 5 bubbles JacMcFar, 28 Aug 2016 | Read review
“choose a room at a different hotel”
 of 5 bubbles D4032YSjamesw, 25 Aug 2016 | Read review
“stay away from the smoking rooms”
 of 5 bubbles NaumzN, 12 Aug 2016 | Read review
5 of 5