We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

Budget Inn

Show Prices
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Professional photos
Budget Inn
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel_streamline","template":"ibex_photo_carousel_streamline__widget","dust":{},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel_streamline","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"moduleList":["handlers"]},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

68 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 51: English reviews
Gotha, Florida
Reviewed 5 days ago NEW

The hotel was clean and the owner/front desk was very helpful. We had a credit card snafu but were able to fix the issue. It was great to sleep in a clean room and bed after 2 days of sleeping on couches because of the flooding in Yosemite. We work there and had to be evacuated.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank nitnoy24
Houston, Texas
Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

We have stayed at the Budget Inn several times. It's a great value for what you get. The rooms are clean. The wifi is free. They make more upgrades all the time and everybody who works there is always so nice and welcoming.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank DnJBell
SUNIL R, General Manager at Budget Inn, responded to this review

Thank you for staying with us. recently .We are glad you enjoyed your stay with us. I will pass the nice compliments to my staff. Once again thank you and we look forward to seeing you again.

Hawkley, United Kingdom
Reviewed 11 November 2016

staff rude, room dirty, breakfast a joke. This was the worst place that I have stayed in ever. the first member of staff we met when we arrived could not be bothered and just didn't want to be there and the one the next morning grunted once and just wanted to play on her phone. the breakfast was a plastic...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Steve W
SUNIL R, General Manager at Budget Inn, responded to this review

We are sorry that you did not enjoy your stay with us recently. Thank you for bringing the issues you encountered on your recent stay. We wish you the best in your future travel plans.

Reviewed 22 October 2016 via mobile

Listen to the other reviews. It is as bad as they say. Dirty and torn sheets, makeup on pillow case, broken shower, hair all over the floor, roof was barely patched from severe water damage, bed was AWFUL and breakfast wasn't really breakfast. Coffee and a cheap pastry. Very unfortunate. I wish we had just stayed in my SUV. 😔

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Ashleigh S
SUNIL R, General Manager at Budget Inn, responded to this review

Thank you taking your valuable time to review your recent stay with us. We do strive to provide clean comfortable rooms and we will look into the issues you mentioned in your review. Wishing you all the best in future travel plans.

Bury, United Kingdom
Reviewed 30 September 2016 via mobile

Hmm ! It was ok, we were passing thru, arrived late and left early. Very basic all round, no in room coffee, fridge, microwave, furniture was a little tatty, small room, bathroom needed replacing but it was clean enough and the most basic breakfast you could get away with in the lobby, coffee, juice and pastries. However the lady on...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Nicky L
SUNIL R, Front Office Manager at Budget Inn, responded to this review

Thank you for staying with us recently. We are glad you enjoyed your stay with us and we do have rooms with microwave and fridge for a small fee . Once again thanks for staying with and look forward to seeing you in the future if you happen to travel through Merced.

Reviewed 12 September 2016

The establishment is old, but if you're looking for a place to sleep for a night and you are on a budget, this may work for you. Its location and surroundings are a bit daunting; however, we came across no troubles during our one night stay. The inn has Denny's across the way, next to it is a Shell gas...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Kanoilani
SUNIL R, General Manager at Budget Inn, responded to this review

Thank you for staying with us recently. We do appreciate your feedback and we will work on the issues mentioned in your review. We do have shampoo and conditioner at front desk available upon request. Once again thanks for staying with us.

Reviewed 31 July 2016

Overall was a good experience for a last minute booking. Nothing to write home about, but certainly nothing to complain about. The free breakfast was a little misleading, as all they had was coffee and prepackaged danishes. Other than that, the room was clean, the staff was very friendly, and I would stay again.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Shawn T
SUNIL R, Front Office Manager at Budget Inn, responded to this review

Thank you staying at our motel. We are glad to hear you enjoyed the stay . We look forward to seeing you again.

San Jose, California
Reviewed 26 July 2016

We paid $100 for a last min booking for a night. We were on our way to Yosemite. Very stingy breakfast - danish and tea/coffee. Be aware that they don't supply shampoo but at least they have a couple of bar soap. The room wasn't that clean and many things were old. However, the front desk lady was very kind...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank mla44
SUNIL R, Front Office Manager at Budget Inn, responded to this review

We are sorry for not for your stay not meeting your to your liking. We do provide coffee ,orange juice and pastries and tea bags daily from 6 am to 9 am and we do provide shampoo at the front desk upon request. Wishing all the best in your future travel plans.

Fullerton, California
Reviewed 3 June 2016

Went on a family vacation to Yosemite. We needed a place to stay after having checked other hotels, which had already been booked up for the weekend. Given that fact that it was a last minute reservation, it was an okay purchase.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank villanilla
SUNIL R, Manager at Budget Inn, responded to this review

It was pleasure to have you stay at our hotel during the long weekend. We look forward to seeing you again and all the best in your future travel plans.

Vista, California
Reviewed 31 May 2016

The grounds were clean and attractive upon arrival. The manager was friendly and personable upon check-in. The room was very clean, quiet and had provided all the toiletries and towels we needed. The location was convenient to both highway 99 and easy access to downtown and the university.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Tawn1219
SUNIL R, General Manager at Budget Inn, responded to this review

Thank you for staying with us recently . We are glad to hear to you enjoyed staying with us. We looking forward to seeing you again and wish all the best in your future travel plans .

15 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (5)
Viewed
Other (5)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (10)
Viewed
Room/Suite (3)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (1)
Viewed
Other (6)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Merced hotels
0.6 km away
Americas Best Value Inn- Merced
4.2 km away
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Merced
3.0 km away
BEST WESTERN Inn - Merced
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.1 km away
America's Best Inn & Suites
4.2 km away
Hampton Inn & Suites - Merced
2.8 km away
Courtyard Merced
Courtyard Merced
#2 of 14 in Merced
404 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
About the property
  • Wheelchair Access
  • Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Smoking rooms available
In your room
  • Air Conditioning
  • Microwave
  • Refrigerator in room
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
  • Multilingual Staff
  • Self-Serve Laundry
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
We are centrally located in city of MERCED right off the Highway 99 for easy access with FREE WI-FI and onsite laundry facilities for guest use with 24 hr staff AT FRONT DESK.WE ARE LOCATED CLOSE TO DINING PLACES -MC DONALD'S AND DENNY'S OPEN 24 HRS. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Budget Inn

Address: 1215 R St, Merced, CA 95341-5869 (Formerly Vagabond Inn Merced)
Region: United States > California > Merced
Price Range: $68 - $72 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Budget Inn 2*
Number of rooms: 76
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity and Priceline so you can book your Budget Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Vagabond Hotel Merced
Merced Vagabond Hotel
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Budget Inn staff and other travellers.
1 question
Ask a question
Questions? Get answers from Budget Inn staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“give it a wide berth”
 of 5 bubbles D505KEstevew, 10 Nov 2016 | Read review
“Ask for the wifi password”
 of 5 bubbles shawnt649, 30 Jul 2016 | Read review
“Rooms that face the pool are very quiet.”
 of 5 bubbles D1668NStonyp, 16 Apr 2016 | Read review
“Ask for a room facing away from highway.”
 of 5 bubbles Biztrav57, 24 Mar 2016 | Read review
“The office side is quiet. Away from Dennys and the 99 freeway”
 of 5 bubbles U9697EUmikeh, 21 Mar 2016 | Read review
5 of 5
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay