We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Avenue Hotel

Traveller (126)
Room & Suite (268)
Dining (21)

About

Location
Cleanliness
Service
Value
Property amenities
Free High Speed Internet (WiFi)
Breakfast included
Dry Cleaning
Non-smoking hotel
Wheelchair Access
Room features
Air conditioning
Non-smoking rooms
Good to know
HOTEL CLASS

Location

Full view
52Somewhat walkable
Grade: 52 out of 100
84Restaurantswithin 1 km
8Attractionswithin 1 km
Neighbourhood
Hollywood
Hollywood undoubtedly conjures up images of movie stars and high-end lifestyles, and to this day, tourists flock here from around the world to see the iconic Hollywood Walk of Fame, Chinese Theatre and to catch a glimpse of the famed Hollywood sign up close. Celebrity impersonators and crowds give these areas the feeling of an amusement park while many clubs and hotels fill up around the weekends for late-night partying - the Hollywood club scene is a haven for thumping music and table-side bottle service. But parties aren’t the only way to enjoy this area, many visitors come to the neighborhood to sit back with a picnic to watch a performance at the Hollywood Bowl and those looking to stay fit trek along nature trails in the Hollywood hills and in Griffith Park.
Read more
See all nearby hotels
274Reviews
456Photos
9Q+A
35Room tips
Traveller rating
  • 38
  • 93
  • 54
  • 41
  • 48
Time of year
Traveller type
Language
  • More languages
  • Filter
  • English
Popular mentions
Stayed here 3 weeks ago on February 7-10. I’m glad I did not end up coming alone because I have never felt so unsafe. Could not find the hotel entrance as I arrived late at night. Tried calling the hotel several times but no one was answering. Finally went into the gas station
Read more
Response from GuestXperienceTeam, Guest Relations Manager at Avenue Hotel
Responded 1 week ago
Dear Guest, Thank you for taking the time to share your review. We apologize profusely for the inconvenience and upset our renovations caused you while we make improvements for our guests. We are so sorry you experienced less than satisfying service during your visit. We apologize for your unpleasant stay as a result of the concerns you describe. It is important for all of our guests to feel welcomed, receive the highest level of service, respect, and hospitality. We would love the opportunity to redeem ourselves with you, should you choose to stay with us again. Best Regards, Customer Care Team Avenue Hotel
Read more
Jackhammering on hotel property immediately outside my window started at 7 AM was an amazing natural alarm clock. Rode elevator to lobby to complain since they wouldn't answer lobby phone (probably because everyone complaining). Got there and told so sorry. Elevator broke down
Read more
Response from GuestXperienceTeam, Guest Relations Manager at Avenue Hotel
Responded 3 weeks ago
Dear Guest, We appreciate your feedback - thank you for taking the time to leave us with comments about your recent stay. It's unfortunate that you did not seem to have experienced the usual level of satisfaction that other guests have but thanks for pointing out the things that we can improve on. We are sorry for the disturbance caused by the renovations - we can try to assign a quieter room for you next time. We hope you consider staying with us again the next time you are in the area. Best Regards, Customer Care Team Avenue Hotel
Read more
I arrived here last night and found it hard finding the place, the whole front area was under construction like reception was dry wall with plastic over windows. The entrance was through dingy dark car park. It’ll put ubcer driver was reluctant to drop us off and told us not to
Read more
Response from GuestXperienceTeam, Guest Relations Manager at Avenue Hotel
Responded 29 Jan. 2019
Dear Lynn, We are sorry to read your review of our hotel. While it is somewhat discouraging, feedback such as yours helps us to improve upon our service. We will take all of your observations in relation to our property and attempt to make several improvements for the enjoyment of our future guests. Thank you for your feedback. We really appreciate it. Best Regards, Customer Care Team Avenue Hotel
Read more
The hotel staff were wonderfully accommodating with our situation from another hotel. The surrounding area is absolutely questionable though crime doesn't have a zip code. We didn't have any other option for food so we went to the Dennys across the way. Ended up having
Read more
Response from GuestXperienceTeam, Guest Relations Manager at Avenue Hotel
Responded 28 Dec. 2018
Dear Guest, We are sorry to read your review of our hotel. While it is somewhat discouraging, feedback such as yours helps us to improve upon our service. We will take all of your observations in relation to our property and attempt to make several improvements for the enjoyment of our future guests. Thank you for your feedback. We really appreciate it and hope we will have the opportunity to host you more successfully in the future. Best Regards, Customer Care Team Avenue Hotel
Read more
Very nicely done rooms and recently renovated. Location is a bit iffy but I think there is a discount prices into the rooms accordingly. Don’t anticipate many long walking trips from here. Breakfast is definitely continental so expect some toast, cereal and average coffee but
Read more
Previous
Album Categories
All photosTravellerRoom & SuiteDining
7 AM Jackhammering! Very exciting. You're probably thinking you won't hear it if you stay here. You will.
Professional photo exclusively commissioned by TripAdvisorAvenue Hotel
The King Suite at the Comfort Inn Near Universal Studios Hollywood
Professional photo exclusively commissioned by TripAdvisorAvenue Hotel
The Jacuzzi King Room at the Comfort Inn Near Universal Studios Hollywood
Professional photo exclusively commissioned by TripAdvisorAvenue Hotel
The Vaulted Ceiling Double Queen Room at the Comfort Inn Near Universal Studios Hollywood
Professional photo exclusively commissioned by TripAdvisorAvenue Hotel
The King Suite at the Comfort Inn Near Universal Studios Hollywood
PreviousNext
12345654
Does your hotel offer shuttle services to Universal Studios, the airport or both?
I don't work here... Just a traveler with a Very bad experience. I can guarantee that this sad excuse for a hotel does not offer anything.
1 vote
It is a basic hotel, good value for money, it offers the basics that a traveller needs. My daughter and I walked from the hotel up the road, turned left and walked a few block (no more than 10 minutes) and we were on Hollywood Boulevard / Walk of Fame, I can certainly recommend it. The Hop On Hop Off bus can be picked up there too.
0 votes
Show all answers
Is there parking available?
Yes there is covered parking and if that runs out, there are a few (6?) spaces in an upper level. I believe they charged a fee of $8. The overflow parking is reached by going around the corner and up an alley way, but it is gated for security. If you will be returning late, like we were, I recommend that you check out the overflow parking in the daylight. Hope this helps!
0 votes
PreviousNext
12
"Bring industrial noise cancelling headphones and elephant tranquilizers"
"rooms are dirty"
"stay away!"
"The rooms have been renovated. They could be nice. So many design flaws. A/C works well"
"top floor..."
PreviousNext
1234567
PRICE RANGE
USD 129 - USD 250 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
ALSO KNOWN AS
comfort inn near universal studios hollywood hotel los angelescomfort inn los angeleslos angeles comfort inn
FORMERLY KNOWN AS
Comfort Inn Near Universal Studios Hollywood
LOCATION
United StatesCaliforniaLos AngelesHollywood
NUMBER OF ROOMS
68
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more. Claim Your Listing