We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

The Milner Hotel Downtown Los Angeles

Show Prices
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for lowest prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
We check 200+ sites to find the latest and lowest prices.
Professional photos
The Milner Hotel Downtown Los Angeles
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

144 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 107: English reviews
Reviewed 5 days ago NEW

We did a room block at The Milner for the night of our wedding. We got a good price on the rooms and the location was great; just a few blocks away from our venue. The rooms were a little small, however, I think we got upgraded because we were the newlyweds ;) There was one issue with one of...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Krystal P
Greg K, General Manager at The Milner Hotel Downtown Los Angeles, responded to this review

Thank you for your review. I am happy that the staff was able to accommodate your guests. We hope to see you again during your next visit to Los Angeles.

Bakersfield, California, United States
Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

We have the extraordinary opportunity to attend an awards show in LA so we decided to stay here at the Milner hotel in downtown Los Angeles. we booked a regular room and when got here a little before regular check in time the staff was super nice and checked us in early l. upon arriving in a room there was...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Kyle B
Greg K, General Manager at The Milner Hotel Downtown Los Angeles, responded to this review

Thank you for your review. I am happy that Edmund was able to find another room and upgrade for you. Issues do come up occasionally that requires that special touch. Edmund is a great manager and I will let him know of your review. We hope to see you again during your next visit to Los Angeles.

Jersey City, New Jersey
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

We loved The Milner, we live in NYC/DTJC, but both of us lived/worked in DTLA in the late 90's. This is not a cookie cutter hotel, but a trip back in time, quirky, spacious and grand. The location is incredible, parking the rental car next door was easy and inexpensive. The bed was warm and soft, the room sparkled (we...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank greatamazingdeal
Greg K, General Manager at The Milner Hotel Downtown Los Angeles, responded to this review

Thank you for your review!! We LOVE to hear from our guests, and we are so happy that you enjoyed your stay. I apologize for the TV, microwave and fridge. Perhaps when we finish our renovation, we'll get that 5th star. Hope to see you soon.

Dayton
Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

This place is exactly what I expected. It is an older hotel at a great price. If you are looking for modern and upscale, go away. If you are looking for a clean place at a good price in LA, stop here because you aren't going to get any better. I stayed here a week and would definitely stay here...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Postalblue2010
Greg K, General Manager at The Milner Hotel Downtown Los Angeles, responded to this review

Thank you for your review. We enjoy hearing positive comments from our guests. Our staff does a great job keeping it clean and the pub is a fun place to wind down. We hope to see you again during your next visit to Los Angeles.

Italy
Reviewed 14 December 2016 via mobile

This hotel is very old so the rooms are not great, I didn't' understand it by the pictures. The room is clean but not great comfort. The breakfast is included but is so sad, the dining room is squalid. There is a pub behind the front desk, so the hotel is populated by unsavory people. All very poor.

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Ceschina1985
Greg K, General Manager at The Milner Hotel Downtown Los Angeles, responded to this review

Thank you for your review. I am sorry you did not feel comfortable at the hotel. Most of the guests staying here are from all parts of the world, and most extremely nice. The pub is generally filled with very friendly patrons. Our complimentary 'continental breakfast' has: Fresh fruit, hot and cold cereal, Danish, muffins, bagels, toast, 4 juice choices,...

Saskatchewan
Reviewed 6 December 2016 via mobile

Stayed here for one night. We just needed a clean bed and a shower. Bed was clean and comfortable. Had great difficulty getting hot water for shower. Shower wall looks like it is ready to cave in. Couldn't open bathroom door very wide because it hits bed. Street noise very loud all night. Bathroom was clean. Rugs and walls dirty...

 Report
Helpful?
3Thank SaskFolks40
Greg K, General Manager at The Milner Hotel Downtown Los Angeles, responded to this review

Thank you for your review. I am happy that you had a clean comfortable bed to sleep in. I will look into the other issues you mention. If you are in Los Angeles again, please give us another chance and we will make sure your stay is perfect. Your comments help us to do a better job.

Eugene, Oregon
Reviewed 29 November 2016

I only stayed for one night, but it was affordable, everything was clean, and the front desk staff were very accommodating. The two employees who helped me were Nataly and Melissa, and both were very cordial, considerate, and informative about places I could get a good meal. I highly recommend the location for its convenience to other downtown establishments.

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank noscreennamedesired
Greg K, General Manager at The Milner Hotel Downtown Los Angeles, responded to this review

Thank you for your review. We are happy enjoyed your stay with us. Cleanliness and friendliness is very important to us. I will give Nataly and Melissa a job well done especially. Thanks again and we hope to see you during your next visit to Los Angeles.

Brussels, Belgium
Reviewed 29 November 2016

I was very happy with my stay at the Milner. It's a budget option that combines a basic room with an absolutely fantastic location. The rooms could do with a facelift, but to be honest, I'm bored of staying at characterless Hiltons and DoubleTrees, and this has much more character. The check-in staff are efficient. The breakfast is not great...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Nick J
Greg K, General Manager at The Milner Hotel Downtown Los Angeles, responded to this review

Thank you for your review. We always appreciate all comments from our guests. We are scheduled for a major renovation very soon, and we hope you come and visit us again the next time you are in Los Angeles.

London
Reviewed 26 November 2016 via mobile

Stayed at this hotel last week. Got what I thought was a great deal but please read below carefully: 1. At checkin they wanted a credit card for a security deposit etc I provided a card. 2. At checkout it was paid with a different card. I find now cleared charges on BOTH credit cards for the same stay. $329.67...

 Report
Helpful?
3Thank kawoh
Greg K, General Manager at The Milner Hotel Downtown Los Angeles, responded to this review

Thank you for your review. All comments help us to serve you better. I understand your concern about your c/c charges and after looking into it, I see that you guaranteed your stay with one card, which we had to pre-authorize, and you paid for your stay with another. Depending on your banking institution, the funds from the original card...

South Coast, Australia
Reviewed 25 November 2016

A tired old lady for sure but the central location over ride any objections, Probably in original condition and overall a very dark atmosphere which is brightened up by the staff. Rooms quite nice though dated. However for the price, don't be too fussy. Very popular with travellers and seemingly always busy. We returned to Los Angeles a few days...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Kaalo
Greg K, General Manager at The Milner Hotel Downtown Los Angeles, responded to this review

Thank you for your review. Yes, the old lady is dated, but we are planning a major renovation in the near future and we hope that you visit us again during your next visit to Los Angeles. I will pass along your compliments to our friendly staff.

314 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (53)
Viewed
Room/Suite (5)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
Dining (7)
Viewed
View from Room (1)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (4)
Viewed
Other (35)

TripAdvisor Photos: Professional photos exclusively commissioned by TripAdvisor

Viewed
All TripAdvisor Photos (237)
Viewed
Amenities (4)
Viewed
Double Room (30)
Viewed
Economy Room (26)
Viewed
Economy Twin Room (24)
Viewed
Queen ADA Room (24)
Viewed
Dining (6)
Viewed
Standard Room (25)
Viewed
Suite (33)
Viewed
The Hotel (44)
Viewed
Twin ADA Room (21)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (24)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (16)
Viewed
Bathroom (2)
Viewed
Room/Suite (4)
Viewed
Dining (2)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Los Angeles hotels
Downtown
Stillwell Hotel
Stillwell Hotel
#211 of 347 in Los Angeles
77 reviews
Downtown
O Hotel
O Hotel
#137 of 347 in Los Angeles
424 reviews
Historic Mayfair Hotel
#238 of 347 in Los Angeles
433 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Downtown
The L.A. Hotel Downtown
The L.A. Hotel Downtown
#55 of 347 in Los Angeles
959 reviews
Downtown
Luxe City Center Hotel
Luxe City Center Hotel
#32 of 347 in Los Angeles
1,014 reviews
Downtown
Millennium Biltmore Hotel Los Angeles
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Staying in Downtown

Neighbourhood Profile
Downtown
Downtown Los Angeles is a busy metropolis of towering buildings, bustling streets, and industrial warehouses. There is a distinct multiplicity of cultures here with a growing influx of business professionals and hipsters. Many call the evolution of Downtown over recent years gentrification. New lofts, bars, hotels and restaurants are popping up regularly. Downtown is home to some of the very best restaurants in the city leading the LA foodie scene, plus it is the location of cultural and sports venues including the Walt Disney Concert Hall, the Staples Center, and the Coliseum at the University of Southern California.
Explore this neighbourhood

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Breakfast included
About the property
  • Wheelchair Access
Things to do
  • Bar/Lounge
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Smoking rooms available
  • Accessible rooms
In your room
  • Air Conditioning
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Public Wifi
Services
  • Breakfast included
  • Multilingual Staff
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
The Milner Hotel Downtown Los Angeles, formerly the Ritz-Milner, offers comfortable and affordable accommodations just moments from some of downtown LA's top attractions including the Staples Center, and more. Guests can enjoy complimentary breakfast daily, free Wi-Fi in their guest room, and access to the local favorite hangout, The Backdoor Pub. ... more   less 

Additional Information about The Milner Hotel Downtown Los Angeles

Address: 813 S Flower St, Los Angeles, CA 90017-4607
Region: United States > California > Los Angeles > Downtown
Price Range: $180 - $313 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — The Milner Hotel Downtown Los Angeles 3*
Number of rooms: 135
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, DerbySoft Ltd Shanghai HQ Supplier Direct, Travelocity, Booking.com and Orbitz so you can book your The Milner Hotel Downtown Los Angeles reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ritz Milner Los Angeles
Hotel Ritz Milner
Ritz Los Angeles
Los Angeles Ritz
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from The Milner Hotel Downtown Los Angeles staff and other travellers.
13 questions
Ask a question

See all questions (13)

Questions? Get answers from The Milner Hotel Downtown Los Angeles staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Go for a higher floor”
 of 5 bubbles NickJ_12, 29 Nov 2016 | Read review
“As the elevator makes a strange noise when it crosses 9th/ 10th floors, it is better to get a room below floor 9.”
 of 5 bubbles PTG1976, 4 Nov 2016 | Read review
“Maybe higher floors are better.”
 of 5 bubbles H5090AFcarlosg, 25 Oct 2016 | Read review
“There might be some traffic, so better to choose a room looking at the yard&alley and from a higher floor.”
 of 5 bubbles Almari76, 8 Aug 2016 | Read review
“Do not get a king suite, your paying extra for absolutely nothing!!!”
 of 5 bubbles jendawn74, 8 Aug 2016 | Read review
5 of 5