We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

Scripps Inn

Show Prices
Certificate of Excellence
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
1 room
Check In Check Out
Please enter your travel dates to continue
Check Availability
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Professional photos
Scripps Inn
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

291 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 281: English reviews
Calgary, Canada
Level Contributor
26 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 week ago

We just spent one night at Scripps Inn but there was big surf that we could hear all night in our room and it was great. The room itself was fine: large, very clean and comfortable. We were in room #3 which is on the ground floor in the back and probably not the best but definitely OK. We booked... More 

Helpful?
Thank Duncank60
Bryce N, General Manager at Scripps Inn, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to share your feedback here. I am glad you enjoyed your time with us and look forward to welcoming you back! I apologize about the mix up with the room upgrade options. I am uncertain who you worked with but will review the process with everyone here. If an upgraded option was available it... More 

Griswold, Connecticut
Level Contributor
131 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

This is a charming boutique hotel right on the water in La Jolla.  At night I could hear the waves crashing on the shore. A leisurely walk along Coast Blvd goes right along the waterfront, passing seals and sea lions.  The room is beautifully decorated in soothing colors.  The bed and pillow were comfortable.  The bathroom was roomy and clean. ... More 

Helpful?
Thank cjyap
Bryce N, General Manager at Scripps Inn, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to share your feedback and experience. It was a pleasure to have you here and I am happy that you enjoyed your time with us. I will be sure to pass along the notes to the entire staff. Please let any of us know if we can ever help with future travel plans to... More 

Colchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
31 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

We had room 11 which is large, has a comfortable bed, table and chairs and nice bathroom. The couple running it are helpful and happy to suggest places to eat and visit. Breakfast is basic and is collected from the foyer and eaten in your room or on the balcony overlooking the sea. The price does hike up when adding... More 

Helpful?
Thank John V
Bryce N, General Manager at Scripps Inn, responded to this review

I am happy to hear that you had an enjoyable experience with us and appreciate you taking the time to share your feedback. Room #11 is one of our favorites! Please let any of us know if we can ever help with future travel plans to La Jolla. More 

Saint Louis
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Consider yourself warned if you stay at Scripps: No one is on the premises after 6PM, and there is no live person to call by phone (only a voicemail recording). I learned this the hard way. I arrived in the morning and my room was not ready, which was not surprising, but I had to get to an all day... More 

Helpful?
1 Thank NeuroTravelerDad
Bryce N, General Manager at Scripps Inn, responded to this review

Thank you again for taking the time to speak with me the other day regarding this experience. What happened to you is fortunately not a common experience, in fact in my 2.5 years here this is a first...but that doesn't at all discount the fact that it happened. We do have a process in place that should have prevented this... More 

Dunsmore, England
Level Contributor
221 reviews
68 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 154 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

It is so pleasant to stay somewhere smaller with personal advice and service. Our room had a table and chairs as well as a seating area. We had a very comfortable bed and sea views. The coffee machine in the room is a plus and the ability to get a croissant or Danish pastry and orange juice in the morning... More 

Helpful?
Thank BindiB
Bryce N, General Manager at Scripps Inn, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to share your feedback here. I am happy to hear you enjoyed your time with us! Sorry about the shower curtains :-) Unfortunately your observation is mostly correct...most hotels don't have the glass doors, but I am happy to hear that the curved shower rod helped out. If any of us can assist with... More 

Level Contributor
32 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

Definitely recommend: right across from the beach (once I got to La Jolla I learned that nothing is *on* the beach); walkable to downtown La Jolla, Childrens Pool, La Jolla Cove, etc. but is a little outside that zone (very quiet at night); lovely room (and we had a kitchen and a little patio in 5!); and great service by... More 

Helpful?
Thank Reijen
Bryce N, General Manager at Scripps Inn, responded to this review

It would be our pleasure to welcome you back. Thank you for taking the time to share your feedback and notes about La Jolla. There is a lot to do in the area and like you mentioned, we are an easy walk to all of it. Have a great week...please come back and see us soon! More 

Newcastle upon Tyne, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
93 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 October 2016 via mobile

We loved this place so much we came back within a week! We had a single night stay en route to somewhere else and were bowled over by the fabulous location, immaculate rooms and friendly welcome. We needed a last night stay before heading back to the airport and decided to come back. Just writing this review watching the sunset... More 

Helpful?
Thank obefee
Bryce N, General Manager at Scripps Inn, responded to this review

The upgrade was our pleasure. It was great to welcome you back and we hope to have the chance to do so again soon! Thank you for taking the time to share your thoughts here! More 

New York
Level Contributor
20 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 October 2016

Do not even consider any place else to stay. Everything about Scripps Inn was A++++, from the staff who were so friendly and helpful, to the rooms which were spacious and immaculately clean. They were nice enough to upgrade us to a suite which was so appreciated. Perfect location; about a ten/fifteen minute walk from most of the shops/restaurants in... More 

Helpful?
Thank DH2770
Bryce N, General Manager at Scripps Inn, responded to this review

And we can't wait to welcome you back! Thank you for taking time to share your comments. I will be sure that the entire Scripps Inn team see the A++++ rating! More 

Minot, North Dakota
Level Contributor
20 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 October 2016 via mobile

We started off our first California vacation by staying 2 nights here at Scripps! First impressions were beyond belief. Both the Inn and it's location were incredible. We had planned to spend the final 4 nights in LA, but we decided to stay in Lo Jolla and were able to get our final 2 nights at Scripps once again! We... More 

Helpful?
Thank wmichflyboy
Bryce N, General Manager at Scripps Inn, responded to this review

We were very happy your plans worked out and we were able to see you again during your trip. I am excited to hear that this will become a new tradition. All of us here enjoyed having you with us and can't wait to see you again! I will be sure to pass along your feedback to the entire staff... More 

Level Contributor
3 reviews
Reviewed 18 October 2016 via mobile

Very accommodating staff with great ideas of places to walk to... the Inn does look at the water and you can walk everywhere... the Inn has been updated with contemporary furnishings. Great pictures of the coast!

Helpful?
Thank Diane B
Bryce N, General Manager at Scripps Inn, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to share your experience here! It was our pleasure to welcome you and we all hope to have the chance to see you again! More 

122 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (113)
Viewed
Room/Suite (20)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (22)
Viewed
View from Room (12)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (11)
Viewed
Other (47)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (9)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (4)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (1)
Viewed
View from Room (1)
Viewed
Room/Suite (2)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these La Jolla hotels
0.6 km away
Pantai Inn
Pantai Inn
#1 of 24 in La Jolla
708 reviews
0.7 km away
La Valencia Hotel
La Valencia Hotel
#5 of 24 in La Jolla
1,041 reviews
0.5 km away
Grande Colonial La Jolla
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 km away
Empress Hotel
Empress Hotel
#3 of 24 in La Jolla
765 reviews
2.3 km away
La Jolla Shores Hotel
La Jolla Shores Hotel
#10 of 24 in La Jolla
900 reviews
0.3 km away
Inn by the Sea
Inn by the Sea
#13 of 24 in La Jolla
750 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Beachfront
  • Free Breakfast
About the property
  • Beachfront
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
Room types
  • Suites
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
In your room
  • Microwave
  • Refrigerator in room
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Free Breakfast
  • Multilingual Staff
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Nestled along the shores of Southern California's pristine beaches, Scripps Inn is a charming 14 room inn that offers up one of La Jolla's best kept secrets. A favorite hideaway for both relaxation and romance, we provide stunning ocean views, gentle sea breezes and the relaxing sounds of the rolling surf. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Scripps Inn

Address: 555 Coast Blvd., La Jolla, San Diego, CA 92037
Region: United States > California > San Diego > La Jolla
Price Range: $271 - $529 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Scripps Inn 3.5*
Number of rooms: 14
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets, Odigeo, Priceline, Travelocity and Jetsetter so you can book your Scripps Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Scripps Hotel La Jolla
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Scripps Inn staff and other travellers.
3 questions
Ask a question

See all questions (3)

Questions? Get answers from Scripps Inn staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“A room on the second floor won't have anyone above you.”
  • Our room
 of 5 bubbles cjyap, 16 Nov 2016 | Read review
“Don't stay in room with other rooms above, go top floor or single story rooms”
 of 5 bubbles mtwnix, 31 Aug 2016 | Read review
“Location is perfect”
 of 5 bubbles BarbaraPhilly, 8 Aug 2016 | Read review
“Choose room no. 12 with the best view”
 of 5 bubbles 846kennethl, 27 Jul 2016 | Read review
“It's hit or miss. If they rent to jerks you are stuck. Go to best western.”
 of 5 bubbles jamespT5356KQ, 4 Jul 2016 | Read review
5 of 5
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay