We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

Apple Tree Inn

Show Prices
Enter dates for lowest prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
We check 200+ sites to find the latest and lowest prices.
Professional photos
Apple Tree Inn
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

45 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
There are newer reviews for Apple Tree Inn
See the most recent reviews
Showing 45: English reviews
Sedona, AZ
Reviewed 9 January 2016

Extremely overpriced motel not an Inn. Yes, we stayed over the New Year's weekend, but $160 a night was outrageous for the quality. It seemed clean enough, except for the comforter and shams, which I wouldn't want to touch. The bathtub paint was peeling and the tub spout was a capped off pipe. There was a funky wooden box over...

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank redrocker
jamalie, Guest Relations Manager at Apple Tree Inn, responded to this review

Thank you for your review. We have recently remodeled our rooms. Our rates fluctuate based on the time of year and occupancy.

San Diego, California
Reviewed 3 January 2016

We were in one of those situations where we needed a pet friendly hotel right NOW, and unfortunately, chose this dump! We were in unit #2 on a Tuesday night and spent $162. Even at $89, we would have felt overcharged. The pictures will explain a lot. We are not travelers who need a lot of accommodations or fluff, but...

 Report
Helpful?
4Thank John D
Reviewed 1 November 2015 via mobile

Very clean and comfy. We stay here every time when visiting family. Sure, it's not updated but that's part of the charm. Nice pool area. Lots of little shops and places to eat within walking distance. Also, you avoid the crowds in downtown Julian. It's a great little place to stay. Very quiet and peaceful.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Leslie K
Reno, Nevada
Reviewed 18 October 2015

Room appeared to be clean, however my husband dropped part of his hearing aid on the floor by the air vent...that portion of the floor probably hasn't been cleaned in months. Bathroom linens were better than average. However, the sheets on the bed were cheap and rough. The room was large and comfortable but bathroom needs remodeling, new carpeting and...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank sandysm79
Auburn WA
Reviewed 29 May 2015

I stayed at Apple Tree three nights, while visiting Palomar Observatory and the Julian area. The inn was comfortable and pleasant (very comfortable bed!) and the office was friendly. I loved how quiet it was at night.

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank John R
Reviewed 26 May 2015

It's ok to stay for ONE night only. The place needs serious remodeling. The carpet is old and stained. Furniture is old and ugly. The room doesn't smell fresh and clean. You might find spider webs in the window. Tube TV, maybe 5 channels available. The owners are friendly. They might be doing their best in a small town The...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Viviane M
corvallis
Reviewed 23 December 2014

My husband and I planned to stay here while visiting relatives during Christmas break. Unfortunately our wonderful kitty cat of 16 years is not doing well, and we had to make the difficult decision to cancel our trip so we could helping our ailing cat. We emailed and my sister who lives in in town went to the hotel to...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank oregondiva
Santa Ana, California
Reviewed 3 December 2014

This is a very basic motel with a bed, wood paneled tube tv, and a little table with chairs. It's perfect for one night, but definitely not somewhere to stay for a vacation or even a weekend getaway. The fact that it's dog friendly and doesn't charge a pet fee is amazing! However, their pet friendly rooms come with a...

 Report
Helpful?
3Thank Nikki3282
Prescott, Arizona
Reviewed 16 November 2014 via mobile

This hotel is probably only used when hotels in town are full. For $150 it is outrageously overpriced. The walls are scuffed and dirty (See picture) and I refused to take a bath in the tub (again..see picture). Will never stay here again.

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank ke6aza
Fontana, California
Reviewed 8 November 2014

We spent a night there a couple weeks ago with our car club. Charlie and Jaime (owners) made us feel welcome and worked really hard to accommodate our needs. About 3 miles from Julian downtown proper, large asphalt parking lot. We will return.

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Rob B

22 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (22)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (6)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
Room/Suite (4)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (1)
Viewed
View from Room (1)
Viewed
Other (8)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Julian
31.0 km away
Ayres Lodge Alpine
Ayres Lodge Alpine
#1 of 2 in Alpine
760 reviews
32.1 km away
La Casa del Zorro
La Casa del Zorro
#1 of 3 in Borrego Springs
438 reviews
4.9 km away
Tucker Peak Lodge
Tucker Peak Lodge
#9 of 11 in Julian
81 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
16.2 km away
Riviera Oaks Resorts
Riviera Oaks Resorts
#2 of 3 in Ramona
110 reviews
29.2 km away
Palm Canyon Hotel & RV Resort
Palm Canyon Hotel & RV Resort
#2 of 3 in Borrego Springs
162 reviews
4.2 km away
Oak Hill Inn
Oak Hill Inn
#6 of 11 in Julian
25 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Pool
  • Free Parking
About the property
  • Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
  • Wheelchair Access
Things to do
  • Pool
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Family Rooms
In your room
  • Air Conditioning
Services
  • Free Parking

Additional Information about Apple Tree Inn

Address: 4360 Highway 78, Julian, CA 92036-9623
Region: United States > California > Julian
Price Range: $128 - $233 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Apple Tree Inn 2*
Number of rooms: 16
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Expedia, Hotels.com and Priceline so you can book your Apple Tree Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Apple Tree Hotel Julian
Apple Tree Motel
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Apple Tree Inn staff and other travellers.
1 question
Ask a question
Questions? Get answers from Apple Tree Inn staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Don't book!!!”
 of 5 bubbles brucepons, 13 Mar 2017 | Read review
“Not room 12. Unless the bathroom has been remodeled.”
 of 5 bubbles BootsK, 25 Nov 2016 | Read review
“if you want Wifi, choose one close reception”
 of 5 bubbles , 22 Nov 2016 | Read review
“Ask for a room away from the highway”
 of 5 bubbles oregondiva, 22 Dec 2014 | Read review
4 of 4