We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

1859 Historic National Hotel

Show Prices
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
Enter dates for lowest prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
We check 200+ sites to find the latest and lowest prices.
Professional photos
1859 Historic National Hotel
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

165 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
There are newer reviews for 1859 Historic National Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Showing 158: English reviews
Beaumont, California
Reviewed 6 August 2015

If history is your game, this hotel is for you. Everything about the experience was great, from being shown to our nicely appointed "period" room to learning about the ghost, "Flo," reportedly still hovering - we think we might have heard her. The restaurant is fabulous - seldom found offerings like escargot, cherries jubilee and bananas Foster are on the...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Buzzme35
Linda E, Public Relations Manager at 1859 Historic National Hotel, responded to this review

Buzzme, we're thrilled to know that you thoroughly enjoyed your time with us! We, too, enjoy the history of our hotel and the surrounding area and we're especially glad to hear that you may have been one of the few who has heard Flo this summer. Thanks so much for taking time to post a glowing review!

Minneapolis, Minnesota
Reviewed 28 July 2015

Wish we could have stayed, but only had a drink in the ultra cool, vintage bar! The staff was friendly and informative--we had lots of questions about this former, "Cat House" that was swinging during the Gold Rush! But for our purposes the Blood Orange Margarita was the ticket on a hot, July day in the Sierra foothills of the...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Anna C
Linda E, Public Relations Manager at 1859 Historic National Hotel, responded to this review

Thanks for the kind review, Anna. We're not sure that this hotel has even been a "cat house" but we're glad you enjoyed yourself wherever you might have been. Most all of the historic hotels have great stories behind them and we'll see what we can learn about the hotel in Amador City. Thanks for visiting Gold Country!

San Luis Obispo, California
Reviewed 22 July 2015

We stayed 3 nights and loved it. When we arrived we were showed personally to our room and warmly welcomed. Staff was always ready to meet out every need. The hotel has wild west charm with modern amenities. There is not much to do in Jamestown- but it was nice and quiet there. Nearby Railtown was really interesting.

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Drewmann1962
Linda E, Public Relations Manager at 1859 Historic National Hotel, responded to this review

Thanks for taking time to let us know that you enjoyed your stay with us, Drewmann! Jamestown is quite an historical little town and we're glad you had a chance to visit Railtown. We hope you'll come back again and see all that the Mother Lode has to offer.

Tel Aviv, Israel
Reviewed 5 July 2015

Beautiful hotel. Real history. The bar is restored, with very minimal changes, from the old 1800s saloon. AMAZING! Beautiful refinished wood and a glass chain over the bar mirror. Luckily I heard this from one of the owners because the staff that checked me out in the morning was almost annoyed to even talk to me .... The location is...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank WizoTravel
Linda E, Public Relations Manager at 1859 Historic National Hotel, responded to this review

We're glad to hear that you enjoyed your time with us! We apologize for what might have been perceived as reluctant service. We've addressed this with our staff and reminded them that, no matter how busy we may be, customer service is what we pride ourselves upon. Thanks for taking time to let us know your experience.

Tehachapi, California
Reviewed 9 June 2015

I took my wife here for her birthday, we had a wonderful time. The entire staff was great, very friendly and helpful. We stayed in room #3 (Flo's room). We did not encounter Flo, maybe next time. We toured the town and the shops, everyone in the shops were friendly as well. A must go to place to relax and...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank RMC1989
Linda E, Public Relations Manager at 1859 Historic National Hotel, responded to this review

On behalf of the friendly town of Jamestown, we're glad you spent time with us, RMC! We enjoyed having you as our guest and are happy that you enjoyed your stay. Thanks for taking time to post your review. Come back again when you're in Northern California.

Reviewed 8 June 2015

We are so happy we chose this hotel in Jamestown. The staff are wonderful and friendly. Had a great converstation with the owner as well. He has been there 40 yrs. and has put alot of blood, sweat and tears into the hotel. It is charming. Rooms very comfortable. Reasonably priced for the area. I loved my soak in the...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Domo09
Linda E, Public Relations Manager at 1859 Historic National Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for taking time to post your review, Domo! We enjoyed having you as our guest and hope that you will return soon. We strive to maintain an outstanding staff who treats our guests as family; we're glad you noticed that.

Incline Village, Nevada
Reviewed 27 May 2015

Fun hotel, excellent reconstruction. The rooms contain lovely antiques but the bathrooms are updated. We sat on the patio and sampled the local Amador County wines. The staff is very friendly and play up the ghost story about "Flo" very well. The town is quiet but worth spending one day, be advised many of the stores are closed on Tuesday....

 Report
Helpful?
Thank sammyb0y
Linda E, Public Relations Manager at 1859 Historic National Hotel, responded to this review

Sammy, thank you for submitting your review. We're so glad to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us! You picked a quiet time to visit right after Memorial Day weekend but you wouldn't believe how busy the town is now. We hope you'll return again and remind us that you are a repeat customer.

Berkeley
Reviewed 18 May 2015

We booked a room with bath and were assigned room 5 that has a converted closet across the hall that is supposed to be the included bath. Moreover, the only window of the tiny room (with no closet) could not open. Let's not confuse old with charming! We refused our room and found another hotel.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank JCWBerkeley
Linda E, Public Relations Manager at 1859 Historic National Hotel, responded to this review

JCW, we're so sorry that you were disappointed with your room and that we could not offer you anything that would accommodate your needs. We were sorry to lose your business and hope that you will give us another try.

San Francisco, California
Reviewed 12 May 2015

Wonderful hotel! Our room was spacious, clean, comfortable, and tastefully decorated in period style. Hotel staff were gracious and accommodating. We received a very warm welcome when we arrived. The 2-person soaking tub was a definite plus, especially after each day of hectic touring. The dining room was another matter. Wife and I ordered a seafood dinner and a pork...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Gramp39
Linda E, Public Relations Manager at 1859 Historic National Hotel, responded to this review

Thanks for taking the time to post your review, Gramp! We're glad you enjoyed your stay with us but are concerned about your dining experience. Would you be willing to contact us and speak with the owner about this? We would like to learn more about what occurred and make it right.

Sunland
Reviewed 2 May 2015 via mobile

Stayed two nights while we explored the gold country. Room was clean and cozy with period antiques. Double-headed shower, candy, and water bottles in the room is a nice touch. Host and staff were all friendly and professional. Great selection at breakfast - this is a bed and breakfast so breakfast comes with the room rate. We ate dinner here...

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank leighla319
Linda E, Public Relations Manager at 1859 Historic National Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for your glowing (no pun intended) comments, Leighla. We appreciate you taking time to write your review and we're glad to hear that we exceeded your expectations! We hope you'll return soon.

96 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (85)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (30)
Viewed
Room/Suite (15)
Viewed
Dining (6)
Viewed
View from Room (4)
Viewed
Bathroom (4)
Viewed
Other (26)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (11)
Viewed
Room/Suite (3)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (2)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
Dining (3)
Viewed
Other (2)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Jamestown
0.1 km away
Jamestown Hotel
Jamestown Hotel
#1 of 5 in Jamestown
114 reviews
8.3 km away
BEST WESTERN PLUS Sonora Oaks Hotel & Conference Center
0.1 km away
Americas Best Value Inn & Suites - Royal Carriage
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.8 km away
Gunn House Hotel
Gunn House Hotel
#2 of 8 in Sonora
378 reviews
21.1 km away
Hotel Charlotte
Hotel Charlotte
#2 of 7 in Groveland
767 reviews
21.2 km away
The Groveland Hotel
The Groveland Hotel
#5 of 7 in Groveland
563 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Restaurant
  • Free Parking
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Breakfast included
GreenLeadersBronze level
Things to do
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
In your room
  • Air Conditioning
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Experience the romantic elegance in the California Gold Country near Yosemite. Boutique hotel and acclaimed restaurant have been restored to today’s standards of comfort while retaining the historic charm of days gone by. All rooms have private baths, some with showers for two; pull chain toilets, memory foam comfort on queen size beds and many original antiques. Buffet breakfast included. Onsite restaurant, award-winning wines from throughout the Sierra Foothills, Mediterranean cuisine and patio dining in season. Full service saloon with daily Happy Hour specials. ... more   less 

Additional Information about 1859 Historic National Hotel

Address: 18183 Main Street, Jamestown, CA 95327-0502
Region: United States > California > Jamestown
Price Range: $172 - $215 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — 1859 Historic National Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 9
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com and Travelocity so you can book your 1859 Historic National Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from 1859 Historic National Hotel staff and other travellers.
5 questions
Ask a question
5 months ago
Pittsburg, California
Fresno, California
over a year ago

See all questions (5)

Questions? Get answers from 1859 Historic National Hotel staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“They are all good. We had no noise.”
 of 5 bubbles tonii901, 28 Nov 2016 | Read review
“I chose room 5. Do note that the bathroom was across the hall. Didn't bother me in the least.”
  • Teddy kept me company as I was traveling alone. Loved the cute bear.
 of 5 bubbles L5684JFlisac, 3 Sep 2016 | Read review
“Recommend to choose a room with view to the main street.”
 of 5 bubbles V1431TTlindah, 23 Aug 2016 | Read review
“They are all good rooms.”
 of 5 bubbles peggyo883, 9 Jun 2016 | Read review
“Make sure you find out which room Flo has been messing with”
 of 5 bubbles wairuapai, 15 Jan 2016 | Read review
5 of 5