We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

Motel Inverness

Show Prices
Certificate of Excellence
Enter dates for lowest prices
powered by PriceFinder
Prices from our online travel partners are not available
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Inverness
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
View Map
Add a photo
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

149 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
There are newer reviews for Motel Inverness
See the most recent reviews
Showing 142: English reviews
California
Reviewed 21 June 2016

We stayed here three nights on the recommendation of our daughter. Our room had 2 bedrooms with queen beds, a kitchenette, 2 televisions, a LARGE bathroom, and a deck overlooking the Tamales Bay. Everything about this place is first class; you could not find any place better for experiencing all the activities for Pt. Reyes Seashore. This is an ideal...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Tahosa
Janice A, General Manager at Motel Inverness, responded to this review

Thank you so much for your complimentary review. You stayed in our Heart's Desire Suite which is our largest and includes all the amenities you mentioned. I love it when someone recommends us to another guest and they enjoy their stay as much if not more than the person that recommended it to them. This seems to be case for...

Charleston, South Carolina, United States
Reviewed 7 June 2016

Spent the day driving the coast and spotted a no vacancy sign on this quaint little motel. Looked to be recently remodeled or just kept in very good condition. They only had one room left, which had two single beds, probably better suited for kids but was fine by me. I poured a glass of wine and walked out the...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Tyler H
Janice A, General Manager at Motel Inverness, responded to this review

I appreciate the time you took to write a review for a place you satyed for one night. Sounds like you enjoyed your stay and took advantage of all our amenities. Love hearing that guests socialized in The Lodge and shared storied of the day at Point Reyes. You nailed it when you said perfect for someone that enjoys quiet...

Greenville, South Carolina
Reviewed 23 May 2016

This was my 3rd visit. This time I was in room 6. The room is a little small but it had all that I needed. The shower stall is a little tight and the walls are a little thin but when I was there all of the guests were very quiet. There is some road noise but when the traffic...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank knurs38723
San Francisco
Reviewed 20 May 2016

Stayed here while on a visit to the Point Reyes National Seashore. Small place significantly upgraded from what obviously was once a little roadside strip motel. Adding on an airy and beautiful “Common Room” and a deck with fabulous views over the marshlands and including a well-appointed bathroom in each room turned this place into a desirable stay, indeed. The...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Luv2Bgoing
Janice A, General Manager at Motel Inverness, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to write such an extensive review. All of your positive points were on target especially the your note about how peaceful it is here. I apologize for the fridge being broken but it was only down a couple of days until a replacement arrived. These are unexpected things that happen wherever you are even...

Auckland Region, New Zealand
Reviewed 17 May 2016

Pros: Spectacular setting- right on the marsh, so abundant bird life, with a bird hide at the end of the jetty Friendly owners with a wealth of knowledge about the area Free parking Communal Lodge room with free use of TV, sofas, books, coffee, tea, fridge, biscotti, binoculars etc Nice verandah & gardens to sit in Cons: A strip motel,...

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank Jess8888_12
Janice A, General Manager at Motel Inverness, responded to this review

Your review is very appreciated. Your comments about the abundant bird life, and the spectacular setting are the reasons our guests stay with us. The natural habitat which surrounds us on all sides makes this a unique and special property. The Lodge which you mentioned gives all of our guests a comfortable and relaxing place to look out and enjoy...

NYC
Reviewed 8 April 2016 via mobile

Our third stay here and we love it! The rooms appear to have been redecorated for the better since we were last here two years ago. The coffee machine is all set up (with fresh ground beans and clear and concise instructions) to be brewed by the first guest arising in the morning. The room pricing is fair. And the...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank undertone
Janice A, General Manager at Motel Inverness, responded to this review

Thank you so much for your review. Nice to hear from a guest that appreciated the natural beauty of Point Reyes and how you can take it all in while staying at Motel Inverness. You perfectly listed all of our amenities and how we provide everything our guests needs to make them feel welcome and comfortable. Your comments about the...

Portland OR
Reviewed 15 February 2016

Spent 3 nights here during a long overdue trip to explore the Point Reyes area. It is a lovely place to stay, reminiscent of a small lodge or inn---rustic but extremely comfortable. Room #3 was a bit small, but it was clean, the bed was comfortable, and I slept well. Coffee is in the room, and the main room has...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank MsMacPortlandOR
Janice A, General Manager at Motel Inverness, responded to this review

Thank you so much for writing such a nice review. I remember you and our conversations about Point Reyes and the surrounding area. I wish you could have stayed longer as well, the area has so much to see and explore. Nice to read the time you spent was relaxing which is what this nature reserve is all about. People...

Atlanta, Georgia
Reviewed 24 January 2016 via mobile

Stayed in Room #5 for 2 nights. Very relaxed setting. Had the feeling of a bed and breakfast. Everything in the room seemed new. Room was clean and secure. TV, nice heater, bathroom has a new slate floor and shower. Plenty of hot water. Hair dryer, shampoo, condition, liquid soap, lotion - large quantity in wall dispenser. Plenty of mirrors...

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank pjmdvm
Janice A, General Manager at Motel Inverness, responded to this review

Thank you so much for taking the time to write such a nice review. We love hearing that we have met the needs of our guests. Sounds like you enjoyed all the amenities and had a chance to relax in the Main Lodge. We encourage all of our guests to take time to enjoy the amazing views of Tomales Bay...

Reviewed 7 January 2016

Second time we've stayed here with friends while visiting Point Reyes, and I'm sure we'll be back again. Our room was well appointed and the great coffee, tea and biscuits in the lounge were much appreciated. The owners are helpful and interesting - much more of a B&B feel than a "motel" - just without the breakfast. (Very nice nearby...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Loves_good_service
Janice A, General Manager at Motel Inverness, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to write a review. We love knowing our return guests are still enjoying the motel and all it has to offer. We also appreciate it when our guests introduce their friends to Point Reyes and to Motel Inverness. That says volumes about how you feel about our place and the surrounding area. We look...

Asiain, Spain
Reviewed 12 December 2015 via mobile

The room is with a heater (but gets noisy at night). Hot showers and a very nice comfy bed. Looks like a paradise for bird-watchers. Common lounge has fire place, a small pantry, big sofas and binoculars to spy on the birds outside. Overall very good experience. But unfortunately, most probably will not go back as the cost is very...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank ivonnax
Janice A, General Manager at Motel Inverness, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to write a review. The room you stayed in is one of our higher priced rooms and was the only one available when you found us driving. Nice to hear you had a good experience and used our Lodge room. The bird watching is amazing and it can all be done in main Lodge...

96 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (74)
Viewed
View from Room (5)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (20)
Viewed
Room/Suite (15)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Family/Play Areas (1)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (4)
Viewed
Bathroom (2)
Viewed
Other (26)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (22)
Viewed
Room/Suite (6)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (6)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (3)
Viewed
View from Room (1)
Viewed
Other (6)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Inverness
7.0 km away
The Lodge at Point Reyes
18.5 km away
The Continental Inn
The Continental Inn
#1 of 1 in Tomales
82 reviews
30.6 km away
Bodega Bay Lodge
Bodega Bay Lodge
#1 of 5 in Bodega Bay
1,068 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
26.6 km away
Valley Ford Hotel
Valley Ford Hotel
#1 of 1 in Valley Ford
108 reviews
32.2 km away
Inn at the Tides
Inn at the Tides
#3 of 5 in Bodega Bay
463 reviews
24.2 km away
Metro Hotel and Cafe
Metro Hotel and Cafe
#1 of 8 in Petaluma
718 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Free Parking
About the property
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
  • Wheelchair Access
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Kitchenette
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Public Wifi
Services
  • Free Parking
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Perfectly located on Tomales Bay in Point Reyes National Seashore. The natural setting is peaceful and relaxing. Each of our rooms is unique and has it's own personality. The main Lodge is available for our guests 24 hours a day. The lodge is anchored by a Yosemite stone fireplace, pool table, 48" TV, and Kitchenette which make this the perfect place to gather and enjoy the view. The adjoining deck is directly on the bay overlooking the rolling hills and a great place for bird watching. Nature awaits at this Boutique Motel in Inverness, CA. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Motel Inverness

Address: 12718 Sir Francis Drake Blvd, Inverness, CA 94937-9716
Region: United States > California > Marin County > Inverness
Price Range: $189 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 7
Also Known As:
Motel Inverness Hotel Inverness
Hotel Inverness
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Motel Inverness staff and other travellers.
8 questions
Ask a question
Fremont, California
Oxford, New Jersey
Dublin, California
over a year ago

See all questions (8)

Questions? Get answers from Motel Inverness staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“The Room With a View was relatively quiet with little noise from neighboring rooms.”
 of 5 bubbles tigerseye, 12 Oct 2016 | Read review
“Heart's Desire Suite - If you want a bigger space with a view.”
 of 5 bubbles tlb91, 25 Jun 2016 | Read review
“We loved our room although it was the most expensive they offered: perfect for us!”
 of 5 bubbles Tahosa, 20 Jun 2016 | Read review
“Ask for room with outside deck if available.”
 of 5 bubbles GaryTours, 30 Sep 2015 | Read review
“Heart's Desire suite is big, ADA compliant, great deck”
 of 5 bubbles patriciasH4685TG, 10 Sep 2015 | Read review
5 of 5