We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

Half Moon Bay Lodge

Show Prices
Certificate of Excellence
Enter dates for lowest prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
We check 200+ sites to find the latest and lowest prices.
Professional photos
Half Moon Bay Lodge
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

551 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
There are newer reviews for Half Moon Bay Lodge
See the most recent reviews
Showing 535: English reviews
Modesto, California
Reviewed 21 July 2014

Our clean, spacoiuos room had a fireplace and was on the ground floor with a balcony that opened up to the garden area (which is lovely). It was loctaed only a few steps away from the pool (which is heated to 83 degrees and salt water) with a separate covered spa and a beautiful outdoor fire place, with plenty of...

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank AlwaysTimeToRelax
Baton Rouge, Louisiana
Reviewed 20 July 2014

My son booked this place for a golf outing & it was as convenient as could possibly be for our plan.Our group doubled up in rooms for the night & not a complaint one was heard.The breakfast that was complimentary was basic but well received & handy before a day on the links.We arrived late at night & the front...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank DougBen
Keith W, General Manager at Half Moon Bay Lodge, responded to this review

Thank you for the great review and for your recent visit! We are delighted to learn you enjoyed your time here, and we hope to have you back again soon. Sincerely, Keith Wesselmann General Manager

Roseville, CA
Reviewed 18 July 2014

The fridge in the room was broken. We called for service and we're told to wait for the next maintenance man. It was never fixed. The phone was also broken so we couldn't rely on a wake up call. There was an event that we were told was ending a 6 pm. It lasted all night. We we're told they...

 Report
Helpful?
3Thank Fink61
Keith W, General Manager at Half Moon Bay Lodge, responded to this review

I am truly disappointed to know that we didn't meet your expectations and would love the opportunity to learn more about your experience and address your concerns directly. Please call me at 650-726-9000 and I'll do all I can to make it up to you. Sincerely, Keith Wesselmann General Manager

Arlington, Virginia
Reviewed 15 July 2014

We stayed here for a wedding recently and were pleasantly surprised. The rooms are spacious (perhaps 25' by 15'), and most have a balcony. We found them to be clean and quiet. The most memorable aspect of our stay was the complimentary breakfast, which included a waffle station and a selection of very fresh bread and fruit. There is no...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Matthew D
Modesto, California
Reviewed 14 July 2014

I use Tripadvisor regularly when planning trips, and I am really glad that I took reviews seriously when it came to this hotel. It is a basic hotel in a pretty setting. The room was large and it was very clean when we arrived (it even had a "just cleaned" smell). The breakfast provided was basic: breads, cereals, make your...

 Report
Helpful?
5Thank Erin M
Manchester, United Kingdom
Reviewed 9 July 2014 via mobile

Stumbled upon this hotel via Expedia and trip advisor. It was very clean and comfortable. The pool and jacuzzi were lovely. Breakfast was fine porridge, cereal, fruit, toast, pastries, hard boiled egg. Plenty of places to eat close by. The only complaint Is that it is very noisy if you are on the lower floor it's really noisy with people...

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank Juliet E
San Dimas, California
Reviewed 25 June 2014

You get a view of the golf course only at this hotel. We were disappointed at first, thinking it was on the bay. However, once you get here, the nice rooms, full TV service with HBO, fast internet, breakfast with waffles, and beautiful pool and spa areas fully make up for it. Overall, a very nice 2 night stay for...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Stephan C
Keith W, General Manager at Half Moon Bay Lodge, responded to this review

Hi Stephan, Wow, thank you for the great review and for your recent visit! We are delighted to learn you enjoyed your time here, and we hope to have you back again soon. Sincerely, Keith Wesselmann General Manager

San Francisco, California
Reviewed 24 June 2014

Stayed here for a Saturday night overnight stay. If you are expecting a luxury experience then you better book the Ritz because this is not it. It is a fairly basic hotel, although the rooms have been recently remodeled. It is pretty expensive for what it is, but with the Ritz right next door they can charge this rate which...

 Report
Helpful?
6Thank trees55
Heber City, Utah, United States
Reviewed 17 June 2014 via mobile

I stayed in this hotel with my family over spring break. From here we were able to go up and down the coast easily, see the sights of San Francisco and appreciate the majestic John Muir Woods.the hotel is a little dated but clean. Breakfast is wonderful and the pool is excellent. We had a great stay.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Scottloves2golf
United States
Reviewed 10 June 2014

I am flabbergasted by all the positive reviews, I can't imagine that for the price this hotel lists at, it is seen as worth it. My experience there may be unique but it is hard to comprehend that. First things first, I very seriously consider a hotel based on cleanliness, and that it had. I can sleep just about anywhere...

 Report
Helpful?
6Thank Tlee34
Keith W, General Manager at Half Moon Bay Lodge, responded to this review

We are truly disappointed to know that we didn't meet your expectations and would love the opportunity to address your concerns directly. Please call me at 650-726-9000 and I'll do all I can to make it up to you. Sincerely, Keith Wesselmann General Manager

163 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (137)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (6)
Viewed
Bathroom (6)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (22)
Viewed
View from Room (9)
Viewed
Room/Suite (17)
Viewed
Dining (4)
Viewed
0:54
Videos (1)
Viewed
Other (72)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (26)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (11)
Viewed
Room/Suite (6)
Viewed
Dining (2)
Viewed
Bathroom (2)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (1)
Viewed
View from Room (1)
Viewed
Other (3)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Half Moon Bay hotels
8.7 km away
Beach House at Half Moon Bay
Beach House at Half Moon Bay
#1 of 8 in Half Moon Bay
862 reviews
9.3 km away
Oceano Hotel & Spa Half Moon Bay
6.9 km away
Comfort Inn Half Moon Bay
Comfort Inn Half Moon Bay
#5 of 8 in Half Moon Bay
246 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
9.4 km away
Harbor View Inn
Harbor View Inn
#8 of 8 in Half Moon Bay
163 reviews
1.2 km away
The Ritz-Carlton, Half Moon Bay
7.3 km away
Cypress Inn on Miramar Beach
Cypress Inn on Miramar Beach
#1 of 11 in Half Moon Bay
404 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Pool
  • Free Parking
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
  • Breakfast included
About the property
  • Wheelchair Access
  • Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
Things to do
  • Pool
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
  • Hot Tub
Room types
  • Suites
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Family Rooms
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly)
  • Dry Cleaning
  • Business Centre with Internet Access
  • Concierge
  • Banquet Room
  • Multilingual Staff
  • Conference Facilities
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Escape to Half Moon Bay, where you can brave the waves of Mavericks, explore our community of arts filled with jazz clubs and galleries, and indulge in sustainable cuisine at premier local eateries. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Half Moon Bay Lodge

Address: 2400 South Cabrillo Highway, Half Moon Bay, CA 94019
Region: United States > California > Half Moon Bay
Price Range: $262 - $411 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Half Moon Bay Lodge 3*
Number of rooms: 80
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com and Priceline so you can book your Half Moon Bay Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Plus Half Moon Bay Hotel Half Moon Bay
Best Western Half Moon Bay
Half Moon Bay Best Western
Hotel Style:
#3 Family Hotel in Half Moon Bay
#3 Romantic Hotel in Half Moon Bay
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Half Moon Bay Lodge staff and other travellers.
6 questions
Ask a question
Pittsburg, California
San Francisco, California
over a year ago
Santa Rosa, California
Palatine IL
over a year ago
Modesto, California
over a year ago

See all questions (6)

Questions? Get answers from Half Moon Bay Lodge staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“I had a room with fireplace and it was very quiet upstairs and comfy.”
 of 5 bubbles lindawD503AP, 6 Mar 2017 | Read review
“I did not see an elevator to the second floor.”
 of 5 bubbles JonP153, 1 Mar 2017 | Read review
“The second floor room had a great balcony with two chairs and a table. Perfect for enjoying a glass of wine or coffee.”
 of 5 bubbles Anabanana, 2 Feb 2017 | Read review
“Get one with a fireplace...what a treat.”
 of 5 bubbles AmyA91, 5 Jan 2017 | Read review
“top floor; best bet”
 of 5 bubbles OlrunH, 20 Nov 2016 | Read review
5 of 5