We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Crowne Plaza Foster City - San Mateo

0.5 km from Foster City centre
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
Save
Enter dates to see best deals
Check In Check Out
1 room, 2 adults, 0 children
1 room, 2 adults, 0 children
More options
View Deals
We check up to 200+ sites for the lowest hotel prices
1 room 2 adults 0 children
View Deals
Close 
1221 Chess Drive, Foster City, CA 94404
Special Offer
Book Direct and Save
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

409 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
There are newer reviews for Crowne Plaza Foster City - San Mateo
See the most recent reviews
Showing 385: English reviews
Cork, Ireland
Reviewed 9 August 2014 via mobile

I recently spent 10 days at this hotel on a business trip. The hotel is a short 15 minute drive from San Francisco international airport. The Hotel room was modern, large and had a very comfortable bed. The Hotel lobby is currently being renovated, it should look really good when completed. The gym has all the basics required to have...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Peatlands
CrownePlazaFC, Manager at Crowne Plaza Foster City - San Mateo, responded to this review

Dear Peatlands, Thank you for sharing your experience at the Crowne Plaza and for choosing our property for your 10 day stay! We hope that all our guests leave with a positive experience, so we are pleased to hear you had a comfortable trip. Lobby renovations will be completed in the fall, so please do visit us again soon to...

Hartford, Connecticut
Reviewed 7 August 2014

This is yet another example of how "full service" hotels are often inferior to new budget hotels (Hampton Inn, Fairfield, etc.). The building is old and drab, with one of those glassed-in central courtyards with potted trees that must have been popular back in the 1960s. There is a renovation going on, but it didn't interfere with my stay at...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank shirleyotis
CrownePlazaFC, Manager at Crowne Plaza Foster City - San Mateo, responded to this review

Dear shirleyotis, Thank you for taking the time to share your experience at the Crowne Plaza Foster City. I am sorry that your experience did not meet your expectations; please allow me to express my sincerest apologies. Your feedback is very important to us and we will be taking appropriate measures to solve the issues you have mentioned in your...

Oklahoma City, Oklahoma
Reviewed 5 August 2014

Hotel was in the middle of a renovation in the Lobby area. The rooms were clean, quiet, and the staff was helpful. The hotel rooms are dated and in need of remodeling. Purchased breakfast at the hotel and was not impressed with the service. Waited 30 minutes for a waffle, bacon, and hot tea with only one other customer.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Gayle C
CrownePlazaFC, Manager at Crowne Plaza Foster City - San Mateo, responded to this review

Dear Gayle C., Thank you for taking the time to leave your review. Your comments are highly valuable as we continue to strive to improve on all our services. All our guest rooms are completely renovated and the lobby renovations will be completed this fall. We apologize that you felt you received poor service at our restaurant, please be assured...

Sacramento, California
Reviewed 3 August 2014

I am very pleased to share with you that this hotel offers one of the best rooms I have ever stayed in my life around the world. I travel very often on business and also on vacation with family. I always stay in hotels 3 stars and above. This hotel cleanliness and hospitality surpassed my expectations. It is not just...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Gina0234
Golden Valley, Arizona
Reviewed 25 July 2014

I hate posting a negative review for any hotel but there were some issues with our stay here that I feel should be mentioned. We stayed at the Crowne Plaza Foster City CA for 3 nights attending a family event in San Francisco in late June (2014). The room rate they gave us was a group rate, so we DID...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Dianna M
CrownePlazaFC, Manager at Crowne Plaza Foster City - San Mateo, responded to this review

Dear Dianna M., Thank you for leaving your detailed review, we truly appreciate it! I would like to start by apologizing for your recent stay and give you a brief update on our renovations. The scaffolding you have photographed has all been removed and the lobby and front desk has been improving daily. We do expect lobby renovations to be...

Austin, Texas
Reviewed 24 July 2014

I am staying here for a couple of nights. Found a bunch of Ants in the room. Called the front desk they said the maintenance is closed and can't help. They want to move me to another room. So I have to pack all my stuff at 1 am in the morning and move to another room! Not pleased at...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Omprakash M
CrownePlazaFC, Manager at Crowne Plaza Foster City - San Mateo, responded to this review

Dear Omprakash M., Thank you for your review. I am sorry that your experience did not meet your expectations; allow me to express my sincerest apologies. Please be assured management is aware of the situation and have contacted our pest control company to rectify any ongoing issues. Thank you for bringing it to our attention. Sincerely, Crowne Plaza Foster City...

San Francisco, California
Reviewed 20 July 2014

I am still here at a conference and thought that I would give my opinion on the different aspects of the running of this hotel. The construction is only taking place in the central area as you enter the lobby. This area, in no way, is affecting my stay. The staff everywhere are extremely polite and apologetic about the works...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Mary H
San Diego
Reviewed 14 July 2014

Reservations neglected to mention that this hotel is under construction! We were a group of 6 rooms and none of us were told. Bad business to charge full price for a hotel when half of it is not usable. Many guests were shocked to find out when they checked in. Bad business. I thought it was an accident that we...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank iqsfh
CrownePlazaFC, Manager at Crowne Plaza Foster City - San Mateo, responded to this review

Dear iqsfh, Thank you for your review and for choosing the Crowne Plaza-Foster City! We sincerely apologize for the inconveniences renovations has caused during your recent stay. Please accept our sincerest apologies. We are doing the best we can to alleviate the impact of renovations to all our guests and warning all reservations that come through that we are going...

Sosua, Dominican Republic
Reviewed 14 July 2014

My office is in Foster CIty and when I am there on business I usually stay there. I love the rooms and the comfy beds. The Sushi restaurant is wonderful and a great place to grab a beer and unwind. The access to local businesses is excellent.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank ClaytonGush
CrownePlazaFC, Manager at Crowne Plaza Foster City - San Mateo, responded to this review

Dear ClaytonGush, Thank you for your wonderful review! We are happy to hear you continue to choose us for your business travel accommodations - we really appreciate it! We also apologize for the renovations process, but certainly excited for our loyal business travelers, like yourself, to see the final product! Sincerely, Crowne Plaza Foster City Management

Sacramento, California
Reviewed 7 July 2014

I stayed here for one night after a long flight into SFO. The hotel is currently undergoing a major rehabilitation that went right up to my room door. Although I'm sure this will be a nice place once the work is complete, I would avoid it at least until 2015 unless you are comfortable sleeping in a construction site and...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Tom K
CrownePlazaFC, Manager at Crowne Plaza Foster City - San Mateo, responded to this review

Dear Tom K., Thank you for taking the time to share your experience at the Crowne Plaza Foster City. We are sorry that your experience was not pleasant due to hotel renovations; please allow us to express our sincerest apologies. We understand that renovations can be an inconvenience and doing the best we can to make all our guests' stay...

204 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (111)
Viewed
Room/Suite (48)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (19)
Viewed
View from Room (4)
Viewed
Bathroom (11)
Viewed
Family/Play Areas (1)
Viewed
Dining (5)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (1)
Viewed
Other (22)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (93)
Viewed
Room/Suite (26)
Viewed
Business Centre/Function Rooms (9)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
Dining (18)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (9)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (1)
Viewed
Other (29)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Foster City
0.3 km away
Courtyard San Mateo Foster City
0.5 km away
Hilton Garden Inn San Mateo
2.2 km away
San Mateo Marriott San Francisco Airport
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 km away
Residence Inn San Francisco Airport/San Mateo
4.6 km away
BEST WESTERN Coyote Point Inn
0.6 km away
Extended Stay America - San Francisco - San Mateo - SFO
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
  • Room Service
  • Free Parking
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
  • Bar/Lounge
About the property
  • Wheelchair Access
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
Things to do
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Hot Tub
Room types
  • Suites
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Family Rooms
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Business Centre with Internet Access
  • Room Service
  • Free Parking
  • Shuttle Bus Service
  • Airport Transportation
  • Dry Cleaning
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Banquet Room
  • Conference Facilities
  • Laundry Service
  • Concierge
  • Multilingual Staff
  • Self-Serve Laundry
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Our beautiful Crowne Plaza Hotel in Foster City is centrally located on the San Francisco Peninsula between Downtown San Francisco, San Jose, and the East Bay. Our property is just 7 miles from San Francisco International Airport and 22 miles from downtown San Francisco. Our unique building design has a beautiful atrium lobby filled with koi ponds, waterfalls, and palm trees that will provide a relaxing setting on your next visit. Some of our features include:* Complimentary Internet access in all guest rooms, lobby, all restaurants, and pool area* Three different varieties of restaurants, room service, and a sports bar* Complimentary SFO airport shuttle* Complimentary parking* Complimentary shuttle leaving at 10:30am daily to The Hillsdale Shopping Mall* Conveniently located next to The BridgePointe Shopping center* 24 hour business center with complimentary use of three computers and a printer* Relax in our indoor heated pool jacuzzi* Use of Fitness center* Executive Club Level rooms include Dell XP desktop computers with DVD drive, flat screen monitors and Continental Breakfast, Monday-Friday.* 16,000 Square feet of flexible meeting space ... more   less 

Additional Information about Crowne Plaza Foster City - San Mateo

Address: 1221 Chess Drive, Foster City, CA 94404
Region: United States > California > Foster City
Price Range: $201 - $483 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Crowne Plaza Foster City - San Mateo 3.5*
Number of rooms: 350
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with IHG, Booking.com, Travelocity and Hotels.com so you can book your Crowne Plaza Foster City - San Mateo reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Crowne Plaza Foster City - San Mateo Hotel Foster City
Crowne Plaza San Francisco
Peninsula Foster City
Foster City Peninsula
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Crowne Plaza Foster City - San Mateo staff and other travellers.
3 questions
Ask a question

See all questions (3)

Questions? Get answers from Crowne Plaza Foster City - San Mateo staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“6th floor rooms, quiet and comfortable”
 of 5 bubbles 46tesse, 15 Dec 2016 | Read review
“Anything above 4th floor is considered Executive Suites. Have Gym there if interested”
 of 5 bubbles Midnight_ECL, 26 Nov 2016 | Read review
“Get a room at the executive suite building including breakfast, its not much higher than regular rooms.”
 of 5 bubbles BrooklyniteLA, 9 Nov 2016 | Read review
“Request a room on a high floor to avoid the sounds from the nightclub.”
 of 5 bubbles AtlKev, 30 Oct 2016 | Read review
“Breakfast for a large family can get pricey”
 of 5 bubbles Darshana5, 7 Oct 2016 | Read review
5 of 5