We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

Rodeway Inn & Suites El Cajon San Diego East

Show Prices
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
1 room
Check In Check Out
Please enter your travel dates to continue
Check Availability
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Professional photos
Rodeway Inn & Suites El Cajon San Diego East
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"]},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

76 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
Showing 75: English reviews
El Cajon, California
1 review
Reviewed 1 week ago

To call this place a rat trap would be giving rat traps everywhere a bad name. This is barely a place to lay your head unless your homeless. To make matters worse; you have Thelma and Louise at the front desk. Two of the laziest and rudest front desk dwellers you could ever hope to meet. When one is too... More 

Helpful?
Thank ahayes1189
FrontDesk_GM, General Manager at Rodeway Inn & Suites El Cajon San Diego East, responded to this review

Thank you for taking a moment of your time to share your comments with us. We appreciate all feedback that allows us to better understand how we can continually improve upon our accommodations. We will use your comments to address the necessary aspects and create a better experience for all guests. Our team strives to accommodate all of our guests... More 

San Diego, California
Level Contributor
5 reviews
Reviewed 26 October 2016

There were people living there with their dog in the next room. The sound of the trolley going by is a definite 4:45 AM wakeup. Many of the fixtures were either missing light bulbs or did not work completely. Found a comb on the floor and the faucet in the shower was very difficult to turn on and the screw... More 

Helpful?
Thank Kirc1991J
FrontDesk_GM, General Manager at Rodeway Inn & Suites El Cajon San Diego East, responded to this review

Your feedback is appreciated and greatly valued. Thank you for sharing your recent feedback and constructive comments as we can use these to continuously improve our accommodations. We apologize for the level of noise you experienced from the trolley. We encourage our guests to inform us of any issues they may encounter while staying with us so our helpful staff... More 

Travellers are raving about these El Cajon hotels

Chesterfield, Virginia
Level Contributor
96 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 August 2016 via mobile

Booked this place so we wouldn't have to drive from Palm Desert. Well when we went to check in they had canceled our reservation. They still rooms but charged us the higher rate. We'll have to take it up with booking. Com.The beds were terrible. Found a pair of old socks next to the bed. The joint needs Hotel Impossible.... More 

Helpful?
1 Thank Tom O
FrontDesk_GM, General Manager at Rodeway Inn & Suites El Cajon San Diego East, responded to this review

Your constructive feedback is appreciated and welcome. Thank you for taking the time to share your comments with us so we can begin addressing the issues you encountered during your stay. We apologize that there was some system miscommunication between Booking and our reservation system. We advise our guests to always book directly to avoid certain complications. Our team strives... More 

1 review
Reviewed 21 August 2016 via mobile

Needed last minute hotel, was one of the cheapest around. Needs to be cleaned, lobby, elevator, floors going to the room and the room. Hairs in bathroom and bed, I took my sheet off and slept on the top sheet. They put nice touches in the room like mirrored closets and nice headboards but its the little things that matter.... More 

Helpful?
Thank Well T
FrontDesk_GM, General Manager at Rodeway Inn & Suites El Cajon San Diego East, responded to this review

We are pleased that we were able to accommodate you last minute at an affordable rate. Thank you for taking the time to share your experience with us. We apologize that we did not meet your expectations in all aspects. Housekeeping has been addressed in terms of the standard of cleanliness you found in your room. Glad to hear our... More 

Level Contributor
14 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 July 2016 via mobile

Fist off pulling into the parking lot after a 7 hour drive I should have known to go somewhere else,but it was paid for allready. Went into the office about midnight and there loomed to be crackheads in the parking lot and in the office. Waited for -0 minutes in the office to get my room and the lady at... More 

Helpful?
Thank Brushog
FrontDesk_GM, General Manager at Rodeway Inn & Suites El Cajon San Diego East, responded to this review

Guest feedback is always appreciated as it helps us understand how we can constantly improve upon our accommodations. We are extremely sorry to hear we did not meet your expectations during your stay. We do not consider the behaviors and incidents you reported acceptable and will be addressing all staff members immediately. It would be a privilege if you consider... More 

1 review
Reviewed 19 July 2016 via mobile

Rooms where nice and beds were comfy! The room we were in faced the freeway but to our surprise the room blocks out all the sound of it (: But that's probably all.. The staff were for the most part rude and unfriendly to us. We booked under the impression that breakfast was provided (as listed on all booking websites).... More 

Helpful?
Thank Erin-Rae G
FrontDesk_GM, General Manager at Rodeway Inn & Suites El Cajon San Diego East, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to share your experience with us. We appreciate all of your feedback as we consider it an opportunity to continue improving on aspects that matter most to our guests. We strive to provide clean and comfortable accommodations along with wonderful service. Your report of being treated with anything less than friendly professionalism is alarming... More 

1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 12 July 2016 via mobile

I am at Roadway now, this is my first time staying here after they changed there name. They use to be Quality Suites but not anymore. The rooms here are very nicely decorated and omg the beds are sooo comfortable. They even have a wallet and dryer along with a pool and but tub. I mean this hotel has pretty... More 

Helpful?
1 Thank Tiffany H
FrontDesk_GM, General Manager at Rodeway Inn & Suites El Cajon San Diego East, responded to this review

It is a pleasure to hear you are thoroughly enjoying your stay with us! We are happy to hear we were able to live up to your expectations and high standard. Our clean and comfortable accommodations are designed to make our guests feel at home, and it's great to hear we are accomplishing our goal! We appreciate that you took... More 

Lemon Grove, California
Level Contributor
13 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 July 2016 via mobile

Stayed the 29th and the 30th. Unfriendly staff. Rooms clean , need to ask for shampoo, no conditioner. No breakfast. My daughter booked me and thought they gave breakfast.. The only good thing is that it allows dogs. Wifi hard to access, lobby computer very old. It's affordable and ok for a stopover.

Helpful?
Thank nonny1947
FrontDesk_GM, General Manager at Rodeway Inn & Suites El Cajon San Diego East, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to share your experience with us. We consider all feedback from our guests to be vital to the continual improvement of our accommodations. We apologize that we did not meet all of your expectations during your stay. While we do not offer breakfast, we do offer complimentary coffee as well as newspapers Monday through... More 

Level Contributor
32 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 June 2016

The stay was a mixed bag. The staff were very nice and helpful! The beds were clean and comfortable, no bugs (I always check) plenty of pillows, a nice TV, a very cold fridge and a hair drier. The AC worked very well as well. The pool area was nice and clean. The shower had great pressure and lenty of... More 

Helpful?
1 Thank Berkedei K
Level Contributor
108 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 June 2016 via mobile

In short: *No breakfast *Dirty facilities *Rude staff *People breaking into rooms. In long: If it was possible to give 0 instead of 1 I would. This was by far the worst experience I have ever had a hotel. This is going to sound like a movie but unfortunately I swear it all actually happened. We booked 4 rooms over... More 

Helpful?
2 Thank jaygilgert

19 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (6)
Viewed
Room/Suite (1)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (1)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (1)
Viewed
Other (3)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (13)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (1)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (2)
Viewed
Room/Suite (5)
Viewed
Business Centre/Function Rooms (1)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
Other (2)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near El Cajon
3.9 km away
Days Inn San Diego-East/El Cajon
4.1 km away
Holiday Inn San Diego - La Mesa
5.0 km away
BEST WESTERN Courtesy Inn
BEST WESTERN Courtesy Inn
#3 of 14 in El Cajon
130 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.6 km away
Lodge Of La Mesa
Lodge Of La Mesa
#4 of 9 in La Mesa
766 reviews
1.7 km away
Relax Inn and Suites
Relax Inn and Suites
#8 of 14 in El Cajon
103 reviews
0.8 km away
BEST WESTERN PLUS La Mesa San Diego
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Free Breakfast
About the property
  • Wheelchair Access
Things to do
  • Pool
  • Hot Tub
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Accessible rooms
  • Suites
  • Family Rooms
  • Smoking rooms available
In your room
  • Microwave
  • Air Conditioning
  • Refrigerator in room
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Free Breakfast
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Business Centre with Internet Access
  • Laundry Service
  • Multilingual Staff
  • Self-Serve Laundry

Additional Information about Rodeway Inn & Suites El Cajon San Diego East

Address: 1250 El Cajon Boulevard, El Cajon, CA 92020 (Formerly Quality Inn & Suites El Cajon San Diego East)
Region: United States > California > El Cajon
Price Range: $66 - $114 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Rodeway Inn & Suites El Cajon San Diego East 2.5*
Number of rooms: 105
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Travelocity, Choice Hotels, Odigeo and Hotels.com so you can book your Rodeway Inn & Suites El Cajon San Diego East reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Quality Inn & Suites San Diego East County Hotel El Cajon
Quality Inn And Suites San Diego East County
Quality Inn El Cajon
El Cajon Quality Inn
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Rodeway Inn & Suites El Cajon San Diego East staff and other travellers.
1 question
Ask a question

See all questions (1)

Questions? Get answers from Rodeway Inn & Suites El Cajon San Diego East staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“You are between a freeway and the trolley tracks, good luck”
 of 5 bubbles Kirc1991J, 25 Oct 2016 | Read review
“Don't stay near the elevator!”
  • funk on the AC in 134
 of 5 bubbles berkedeik, 27 Jun 2016 | Read review
“Watch for dog doodoo in the stairs and ask for a room with the mountain views, breath taking!”
 of 5 bubbles CaltonBlue, 12 Jun 2016 | Read review
“this entire building in need of major cleaning, maintenance and upkeep. Lots of bad "persons" floating around the building and premises.”
 of 5 bubbles karengowins, 17 May 2016 | Read review
“the first floor has easy access to the pool, laundry facility and front desk.”
 of 5 bubbles Robbie218, 10 May 2016 | Read review
5 of 5
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay