We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

Econo Lodge Inn & Suites El Cajon San Diego East

Show Prices
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
1 room
Check In Check Out
Please enter your travel dates to continue
Check Availability
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Professional photos
Econo Lodge Inn & Suites El Cajon San Diego East
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"moduleList":["handlers"],"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

123 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 119: English reviews
Ureterp, The Netherlands
Reviewed 24 September 2016 via mobile

The room we had was very large ( 1 king suite), clean overall except for the sofa wich had better days. Staff was very friendly and the next morning we could see that maintanance was being done (painting and refurbishing a room and the pool and spa were being cleaned by a professional company). The breakfast room was fairly small...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank gsnoeck
Chetan P, Manager at Econo Lodge Inn & Suites El Cajon San Diego East, responded to this review

Dear Guest; Thank you for staying with us, we appreciate your business. We are so glad you enjoyed your stay and found our rooms to be large. We do have the larger rooms than the other hotels in the area. We have a great maintenance staff they are always working hard to make sure the hotel looks the best and...

Leighton Buzzard, United Kingdom
Reviewed 26 July 2016 via mobile

When we arrived the receptionist was very nice check in was fast and easy. When we got into our room we were on the first floor it was nice and clean noting to complain about, it was very close and convenient to where we need to be for the junior world golf championships. The pool area was ok it done...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Sarah C
Chetan P, Manager at Econo Lodge Inn & Suites El Cajon San Diego East, responded to this review

Dear Sarah, Thank you for taking the time and giving us your feedback. I glad our hotel worked out well for your stay. I do apologize about the noise from the car wash next door. Some time during the day it gets hectic. its a good thing they shut it down in the evening. We hope to see you soon...

San Diego, California
Reviewed 4 July 2016 via mobile

This location is just too far away for me. I could not check in, even though I explained to the clerk it is under my wife's name. So, I had to go back to the car and have her check us in. That should have been the first sign to me. The breakfast could have been better. There is also...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Robert L
Chetan P, Manager at Econo Lodge Inn & Suites El Cajon San Diego East, responded to this review

Dear Robert, Thank you for staying with us, we appreciate your business. As a security precaution we always ask the guest whose name is on the reservation to check in. This also helps prevent fraudulent credit card activity protecting our guests. We are a two star Inn and that is what we strive to be. However we do go above...

Costa Mesa, California
Reviewed 14 June 2016

Hotel cancelled our reservation without letting us know. Choice sent a confirmation/reminder a few days prior to our arrival. Showed up with Confirmation Number and was told my CC didn't work, so they cancelled. THEN WHY DID THEY SEND ME EMAIL REMINDER??? They did have a room available, and after a huge hassle where they made us wait repeatedly while...

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank JMWinCA
Chetan P, Manager at Econo Lodge Inn & Suites El Cajon San Diego East, responded to this review

Dear Guest, Thank you for choosing our hotel for your stay. To hold a room we require a valid credit card. In your case your card was declined and invalid. Prior to canceling a reservation we try to obtain a new card from the guest, if this fails as a last resort we have to cancel. Yes an automated email...

Chandler, Arizona
Reviewed 12 June 2016

We made a reservation for this hotel through Hotwire. We listed on the reservation that we would be a family of 4 people. When we arrived at the hotel the rude and uncaring receptionist said we would have to pay an extra $30 per night if we wanted two beds! Really? How do 4 people sleep in one bed? She...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank MMB3895
Chetan P, Manager at Econo Lodge Inn & Suites El Cajon San Diego East, responded to this review

Dear Guest, We are sorry for any confusion on your reservation. We received a reservation from Hotwire for two persons only, therefore we had held a room with one king bed. Hotel is only obligated to give you a room that was booked on your behalf, any upgrades will have to be paid by the guests. To prevent confusion in...

Tucson, AZ
Reviewed 2 May 2016 via mobile

We visit San Diego every other year or so and often stay at the higher prices hotels in San Diego. This time around we decided to try out a neighboring town and decided on the econo lodge cause it was DIRECTLY off the freeway. The price was excellent ($60/night) staff was so patient and kind to us. They accommodated us...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank sdebaca
Chetan P, Manager at Econo Lodge Inn & Suites El Cajon San Diego East, responded to this review

Dear Guest Thank you for staying with us. I am glad you found our hotel to meet your expectations, I will have a word with my housekeeper and make sure they are following a proper cleaning procedures. We hope to see you again on your next visit. Sincerely Chetan Patel

Los Angeles, California
Reviewed 26 April 2016

Well this is the THIRD time trying to write a review for this hotel - it has taken almost 2 months to get it published because it takes several weeks to reject is - so I am going to limit this to bullet points - apologies for not being able to give a more detailed review - I have tried...

 Report
Helpful?
5Thank sascharasin
Chetan P, Manager at Econo Lodge Inn & Suites El Cajon San Diego East, responded to this review

Dear Sascharasin Thank you for choosing our hotel for your stay. As you stated you booked your room thru expedia, the credit card you used to guarantee your reservation was invalid. You stated upon arrival you use the invalid card just to hold your room and pay with a different one upon arrival. At this hotel we do not guarantee...

Kolkata
Reviewed 26 March 2016 via mobile

I stayed with a business colleague for one night and trust me it was one of the most nightmarish experience staying there. To start with the check in process was very unfriendly. Later when we came back to sleep after the days work there was a man who kept talking loudly over the phone throughout the night standing out of...

 Report
Helpful?
3Thank Pankaj15
Chetan P, General Manager at Econo Lodge Inn & Suites El Cajon San Diego East, responded to this review

Dear Pankaj, Thank you for staying with us. We certainly appreciate your business. I am so sorry you were disturb by another guest speaking loudly out side your room. Some times the guests does not realize they are at a hotel and there actions are disturbing others. Typically when we get such complaints we go out and ask the guest...

Nevada
Reviewed 28 January 2016

We stayed here for two nights (Saturday and Sunday nights). The room was clean and everything works as it should. Breakfast was good and the staff was very nice and helpful, however Saturday night the people next door came in about 2am very drunk and very noisy. They would stomp down the hall and try to come into our room...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Tourist894
Chetan P, General Manager at Econo Lodge Inn & Suites El Cajon San Diego East, responded to this review

Dear Guest Thank you for staying with us. I am glad you found your room to be clean and everything working as it should be. I agree we do have a tasty breakfast and friendly staff. I am sorry in regards to other guests making noise, it is hard for us to control how some guests will act. They don't...

San Diego, California
Reviewed 19 December 2015

Very basic * hotel within few feet from noisy Interstate 8 freeway, located in very spotty area with hookers around. Nothing fancy: basic rooms, simple breakfast, old tv. Next door to 2 gas stations and car wash, which opened 24/7. Very slow internet with constantly interrupted wifi signal. Bed bugs, cockroaches, smelly, filthy, dirty. Very old cheap uncomfortable beds. Allowed...

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank ahtoxa1
Chetan P, Manager at Econo Lodge Inn & Suites El Cajon San Diego East, responded to this review

Dear Anthony Once again you posted a totally false review, after trying to extort money by stating if I do not give you a refund you will post bad reviews. You posted one on yelp, you can post as many as you wish. I will not pay into your blackmail. You were not even on the property, you paid for...

67 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (30)
Viewed
Dining (3)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (4)
Viewed
Room/Suite (10)
Viewed
Bathroom (9)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (1)
Viewed
Other (3)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (37)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (5)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (2)
Viewed
Room/Suite (26)
Viewed
Bathroom (2)
Viewed
Business Centre/Function Rooms (1)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these El Cajon hotels
0.2 km away
Days Inn San Diego-East/El Cajon
0.2 km away
BEST WESTERN Continental Inn
1.9 km away
BEST WESTERN Courtesy Inn
BEST WESTERN Courtesy Inn
#3 of 14 in El Cajon
132 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.4 km away
Americas Best Value Inn - El Cajon / San Diego
2.5 km away
Relax Inn and Suites
Relax Inn and Suites
#8 of 14 in El Cajon
103 reviews
1.2 km away
Motel 6 San Diego - El Cajon
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
  • Spa
  • Free Breakfast
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
About the property
  • Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
  • Wheelchair Access
Things to do
  • Pool
  • Spa
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Accessible rooms
  • Suites
  • Kitchenette
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Free Breakfast
  • Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly)
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Business Centre with Internet Access
  • Multilingual Staff
  • Self-Serve Laundry
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Welcome to the Econolodge Inn & Suites, El Cajon Hotel, where you’ll experience an intimate, casual atmosphere with personalized service, contemporary amenities and customer-oriented features. Whether you’re here on a relaxing getaway vacation or an important business venture, you’ll appreciate our peaceful ambiance, hospitable service and convenient location without spending a fortune. Our friendly, professional staff ensures that your stay will be a memorable and relaxing experience. This El Cajon hotel is near all the attractions and activities that make this place such a fun destination. If you are looking for a hotel near fun things to do this hotel near San Diego Zoo is the perfect location to stay. We are also located within miles from Knotts Soak City and San Diego SeaWorld. Offering comfort and convenience to business and leisure travelers, this El Cajon Hotel offers value with cozy accommodations, amenities and easy access to restaurants, shopping and local area attractions. We offer our guest a more affordable room rate with luxury & friendly services. Relaxing Retreat, take a dip in our private, crystal clear swimming pool. Econolodge Inn & Suites will ensure your family a comfortable and relaxing stay. We offer plenty of room options and features especially designed to serve families traveling together. We welcome you to our hotel, and hope you enjoy your stay. Make your family vacation more attractive to Southern California - treat yourself to the Econolodge Inn & Suites. Choose this El Cajon Hotel for your travel needs. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Econo Lodge Inn & Suites El Cajon San Diego East

Address: 588 N Mollison Ave, I-8 Exit Mollison Avenue, El Cajon, CA 92021-6143 (Formerly Howard Johnson)
Region: United States > California > El Cajon
Price Range: $83 - $115 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Econo Lodge Inn & Suites El Cajon San Diego East 2*
Number of rooms: 68
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Hotels.com, Choice Hotels, Travelocity and Odigeo so you can book your Econo Lodge Inn & Suites El Cajon San Diego East reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Howard Johnson El Cajon/San Diego Area Hotel El Cajon
Super 8 El Cajon
Super Eight El Cajon
El Cajon Super 8
El Cajon Super Eight
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Econo Lodge Inn & Suites El Cajon San Diego East staff and other travellers.
3 questions
Ask a question
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania

Management takes just about 2 months to respond and I have questions. First, I will not accept your apology 2 months later. You had your chance at the time of arrival. Next, I will dispute your attempt at an explanation as it is not even close to what really happened that night. 1) If someone needed to extend their stay, they would have given you ample notice. Even if last minute (check out at 11), I arrived at 6PM. The bed should have been on the premises long before I arrived. 2) If this was true, why wasn't I informed by the front desk clerk that this was happening. If I was told this was happening, maybe I wouldn't have been upset. 3) I spent 2 hours on the phone with Corporate Customer Assistance as they worked to get me into your hotel after another hotel couldn't handle the bed issue. See items 1 and 2 and I ask again, with Corporate Customer Assistance working with me to get this solved, why wouldn't you tell them that you had an issue with your last known rollaway. 4) When Corporate Customer assistance called back the next day, they were not informed of this solution, yet you want to stay with your version of what happened. 5) You state I left the premises before you could get the bed from another hotel.......again, see all notes above where your front desk showed not an inkling of care as to whether they could/would/should share any information with me.

So, bottom line, please do not try to paint yourselves as a misunderstood hero when during the whole process, you were the villains.

I will not give you a second chance (as you really had it already when Corporate sent me back to you and was still treated badly), or a third or any other chances. First impressions...........especially in the business world.

NOTE: I did enjoy someone's comment that you should "dress professionally in order to get a clean room". Nice..........

over a year ago

See all questions (3)

Questions? Get answers from Econo Lodge Inn & Suites El Cajon San Diego East staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Look elsewhere.”
 of 5 bubbles sunburnt_curt, 10 Nov 2015 | Read review
“King room with sofa sleeper can sleep 4. Upstairs rooms are quieter, less people noise.”
 of 5 bubbles redbeemer, 4 Aug 2015 | Read review
“Find another place....just be careful if you do have to stay here”
 of 5 bubbles londons2015, 4 May 2015 | Read review
“We stayed on the 2nd floor which is always a plus for less noise. At this hotel staying second floor mid parking lot so your not to close to the pool would be best.”
 of 5 bubbles JohnC971, 17 Sep 2014 | Read review
“Book early (at least 2 weeks) before arrival. And use your choice hotels card for free nights.”
 of 5 bubbles JRGerry_Champagne, 2 Sep 2014 | Read review
5 of 5
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay