We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

Americas Best Value Inn

Show Prices
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
1 room
Check In Check Out
Please enter your travel dates to continue
Check Availability
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Professional photos
Americas Best Value Inn
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"moduleList":["handlers"]},"containerClass":null,"scriptFlags":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

54 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
There are newer reviews for Americas Best Value Inn
See the most recent reviews
Showing 54: English reviews
Paradise, California
Reviewed 13 August 2015

I really enjoyed this place. The staff were very friendly, everyone from the housekeepers to management. The room I stayed in was clean, no bugs are anything like that. The price for the room wasn't bad. The location is great, pretty much all of downtown was within walking distance. I'd stay there again.

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Ty L
Greenville, South Carolina
Reviewed 13 June 2015 via mobile

Apparently they don't turn on the air until guests check in. It had to be at least 100 degrees in the room. We've been here for 2 hours and the room is still above 85. It's cooler outside. I'm regretting not sleeping in the car.

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank 2suzanne1
ABVI T, Front Desk Clerk at Americas Best Value Inn, responded to this review

Thank you for your feedback. We have had very high temperatures recently here in Chico. We are very sorry for the inconvenience.

Chico, California
Reviewed 29 May 2015

Stay here quite a bit to visit my college kids. Always friendly and helpful. 5 minute walk to downtown eating and shopping. Good value for location. Perfect for short stay to access all Chico has to offer.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank William M
Reviewed 27 May 2015 via mobile

The rooms were clean. Staff was pretty friendly. The price was affordable. The hotel is located close to Chico State. I was able to walk from here. Several restaurants are within walking distance too. I will definitely come back to this place again.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Jpillai108
san francisco
Reviewed 20 April 2015

Could hear the TV on in the neighbors room all night and voices too. Thin walls. Hard bed, cheap and worn blanket and sheets. Lousy old tube TV that I haven't seen in a room in 5 years. The remote was probably for a different TV, only the on button worked. I guess the surprising part was how nice the...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank sfkjeld
ABVI T, Manager at Americas Best Value Inn, responded to this review

We would like to apologize for the inconvenient experience you had during your stay with us. We always promote and ensure that our guests feel comfortable during their stay, as well as provide our customers with a quiet room. As for the inconvenience, we are very sorry. Customers who have complaints of noisy neighbors usually call front desk and make...

Healdsburg, California
Reviewed 15 February 2015 via mobile

I stayed here with my boyfriend while visiting some old friends in Chico. I'm glad I booked this place with a promo code on top of the already reduced winter prices, because it is definitely not worth more than 55 a night. The walls are thin, and I could hear people moving around and talking all night, even through my...

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank MGM1123
Reviewed 19 January 2015

I get that this place is cheap, but it should cost less than $85/night. The only good thing about this place is its location. Everything else is disgusting! 1. the room smelled like someone was smoking in the room even though it's a non smoking room. 2. there are cigarette burn spots on both blankets. 3. the carpet is stained...

 Report
Helpful?
4Thank LC_truth
Sonora, California
Reviewed 6 December 2014

Outdoors this hotel looks fine. Its the rooms -- in a word, shoddy. Broken window, missing light bulbs, terrible lighting. Felt dirty. Only stayed here because it was the only place left in town. I would probably go anywhere else but come back here. Owners really need to get this under control but perhaps they can't afford it. Don't understand...

 Report
Helpful?
3Thank William F
ABVI T, Front Office Manager at Americas Best Value Inn, responded to this review

It seems as though your visit was not how you expected it to be. Unfortunately, we had damages that were in progress of getting fixed. We thank you so much for your feedback as we are trying slowly, but surely to get this ABVI at its best state. Thank you for staying with us!

San Jose, California
Reviewed 22 October 2014

This hotel must have changed owners because even though the hotel is sketchy (what do you expect for $50-$75 a night) the management and employees were always pleasant and helpful, which made up for the old musty rooms. This experience was terrible. I had a bunch of cash on me because of a purchase I did not make and wanted...

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank Tracy C
ABVI T, Front Office Manager at Americas Best Value Inn, responded to this review

We apologize for the many problems you experienced during your stay with us. Due to many circumstances we have had with customers paying cash and putting a credit card/debit card on file in substitution for the $50, we have to take a cash deposit if you are paying cash. I know this may sound ridiculous, but bare with us because...

Redding, California
Reviewed 9 October 2014

The room was way over priced, towels and sheets had lots of stains on them, the bed creaked, and you can here the people moving and talking upstairs. I was not impressed by this place. I would however take it over sleeping in my car.

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank Poppy L
ABVI T, Manager at Americas Best Value Inn, responded to this review

We apologize that your stay was not as accommodating as you would have liked it to be. We can assure you that the towels we put out in the rooms for our guests are clean, as we do want to represent our business the best possible. Again, we apologize for the inconvenience you may have experienced during your stay. Thank...

9 photos of this hotel

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (9)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (3)
Viewed
Room/Suite (4)
Viewed
Other (2)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Chico hotels
0.2 km away
Quality Inn, Near Chico State
2.7 km away
Oxford Suites Chico
Oxford Suites Chico
#1 of 17 in Chico
935 reviews
0.1 km away
Heritage Inn Express Chico
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.0 km away
Ramada Plaza Chico
Ramada Plaza Chico
#7 of 17 in Chico
437 reviews
0.4 km away
Hotel Diamond
Hotel Diamond
#2 of 17 in Chico
245 reviews
2.9 km away
Courtyard Chico
Courtyard Chico
#6 of 17 in Chico
130 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Pool
  • Free Parking
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Free Breakfast
About the property
  • Wheelchair Access
Things to do
  • Pool
  • Hot Tub
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Free Internet
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Free Breakfast
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
America's Best Value Inn Chico is placed right in the middle of beautiful downtown Chico! We are walking distance from all the best restaurants and night life that Chico has to offer. We are also only a short distance away from certain attractions such as Sierra Nevada Brewery, One Mile Recreation Area, and only walking distance to California State University Chico, as well as Bidwell Mansion. While you're enjoying your stay with us in Chico, don't forget to visit Bidwell Park, the 3rd largest Municipal Park in the country! Bidwell Park features attractions such as swinning holes like Bear & Salmon Hole, and others such as the Diversion Dam. Chico is a great place for recreational travelers, and business travelers alike. When visiting don't forget to call America's Best Value Inn Chico, where it's our mission to make your stay as comfortable as can be. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Americas Best Value Inn

Address: 740 Broadway St, Chico, CA 95928-5528 (Formerly Chico Days Inn)
Region: United States > California > Chico
Price Range: $86 - $126 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Americas Best Value Inn 2*
Number of rooms: 39
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Travelocity, Sabre Hospitality Solutions, Priceline and Odigeo so you can book your Americas Best Value Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Days Inn Chico
Chico Days Inn
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Americas Best Value Inn staff and other travellers.
1 question
Ask a question
over a year ago

See all questions (1)

Questions? Get answers from Americas Best Value Inn staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“room right by swimming pool are comfty”
 of 5 bubbles mackbillymosis, 20 Feb 2016 | Read review
“Try to get a room nearer the office - if there are noisy neighbors, they're usually at the other end of the building.”
 of 5 bubbles joemU4942RA, 27 Jan 2016 | Read review
“Find a different hotel or at least check out the room before you give them your money.”
 of 5 bubbles williamLF, 5 Dec 2014 | Read review
“If you have to stay here get an upstairs room.”
 of 5 bubbles poppyl363, 8 Oct 2014 | Read review
“Uppers (imo) are always better than lower units.”
 of 5 bubbles 727brentb, 20 Sep 2014 | Read review
5 of 5
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay