We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

Extended Stay America - San Diego - Carlsbad Village by the Sea

Show Prices
Enter dates for lowest prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
We check 200+ sites to find the latest and lowest prices.
Professional photos
Extended Stay America - San Diego - Carlsbad Village by the Sea
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"moduleList":["handlers"]},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

133 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
There are newer reviews for Extended Stay America - San Diego - Carlsbad Village by the Sea
See the most recent reviews
Showing 127: English reviews
Oak Hills, California
Reviewed 15 September 2015

I stay at this hotel frequently. I checked in on September 11th 2015and was supposed to leave today on September 14 2015. I left yesterday afternoon on September 14th 2015. I was very dissatisfied with your hotel this stay. I requested cooking utensils both days I was there and was told " they would get them to me right away."...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Jennifer M
San Diego
Reviewed 6 September 2015

Front desk clerk went missing, turns out they had to go to bank, only maint. man to stall while people were waiting to check in and other needs. Also another time front desk clerk was doing hotel laundry in room behind office running back and forth trying to take care of guests. Twice ran out of pool towels, our first...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank 88g
Manager_11525, General Manager at Extended Stay America - San Diego - Carlsbad Village by the Sea, responded to this review

Thank you for your recent review of your stay. We strive to provide guests with all the comforts of home, so I am disappointed to hear that your stay was not to your expectations. In response to your feedback, I will make sure we are reviewing our cleaning and front desk procedures. I am grateful for the feedback you provided...

Chico, California
Reviewed 22 August 2015

My mother-in-law booked this for a four day stay and I have to say that much to my surprise it was very nice, very clean and the staff went out of their way to help, our fridge did not get cold and they had someone come and take care of it that day for us, the pool area was very...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank AngelaandAriel
Manager_11525, General Manager at Extended Stay America - San Diego - Carlsbad Village by the Sea, responded to this review

The team and I appreciate your kind remarks. We appreciate you letting us know about the maintenance issues you experienced. We are sorry for this issue, but are happy to read that we provided you with a resolution quickly and that you had a positive stay overall. The staff and I would like to thank you again for posting your...

Calgary, Canada
Reviewed 21 August 2015

We stayed here while visiting Lego Land and other nearby attractions. It was clean, priced well, and had excellent service. We wound up extending our stay here rather than changing hotels later in our trip.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank clintclarkson
Manager_11525, General Manager at Extended Stay America - San Diego - Carlsbad Village by the Sea, responded to this review

It is so rewarding to read that you had a great stay with us. Thank you for your comments. We are so happy to hear that you found our hotel to be a great value! I truly appreciate your comments regarding our comfortable rooms and friendly customer service. The staff and I would like to thank you again for posting...

Glendora, California
Reviewed 18 August 2015

We stayed in this hotel for couple nights. It's quite an old hotel, but it gave good value of your dollars. It's very good for small family especially with small kids. Every room has a small stove, microwave and fridge. So we do need to worry about keeping kids' foods and milk and warming them up at anytime and very...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Steve H
Manager_11525, General Manager at Extended Stay America - San Diego - Carlsbad Village by the Sea, responded to this review

I want to thank you for taking the time to post a review of your stay. I am thrilled that we were able to accommodate your needs with a home away from home experience! I’m glad you enjoyed our fully equipped kitchens and our reasonable rates. Once more, thank you for posting your review. We look forward to having you...

Reviewed 29 June 2015 via mobile

No matter how much planning you do ahead of time, are ready at check in with your confirmation and all, they still overbook rooms!!! We had checked in with hotel staff to let them know we were in town, confirmed our room type, came back later at night to check in and of course they had overbooked! Given our room...

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank rosie b
Palm Springs, California
Reviewed 23 June 2015

The room was clean and everything in it worked. The bathroom was musky and our room was directly across from the freeway so it was very loud. Within walking distance to the beach, shops and dining. The kitchen is not equipped with any equipment but you can borrow some supplies from the front desk. This is a pet friendly hotel....

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Jackie R
San Bernardino, California
Reviewed 17 May 2015 via mobile

Usually we stay @ the legoland resort but we wanted to be close to the beach this time. When reservations were made they told us it was walking distance to the beach? I don't think so it's about 10 to 12 blocks away. To use the kitchen you have to ask the front desk for utensils and cooking pans, morning...

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank comento123
Manager_11525, General Manager at Extended Stay America - San Diego - Carlsbad Village by the Sea, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to post a review of our hotel. I apologize that you were not pleased with our location, our grab-and-go breakfast, or our customized kitchen program. Your comments will be helpful as we continue to improve our guest experience. Thank you again for your feedback. We hope to have the opportunity to provide you with...

Bend, Oregon
Reviewed 4 May 2015

The room was very clean, everything worked as it should and the staff were friendly and helpful. It was surprisingly quiet for being next to I-5, absolutely no traffic noise in my room. The little self service breakfast bar was well stocked.

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank zingiber
Manager_11525, General Manager at Extended Stay America - San Diego - Carlsbad Village by the Sea, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to write a review of your stay. I'm so pleased to hear that you enjoyed your stay and the grab-and-go breakfast we offer. I truly appreciate your kind comments regarding our staff and the friendly service they provided. Thank you again for sharing your comments with us. We look forward to hosting you again...

Reviewed 28 April 2015 via mobile

The room was dingy and unclean and the bed was extremely uncomfortable. The reservation was wrong and I had to share a bed which I was poorly compensated for. The free breakfast was a joke. There was granola bars and oatmeal packets. The door to the bathroom was broken and the floors were so gross I kept my shoes on.

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank jenilev
Manager_11525, General Manager at Extended Stay America - San Diego - Carlsbad Village by the Sea, responded to this review

Thank you for your recent review of your stay. We strive to provide guests with all the comforts of home, so I am disappointed to hear that we did not meet your expectations. I am grateful for the feedback you provided so we are able to continually improve our hotel. If you have any additional feedback, we would like to...

109 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (7)
Viewed
Other (7)

TripAdvisor Photos: Professional photos exclusively commissioned by TripAdvisor

Viewed
All TripAdvisor Photos (90)
Viewed
Double Bed (29)
Viewed
King Bed (31)
Viewed
Queen Bed (29)
Viewed
The Hotel (1)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (12)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (1)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
Room/Suite (5)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (2)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Other (2)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Carlsbad hotels
1.2 km away
Days Inn Carlsbad
Days Inn Carlsbad
#25 of 36 in Carlsbad
315 reviews
7.0 km away
La Quinta Inn & Suites San Diego Carlsbad
5.0 km away
Carlsbad by the Sea Resort
Carlsbad by the Sea Resort
#29 of 36 in Carlsbad
628 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.0 km away
Rodeway Inn Near Legoland
Rodeway Inn Near Legoland
#35 of 36 in Carlsbad
113 reviews
7.1 km away
Ramada Carlsbad
Ramada Carlsbad
#36 of 36 in Carlsbad
971 reviews
7.4 km away
Holiday Inn Express Hotel and Suites Carlsbad Beach
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
About the property
  • Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
  • Wheelchair Access
Things to do
  • Pool
Room types
  • Kitchenette
  • Suites
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
In your room
  • Microwave
Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Free Internet
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Self-Serve Laundry

Additional Information about Extended Stay America - San Diego - Carlsbad Village by the Sea

Address: 1050 Grand Ave, Carlsbad, CA 92008-1813
Region: United States > California > Carlsbad
Price Range: $122 - $216 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Extended Stay America - San Diego - Carlsbad Village by the Sea 2.5*
Number of rooms: 106
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Extended Stay, Agoda, Reservation Counter and Despegar.com so you can book your Extended Stay America - San Diego - Carlsbad Village by the Sea reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Extended Stayamerica San Diego-Carlsbad Hotel Carlsbad
Extended Stay America Carlsbad
Extended Stay Carlsbad
Carlsbad Extended Stay
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Extended Stay America - San Diego - Carlsbad Village by the Sea staff and other travellers.
3 questions
Ask a question

See all questions (3)

Questions? Get answers from Extended Stay America - San Diego - Carlsbad Village by the Sea staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“If you want a quiet room, ask for top floor not to be on highway or pool side and ask that storm windows be lowered before you arrive.”
 of 5 bubbles HelmetHead, 16 Mar 2017 | Read review
“Rooms overlooking the pool”
 of 5 bubbles Philipwhitehead, 10 Feb 2017 | Read review
“My first night was in a room next to a large freeway. I asked to me moved. The next room was very quiet.”
 of 5 bubbles luannitalia, 2 Oct 2016 | Read review
“For those travelling with small children, maybe request the bottom floor out of consideration for the below guest. We will next time.”
 of 5 bubbles justapout, 6 Sep 2016 | Read review
“Our room faced the freeway which didn't bother any of us...”
 of 5 bubbles chrissym123, 29 Jun 2016 | Read review
5 of 5