We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

Extended Stay America - San Diego - Carlsbad Village by the Sea

Show Prices
Enter dates for lowest prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
We check 200+ sites to find the latest and lowest prices.
Professional photos
Extended Stay America - San Diego - Carlsbad Village by the Sea
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"moduleList":["handlers"],"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

133 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 127: English reviews
Start your review of Extended Stay America - San Diego - Carlsbad Village by the Sea
 Click to rate
Raytown, MO
Reviewed 1 week ago

Reserving a room online is very difficult because I have many requirements but I finally accomplished it after calling the desk clerk. There was only one room meeting my requirements and I discovered I must ask for smoking to get it! Issues: 1) The construction was substandard with thin walls allowing human voices to be heard through the wall! 2)...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank HelmetHead
00esa, General Manager at Extended Stay America - San Diego - Carlsbad Village by the Sea, responded to this review

Please accept my apologies for the issues you experienced during your visit. Our goal is to provide the best customer experience, and we continually strive to improve our efforts. I have addressed your concerns with my team, and we have taken corrective actions so that no future guest experiences the same. We sincerely hope you will give us another opportunity...

Pembroke, United Kingdom
Reviewed 11 February 2017

We needed a room for 2 night in the area and we were pleasantly surprised in the property. good large very clean room with everything we wanted a down stairs room overlooking the pool, so did not hear any noise from the interstate back on to the car park. so had a good night sleep

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Philipwhitehead
00esa, General Manager at Extended Stay America - San Diego - Carlsbad Village by the Sea, responded to this review

Thank you for sharing your experience at Extended Stay America - San Diego - Carlsbad Village by the Sea. We take pride in providing homelike comforts for an enjoyable stay, and we are glad that you loved your comfortable suite. It was our pleasure hosting you, and we hope to see you again for another outstanding visit in the future!...

San Diego, California
Reviewed 16 January 2017 via mobile

The Tri-City Half-Marathon in Carlsbad CA summoned me. I answered the call and chose ESA. It was my first adventure with the chain. They did not disappoint. It's a nice efficiency style room with a standard size refrigerator/freezer, two burner stove, and microwave. Dishes, pots, pans, and silver ware are they upon request. Front Desk Agents Jennifer and Nicole couldn't...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank MrAroundTheWorld
00esa, General Manager at Extended Stay America - San Diego - Carlsbad Village by the Sea, responded to this review

Thank you for being our guest and for taking the time to write a terrific review about your experience at Extended Stay America San Diego - Carlsbad Village by the Sea. We are thrilled to note that you loved your well-maintained room along with the amenities, our ideal location and the exceptional service from our Front Desk associates Jennifer and...

Reviewed 30 December 2016 via mobile

We stayed here when we went to Legoland 3 miles away. We had a great time at the park and came back to the hotel to crash. When you first get to the hotel, you have to call the front desk to get your kitchen utensils. The hotel/rooms are not the best of the best, but they're clean, decent and...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Dana J
00esa, General Manager at Extended Stay America - San Diego - Carlsbad Village by the Sea, responded to this review

Thank you for evaluating your recent stay at Extended Stay America - San Diego - Carlsbad Village by the Sea. Nothing is more important than your satisfaction so we are delighted to know that you were happy with our clean facilities, ideal location and the good value we offer. We appreciate you and your family being our guest, and hope...

La Quinta, California
Reviewed 30 December 2016

I found this hotel to be dirty. I found dog hair in the bed sheets and on the corner of the floors. The refrigerator made noise through out the night. Will not stay again and will not recommend this hotel to anyone. Cruz

 Report
Helpful?
Thank freedom4youcoaching
00esa, Manager at Extended Stay America - San Diego - Carlsbad Village by the Sea, responded to this review

Thank you for your review of our hotel. Our promise is to provide you with fresh, clean accommodations, and I am disappointed that did not occur during your stay. Please accept my apologies and know that we take our commitment to clean rooms and suites very seriously and will be looking into the feedback you provided. I hope this isolated...

Reviewed 21 November 2016 via mobile

We were sick the entire stay. The air units were not serviced and full of dust, dirt and mold, the photo says it all. The beds were extremely firm, because of both issues we didn't sleep. We will never return to this hotel, it ruined our vacation.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Brenda Lee T
00esa, General Manager at Extended Stay America - San Diego - Carlsbad Village by the Sea, responded to this review

Feedback is very important to us, and when we are made aware of a less than positive situation we make every attempt to correct it to our guests satisfaction. We are sorry you were pleased with the comfort of the bedding. Our maintenance team conducts regular routine repairs in our suites, and we will have your suite reviewed and any...

San Diego, California
Reviewed 3 October 2016

This hotel is next to the I-5 in Carlsbad, CA. First room was next to the freeway! So loud it was not possible to sleep. I asked to be moved to an inside room and it was nice and quiet. WiFi is advertised as "free", a slow mo wifi is free; if you want speed you have to pay for...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank luannitalia
00esa, General Manager at Extended Stay America - San Diego - Carlsbad Village by the Sea, responded to this review

Thank you for your review. We appreciate you sharing your thoughts with fellow travelers online and are glad you were pleased with our clean facility. Our housekeeping team does a great job in maintaining our facilities, so your comments will be shared with them. We value your business and hope you will choose Extended Stay America - San Diego -...

Lake Elsinore, California
Reviewed 15 September 2016 via mobile

... Very excited when I open the door.. felt welcoming .. Had a slight problem with one of the new appliances .. Problem was solved quickly..spacious..quite & clean even with the workers on site..close to Good Eats..mikkos sushi.. Alejandra 24hrs for burritos... And a grocery store All in walking distance

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Waltier
00esa, General Manager at Extended Stay America - San Diego - Carlsbad Village by the Sea, responded to this review

It is so nice to read your positive review of your stay at Extended Stay America - San Diego - Carlsbad Village by the Sea. Our goal is to provide our guests with an exceptional experience, so we are thrilled we were successful in doing so during your stay. We appreciate your kind remarks regarding your spacious accommodation and our...

Ventura, California
Reviewed 6 September 2016

We recently Stayed at this location, after being given a Be Our Guest Voucher for a not so pleasant stay at the Orange County location. The young lady at the front desk was beyond accommodating. The location is within walking distance to all the restaurants and shops in Carlsbad Village. The pool was clean and our kids had a great...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank justapout
00esa, General Manager at Extended Stay America - San Diego - Carlsbad Village by the Sea, responded to this review

It was our pleasure having you and your family as our guest at Extended Stay America - San Diego - Carlsbad Village by the Sea, and thank you for sharing your review with other travelers. It is great to read you enjoyed your stay, and that you also liked our facilities and location. We especially appreciate your kind comments regarding...

Perth
Reviewed 22 August 2016

My wife, adult son and I had a family gathering in Carlsbad and stayed at this facility for a week. We selected a king one bedroom suite, consisting of a large room with kitchenette, king bed and sofa bed. The room was clean and well furnished with comfortable bedding and adequate kitchen facilities, two televisions, AC and swimming pool with...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank murraygray69
00esa, Manager at Extended Stay America - San Diego - Carlsbad Village by the Sea, responded to this review

Thanks for staying at Extended Stay America - San Diego - Carlsbad Village by the Sea recently and for the feedback provided. It is wonderful to know you not only enjoyed your well-kept accommodation with a kitchenette, our excellent service and helpful staff, but you found us to be a great value. We are thrilled to share your words with...

109 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (7)
Viewed
Other (7)

TripAdvisor Photos: Professional photos exclusively commissioned by TripAdvisor

Viewed
All TripAdvisor Photos (90)
Viewed
Double Bed (29)
Viewed
King Bed (31)
Viewed
Queen Bed (29)
Viewed
The Hotel (1)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (12)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (1)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
Room/Suite (5)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (2)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Other (2)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Carlsbad hotels
1.2 km away
Days Inn Carlsbad
Days Inn Carlsbad
#25 of 36 in Carlsbad
315 reviews
7.0 km away
La Quinta Inn & Suites San Diego Carlsbad
5.0 km away
Carlsbad by the Sea Resort
Carlsbad by the Sea Resort
#29 of 36 in Carlsbad
627 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.0 km away
Rodeway Inn Near Legoland
Rodeway Inn Near Legoland
#35 of 36 in Carlsbad
113 reviews
7.1 km away
Ramada Carlsbad
Ramada Carlsbad
#36 of 36 in Carlsbad
968 reviews
7.4 km away
Holiday Inn Express Hotel and Suites Carlsbad Beach
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
About the property
  • Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
  • Wheelchair Access
Things to do
  • Pool
Room types
  • Kitchenette
  • Suites
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
In your room
  • Microwave
Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Free Internet
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Self-Serve Laundry

Additional Information about Extended Stay America - San Diego - Carlsbad Village by the Sea

Address: 1050 Grand Ave, Carlsbad, CA 92008-1813
Region: United States > California > Carlsbad
Price Range: $121 - $216 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Extended Stay America - San Diego - Carlsbad Village by the Sea 2.5*
Number of rooms: 106
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Extended Stay, Hotels.com and Priceline so you can book your Extended Stay America - San Diego - Carlsbad Village by the Sea reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Extended Stayamerica San Diego-Carlsbad Hotel Carlsbad
Extended Stay America Carlsbad
Extended Stay Carlsbad
Carlsbad Extended Stay
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Extended Stay America - San Diego - Carlsbad Village by the Sea staff and other travellers.
3 questions
Ask a question

See all questions (3)

Questions? Get answers from Extended Stay America - San Diego - Carlsbad Village by the Sea staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“If you want a quiet room, ask for top floor not to be on highway or pool side and ask that storm windows be lowered before you arrive.”
 of 5 bubbles HelmetHead, 16 Mar 2017 | Read review
“Rooms overlooking the pool”
 of 5 bubbles Philipwhitehead, 10 Feb 2017 | Read review
“My first night was in a room next to a large freeway. I asked to me moved. The next room was very quiet.”
 of 5 bubbles luannitalia, 2 Oct 2016 | Read review
“For those travelling with small children, maybe request the bottom floor out of consideration for the below guest. We will next time.”
 of 5 bubbles justapout, 6 Sep 2016 | Read review
“Our room faced the freeway which didn't bother any of us...”
 of 5 bubbles chrissym123, 29 Jun 2016 | Read review
5 of 5