We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

Best Western Plus Capitola By-The-Sea Inn & Suites

Booking.comUSD 181*
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
04/06/2017 05/06/2017
1 room 2 adults 0 children
Lock in the lowest price from our partners
View Deal
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Professional photos
Best Western Plus Capitola By-The-Sea Inn & Suites
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

599 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
There are newer reviews for Best Western Plus Capitola By-The-Sea Inn & Suites
See the most recent reviews
Showing 585: English reviews
Reno, United States
Reviewed 31 March 2016

The hotel was really nice and very friendly staff. The beds are comfy and the rooms were very quiet. We had a great time and the kids loved the heated pool and hot tub. It wasn't too far to a few of the beaches which was nice and maybe 10-15 minutes to the boardwalk.

Review collected in partnership with Best Western
 Report
Helpful?
Thank Jennifer V
Jason R, General Manager at Best Western Plus Capitola By-The-Sea Inn & Suites, responded to this review

Jennifer V, We are very pleased to hear that your family enjoyed their time here with us and that our location was convenient for your little getaway vacation. We hope to see you and your family again soon so you can explore the many other options that the Santa Cruz/Capitola area has to offer. With Hospitality, Jason Raney

Artois, United States
Reviewed 30 March 2016

Extremely clean. Staff was very friendly and professional. Bed was comfortable. Breakfast was only "so-so". The fitness center was a nice addition. Price was a little high, but our overall experience was great. Would recommend to family and friends.

Review collected in partnership with Best Western
 Report
Helpful?
Thank Jodi R
Jason R, General Manager at Best Western Plus Capitola By-The-Sea Inn & Suites, responded to this review

Jodi R, Thank you so much for taking the time to share your experience at our hotel. We are very pleased to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us. I do want to acknowledge that during your stay with us our rates were a little higher than they normally are in March but that was due to the fact...

Troy, Ohio
Reviewed 30 March 2016 via mobile

This hotel was easy to get to and was comfy and clean. A mall is right down the street and a movie theater is just a few blocks away as well. Plenty of small places to eat are nearby so we found it to be a perfect place to stay as we passed through.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Andrea M
Jason R, General Manager at Best Western Plus Capitola By-The-Sea Inn & Suites, responded to this review

Andrea M, I am very happy to hear that our location was very convenient for you. Hopefully next time you come to town you can stay longer and experience some of the great things that Capitola has to offer. Kindest Regards, Jason Raney

Los Angeles, California
Reviewed 28 March 2016

I was pleasantly surprised by the suite we rented for two nights this past wkend. It was a 1-king bed suite which included a king bed in bedroom with separate living room equipped with sofabed. We are a family of 2 adults and 2 little ones. We brought our own pack-n-play for youngest family member. We didn't end up using...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank emanuelleo
Jason R, General Manager at Best Western Plus Capitola By-The-Sea Inn & Suites, responded to this review

emanuelleo, I am so happy to hear that the accommodations in our Extended Mini Suite worked well for your family as well as our centralized location. We do hope that you return soon to see the end result of our renovations as well as to experience more of what Capitola and Santa Cruz have to offer. With Hospitality, Jason Raney

Riverbank, United States
Reviewed 24 March 2016

I always stay here at Capitola By The Sea!! The Staff are always friendly and go out of their way to assist all guest. This stay however I was disappointed the main entry to all rooms was under construction on the first floor, that wasn't the issue. The repair guy was really rude and started his tile saw at 8am....

Review collected in partnership with Best Western
 Report
Helpful?
Thank Patricia H
Jason R, General Manager at Best Western Plus Capitola By-The-Sea Inn & Suites, responded to this review

Patricia H, I would like to thank you for your continued loyalty. You are always so very kind to our staff and everyone appreciates you each time you are here. I am very sorry that you were disturbed by the noise from our flooring contractor while he was working very hard to help us progress in our current renovation project....

Clovis, United States
Reviewed 21 March 2016

I thought this hotel was very nice, it is currently under renovations but still nice. Plenty of pillows and towels and clean, quiet rooms. Breakfast was excellent as compared to other breakfast included hotels. Parking was easy right around the back of the hotel with easy access. Poll looked very nice and hot tub was being used every night.

Review collected in partnership with Best Western
 Report
Helpful?
Thank Andrew I
Jason R, General Manager at Best Western Plus Capitola By-The-Sea Inn & Suites, responded to this review

Andrew I, Thank you for taking the time to share your experience at our hotel. I'm happy to hear that you enjoyed yourself and the renovations were not too intrusive. We hope that you will come back when our renovations are complete and see all the wonderful improvements we are performing. Kindest Regards, Jason Raney

N/A, United States
Reviewed 19 March 2016

Good hotel and service. But email spam from them stinks. They ask for an email account then spam you with junk mail. Then it takes 7 days for them to unsubscribe you. If they ask, do not give them your email.

Review collected in partnership with Best Western
 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Phillip S
Jason R, General Manager at Best Western Plus Capitola By-The-Sea Inn & Suites, responded to this review

Phillip S, I am glad you enjoyed our Hotel and the level of service you received. It was my pleasure to help you come to resolution with your concerns in regards to the Best Western advertisement emails; and that you did not have to wait seven days to stop receiving said emails. We hope to see you again in the...

Lincoln, CA, United States
Reviewed 9 March 2016

Room was clean and the hotel was quiet. The staff at the Best Western in Capitola were very nice a courteous. I enjoyed my stay. Additionally, the location was very close to the beach and several restaurants were of high quality.

Review collected in partnership with Best Western
 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Adam I
Jason R, General Manager at Best Western Plus Capitola By-The-Sea Inn & Suites, responded to this review

Adam I, Thank you so much for staying with us and taking the time to leave a review of your experience. I'm glad that everything we offered met your expectations. We do hope that you stay with us again soon. With Hospitality, Jason Raney

Grass Valley, California, United States
Reviewed 6 March 2016

Convenient location, very helpful staff with many amenities, including off-street parking. A good number of quality restaurants nearby. My wife and I stopped for an over-night on the way to Carmel. Enjoyed an excellent Italian dinner at Carusos across from the beach. Highly recommend for a very nice beach-side town relaxing holiday.

Review collected in partnership with Best Western
 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Bradley D
Jason R, General Manager at Best Western Plus Capitola By-The-Sea Inn & Suites, responded to this review

Bradley D, I very happy to hear that we were the perfect stopover place for your trip to Carmel. I'm also pleased to hear that you discovered Caruso's down in Capitola Village. It's a wonderful little restaurant that is one of the many little hidden gems that Capitola has to offer. We hope that you come back again soon. With...

north yorkshire
Reviewed 5 March 2016

Not knowing exactly where to stay in the Monterey Bay area coming from San Francisco we booked in Capitola which can best be described as interesting! Not as bustling as nearby Santa Cruz but having a lovely beach and pier to enjoy as well as a quaint "down-town", and fearures a fabulous wood railway viaduct. The hotel is a bit...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank wacfred
Jason R, General Manager at Best Western Plus Capitola By-The-Sea Inn & Suites, responded to this review

wacrfed, Thank you so much for staying with us. I'm pleased to hear that you enjoyed Capitola Village and that you enjoyed the accommodations that we have to offer. We hope to see you again soon as the Capitola/Santa Cruz area has a lot more to offer and much more to explore. With Hospitality, Jason Raney

23 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (22)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (3)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (1)
Viewed
View from Room (5)
Viewed
Room/Suite (3)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
Dining (3)
Viewed
Business Centre/Function Rooms (1)
Viewed
Other (5)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (1)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (1)
04/06/2017 05/06/2017
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Capitola
1.2 km away
Capitola Hotel
Capitola Hotel
#1 of 4 in Capitola
270 reviews
0.1 km away
Fairfield Inn & Suites Santa Cruz - Capitola
1.1 km away
Capitola Venetian Hotel
Capitola Venetian Hotel
#4 of 4 in Capitola
122 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.0 km away
Best Western Seacliff Inn
5.5 km away
Rio Sands Hotel
Rio Sands Hotel
#2 of 6 in Aptos
307 reviews
5.0 km away
Hotel Paradox, Autograph Collection
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Pool
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Free Parking
  • Spa
  • Breakfast included
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
GreenPartner Learn More
About the property
  • Wheelchair Access
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
Things to do
  • Pool
  • Spa
  • Hot Tub
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
Room types
  • Suites
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Family Rooms
In your room
  • Air Conditioning
  • Microwave
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Business Centre with Internet Access
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Laundry Service
  • Dry Cleaning
  • Multilingual Staff
  • Self-Serve Laundry
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Our "Best of the Best" award-winning hotel is only eight blocks from quaint Capitola Village, California's oldest seaside resort, and three miles from the Santa Cruz Beach Boardwalk & Santa Cruz Wharf. We are at the center of a vacationer's paradise. Stroll through art galleries, antique shops, local wineries and majestic redwood forests. Observe the migration of elephant seals, gray whales and Monarch butterflies. Miles of beaches offer world-class surfing, fishing, boating and kayaking. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Best Western Plus Capitola By-The-Sea Inn & Suites

Address: 1435 41st Ave, Capitola, CA 95010-2912
Region: United States > California > Capitola
Price Range: $195 - $477 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Best Western Plus Capitola By-The-Sea Inn & Suites 2.5*
Number of rooms: 54
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Best Western, Expedia, Hotwire, Travelocity, Orbitz, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon, getaroom.com, HotelsClick, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Best Western Plus Capitola By-The-Sea Inn & Suites reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Plus Capitola By-The-Sea Hotel Capitola
Best Western Plus Capitola By-The-Sea Inn And Suites
Best Western Capitola
Capitola Best Western
Best Western Plus Capitola By-The-Sea Inn & Suites California
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Best Western Plus Capitola By-The-Sea Inn & Suites staff and other travellers.
10 questions
Ask a question
2 months ago
4 months ago
Boise, Idaho
6 months ago

See all questions (10)

Questions? Get answers from Best Western Plus Capitola By-The-Sea Inn & Suites staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“The top floor junior fireplace suites are terrific”
Regina926, 1 Jan 2017 | Read review
“This is such a personal thing, based on individual needs, but all rooms I've stayed in are really good.”
suzanneb265, 13 Dec 2016 | Read review
“be aware that one side of hotel is next to a grocery store...delivery trucks start pulling up to unload about 6am & it gets noisy at times.”
charlottea442, 5 Nov 2016 | Read review
“I think you will find all rooms are nice”
hylt0nh, 15 Aug 2016 | Read review
“Stay away from the north side- Very noisy near a strip mall and dumpsters with homeless hanging around. Trucks unloading in early AM”
wolfhollow, 5 Aug 2016 | Read review
5 of 5
Booking.com
USD 181* /night
View Deal
HotelQuicklyUSD 261
Hotwire.comUSD 182
Orbitz.comUSD 182
View all 14 deals
*Disclaimer
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Change dates