We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

Capitola Venetian Hotel

Expedia.comUSD 257*
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
04/06/2017 05/06/2017
1 room 2 adults 0 children
Lock in the lowest price from our partners
View Deal
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Professional photos
Capitola Venetian Hotel
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

122 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
There are newer reviews for Capitola Venetian Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Showing 122: English reviews
Reviewed 28 May 2014

My new favorite place in the world ! This hotel on the beach has everything you could want in a vacation. You can park your car for a few days and walk everywhere. There are shops, restaurants, beach, river, and the room even has a kitchen ! I even own an Inn myself and I see the great value here....

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Kathleen A
BartfieldGroup, Manager at Capitola Venetian Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you Kathleen for the great review! You're right; it's great having so much to do within walking distance. I'm happy you enjoyed your stay and look forward to having you stay with us again soon. Regards, Duane

Elk Grove, California
Reviewed 25 April 2014

Just got back from a 4 night 5 day stay at the Venetian. This was by far the most relaxing, comfortable, rejuvenating trip I have been on in years. We had Room 112 which was wonderful. 2 bedrooms with the most comfortable beds I have ever slept in. they also had 2 murphy beds which we did not need to...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank SandyP9100
BartfieldGroup, Manager at Capitola Venetian Hotel, responded to this review

I'm glad you enjoyed your stay. Thank you for the great review. We really appreciate it and hope you'll be staying with us again soon. Regards, Duane

South Lake Tahoe, California
Reviewed 28 February 2014

So on the outside, the location seems to good to be true. Because it is. The rooms are funky good in that they have a small living room space w/ a fully functional kitchen and a semi-private bed area, would have beed great for an extended stay, or lots of family or friends. They are funky bad due to the...

 Report
Helpful?
6Thank Visitin83
BartfieldGroup, Manager at Capitola Venetian Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to post a review. We appreciate your feedback. Our hotel is an older landmark and isn’t as up to date as some newer hotels. We are trying go upgrade many of the fixtures while keeping the antique feel of the place. I'm glad you enjoyed your stay and hope you'll be staying with us...

San Dimas, California
Reviewed 23 February 2014

The location of this hotel was great. When it was time to go to bed I felt uncomfortable. It didn't feel clean like the marriott hotel which we stayed at the night before. Wish we would have Never left. Brought home BED BUGS!!!! So disgusting. I had to buy a complete new bed set......NEVER AGAIN.......

 Report
Helpful?
5Thank Lorie L
BartfieldGroup, Manager at Capitola Venetian Hotel, responded to this review

Hi, I'm sorry for your negative experience. Thank you for the feedback. I can't respond specifically since your stay was five months ago and I don't know your name or the room you stayed in etc.. We take any such reports very seriously. Any time we've had a guest even hint at something of this nature we strip and carefully...

Reviewed 23 February 2014

Just got back from a 2 night stay at the Venetian. Accommodations were clean and comfortable- beds were great! Location is fabulous! People in shops very friendly and prices reasonable. Paradise Grill has wonderful food and a great happy hour. Beach quiet this time of year so great place to bring your book and relax. Will definitely be coming back...

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank Laurie R
BartfieldGroup, Manager at Capitola Venetian Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for the great review! I'm glad you enjoyed your stay in Capitola. The unusually nice weather this winter has made this a great time to come. We hope you'll be staying with us again soon. Thanks again, Duane

Elk Grove, CA
Reviewed 18 February 2014

My daughter and I just got back from one of our Mother/Daughter weekends where we stayed here at the Venetian. We stayed in room 123 which was like having our own little apartment on the beach. There was a fireplace which we really enjoyed in the evenings. Great view and location. We were sad we had to leave but are...

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank cabowaboElkGrove
BartfieldGroup, Manager at Capitola Venetian Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for staying with us and posting the great review. I'm glad you enjoyed your stay and hope you'll be visiting us again soon. Take Care, Duane

Ferndale, California
Reviewed 28 December 2013

The Venetian is all about the view. Situated right on the sand at the lovely Capitola Beach, this historic motel/lodge is a fun place to stay. The proximity to all the charming shops and restaurants in Capitola is very appealing. The management is very helpful and friendly. We had a 1 bdrm unit near the office, which unfortunately is also...

 Report
Helpful?
5Thank sandybeach818
BartfieldGroup, Manager at Capitola Venetian Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you so much for the nice review. I'm glad you enjoyed your stay and hope you'll be joining us again soon. Regards, Duane

Auburn, CA
Reviewed 15 November 2013

This was my first visit, having been referred to the Venetian by two co-workers. I got a great price on the room and stayed Monday-Friday. The room was decent and clean. Nice "living room" area and the kitchen came in handy. Had a view of the ocean and a balcony. Yes, there is a roof to look at in front...

 Report
Helpful?
5Thank tippin_velvet
BartfieldGroup, Manager at Capitola Venetian Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to review our hotel. We really appreciate it. I'm glad you enjoyed your stay and hope you'll be staying with us again soon! If you keep an eye our our website we do offer specials fairly often this time of year. Regards, Duane

Stockton, California
Reviewed 24 October 2013

This place was perfect for my husband, my four kids, and myself! We were in town for the Mermaid Triathlon and looked for an affordable place for our entire family to stay. Because the Venetian was close to the beach and to the event, we decided to check it out. We were not disappointed at all! The rooms were big...

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank Jonya M
BartfieldGroup, Manager at Capitola Venetian Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to post the nice review of our hotel. That really was a fun weekend here in Capitola. We really appreciate it and hope to see you again soon. Thanks Again, Duane

Sacramento, California
Reviewed 23 October 2013

An excellent little boutique hotel with great Ocean View rooms and an outstanding location!! A real find if you want to visit Capitola! Not the cheapest but the extra is definitely worth it because of the views and location.

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Philip B
BartfieldGroup, Manager at Capitola Venetian Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you so much for the great review. We really appreciate you taking the time. Hope to see you again soon. Regards, Duane

58 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (55)
Viewed
View from Room (9)
Viewed
Room/Suite (21)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (8)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (1)
Viewed
Dining (2)
Viewed
Family/Play Areas (1)
Viewed
Bathroom (2)
Viewed
Other (11)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (3)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (3)
04/06/2017 05/06/2017
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Capitola
0.1 km away
Capitola Hotel
Capitola Hotel
#2 of 4 in Capitola
270 reviews
1.1 km away
Best Western Plus Capitola By-The-Sea Inn & Suites
1.1 km away
Fairfield Inn & Suites Santa Cruz - Capitola
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.5 km away
Dream Inn
Dream Inn
#2 of 54 in Santa Cruz
1,352 reviews
4.4 km away
Rio Sands Hotel
Rio Sands Hotel
#2 of 6 in Aptos
307 reviews
0.9 km away
Monarch Cove Inn
Monarch Cove Inn
#1 of 4 in Capitola
287 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free Parking
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
In your room
  • Refrigerator in room
  • Microwave
Services
  • Free Parking

Additional Information about Capitola Venetian Hotel

Address: 1500 Wharf Rd, Capitola, CA 95010-3269
Region: United States > California > Capitola
Price Range: $223 - $543 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Capitola Venetian Hotel 2.5*
Number of rooms: 19
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Hotwire and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Capitola Venetian Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Capitola Venetian Hotel California
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Capitola Venetian Hotel staff and other travellers.
5 questions
Ask a question

See all questions (5)

Questions? Get answers from Capitola Venetian Hotel staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Ask for a beach view room/.”
771RonJ, 22 Mar 2017 | Read review
“Ask for second story room with balcony & view, if available. We had room 130.”
lindalH3708YK, 8 Jul 2016 | Read review
“It is nice having an upper unit with a view to the sea”
CTFan_AZ, 28 May 2016 | Read review
“Recommend 2nd story (133, end 1st floor) has a partial ocean view (and everyone that walks by, 2' away from the window all day and evening)”
SmokeyTheBare, 19 Feb 2016 | Read review
“We had Rooms 26 & 28, both with oceanviews and balconies”
  • As seen from Room 28
  • As seen from Room 28
  • As seen from Room 28
  • As seen from Room 28
  • As seen from Room 28
  • As seen from Room 28
  • Sunrise as seen from Room 28 😎
  • Sunrise as seen from Room 28 😎
syrahgirl, 16 Feb 2016 | Read review
5 of 5
Expedia.com
USD 257* /night
View Deal
Booking.comUSD 257
TravelocityUSD 257
Hotwire.comUSD 257
View all 7 deals
*Disclaimer
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Change dates