We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

Blue River Resort & Hot Springs

Booking.comUSD 114*
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
11/06/2017 12/06/2017
1 room 2 adults 0 children
USD 117*
USD 114*
USD 117*
USD 114*
USD 117*
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Professional photos
Blue River Resort & Hot Springs
Blue River Resort & Hot Springs
Panoramas (13)
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"}},"containerClass":null,"scriptFlags":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

967 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
There are newer reviews for Blue River Resort & Hot Springs
See the most recent reviews
Showing 768: English reviews
Reviewed 4 February 2015

Stayed in mid-January 2015. Everything lived up to our expectations. Used a Groupon and had two activities. food, accommodation resort all were as advertised. The drive took a full two hours from the airport, so none of this an hour to Liberia consider that in your trip planned. Tubing is not for the feight of heart or short folks as...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Tom J
Blue River R, Owner at Blue River Resort & Hot Springs, responded to this review

Hola from Costa Rica! – We are extremely appreciative of your review. Allow me to comment on a couple things. To begin, the road is being repaired which once more will lower the time to reach the resort from the Liberia Airport to no more than 90 minutes. A 4x4 is not necessary, but a vehicle with high clearance is....

Reviewed 1 February 2015

My husband and I travelled with another couple for a long weekend to the blue river resort. We had a great time. The grounds are beautiful. We loved soaking in the hot spring pools and even did the mud bath. Highly recommend horseback riding and enjoyed the hike and waterfalls. We tubed the river but that was a strenuous activity...

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank R G
Blue River R, Owner at Blue River Resort & Hot Springs, responded to this review

Hola and thanks for your comments and kind words. The entire staff reads the reviews together with an eye to improving. We are proud of the facilities and our special rainforest. With regards to the road (and as just replied in an earlier review), the government is now back fixing up the roads for maintenance. We expect that they will...

Wilmington, North Carolina
Reviewed 31 January 2015

The resort is a wonderful facility and experience - unfortunately the same can't be said for the management. The surroundings are incredible, the gardens are lush, the rooms and restaurant are very nice. The food is pretty good, not excellent and the service can be spotty. Food is brought pretty promptly, but getting the check requires some effort. The breakfast...

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank DontStayInOnePlace
Blue River R, Owner at Blue River Resort & Hot Springs, responded to this review

Hola – We thank you for your observations and for taking the time to create this review. We read and discuss each one with a critical eye. On the topic or road conditions, let me take this opportunity to offer an update. The government is now fixing the gravel road that leads to the resort. Being first in line for...

NYC
Reviewed 29 January 2015 via mobile

Our only regret: we should have booked a longer time than three days. What a beautiful place. We've traveled all over Costa Rica and this was our 8th time. The hot springs were stunning, with parrots flying overhead and many other tropical birds. Some of the best birding I've done in Central America was here. There are gardens everywhere and...

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank fluffie26
Austin, Texas, United States
Reviewed 29 January 2015

I went to Blue River Resort as part of our honeymoon and stayed there for 3 nights. The Great: The staff at the restaurant (Carlos) and on the excursions are great. The cabins are nice. The food surpassed my expectations. I doubted that a place so far off the beaten path could have good food, but it was great. Also,...

Review collected in partnership with this hotel
 Report
Helpful?
2Thank Dan B
Blue River R, Owner at Blue River Resort & Hot Springs, responded to this review

Hola! Thank you for taking the time to create your review. Though we wish we could have scored higher, we very much appreciate your kind words and observations. We are sorry the weather could not have been better during your stay. Unfortunately there had been an unusual number of days with greater rain in January. As you know, the sun...

Puerto Vallarta
Reviewed 29 January 2015

Blue River Resort & Hot Springs was everything I had been told and more! The hot spring pools were wonderful, the food was excellent, the rooms were very clean. We did not go on any of the adventures but spoke to many that had, and they were all very happy and excited to be sharing memories at Blue River. The...

Review collected in partnership with this hotel
 Report
Helpful?
2Thank cinloukid
Blue River R, Owner at Blue River Resort & Hot Springs, responded to this review

Hola and thank you very much for your kind comments and taking the time to review your stay. All the staff reads them and take them to heart. Again, muchas gracias! Yours truly, Kevin

new york
Reviewed 28 January 2015

I Booked this resort as a gift for my husbands birthday. we were staying in Costa Rica for a total of 7 nights . after our 3 nights in a beach resort we headed out to Blue River. We had read that the last leg of the drive was over a bad dirt road so we were prepared. Boy was...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank pmgjoni
Blue River R, Owner at Blue River Resort & Hot Springs, responded to this review

Hola! Your kind words are deeply appreciated. We share all reviews with all the staff members and they are deeply touched. We hope you come visit again soon. Thanks again for taking the time to do this. Yours truly, Kevin

Spokane, Washington
Reviewed 27 January 2015

It was a groupon offer the brought us here...but a very pleasant and relaxing stay that will bring us back. Yes, Blue River Resort is WAY off the beaten path. This is not a good hub from which to base non Blue River sponsored activities, however, it is a beautiful property with great food and plentiful excursions onsite that can...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank AlanBC007
Blue River R, Owner at Blue River Resort & Hot Springs, responded to this review

Hola Alan, Thank you for visiting, taking the time to write this review and make these observations. I, the manager and staff read, discuss them as a means of looking for ways to improve. We are very proud of what we have to work with. Please permit me to take advantage of this opportunity to add in something about being,...

fort lee, nj
Reviewed 20 January 2015

The hotel is in the area with very wet "microclimate". It rains heavily, frequently and unpredictably even during the dry season. And when it rains, there is not much to do - there is no game room, internet works sporadically and only near the office, equipment in the gym is broken (at least 3 machines were not usable) and there...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank goodtravel
Blue River R, Owner at Blue River Resort & Hot Springs, responded to this review

Hola! Please know we read and appreciate all reviews. Myself and the staff read each one with an eye to improving. This review presents an opportunity for me to explain a few points, so permit me to take advantage: 1. The weather/climate & how long to stay– Too much rain can dampen just about any holiday but the comment about...

camillus ny
Reviewed 20 January 2015

My wife and I spent last three days of our vacation here. My second stay, her first. I enjoyed it so much three years ago I wanted her to have the experience. About a two hour drive from Liberia Airport , over a difficult road the last 20 kilometers . One is back in the boonies and back into rain...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank george l
Blue River R, Owner at Blue River Resort & Hot Springs, responded to this review

Hola George – thanks so much for taking the time to review Blue River Resort & Hot Springs. We take great pride in what we have and the service we provide. We are glad to have helped “score some points” with your wife. Again, greatly appreciated! Yours truly, Kevin

1,075 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (836)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (237)
Viewed
Family/Play Areas (37)
Viewed
Room/Suite (78)
Viewed
Bathroom (10)
Viewed
Dining (28)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (73)
Viewed
View from Room (19)
Viewed
0:48
Videos (5)
Viewed
Other (349)

TripAdvisor Photos: Professional photos exclusively commissioned by TripAdvisor

Viewed
All TripAdvisor Photos (182)
Viewed
Amenities (47)
Viewed
Double Room (47)
Viewed
Hot Spring Pools (12)
Viewed
Pool (8)
Viewed
Dining (14)
Viewed
The Hotel (44)
Viewed
Waterslide Pool (10)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (57)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (5)
Viewed
Room/Suite (8)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (15)
Viewed
View from Room (2)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
Other (25)
11/06/2017 12/06/2017
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Rincon de La Vieja
17.5 km away
Hacienda Guachipelin
Hacienda Guachipelin
#3 of 7 in Rincon de La Vieja
1,288 reviews
28.4 km away
Canon de la Vieja Lodge
Canon de la Vieja Lodge
#5 of 7 in Rincon de La Vieja
275 reviews
18.6 km away
Buena Vista Lodge
Buena Vista Lodge
#4 of 7 in Rincon de La Vieja
427 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
39.3 km away
Celeste Mountain Lodge
Celeste Mountain Lodge
#1 of 5 in Bijagua de Upala
638 reviews
35.4 km away
Tenorio Lodge
Tenorio Lodge
#3 of 5 in Bijagua de Upala
309 reviews
37.3 km away
Rio Perdido
Rio Perdido
#1 of 1 in Bagaces
704 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Pool
  • Free Parking
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
  • Spa
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Breakfast included
  • Room Service
  • Free Internet
About the property
  • Wheelchair Access
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
Things to do
  • Pool
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
  • Spa
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Hot Tub
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Family Rooms
In your room
  • Air Conditioning
Internet
  • Free Internet
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly)
  • Shuttle Bus Service
  • Airport Transportation
  • Breakfast included
  • Multilingual Staff
  • Room Service
  • Laundry Service
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Blue River Resort and Hot Springs is an authentic Costa Rica experience in the rainforests of Rincon de la Vieja. Our jewel is the spectacular natural mineral "green" hot spring pools – but that’s just the beginning. There is a large fresh water pool & bullet slide, the spa, botanical gardens, butterfly farm, iguana and frog pond and much more. Set out on several authentic eco Costa Rica adventure tours, all nearby. Eco-tours include visits to gorgeous blue volcanic rivers and waterfalls by horseback, nature walks, volcano hike, zip-lining across waterfalls and much more. The breadth of eco-nature tours will amaze you. Blue River Resort & Hot Springs offers luxury accommodation in new, spacious 720 square foot cabanas. Book your dream Costa Rica vacation! ... more   less 

Additional Information about Blue River Resort & Hot Springs

Address: | 600 m West of la Puente and Rio Azul, Rincon de La Vieja 21306, Costa Rica
Region: Costa Rica > Province of Guanacaste > Rincon de La Vieja
Price Range: $145 - $245 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Blue River Resort & Hot Springs 3.5*
Number of rooms: 20
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Priceline, Expedia, Hotwire, Cancelon, TripOnline SA and HRS so you can book your Blue River Resort & Hot Springs reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Blue River Resort And Hot Springs
Blue River Resort & Hot Springs Hotel Rincon De La Vieja
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Blue River Resort & Hot Springs staff and other travellers.
41 questions
Ask a question

See all questions (41)

Questions? Get answers from Blue River Resort & Hot Springs staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“The rooms farthest from reception are also farthest from horses and donkeys that occasionally make noise.”
Justin1243, 27 Apr 2017 | Read review
“Prepare for cool, damp mornings because of humidity and dew unless you use the A/C”
P8018SQmarks, 13 Apr 2017 | Read review
“All good - cabins are huge!”
Q2457KOjessicaj, 7 Mar 2017 | Read review
“Queen beds are better Bring your own snacks cause there none and meals are only available during specific times”
AZBob1devildog1, 4 Mar 2017 | Read review
“All the rooms were good. If you rent a car in Liberia, come in the day light hours. The road is difficult at night.”
DrTFJ, 2 Mar 2017 | Read review
5 of 5
Booking.com
USD 114* /night
View Deal
PricelineUSD 114
Hotwire.comUSD 117
Hotels.comUSD 117
View all 8 deals
*Disclaimer
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Change dates