We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

Canon de la Vieja Lodge

Show Prices
Enter dates for lowest prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
We check 200+ sites to find the latest and lowest prices.
Professional photos
Canon de la Vieja Lodge
View Map
{"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null,"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"}}}
Add Photo Write a Review

257 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 98: English reviews
Start your review of Canon de la Vieja Lodge
 Click to rate
Stone, United Kingdom
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Lovely wooden lodge bungalows with nice bathrooms, lovely swimming pool, bar and two restaurants serving good food. The spa is a series of hot and cool pools by the river, with mud experiences and swimming in the river. There is also the offer of full spa massages which I thought were excellent. In addition they offer guided walks of half...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Tallinda
Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

We did the combo adventure tour here which included 8 zip line, rappel with rock climb, horseback riding, white water raft, lunch, "hot springs and mud bath". Zip line - was okay. Nice views. Guides didn't even speak to us which was odd. There are 8 in total. Rappel and rock climb - very hard. One of us did it,...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Amber-Winnipeg
CostaRicaMarketing, Director Comercial at Canon de la Vieja Lodge, responded to this review

Dear Amber: Thank you for taking our One Day Tour at Canyon de la Vieja Lodge. We appreciate your compliments regarding the views at our canopy tour, the rafting tour, the lunch and our heated water pools. Please accept our sincerest apologies on behalf of the hotel staff and myself for not succeeding in creating a fulfilling experience during your...

anchorage
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

Went tubing for the 3rd time on the river next to the lodge. I keep doing it because it had been such a blast. But this time, they were 40 min. late taking us, forgot the 5 of us at the reception (we saw the truck go out with the tubes and another group, so alerted them), and none of...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank teenmom
CostaRicaMarketing, Director Comercial at Canon de la Vieja Lodge, responded to this review

Dear “teenmom”: It is great to hear that this is the third time you visit us! Thank you! We felt terrible that this time we did not have our regular performance during your tubing tour. We are reviewing your comments with our guides in order to make sure this will not happen again. As you mentioned, we have invested in...

Stoke On Trent, England
Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

Good sized rooms, comfortable beds, good WiFi in our room (9) excellent showers with plenty hot water and nice selection of shampoo etc. If you want extras like zip wire, tubing (whatever that is), massage they are here for a price. Swimming pool looked OK. Food was a bit varied. Dinner and breakfast were buffet style for us as part...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank KatyPh
CostaRicaMarketing, Director Comercial at Canon de la Vieja Lodge, responded to this review

On behalf of Canyon de la Vieja Lodge staff, I would like to thank you for visiting us! It was great to read that you highlighted the features and amenities of our rooms as well as the activities we have available for our clients. We are also taking into consideration your comments regarding the service at the restaurant. It is...

oss
Reviewed 21 January 2017

The place had good rooms to stay. The food was good. Still, there is something about this place that would not make me come back here again. We had room # 40 (from memory...might have been 41 as well) and the pool was not far away. Sitting on the small veranda the music from the pool was easily heard. The...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank HdBOss
CostaRicaMarketing, Director Comercial at Canon de la Vieja Lodge, responded to this review

Dear guest: I would like to thank you for visiting us! It was great to read that you enjoyed your room, the food and were able to see some of the wildlife. I want to apologize for the inconvenience with your cup of tea request. We have a brand new restaurant next to the pool for guest staying with us...

Reviewed 16 January 2017

The bungalow was nice, we had number 36 on an edge of the terrible road. Nice and quiet. Airco, WIFI! refrigerator and small coffeemaker, very nice. Two small double beds. Nice terrace. Nice swimmingpool. Diner on the first night was bad, we don't like to complain, but the tomatosoup was terrible salt and the rest was eatible. The next day...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Patrick v
Jacksonville Beach, Florida
Reviewed 9 January 2017

Upon our pm arrival, we wanted to leave. The room was not impressive and were frustrated we had pre-paid a rate of over $100. However, it was late and our options were few. We stayed and enjoyed our stay so much - we plan on returning on our next trip to Costa! Once we occupied the room, we found it...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank ED4664
Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Reviewed 23 December 2016

Our lodge was clean, had airco, plenty of space. Unfortunately the rooms did smell mouldy if the airco was turned off. We also found some of glass plates missing in the windows which means you can turn the airco on but the hot air is flowing into the room anyway. Luckily we their are sufficient nets in front of the...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank RC583
CostaRicaMarketing, Director Comercial at Canon de la Vieja Lodge, responded to this review

Hello, Thank you very much for your comments. It is always important to receive them so that we may have a direct perception from our customers. This year we have some projects as improvements in the rooms and gardens to make them more welcoming as you mentioned, as well as the inside roads. Regarding our brand new Los Almendros Restaurant,...

Indio, California
Reviewed 22 December 2016

While the location is lush, green and beautiful, we had a negative experience on the tours they offer. We went for an all day adventure package, that we were unable to complete. We did zipling and lunch. On the next activity, horseback riding, our daughter was bucked off a horse and sprained her wrist. While accidents happen, this could have...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank iltalk4u
CostaRicaMarketing, Director Comercial at Canon de la Vieja Lodge, responded to this review

Hello dear Mrs. Reed: Greetings from Costa Rica! First of all, we want to apologize once again for what happened. As advised before, we recognized our guide did not handle the situation the way he must, respective measures have been taken. We are very sorry that we are being affected by third parties, the guide you purchased the package from...

cheshire
Reviewed 10 December 2016

Quite isolated location so unless have transport or take a taxi to Liberia not able to go elsewhere at night. Rooms ok but due to gap in wooden chalet type ceiling directly over the bed, spent a lot of the night removing large ants from bed covers! Only fine mesh on windows and quite a few insects get through. I...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank hitcharideCheshire
CostaRicaMarketing, Director Comercial at Canon de la Vieja Lodge, responded to this review

Hello: A warm greeting from Canyon de la Vieja Lodge! Thank you for the visit and your comments. We are located in a transition area between the city of Liberia and the mountains of Rincon de la Vieja; therefore there are insects and various types of animals in the surroundings, as far as possible we try to keep them out...

263 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (184)
Viewed
Dining (12)
Viewed
Bathroom (5)
Viewed
Room/Suite (22)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (62)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (22)
Viewed
Family/Play Areas (8)
Viewed
View from Room (3)
Viewed
Other (50)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (79)
Viewed
Dining (9)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (23)
Viewed
Other (47)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Rincon de La Vieja
11.7 km away
Hacienda Guachipelin
Hacienda Guachipelin
#3 of 6 in Rincon de La Vieja
1,229 reviews
12.6 km away
Hilton Garden Inn Liberia Airport
7.7 km away
Las Espuelas Hotel
Las Espuelas Hotel
#3 of 16 in Liberia
174 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
28.5 km away
Blue River Resort & Hot Springs
Blue River Resort & Hot Springs
#1 of 6 in Rincon de La Vieja
938 reviews
15.6 km away
Hotel Borinquen Mountain Resort
Hotel Borinquen Mountain Resort
#2 of 6 in Rincon de La Vieja
734 reviews
10.5 km away
Buena Vista Lodge
Buena Vista Lodge
#2 of 6 in Rincon de La Vieja
400 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Pool
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Spa
  • Breakfast included
About the property
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
Things to do
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Spa
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Family Rooms
In your room
  • Air Conditioning
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Multilingual Staff
  • Breakfast included
  • Laundry Service
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Surrounded by beautiful gardens just 8 kms from Liberia, we offer a different way to enjoy the natural beauties that surround the Guanacaste National Parks as Santa Rosa, Rincon de la Vieja and Palo Verde.Canyon de la Vieja Lodge offers 50 rooms of which two have access for people with special needs, each has a small front terrace, equipped with double beds, air conditioning, private bathroom, hot water and amenities. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Canon de la Vieja Lodge

Address: Carretera al Parque Nacional Rincon de la Vieja, Rincon de La Vieja 0000, Costa Rica
Region: Costa Rica > Province of Guanacaste > Rincon de La Vieja
Price Range: $123 - $157 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Canon de la Vieja Lodge 3*
Number of rooms: 50
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Booking.com, Hotels.com and Priceline so you can book your Canon de la Vieja Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Canyon De La Vieja Hotel Rincon De La Vieja
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Canon de la Vieja Lodge staff and other travellers.
4 questions
Ask a question

See all questions (4)

Questions? Get answers from Canon de la Vieja Lodge staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Bungalows 1-6 are close to the pool and restaurants.”
 of 5 bubbles Tallinda, 11 Feb 2017 | Read review
“Don't stay here!!!”
 of 5 bubbles iltalk4u, 21 Dec 2016 | Read review
“Rooms 24-25 are near the pool and spa.”
 of 5 bubbles SummerLover71, 19 Jun 2016 | Read review
“All rooms are duplex cabins, so there is no preference.”
 of 5 bubbles Loboli2, 5 May 2016 | Read review
“Not all rooms have wifi, those near the pool do. Nice bar, restaurant, many available activities.”
 of 5 bubbles 882martinf, 29 Apr 2016 | Read review
5 of 5