We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

FogCatcher Inn

Official SiteUSD 223*
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
04/06/2017 05/06/2017
1 room 2 adults 0 children
USD 233*
USD 223*
Great Deal
USD 231*
USD 232*
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Professional photos
FogCatcher Inn
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"moduleList":["handlers"],"template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

1,773 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
There are newer reviews for FogCatcher Inn
See the most recent reviews
Showing 1,720: English reviews
Kenwood, California
Reviewed 2 December 2014

Being over-charged for tacky motel-style surroundings and amenities, and a cold, ho-hum attitude by front desk staffer Jon made this return stay very disappointing. Yes, the setting is nice along the beach, but they are capitalizing on being one of the 'only shows in town' for visiting Hearst Castle. There is a renovation in progress which will possibly make things...

 Report
Helpful?
3Thank SonomaValleyWoman
AGM_FogCatcher_Inn, General Manager at FogCatcher Inn, responded to this review

We are truly disappointed to hear you did not enjoy your stay with us at the FogCatcher Inn as we strive to exceed our guests’ expectations. If you are not happy, we are not happy. Please contact me so that I may personally address your concerns and resolve them to your full satisfaction. Kind Regards, Karen Maraschiello, General Manager kmaraschiello@fogcatcherinn.com...

Madrid, Spain
Reviewed 2 December 2014

We arrived late to the FogCatcher at Cambria, and we had a very fast check in process (with a funny present, a cookie). The room was large, had a fireplace. The furniture was rustic, made in wood. The room had a LG 40in TV. The wifi was free and worked fine. The whole room, including the toilet, looked somewhat old....

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank Jac-and-Jek
AGM_FogCatcher_Inn, General Manager at FogCatcher Inn, responded to this review

Thank you for your review we appreciate your comments and feedback. It will help us improve to better serve our guests. Thank you, Karen Maraschiello, General Manager

Singapore, Singapore
Reviewed 27 November 2014 via mobile

Rooms are large and the location is great. Other than that I would be hard pressed to find anything positive to say. Dated rooms, poor cleanliness in shared areas like the breakfast room, poor service. Basically this is a dated motel. If you pay less than $100 for a room, it would be great value. We paid more than $350...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Rameet K
AGM_FogCatcher_Inn, General Manager at FogCatcher Inn, responded to this review

Thank you for your feedback about the FogCatcher Inn. We were disappointed to hear we did not meet your expectations. As we are anticipating a remodel of our hotel, I would like the opportunity to personally address your concerns and share our future vision. Please contact me at your convenience. Kind Regards, Karen Maraschiello, General Manager kmaraschiello@fogcatcherinn.com

Orlando, Florida
Reviewed 17 November 2014

I had done so searching for a hotel near Cambria and the Hearst Castle. There had been a few not so great reviews. We took the chance and very not disappointed. I loved the location and the waves pounding across the road. Had a lunch outside and watch the waves it was magical. The rooms are a little dated but...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Debbie A
Placerville, California
Reviewed 17 November 2014

This hotel gets one star for the reservation snafu and three stars for customer service. We have stayed at the Fogcatcher Inn many, many times and also have brought friends. This stay was something else. We had reserved a room with a king-sized bed two months before our stay, however when we checked in, we were told the only room...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank deepsee1
AGM_FogCatcher_Inn, General Manager at FogCatcher Inn, responded to this review

Thank you for reviewing the FogCatcher Inn and I do apologize for the issues and inconveniences you experienced during your stay. I am, however, pleased to hear your issues were resolved and Jonathon was able to accommodate you. We hope to have you back as a guest in the near future. Kind Regards, Karen Maraschiello, General Manager

Reviewed 15 November 2014

My husband and I have been coming to Cambria for the past 35 years. The last two years we have been staying at the FogCatcher Inn. We have a small dog that travels with us and this Inn makes it possible to take her along. The rooms are spacious and well kept. The staff is friendly and helpful. The full...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank JudiMike35
AGM_FogCatcher_Inn, General Manager at FogCatcher Inn, responded to this review

Thank you for your positive review of the FogCatcher Inn. We are so pleased this has been your destination of choice for the past two years! We will look forward to having you as a guest soon. Kind Regards, Karen Maraschiello, General Manager

Douglas, United Kingdom
Reviewed 11 November 2014

We stayed for two nights in October. The setting is great, on the coast with beautiful sunsets. The room was large and well-appointed and staff were friendly and helpful. Buffet breakfast was included and was good, though a bit basic. The hotel is about a mile from the little town of Cambria, so you really need to drive in, but...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank 71suev
AGM_FogCatcher_Inn, General Manager at FogCatcher Inn, responded to this review

Thank you for your positive comments and we are happy to hear you enjoyed your stay at the FogCatcher Inn! We will look forward to having you back as a guest soon! Kind Regards, Karen Maraschiello General Manager

Orange, California
Reviewed 8 November 2014

My wife and I just got back from spending our anniversary at the FogCatcher Inn. We stayed there for our honeymoon 12 years ago, and try to make it back every year. The staff goes out of their way to insure that you have a pleasant stay. The sunsets are spectacular from the rooms with ocean views. Love falling asleep...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Brian S
AGM_FogCatcher_Inn, General Manager at FogCatcher Inn, responded to this review

We are delighted to hear you enjoyed your visit here and that you return annually on your anniversary! We will look forward to your next visit. Kind Regards, Karen Maraschiello, General Manager

Lincs England
Reviewed 4 November 2014

The location of the FogCatcher was great. Next to the sea and the boardwalk along the beach. Lots of birds and squirrels to see. A little too far out of town for an easy saunter, but a quick drive in for some good eateries. Helpful staff and a clean , quite room. All that we needed really. Breakfast was reasonable...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank ErmineLincsEngland
AGM_FogCatcher_Inn, General Manager at FogCatcher Inn, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to review the FogCatcher Inn. I am happy you were able to enjoy the lovely boardwalk and the ocean view. We hope to have you back as a guest soon. Karen Maraschiello, General Manager

Salt Lake City, Utah, United States
Reviewed 4 November 2014

I stayed here last week for one night with my mom. They graciously upgraded us to a 2 queen ocean view as space was available. Clean comfortable room. 6 steps up to our level if that is a concern for access. They are scheduled to start extensive remodel soon. They location was fabulous for our needs. The boardwalk for Moonstone...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Dee J
AGM_FogCatcher_Inn, General Manager at FogCatcher Inn, responded to this review

We appreciate your positive feedback about the FogCatcher Inn! We hope you are able to come back soon and see our newly remodeled rooms. Warm Regards, Karen Maraschiello, General Manager kmaraschiello@fogcatcherinn..com

645 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (621)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (124)
Viewed
Room/Suite (124)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (46)
Viewed
View from Room (60)
Viewed
Dining (15)
Viewed
Family/Play Areas (1)
Viewed
Bathroom (9)
Viewed
Other (242)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (24)
Viewed
Room/Suite (10)
Viewed
Bathroom (3)
Viewed
Dining (3)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (4)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (2)
Viewed
Other (2)
04/06/2017 05/06/2017
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Cambria hotels
0.5 km away
Fireside Inn on Moonstone Beach
0.2 km away
Sand Pebbles Inn
Sand Pebbles Inn
#1 of 12 in Cambria
793 reviews
3.6 km away
Cambria Pines Lodge
Cambria Pines Lodge
#3 of 12 in Cambria
3,626 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 km away
Pelican Inn & Suites
Pelican Inn & Suites
#5 of 12 in Cambria
886 reviews
0.1 km away
Blue Dolphin Inn
Blue Dolphin Inn
#2 of 12 in Cambria
829 reviews
0.2 km away
Cambria Landing Inn & Suites
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Pool
  • Free Parking
  • Beachfront
  • Breakfast included
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
About the property
  • Beachfront
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
  • Wheelchair Access
Things to do
  • Pool
  • Hot Tub
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Suites
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Ideal for romantic getaways, families and groups, FogCatcher Inn is located within easy reach of the Hearst Castle, the Piedras Blancas Elephant Seal Rookery, an assortment of wineries and beautiful Moonstone Beach. ... more   less 

Additional Information about FogCatcher Inn

Address: 6400 Moonstone Beach Drive, Cambria, CA 93428-1808
Region: United States > California > San Luis Obispo County > Cambria
Price Range: $252 - $502 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — FogCatcher Inn 3*
Number of rooms: 60
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Orbitz, DerbySoft Ltd Shanghai HQ Supplier Direct, Travelocity, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon, getaroom.com and HotelsClick so you can book your FogCatcher Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Fogcatcher Hotel Cambria
Fog Catcher Inn Cambria
Hotel Style:
#2 Family Hotel in Cambria
#3 On the Beach Hotel in Cambria
#4 Romantic Hotel in Cambria
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from FogCatcher Inn staff and other travellers.
7 questions
Ask a question

See all questions (7)

Questions? Get answers from FogCatcher Inn staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Ask for a large room.”
192robm, 20 May 2017 | Read review
“Rooms 121 and 122 are our favs. Room 822 is very nice, too, but the wi-fi service was dicey there.”
2peripatetics, 9 May 2017 | Read review
“Partial sea view was more than adequate”
Destinationdick, 26 Apr 2017 | Read review
“703 gives you a peek of the ocean without paying the "view" room prices.”
JanetE060, 11 Apr 2017 | Read review
“Splash out if you can, the ocean view rooms are delightful.”
Buggsi, 12 Mar 2017 | Read review
5 of 5
Official Site
USD 223* /night
View Deal
Booking.comUSD 231
Hotels.comUSD 232
HotelsClickUSD 233
View all 12 deals
*Disclaimer
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Change dates