We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

FogCatcher Inn

Show Prices
Certificate of Excellence
Enter dates for lowest prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
We check 200+ sites to find the latest and lowest prices.
Professional photos
FogCatcher Inn
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

1,712 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
There are newer reviews for FogCatcher Inn
See the most recent reviews
Showing 1,661: English reviews
Westlake Village, California
Reviewed 30 March 2015

The FogCatcher Inn at Cambria Californa is the worst place I have ever stayed!!! The rooms are dark. claustrophobic, smelly and it feels like you are in a hobbit house. For the amount of money we spent I expected much more!!! The rooms were supposedly remodeled, but all it they did was a sub-standard paint job (which was already peeling)...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Kathy B
AGM_FogCatcher_Inn, General Manager at FogCatcher Inn, responded to this review

Thank you for providing your feedback. I am very disappointed we did not live up to your expectations. Although we are still in the final stages of our full remodel and many of our guests have responded positively to the new decor, I will certainly forward your comments to our Design Team. Please also contact me directly so that I...

Ontario, California
Reviewed 29 March 2015

We were here for 2 nights and we had a lovely room with a Garden view. The room is spacious and very clean with a nice sitting area and a large TV. The room had windows on either side to get a cross breeze The room has a small microwave and refrigerator which allowed us to store snacks We enjoyed...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank JoeandNicole
AGM_FogCatcher_Inn, General Manager at FogCatcher Inn, responded to this review

Thank you for your wonderful review of the FogCatcher Inn. We are very happy to know you enjoyed your stay and will be returning soon! Karen Maraschiello, General Manager

Brooklyn, New York
Reviewed 24 March 2015

I spent one night solo at a what I understand to be a recently renovated room at the Fogcatcher Inn. The room surpassed my expectations in terms of aesthetics, amenities and comfort, especially for the price. Spacious room with relaxed, chic decor. Beautiful, updated bathroom with Molton Brown toiletries. Extremely comfortable bed with crisply clean sheets. This hotel is also...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank MeowEsq
AGM_FogCatcher_Inn, General Manager at FogCatcher Inn, responded to this review

We are happy to hear we exceeded your expectations as this is our number one goal here at the FogCatcher Inn! We look forward to having you as a guest in the not too distant future. Karen Maraschiello, General Manager

Denver, Colorado
Reviewed 22 March 2015

This was our stop down the PCH to LA. We chose Cambria because we needed to plug in. There are three hotels here with plugs but all were full so we settled on the Fogcatcher. Fortunately we didn't need to plug in and made it to the Supercharger in Atascadero. So you can make it down the PCH from Gilroy...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Catherine D
AGM_FogCatcher_Inn, General Manager at FogCatcher Inn, responded to this review

Thank you for your feedback of the FogCatcher Inn--all comments are welcomed and appreciated. Karen Maraschiello, General Manager

Phoenix, Arizona
Reviewed 19 March 2015

The room we were in faced the ocean and so we were treated to the sound of the waves all night long. The room was beautifully appointed with a fireplace and a lovely bathroom, and was within walking distance to several restaurants and some of the main drag of Cambria. The customer service was exceptional. Just a super cute destination...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank HHargett
AGM_FogCatcher_Inn, General Manager at FogCatcher Inn, responded to this review

Thank you for your recent visit and positive feedback. We hope to have you back as a guest soon! Karen Maraschiello, General Manager

Reviewed 19 March 2015

Very clean e comfy place. Good breakfast. Just across the street you will have the beach and a walkway with beautiful view. Unexpected surprise for this small city. Price is very fair for what we had.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank AnaCastro00
AGM_FogCatcher_Inn, General Manager at FogCatcher Inn, responded to this review

We appreciate your positive feedback and happy you enjoyed our good breakfast and cozy rooms. Thank you, Karen Maraschiello, General Manager

Sparks, Nevada
Reviewed 19 March 2015

We stayed for two nights for a quick get away for the weekend. We were not disappointed with this hotel. The rooms have been recently renovated and they are beautiful. You cannot beat this location. Staff were friendly. Breakfast room still not complete, but it is pretty well organized even though the seating is limited. There is no central air...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank mrslqpes
AGM_FogCatcher_Inn, General Manager at FogCatcher Inn, responded to this review

The FogCatcher Inn is the perfect spot for a romantic getaway with our in-room fireplaces, lovely setting and spectacular sunsets! Glad you enjoyed your stay--come again! Karen Maraschiello General Manager

Montreal, Canada
Reviewed 19 March 2015

We stayed here one night on our wAy down route one. The hotel was a pleasant surprise. Location right across from the beach was a real plus. We enjoyed the long and beautiful walk along the beach. Rooms were spacious, clean and the fireplace was an added bonus.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Rekha T
AGM_FogCatcher_Inn, General Manager at FogCatcher Inn, responded to this review

So happy to hear you were pleasantly surprised and you enjoyed your stay with us here at the FogCatcher Inn. Thank you for sharing your experience. Karen Maraschiello General Manager

Patterson, California
Reviewed 18 March 2015 via mobile

We were on a spur of the moment vacation in Monterey and decided to take the kids to see Hearst Castle, so I checked reviews for a nearby hotel and we picked this one. I am so glad we did! For a bit of a splurge, we got a room that looked out from the second floor right onto the...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank apetaja
Columbus, Ohio
Reviewed 16 March 2015 via mobile

This was a great value. We stopped here for the evening on our trip down highway 1. It is directly across the street from the beach. We stayed in a room that was recently renovated. It had a wonderful fireplace and was very clean. The room was spacious, had a large flatscreen tv and the bathroom was great. There was...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Sarah B
AGM_FogCatcher_Inn, General Manager at FogCatcher Inn, responded to this review

Thank you for your positive comments and we appreciate you taking the time to review the FogCatcher Inn. Karen Maraschiello, General Manager

644 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (620)
Viewed
Room/Suite (124)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (46)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (123)
Viewed
View from Room (60)
Viewed
Dining (15)
Viewed
Family/Play Areas (1)
Viewed
Bathroom (9)
Viewed
Other (242)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (24)
Viewed
Room/Suite (10)
Viewed
Bathroom (3)
Viewed
Dining (3)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (4)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (2)
Viewed
Other (2)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Cambria hotels
0.5 km away
Fireside Inn on Moonstone Beach
0.2 km away
Sand Pebbles Inn
Sand Pebbles Inn
#1 of 12 in Cambria
786 reviews
3.6 km away
Cambria Pines Lodge
Cambria Pines Lodge
#4 of 12 in Cambria
3,474 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 km away
Pelican Inn & Suites
Pelican Inn & Suites
#3 of 12 in Cambria
842 reviews
0.1 km away
Blue Dolphin Inn
Blue Dolphin Inn
#2 of 12 in Cambria
809 reviews
0.2 km away
Cambria Landing Inn & Suites
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Pool
  • Free Parking
  • Beachfront
  • Breakfast included
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
About the property
  • Beachfront
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
  • Wheelchair Access
Things to do
  • Pool
  • Hot Tub
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Suites
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Ideal for romantic getaways, families and groups, FogCatcher Inn is located within easy reach of the Hearst Castle, the Piedras Blancas Elephant Seal Rookery, an assortment of wineries and beautiful Moonstone Beach. ... more   less 

Additional Information about FogCatcher Inn

Address: 6400 Moonstone Beach Drive, Cambria, CA 93428-1808
Region: United States > California > San Luis Obispo County > Cambria
Price Range: $248 - $493 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — FogCatcher Inn 3*
Number of rooms: 60
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotwire, Hotels.com, DerbySoft Ltd Shanghai HQ Supplier Direct, Travelocity, Orbitz, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your FogCatcher Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Fogcatcher Hotel Cambria
Fog Catcher Inn Cambria
Hotel Style:
#2 Family Hotel in Cambria
#3 On the Beach Hotel in Cambria
#4 Romantic Hotel in Cambria
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from FogCatcher Inn staff and other travellers.
6 questions
Ask a question

See all questions (6)

Questions? Get answers from FogCatcher Inn staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Partial sea view was more than adequate”
Destinationdick, 26 Apr 2017 | Read review
“703 gives you a peek of the ocean without paying the "view" room prices.”
JanetE060, 11 Apr 2017 | Read review
“Splash out if you can, the ocean view rooms are delightful.”
Buggsi, 12 Mar 2017 | Read review
“The inn is not inexpensive but fairly priced for the area. The rooms are modern, but the overall setting retains its older charm.”
donnac557, 14 Feb 2017 | Read review
“Reserve a second floor oceanfront room. They're awfully nice.”
2peripatetics, 1 Feb 2017 | Read review
5 of 5