We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

Carlin Country Cottages

Show Prices
Enter dates for lowest prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
We check 200+ sites to find the latest and lowest prices.
Professional photos
Carlin Country Cottages
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"moduleList":["handlers"],"template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"}},"containerClass":null,"scriptFlags":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

108 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
Showing 108: English reviews
Start your review of Carlin Country Cottages
 Click to rate
San Mateo, California, United States
Reviewed 1 week ago

Other than the pleasant front office desk staff, this motel has little to recommend it. The cottages were very sparsely furnished with old, worn furniture, and the walls were almost barren of any pictures. The hot tub, supposedly fed from the natural hot springs that underlie Calistoga, was not very hot, and whenever the jets would come on, the first...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Mike_SanMateo
San Francisco, California
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

Booked room over the phone. Friday, 01-20-17 8:52 pm checked into room and was charged in full. 9:30 pm realized that both televisions did not work, picked up phone to call office and realized the phone did not work. Walked to the office and found a note on the door indicating the office was closed until 9:00 am. Experienced issues...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank connieb05
Sun City, Arizona
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

Carlin Cottages is an older property, however, our Room #1 had been recently renovated with all new paint and tiles and fluffy white towels, tasteful wall hangings.The micro, mini-frig and bar sink came in very handy for our 6 night stay. The mineral water was piped directly into our in-suite Jacuzzi...oh what a beautiful feeling. Don't be concerned about the...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Lucky M
Cheyenne, Wyoming
Reviewed 2 February 2017

I booked our room over 3 months ago. This morning I received an email that they canceled my reservation. When I called, the lady stated they were canceling due to "construction." We are set to visit next weekend and have our flights booked. I asked the receptionist why they didn't call me earlier, and she said "the owner wanted me...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Ruffanddrool
georgicos, Manager at Carlin Country Cottages, responded to this review

We are sorry that we had to cancel your reservations with us due to our construction. I understandstand you had booked your reservations in December 6 weeks ago. Since you mentioned that you had bought you airline tickets we tried to help you to find a hotel room to our other hotel in same price. We could only accomodate your...

Reviewed 3 January 2017

I realize lodging is expensive on a New Year holiday, but with a 704 price tag I would have at least expected an open socket to plug in my cell phone without having to put it in the bathroom. The desk clerk had to bring over an extension cord and pull out the bed to plug it in. The jacuzzi...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Beverly O
georgicos, Guest Relations Manager at Carlin Country Cottages, responded to this review

We are very sorry that you didn't have the experience you were expecting and want you to know that we are making corrections to fix them. We are in a process off remolding and replacing the furnitures and other amenties in our rooms. We have natural hot spring mineral water which is naturaly hot. When there is more then one...

Maple Ridge, Canada
Reviewed 20 December 2016

Very comfortable rooms. We enjoyed the spring fed swimming pool very much as well as the hot tub. The cottages are located right in town so it's easy to walk anywhere. The rooms could use some updating but they are clean and comfortable. The rooms have kitchens so one can prepare meals and/or barbeque. Very peaceful location!

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Julia195854
Kansas City, Missouri
Reviewed 12 November 2016

Mold smell, huge stains on carpet, front door does not lock, not a two room suite, what a laugh The internet connection does not work, Refrigerator does not cool. What else, no hair dryer, They have a no return policy once you pay

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Cynthia S
Bainbridge Island, Washington
Reviewed 10 November 2016

older units, quaint with spa tub in room. no bath fan was disconcerting. good quiet location within easy strolling distance of main street shops and restaurants. priced well. well maintained swimming pool and hot tub.

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank furch1
Christchurch, New Zealand
Reviewed 31 October 2016

We were very disappointed to find that our one-bedroom unit didn't actually have a separate bedroom, it was one big room with two queen beds side by side. We booked for two couples and were expecting to be able to have some privacy. The unit wasn't adequately supplied for four people and I had to ask for extra bowls, plates...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Wendy C
Ukiah, California
Reviewed 19 October 2016 via mobile

Rooms clean and spacious. Deep jacuzzi tubs in room. Equipped with mini or full kitchens. Pleasant grounds. Some outside picnic and barbecue ares. Some rooms good for couples. Other larger units accommodate families. Friendly management. Great shuttle service that they participate in called the vine. It's free door to door service. No worries about wine tasting and driving. Our unit...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Abracadabraman

22 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (16)
Viewed
Room/Suite (6)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (2)
Viewed
0:44
Videos (1)
Viewed
Other (7)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (6)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (5)
Viewed
Room/Suite (1)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Calistoga hotels
1.1 km away
The Bergson
The Bergson
#4 of 15 in Calistoga
489 reviews
0.6 km away
Mount View Hotel & Spa
Mount View Hotel & Spa
#7 of 15 in Calistoga
396 reviews
0.4 km away
Comfort Inn Calistoga, Hot Springs of the West
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 km away
The Sunburst Calistoga
The Sunburst Calistoga
#5 of 15 in Calistoga
508 reviews
0.5 km away
BEST WESTERN PLUS Stevenson Manor
1.1 km away
EuroSpa & Inn
EuroSpa & Inn
#9 of 15 in Calistoga
420 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Pool
  • Free Parking
Things to do
  • Pool
  • Hot Tub
Room types
  • Kitchenette
In your room
  • Air Conditioning
  • Microwave
  • Refrigerator in room
Services
  • Free Parking

Additional Information about Carlin Country Cottages

Address: 1623 Lake St, Calistoga, CA 94515-1329
Region: United States > California > Napa Valley > Calistoga
Price Range: $161 - $282 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Carlin Country Cottages 2*
Number of rooms: 15
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Expedia, Agoda and Travelocity so you can book your Carlin Country Cottages reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Carlin Country Cottages Hotel Calistoga
Carlin Country Cottages Calistoga, Napa Valley, CA
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Carlin Country Cottages staff and other travellers.
1 question
Ask a question

See all questions (1)

Questions? Get answers from Carlin Country Cottages staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Although there is a large outdoor pool, we much prefer the privacy of in-suite hot tub.”
 of 5 bubbles LuckyM_11, 24 Feb 2017 | Read review
“Don't believe the pictures, internet does not work no hair dryer as advertised”
 of 5 bubbles cynthiasL5071HB, 11 Nov 2016 | Read review
“Shop and you will find this room compares well.”
 of 5 bubbles , 14 Oct 2016 | Read review
“keep looking”
 of 5 bubbles JBScoold, 22 Aug 2016 | Read review
“Clean rooms, great pool, great staff”
 of 5 bubbles Y9273ILsusanr, 22 Aug 2016 | Read review
5 of 5