We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

California Suites Motel

Show Prices
Enter dates for lowest prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
We check 200+ sites to find the latest and lowest prices.
Professional photos
California Suites Motel
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"moduleList":["handlers"]},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

11 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
Showing 9: English reviews
Start your review of California Suites Motel
 Click to rate
Fairmont, West Virginia, United States
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

First of all, you're four blocks from the US / Mexican border. How cool is that? You're also next door to the Mexican Consulate - you might find that handy. The room is clean but small. It does have a microwave stacked on the fridge and a coffee maker, but there is no table to do work at. You can...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Joe S
Reviewed 25 August 2016 via mobile

We checked into a room after having found out our reservation was somehow missing, even though we booked it through Priceline she said her computer blocked it out? Anyways, we left after 45 minutes because there was a LIZARD running around our room, btw it was in our bed, after heading back to the front office we were informed we...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Tikilope
Alto, New Mexico
Reviewed 30 September 2014

Filthy,,,..bug spray stench.....bug bites....no furniture just an old dirty bed.....no closet....unable to sleep... air coolant super noisy with unreliable thermostat, very cold or too hot....no wake-up call and and a non-working alarm clock........swimming pool empty and full of junk furniture on pool deck...waste of money....a trip killer....just stay away

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank josemonterr
San Diego, California
Reviewed 7 September 2014

California Suites is a comfortable, air conditioned, friendly bargain motel that is quiet and safe. I enjoyed the armchair, coffee maker and quality mattress. The owners are friendly and the rooms are decorated nicely with hot showers.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Jeanette S
Chirag P, Manager at California Suites Motel, responded to this review

Thank You for taking the time to review us and is very much so appreciated. Thanks you Shawn

Launceston, Australia
Reviewed 22 March 2014

We arrived in the dark so pulled into the first place we came across. The receptionist was very helpful, however when we got to the room we were horrified. There were no face washers or hand towels, light globes missing form bedside lights, chairs filthy, no breakfast. Beds were clean though. In fairness to the receptionist (the previous day a...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank AussieBruvSis
Chirag P, Manager at California Suites Motel, responded to this review

Thank you for the review, and would like to apologize for your dissatisfaction with your stay. We always try to make sure that the rooms have everything in order. As for the chair with the stain we are replacing the chair, we just had new carport, tiles, and paint work done in the last two months so have to get...

Hamden, Connecticut
Reviewed 21 November 2013

If you are looking for a place to sleep in Calexico or El Centro this is the place for you; if you are coming in from Mexico you can even walk to it. It is across the street from the city hall, so there is a guard outside during business hours. It is also across the street from the bank...

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank Tank0923
Chirag P, Manager at California Suites Motel, responded to this review

Thanks you for taking the time to review us. And appreciate your bussiness and hope to see you again.

Oceanside, California, United States
Reviewed 18 July 2013

My husband and I stayed here for six weeks. The rates were very reasonable, rooms very clean, owners very professional and nice, it was so quiet, pool was very clean and nice for the hot Calexico weather. You should choose this motel before going anywhere else in Calexico. Not only did we have such a pleasant stay, but we have...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Daun C
San Diego, California, United States
Reviewed 10 June 2013

my family and I just stayed at this motel and we were very pleased. The whole area is clean, quite and we felt safe. The workers there were very respectful and kind. The price was un beatable and the ac was great. Had a comfortable night sleep. Next time in calexico we will be back here. Thank you Shawn and...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Carmen A
Downey, California
Reviewed 6 July 2010

The room was dirty, the beds were smaller than advertised, the bathroom door did not close, the electricity was not working in all the outlets, lighting was poor and the air-conditioning was so loud we could not sleep.

 Report
Helpful?
3Thank mexicali4
Chirag P, Owner at California Suites Motel, responded to this review

This review is form 2010 when the motel was called the Camino Real Inn. The motel is under new ownership and is now called the California Suites Motel as of November 2012. So please come and stay with us and see the difference.

7 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (1)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (1)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (6)
Viewed
Room/Suite (6)

Amenities

Highlights
  • Pool
  • Free Parking
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
About the property
  • Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Things to do
  • Pool
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Free Parking

Additional Information about California Suites Motel

Address: 341 E 4th St, Calexico, CA 92231-2701 (Formerly Camino Real Inn)
Region: United States > California > California Desert > Calexico
Price Range: $61 - $68 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — California Suites Motel 2*
Number of rooms: 27
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Orbitz, Expedia, Travelocity, Hotwire, Hotels.com, Booking.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your California Suites Motel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Questions? Get answers from California Suites Motel staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“They have larger rooms which you'd be wise to book in advance. They were taken when I booked the same day.”
TigerS295, 5 Apr 2017 | Read review
“No room could be a good room.”
josemonterr, 29 Sep 2014 | Read review
“Don't - just stay away”
AussieBruvSis, 22 Mar 2014 | Read review
“This hotel has other hotels all around, why pay more when you have it all in this family own clean and quiet hotel?”
Tank0923, 21 Nov 2013 | Read review
“All the rooms are in one level and they look to be a like. I liked that a car was parked in front of our room. We brought our own towels but we always do that.”
CarmenA693, 9 Jun 2013 | Read review
5 of 5