We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

Vagabond Inn Bishop

Show Prices
Enter dates for lowest prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
We check 200+ sites to find the latest and lowest prices.
Professional photos
Vagabond Inn Bishop
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

439 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 346: English reviews
Start your review of Vagabond Inn Bishop
 Click to rate
Nevada City, California
Reviewed yesterday NEW

First stay, and it appears that upgrades have been completed. Room was neat, clean, quiet (away from the highway). Continental breakfast only, not satisfying. Yet, for the price, it was a reasonable value.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Bob H
Nampa, Idaho
Reviewed 1 week ago

We have never stayed at a Vagabond, but was happy with this one. Fresh paint in and out and looked the rooms were recently refurbished. Firm beds with newer sheets. Clean room. Only negatives were that the heat/ac unit was up high and I couldn't reach it to adjust. (I am 5'2") And it doesn't have a constant 'fan on'...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank awebCA
JudyMiller760, Front Office Manager at Vagabond Inn Bishop, responded to this review

Dear Awebca, Thank you for your review. We appreciate our valued guests feedback. We are glad you had a nice and comfortable nights sleep. Sorry for the ac/heating unit being placed so high. We are going to be changing those out in the future. We look forward to serving you again on your next visit to beautiful Bishop, Ca. Have...

Los Angeles, California
Reviewed 1 week ago

I was not expecting much at a chain hotel that takes pets and I was pleasantly surprised. The rooms were updated and nice. Even our pet friendly room was clean and nice. And the pet area behind the hotel is huge and convenient. The front desk clerk at night and in the morning (we only stayed one night) were both...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank professorb2016
JudyMiller760, Front Office Manager at Vagabond Inn Bishop, responded to this review

Dear Professorb2016, Thank you for your review. We take pride in making sure our guests have a nice and comfortable stay with us. We are pleased to hear you and your four legged family member enjoyed our newly updated rooms. We look forward to serving you again in the future. Have a great day! Sincerely, Fontaine Schotz Front Desk Manager

Wyomissing, Pennsylvania
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Staff was very nice~ Breakfast was good. But our room was 207..and needs a lot of TLC..our room door did not stay closed without dead bolt, light did not work, refrigerator fan ran extremely loud ..we finally just unplugged it. Found it odd how front desk clerk at night said we were getting a great deal on rate...only to hear...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Lynn K
JudyMiller760, Front Office Manager at Vagabond Inn Bishop, responded to this review

Dear Lynn, Thank you for taking the time to review our property. I am sorry for the issues you had with your room. I do remember speaking to you about this during your stay. We have fixed the problems you experienced and we hope to get another chance to serve you better in the future. Have a great day! Sincerely,...

El Reno, Oklahoma, United States
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Took a 3 day mini-vacation to get away from big city. Easy checkin and requested a non smoking room. Uh go, we got a smoking room. Quiet? the property was sold out with a large fishing group. They partied in the parking lot until the wee hours and were up at crack of dawn yelling, slamming doors and revving engines....

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Bark M
JudyMiller760, Front Office Manager at Vagabond Inn Bishop, responded to this review

Dear Bark M, Thank you for your review. We appreciate your feedback. We are sorry for the noise you experienced. With 80 rooms things can get pretty lively around here when they are all full! Sorry the crowds made your visit miserable. That is not the experience we want our valued guests to have. We hope to get another chance...

La Verne, California
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

We had a wonderful stay at the Vagabond Inn. The rooms are clean and nice. The customer service is exceptional. They have a little continental breakfast in the morning. The value is great. I highly recommend this hotel. I will be back!

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Jennifer G
JudyMiller760, Front Office Manager at Vagabond Inn Bishop, responded to this review

Dear Jennifer, Thank you very much for the nice review. The staff is happy to hear you had a nice and comfortable stay with us. We look forward to serving you again next time you are visiting beautiful Bishop, Ca. Have a great day! Sincerely, Fontaine Schotz Front Desk Manager

Singapore, Singapore
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

Notice that the title of my review reads "value for money", but I gave it a 4 star rating! Room furnishing wise its at most a 3 star hotel, but its clean, the rooms were big, and I had a good sleep. A few areas of improvements here and there. I had a ground floor unit. Sure its convenient for...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank tanminghoe
JudyMiller760, Front Office Manager at Vagabond Inn Bishop, responded to this review

Dear Tanmingho, Thank you for your positive feedback about our hotel. We do take pride in catering to our guests needs the best way we can. We look forward to serving you again next time you are in beautiful Bishop, Ca. have a great day! Sincerely, Fontaine Schotz Front Desk Manager

Clearwater, Florida
Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

This hotel was such a good experience: the room was nicely decorated, clean, quiet. The breakfast area was kept neat and the front desk personnel is so friendly. Thank you so much for all you do to keep Vagabond Inn a good place for travelers!

 Report
Helpful?
Thank TravelMoneyHappy
JudyMiller760, Front Office Manager at Vagabond Inn Bishop, responded to this review

Dear TravelMoneyHappy, Thank you very much for reviewing our property. We are so happy to hear you enjoyed your stay with us. Our staff takes pride in ensuring a comfortable stay is had by our valuable guests such as yourself. We look forward to serving you again on your next visit to beautiful Bishop, Ca. Have a great day! Sincerely,...

Sheffield, United Kingdom
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

After a long drive from San Francisco through snowstorms, Vagabond Inn was a welcome sight, We arrived around 6pm after a six hours drive though Nevada and was delighted that we had chosen this hotel. It is a gem with lovely staff, clean and cosy with great facilities including a small pool area with a hot tub and even a...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Fizzy2013
JudyMiller760, Front Office Manager at Vagabond Inn Bishop, responded to this review

Dear Fizzy2013, Thank you very much for the great review! We are so happy to hear you had a nice and comfortable stay with us. We look forward to serving you again on your next trip to beautiful Bishop, Ca. Have a great day! Sincerely, Fontaine Schotz Front Desk Manager

Reviewed 17 February 2017

We stayed with our two dogs. Found the employees friendly and helpful. I was clean and comfortable. We would stay there again. We had a room at the back and it was very quiet. The had a large area for the dogs. The continental breakfast was minimal, so we found breakfast elsewhere.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Joseph F
JudyMiller760, Front Office Manager at Vagabond Inn Bishop, responded to this review

Dear Joseph. Thank you for your review. The staff is very happy to hear you and your four legged family members enjoyed your stay with us. We look forward to serving you all again in the future. Have a great day! Sincerely, Fontaine Schotz Front Desk manager

121 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (85)
Viewed
View from Room (3)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (16)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (5)
Viewed
Dining (3)
Viewed
Bathroom (6)
Viewed
Room/Suite (14)
Viewed
Family/Play Areas (1)
Viewed
Other (37)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (36)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (4)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
Room/Suite (6)
Viewed
Other (24)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Bishop hotels
0.6 km away
Bishop Creekside Inn
Bishop Creekside Inn
#1 of 20 in Bishop
1,458 reviews
0.7 km away
Travelodge Bishop
Travelodge Bishop
#4 of 20 in Bishop
808 reviews
1.4 km away
El Rancho Motel
El Rancho Motel
#8 of 20 in Bishop
171 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 km away
Comfort Inn
Comfort Inn
#6 of 20 in Bishop
227 reviews
0.6 km away
Holiday Inn Express Bishop
0.6 km away
La Quinta Inn Bishop - Mammoth Lakes
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Pool
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
About the property
  • Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
  • Wheelchair Access
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
Things to do
  • Pool
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
In your room
  • Air Conditioning
  • Microwave
  • Refrigerator in room
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
  • Laundry Service
  • Self-Serve Laundry
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
When looking for hotels in Bishop California, look no further than the Vagabond Inn Bishop. This Bishop hotel is ideal for those seeking adventure in rustic California, and is located a short distance from both Kings Canyon National Park and Sequoia Park. Additionally, our Bishop hotel is located off the US 395, near major fishing areas along the Owens Lake, skiing, horseback riding and hiking. We are well equipped for a quiet stay or your outdoor excursion; for your convenience, fish cleaning and freezing facilities, BBQ and RV parking are available on the property of our hotel in Bishop. For your more immediate dining needs, there is a Denny's restaurant, open 24-hours, on the premises. Relax in our swimming pool open from May to the end of October. Our rooms feature cable TV with HBO and wireless Internet access is now available in all rooms for your enjoyment. Enjoy the charm of this quaint town and relax in the comfort of our rooms. Need lodging in Bishop during Mule Days? This is the perfect place to stay. The hotel has undergone a freshening up in the last year. Freshly painted and landscaped, new patio furniture, as well as new bedspreads and linings. As always, we promise you our own brand of Western hospitality. Great Value, friendly people- it's how we do things. Amenities • Air Conditioning • BBQ Area • Free Continental Breakfast • Breakfast Area • Multilingual Staff • Business Center • Cable TV - Show Time and Movie Channel • Under 18yrs Stay Free w/ Parents • In-room Coffee & Tea Maker • 24Hrs. Front Desk • Dog Playground Area • Free Incoming Fax • In-Room Hair Dryer • Iron / Board in all rooms • Jacuzzi • Guest Laundry Facility • Microwave Oven in all rooms • Free Weekday Newspaper • Free Parking • Swimming Pool (All new furniture in 2010) • Free 24hr Coffee and Popcorn in Lobby • Refrigerator in all rooms • Free Local Phone Calls • Voicemail available • Wake up calls available • Free WiFi Internet AccessServices • Connecting Rooms Upon Request • Smoking Room Requested • Family Suite & Suites Available • ADA Accessible Rooms • Guest Laundry Facilities • Outgoing Fax Service (fee applies) • Pet Friendly Rooms ($15 per pet/day fee) • Rollaway upon request (fee applies) ... more   less 

Additional Information about Vagabond Inn Bishop

Address: 1030 North Main Street, Bishop, CA 93514-2431
Region: United States > California > Bishop
Price Range: $110 - $230 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Vagabond Inn Bishop 2*
Number of rooms: 80
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com and Orbitz so you can book your Vagabond Inn Bishop reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Vagabond Inn Bishop Hotel Bishop
Vagabond Hotel Bishop
Bishop Vagabond Hotel
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Questions? Get answers from Vagabond Inn Bishop staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“ask for a room away from the highway”
 of 5 bubbles X1589ZYbobh, 24 Mar 2017 | Read review
“Rooms on first floor in back are the best location for those with pets”
 of 5 bubbles professorb2016, 12 Mar 2017 | Read review
“Take a room toward back of hotel, front desk did say those were all just refurbished”
 of 5 bubbles mslyn08, 6 Mar 2017 | Read review
“avoid a visit when the property is full with an all male sport event.”
 of 5 bubbles BarkM, 6 Mar 2017 | Read review
“Make reservations in advance during the travel season and on weekends in the winter.”
 of 5 bubbles X9152ZApamelap, 1 Dec 2016 | Read review
5 of 5