We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

Black Forest Lodge

Show Prices
Enter dates for lowest prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
We check 200+ sites to find the latest and lowest prices.
Professional photos
Black Forest Lodge
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"containerClass":null,"scriptFlags":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

138 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
Showing 136: English reviews
Start your review of Black Forest Lodge
 Click to rate
Taunton, United Kingdom
Reviewed 5 days ago NEWvia mobile

I needed a place to crash for the night after some midweek skiing, and got a room in the east block for $75. I have no real complaints about the room. It had a slight odour on arrival, but this seemed to be mostly from cleaning. The bathroom was slightly dated and worn, as was some of the furniture, but...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank richlean
Tomas H, Manager at Black Forest Lodge, responded to this review

Thank you for your lovely review. Please come back and stay with us again.

Long Beach, California
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

To be positive, here are a few good features of this motel/cabin that has been there forever. The location is 5 minutes away from the slopes. The price was under $100 per night, and they welcome pets (for a fee, of course). Can't complain about the bed either. And they have a jaccuzi in each room or cabin ( a...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Evelina62
Reviewed 13 January 2017 via mobile

Location is good, rooms are 2 to 3 star, not just because of the features, but because of the cleanness (or lack of that) and how they've been maintained. But why I rate it one? because I couldn't give it a ZERO! the staff are different, there was a couple Valerin and Jerry in the night of our check-in who...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank AlirezaDaneshgar
Reviewed 9 January 2017

I can not recommend this place at all. Though it is charming on the outside and the staff is nice, the hotel room my husband and I stayed in was very run down. No privacy!! Very noisy! The majority of the people around us were either fighting and screaming at each other or drunk/on drugs, loud and wandering around like...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Paula G
Tomas H, Manager at Black Forest Lodge, responded to this review

Hello, we are sorry that you had a bad experience at our lodge. Our queen motel rooms have been redecorated. Which room were you in? Sorry for the disorderly people that were checked into our lodge. We cannot control what people say and do. You said that you contacted us regarding the noise and that we did nothing. We would...

Calexico, California
Reviewed 23 December 2016

While there are hotel rooms too, we chose to rent our own cabin, complete with fireplace and a Jacuzzi tub. We used both, depending on what month we visited. Firewood is available in the office, along with hot coffee and tea. The pool and hot tub was nice during the Summer. Only a few blocks to walk to the "Village",...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Pamela M
Manila, Philippines
Reviewed 16 October 2016

We arrived at big bear last September 24 all the way from the Philippines and stayed overnight. The rooms were spacious and clean. The bathroom while spartan, served its purpose. Rita, the owner was a gracious host and very accommodating. We will definitely stay there again on our next visit.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank katrinalim28
Tomas H, Manager at Black Forest Lodge, responded to this review

Thank you for your lovely review of our property. We have remodeled most of our rooms and I think you will be most pleased when you come back to stay. Thanks Again!

Northampton, United Kingdom
Reviewed 15 October 2016 via mobile

Lovely location very friendly welcome and good value. Room done out in Bavarian style and comfortable bed. We stayed one night on our car tour, an easy drive from LA but we hit a lot of traffic coming Friday afternoon.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Sandra W
Tomas H, Manager at Black Forest Lodge, responded to this review

Thank you for your lovely review. We look forward to seeing you again!

San Diego, California
Reviewed 15 October 2016

The only thing cute abut my room was the fire place. The price was good and you get what you pay for. It had pool, not heated. Free Wifi-ok., The walls are paper thin-I could hear my neighbor snoring.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank marlaher
Lake Forest, California
Reviewed 10 October 2016

This totally looks like something out of the Black Forest in Germany. It has great atmosphere. It is very minimalistic. No add-ons, which is great if you just want a place to sleep and keep your stuff. There is a TV and good Internet, so that is helpful, but the fireplace is gas and a little weird. The beds are...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Scottbehr
Orange County, California
Reviewed 22 September 2016

Stayed in the Black Forest Lodge for one night in September 2016. Found one vacant room left on Booking.com and booked it on a whim. This lodge exudes a Bavarian-German feel and is a very cozy and quaint lodge for a one night stay or weekend getaway! I stayed in Lida's Haus which offered a private and pleasant garden view....

 Report
Helpful?
Thank jmllhughes5

98 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (78)
Viewed
Room/Suite (29)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (11)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (2)
Viewed
Bathroom (4)
Viewed
View from Room (2)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Other (29)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (20)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (4)
Viewed
Room/Suite (9)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (1)
Viewed
Other (5)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Big Bear Region hotels
1.3 km away
Big Bear Frontier Cabins
Big Bear Frontier Cabins
#1 of 7 in Big Bear Lake
403 reviews
1.0 km away
Pine Knot Guest Ranch
Pine Knot Guest Ranch
#2 of 7 in Big Bear Lake
194 reviews
1.4 km away
Cozy Hollow Lodge
Cozy Hollow Lodge
#2 of 19 in Big Bear Region
130 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 km away
Vintage Lakeside Inn
Vintage Lakeside Inn
#13 of 19 in Big Bear Region
59 reviews
2.2 km away
BEST WESTERN Big Bear Chateau
BEST WESTERN Big Bear Chateau
#1 of 19 in Big Bear Region
574 reviews
0.9 km away
The Lodge at Big Bear Lake, a Holiday Inn Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Pool
  • Free Parking
Things to do
  • Pool
  • Hot Tub
Room types
  • Suites
  • Kitchenette
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Business Centre with Internet Access
  • Multilingual Staff
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
The World Famous Black Forest Lodge has been providing memorable vacations to fit any size group or budget for over 30 years. With cabins, motels, family chalets and homes we can make your next trip to Big Bear a fantastic experience. Enjoy cozy honeymoon suites with in room spas and our exclusive micro spa for a haircut massage or a little self indulgence. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Black Forest Lodge

Address: 41121 Big Bear Blvd, P.O.Box 1726, CA 92315
Region: United States > California > Big Bear Region
Price Range: $98 - $322 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Black Forest Lodge 2.5*
Number of rooms: 59
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Expedia and Hotels.com so you can book your Black Forest Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Black Forest Lodge And Jacuzzi Cabins Hotel Big Bear Lake
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Questions? Get answers from Black Forest Lodge staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“away from the main street, in the back of the property”
 of 5 bubbles Evelina62, 3 Feb 2017 | Read review
“When you book, ask for quiet, upper floor, etc. The parking lot is in front of rooms.”
 of 5 bubbles 523pamelam, 22 Dec 2016 | Read review
“Get the rooms on the ground floor. A lot easier to unload stuff.”
 of 5 bubbles katrinalim28, 15 Oct 2016 | Read review
“Garden view is lovely!”
 of 5 bubbles jmllhughes5, 22 Sep 2016 | Read review
“Don't rely on the Wifi if you have something important to take care off.”
 of 5 bubbles SaWa2012, 21 Sep 2016 | Read review
5 of 5