We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

Super 8 Berkeley

Show Prices
Enter dates for lowest prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
We check 200+ sites to find the latest and lowest prices.
Professional photos
Super 8 Berkeley
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"moduleList":["handlers"]},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

378 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 358: English reviews
Start your review of Super 8 Berkeley
 Click to rate
San Francisco, California, USA
Reviewed 1 week ago

I was going to give the place a four (for a low-end motel, it was fine). But my last night I called and asked for a wake-up call at 7 AM, as my phone was not charging. Fortunately I also asked a friend to call my hotel room and wake me because the hotel didn't call at 7.... that was...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank DanielleK723
GuestXperienceTeam, Guest Relations Manager at Super 8 Berkeley, responded to this review

Thank you very much for your constructive feedback Danielle. We apologize for the fact that you did not get your wake-up call, we understand that this was most dissatisfactory, and we will discuss this issue with our front desk team to ensure that it doesn't arise again. We do hope that you will choose to stay with us again, we...

California
Reviewed 1 week ago

Review collected in partnership with Super 8
 Report
Helpful?
Thank Mary F
Atlanta, Georgia
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Needs repairs. Office door, parking lot show age, aren't pretty. It's in Berkeley, and we needed to be there. Beds are fine, bathroom too. But for a damaged wall at the shower. Maid service did fine, and it was a vacation spot on a modest budget.

Review collected in partnership with this hotel
 Report
Helpful?
Thank Carol W
GuestXperienceTeam, Guest Relations Manager at Super 8 Berkeley, responded to this review

Thank you Carol for your review. It's good to hear that you had a reasonable stay with us, but we are disappointed that you weren't blown away. We do, as you mention, have an older building, but we do work hard to maintain and clean it to the very best of our ability. We will review your comments with our...

Vancouver, Canada
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Review collected in partnership with Super 8
 Report
Helpful?
Thank kashleyk
Stockton, California
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Review collected in partnership with Super 8
 Report
Helpful?
Thank bartd377
Albany, California
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

Front office wasn't very welcoming when we arrived at 2 am in the morning even after I took the time to call him the day before! He apologized the next day to my stepdaughter. Overall I think it's still a good place to stay when you travel to Berkeley area, very close to BART, food, grocery store, even a24 hr...

Review collected in partnership with Super 8
 Report
Helpful?
Thank kokd209
GuestXperienceTeam, Guest Relations Manager at Super 8 Berkeley, responded to this review

Whilst it's great to hear that you had a wonderful stay with us overall, we are disappointed that you did not receive the hospitality that we are known for upon your arrival. Obviously, our staff member realized this, and we are happy to hear that he did apologize. Thank you for your review, we would love to think that you...

Claremont, California
Reviewed 5 weeks ago

Not a resort, not a dump. Room was clean, heater/ac worked but slightly noisy and blew on bed, bed was comfortable. Advertised free wifi and breakfast. This is to keep up with others. Wifi was slow and breakfast was juice, two cereals, toast and a packaged pastry. You get what you pay for, no more, no less. OK for a...

Review collected in partnership with Super 8
 Report
Helpful?
Thank DavidFullerton
GuestXperienceTeam, Guest Relations Manager at Super 8 Berkeley, responded to this review

Hi David, While we're glad that we provided you with a clean room and a comfortable bed, I'm disappointed to hear that our wifi and breakfast did not meet your expectations. We appreciate your feedback and hope that you will consider staying with us again when you are in this area. We would love to welcome you back. Best wishes,...

Berkeley
Reviewed 20 February 2017

We stayed at Super 8 for two weeks while our house was undergoing the final stages of a major remodel. We had a double queen room. It was clean, quiet, the water pressure was great, and the room was spacious as far as motel rooms go. For the price, we could not have asked for anything more.

Review collected in partnership with this hotel
 Report
Helpful?
Thank danieln007
GuestXperienceTeam, Guest Relations Manager at Super 8 Berkeley, responded to this review

Thank you for your review. We are delighted that we were able to accommodate you during your remodel, it was a pleasure to have you stay with us for so long! It's great to hear that you enjoyed your stay, and that we were a suitable property for you. We give you our very best wishes for your life in...

Albany, California
Reviewed 16 February 2017

The staffs are terrible in service. Also, horrible smell in the office. Very poor breakfast. The room is so dark, you can barely see any sunshine. The only good thing is the location.

Review collected in partnership with Super 8
 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Haoquan L
GuestXperienceTeam, Guest Relations Manager at Super 8 Berkeley, responded to this review

We are sorry that you did not enjoy your recent stay with us, and apologize for not being able to meet your expectations. Our team work hard to make every guest feel welcome and comfortable, and it's a shame that this was not your experience. We appreciate your feedback, thank you. Best wishes, Hotel Management

Chicago
Reviewed 12 January 2017

Review collected in partnership with Super 8
 Report
Helpful?
Thank paulrD4609YI
GuestXperienceTeam, Guest Relations Manager at Super 8 Berkeley, responded to this review

29 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (23)
Viewed
Room/Suite (15)
Viewed
Bathroom (5)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (1)
Viewed
Other (2)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (6)
Viewed
Room/Suite (2)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (1)
Viewed
Other (1)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Berkeley hotels
0.4 km away
Berkeley Rodeway Inn
Berkeley Rodeway Inn
#9 of 20 in Berkeley
325 reviews
0.9 km away
Hotel Shattuck Plaza
Hotel Shattuck Plaza
#1 of 20 in Berkeley
1,177 reviews
2.0 km away
Hotel Durant
Hotel Durant
#4 of 20 in Berkeley
749 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.1 km away
DoubleTree by Hilton Berkeley Marina
1.0 km away
Holiday Inn Express Berkeley
0.8 km away
Nash Hotel
Nash Hotel
#12 of 20 in Berkeley
78 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free Parking
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Breakfast included
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
In your room
  • Microwave
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included

Additional Information about Super 8 Berkeley

Address: 1619 University Ave, Berkeley, CA 94703
Region: United States > California > Berkeley
Price Range: $134 - $498 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Super 8 Berkeley 2.5*
Number of rooms: 23
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Super 8 Berkeley reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Super 8 Berkeley Hotel Berkeley
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Super 8 Berkeley staff and other travellers.
2 questions
Ask a question
over a year ago

See all questions (2)

Questions? Get answers from Super 8 Berkeley staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“If you have a choice ask for more interior an less exposure to University Ave - not sure how much that really matters though”
 of 5 bubbles Gringacriolla, 10 Aug 2016 | Read review
“In order to save you a call when the office is closed, I share this tip with you: the breakfast time is from 6:30-10AM.”
 of 5 bubbles cheryfan, 21 Apr 2016 | Read review
“There's no elevator, so ask for a ground floor room if you have trouble with stairs.”
 of 5 bubbles N6807NYbarbaras, 30 Oct 2015 | Read review
“Avoid rooms at street side”
 of 5 bubbles G880KRrichardm, 15 May 2015 | Read review
“Don't book the room here”
 of 5 bubbles LeonardoNeves, 6 Jun 2014 | Read review
5 of 5