We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

Red Lion Hotel Bakersfield

PricelineUSD 71*
View Deal
14/05/2017 15/05/2017
1 room 2 adults 0 children
USD 75*
USD 71*
Great Deal
USD 75*
USD 75*
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Professional photos
Red Lion Hotel Bakersfield
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"moduleList":["handlers"]},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

554 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 506: English reviews
Start your review of Red Lion Hotel Bakersfield
 Click to rate
Humboldt County, California
Reviewed 2 days ago NEW

I stayed here with my 8 week-old baby, eleven-year-old son, and fiancée. The hotel was very run down, the bed skirt was dirty and stained, the sheets had black hairs on them. My fiancée and son thought they were being bitten by something on their legs. Then I found a BED BUG on the bed next to me and my...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Chelsea B
calaveras
Reviewed 4 days ago NEW

The location and the hotel staff was good. That is the good. The bad is that this is not a facility for disabled people. And that is just the beginning!!! The room smelled really bad and was in need of a complete renovation. I am a 66 year old retired peace officer and my wife works for a major hospital...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank tortola1993
Management response:

Thank you for taking the time to share your feedback with us. We strive to ensure all our guests are satisfied with their stay. We are sorry that we did not meet your expectations. I will pass the message to that department. I hope you give us a second chance. Best Regards

Citrus Heights, California
Reviewed 5 days ago NEW

We needed a place to sleep after attending a meeting in Bakersfield and this Red Lion was within our budget and close to the highway. Check in was fine, the room was outdated, but it appears they are remodeling. The attached restaurant was closed for dinner so we ordered pizza from a local pizza place (Santa Barbara Pizza Co-delicious!). We...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Beachtravel_10
Management response:

Thank you for taking the time to tell us about your stay. We are so happy your stay was comfortable, it tells us we are doing something right. Your positive comments are greatly appreciated and glad you enjoyed your stay with us. Come visit us again in the near future.

Reviewed 1 week ago NEW

While we had a pleasant time in Bakersfield, we were looking forward to moving on to our next destination. Hotel needs a make over. Pool area & staff are the 2 things going for it. A lot of the hotel is very dirty & needs a lot of maintenance work.

Review collected in partnership with this hotel
 Report
Helpful?
Thank Squire1972
Management response:

Thank you for taking the time to share your feedback with us. We strive to ensure all our guests are satisfied with their stay. We are sorry that we did not meet your expectations. I will pass the message to that department. I hope you give us a second chance. Best Regards

Auckland, New Zealand
Reviewed 1 week ago

Facilities a little dated in places, however its very good value for money, Right next door to Buck Owens Crystal Palace, and well worth a visit in its own right. Pool is good too. Breakfast is great value too.

Review collected in partnership with this hotel
 Report
Helpful?
Thank 744carln
Management response:

Thank you for taking the time to tell us about your stay. We are so happy your stay was comfortable, it tells us we are doing something right. Your positive comments are greatly appreciated and glad you enjoyed your stay with us. Come visit us again in the near future.

Fresno, California
Reviewed 1 week ago

The room was coming apart, stained pee on toilet, wooden surfaces greasy, the pool/spa was unclean, and the curtains were stained. Charged an extra six dollars on the room deposit, would not recommend.

Review collected in partnership with this hotel
 Report
Helpful?
Thank 515jessea
Management response:

Thank you for taking the time to share your feedback with us. We strive to ensure all our guests are satisfied with their stay. We are sorry that we did not meet your expectations. I will pass the message to that department. I hope you give us a second chance. Best Regards

Kolbermoor, Germany
Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

The rooms were super outdated- very dark. I did not feel very comfortable. The smell in the room was weird- had to leave the windows open the whole night. We had to wait 10 minutes because they dont Check in people before 3am. Service was neutral (not friendly or unfriendly) Breakfast is horrible: tea and coffee undrinkable- taste like water....

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Laura H
Management response:

Thank you for taking the time to share your feedback with us. We strive to ensure all our guests are satisfied with their stay. We are sorry that we did not meet your expectations. I will pass the message to that department. I hope you give us a second chance. Best Regards

Reviewed 2 weeks ago

I had an appointment in Bakersfield and this was a nice place to stay for the money. It is right off of the freeway so it makes it a short travel time to wherever you want to go in Bakersfield. I would recommend it.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Todd T
Management response:

Thank you for your recent comments regarding your stay with us. We are delighted to hear that you enjoy your stay with us. We are pride ourselves on guestroom cleanliness. Best Regards.

Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

Stayed on 4-6-2017 and that will be it. I trusted in the red lion name, but never again. The lobby looked great but when we got in the room it was god awful. Found a sock just under the bed and a hair ball from some nasty dark haired customer. Red lion corp you should be ashamed.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Erik K
Management response:

Thank you for taking the time to share your feedback with us. We strive to ensure all our guests are satisfied with their stay. We are sorry that we did not meet your expectations. I will pass the message to that department. I hope you give us a second chance. Best Regards

Las Vegas, Nevada
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

call the day before you check in... had issue after issue with key cards and checking in. Front desk argued with me about booking and instead of just offering the available rooms, continued to argue with me about booking.

Review collected in partnership with this hotel
 Report
Helpful?
Thank hbS3348UE
Management response:

Thank you for taking the time to share your feedback with us. We strive to ensure all our guests are satisfied with their stay. We are sorry that we did not meet your expectations. I will pass the message to that department. I hope you give us a second chance. Best Regards

80 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (61)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (14)
Viewed
Room/Suite (6)
Viewed
Bathroom (2)
Viewed
View from Room (2)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (2)
Viewed
Other (34)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (19)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (3)
Viewed
Dining (2)
Viewed
Bathroom (2)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (4)
Viewed
Room/Suite (2)
Viewed
Other (6)
14/05/2017 15/05/2017
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Bakersfield hotels
2.1 km away
Red Roof Inn Bakersfield
Red Roof Inn Bakersfield
#20 of 62 in Bakersfield
118 reviews
0.6 km away
Hotel Rosedale
Hotel Rosedale
#26 of 62 in Bakersfield
308 reviews
0.5 km away
DoubleTree by Hilton Bakersfield
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
26.5 km away
BEST WESTERN Heritage Inn
BEST WESTERN Heritage Inn
#9 of 62 in Bakersfield
278 reviews
0.4 km away
Holiday Inn Express & Suites Bakersfield Central
6.9 km away
La Quinta Inn & Suites Bakersfield North
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Pool
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Breakfast included
  • Room Service
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
About the property
  • Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
  • Wheelchair Access
Things to do
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Hot Tub
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
In your room
  • Air Conditioning
  • Microwave
  • Refrigerator in room
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Public Wifi
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
  • Shuttle Bus Service
  • Room Service
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Business Centre with Internet Access
  • Self-Serve Laundry
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
A tropical Bakersfield, CA Hotel Near Downtown Welcome to a tropical oasis in the heart of Bakersfield. Red Lion Hotel Bakersfield is set amidst lush landscaping with an Olympic-sized swimming pool, soothing hot tub and relaxing courtyard, among other unique features. Suitable for business trips, family vacations, special events and groups, our Bakersfield, CA hotel is conveniently located within easy access of the vibrant downtown area, where guests will find a variety of shops, restaurants and attractions. Red Lion Hotel Bakersfield features 198 spacious and well-appointed guest rooms with amenities like 42" flat screen TVs with HBO and free Wi-Fi. Just outside your door, our hotel in Bakersfield, CA offers complimentary made-to-order breakfast every morning, a modern fitness center and 4,000 square feet of flexible meeting space. Centrally located to Freeway 99 and Highways 58 and 178, our Bakersfield hotel offers guests premier access to such attractions as the Kern County Fairgrounds, the Buck Owens Crystal Palace, Camelot Park and the Fox Theater. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Red Lion Hotel Bakersfield

Address: 2620 Buck Owens Blvd, Bakersfield, CA 93308-6310 (Formerly Crystal Palace Inn & Suites)
Region: United States > California > Bakersfield
Price Range: $88 - $128 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Red Lion Hotel Bakersfield 3.5*
Number of rooms: 198
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Hotwire, Travelocity, Orbitz, Priceline, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Red Lion Hotel Bakersfield reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Crystal Palace Hotel Bakersfield
Best Western Bakersfield
Bakersfield Best Western
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Red Lion Hotel Bakersfield staff and other travellers.
2 questions
Ask a question
Medford, Oregon
over a year ago

See all questions (2)

Questions? Get answers from Red Lion Hotel Bakersfield staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Do not stay here, period.”
tortola1993, 26 Apr 2017 | Read review
“Room 134 sucked”
Monaw51, 2 Apr 2017 | Read review
“Some rooms have better internet connectivity than others.”
589nicholasg, 23 Mar 2017 | Read review
“Ground floor was great”
RogerDieppe_Canada, 12 Mar 2017 | Read review
“Get a room away from the front of the hotel near Buck Owens Blvd and Highway 99.”
TomF893, 1 Mar 2017 | Read review
5 of 5
Priceline
USD 71* /night
View Deal
Booking.comUSD 75
TravelocityUSD 75
TripAdvisorUSD 75
View all 10 deals
*Disclaimer
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Change dates