We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

Howard Johnson Inn - Bakersfield

Show Prices
Enter dates for lowest prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
We check 200+ sites to find the latest and lowest prices.
Professional photos
Howard Johnson Inn - Bakersfield
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"moduleList":["handlers"],"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

342 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
There are newer reviews for Howard Johnson Inn - Bakersfield
See the most recent reviews
Showing 332: English reviews
Fort Morgan
Reviewed 31 October 2015

hotel was nice and the people friendly. but there was a lot!! of noise in and people yelling close by till after midnight keeping me awake.

Review collected in partnership with Howard Johnson
 Report
Helpful?
2Thank DAYDB709
Moreno Valley, California
Reviewed 29 October 2015

Room chairs were filthy the cleaninees in the overall was not acceptable for a honeymoon. I was vey disappointed for the name of this company.

Review collected in partnership with Howard Johnson
 Report
Helpful?
Thank michaelsH9515EH
hojobakersfield, General Manager at Howard Johnson Inn - Bakersfield, responded to this review

Thank you for staying with us and for sharing your experience. Rest assured that we do make cleanliness a top priority, and, will address the issue of the unclean chair with the housekeeping staff. We hope that you will give us another chance while you are in town so that we can show you that this experience was an exception...

Bakersfield, California
Reviewed 23 October 2015

I called the afternoon after i checked out and said i left my lap top charger in room. The front desk clerk said to call back tomorrow when the maids were there. I did and maids said it wasnt there.

Review collected in partnership with Howard Johnson
 Report
Helpful?
Thank 472monicap
hojobakersfield, General Manager at Howard Johnson Inn - Bakersfield, responded to this review

Thank you for staying with us. We regret that you lost a phone charger. However, our housekeeping staff does turn in phone chargers left in the rooms. We have box full chargers that were left behind as proof. Our housekeeping staff has high integrity and our track record does not suggest a generalization that our “maids are thief's.” In any...

Reviewed 22 October 2015

Very nice place to stay. The girl at the front desk was very helpful. Rooms were clean and tidy. The A/C worked great on the hot nights of Bakersfield. Is a little close to freeway. They do have free WiFi.

 Report
Helpful?
3Thank Daniel G
hojobakersfield, General Manager at Howard Johnson Inn - Bakersfield, responded to this review

Thank you for staying at the Howard Johnson Inn Bakersfield and for taking the time to share your good experience. We work on providing our guests with a clean room, friendly and helpful staff, and, also offering a great bang for the buck value. We hope to see you again soon on your next visit. Ariana Sanchez, General Manager

West Sacramento, California
Reviewed 21 October 2015

Review collected in partnership with Howard Johnson
 Report
Helpful?
Thank georgegZ8483LD
hojobakersfield, General Manager at Howard Johnson Inn - Bakersfield, responded to this review

San Marcos, California
Reviewed 20 October 2015

ZERO STARS! Never stay at this hotel or any other Howard Johnson. They refused service to us even though we had previously paid them and no damage was caused to the property. Arianna Sanchez has terrible customer service. I would never recommend anybody to stay here.

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank shanonymous_001
hojobakersfield, General Manager at Howard Johnson Inn - Bakersfield, responded to this review

Thank you for staying with us. We apologize for this inconvenience. However, your payment was denied due to lack of a credit card authorization from another party. We understand a third party may pay for a guest’s room (such as an employer) but, it is necessary for us to obtain a written form of authorization in order to prevent unauthorized...

Berkeley, California
Reviewed 7 October 2015

Review collected in partnership with Howard Johnson
 Report
Helpful?
2Thank 573rajinders
hojobakersfield, General Manager at Howard Johnson Inn - Bakersfield, responded to this review

Ventura, California
Reviewed 6 October 2015

We stayed for an away football game. The girl at the front desk was not pleasent at all. When we got to the room we were over powered by the smell of bleach. It was so bad that after 3 hours of windows open we had to get air freshener to help with the smell. There was only 1 bath...

Review collected in partnership with Howard Johnson
 Report
Helpful?
Thank O7260QKveronicac
hojobakersfield, General Manager at Howard Johnson Inn - Bakersfield, responded to this review

Thank you for staying with us and for sharing your experience. We regret any inconvenience of what seems like bleach. We actually do not use bleach in our rooms but rather an industrial cleaner purchased from a big national company that provides service to commercial, hospitals, and lodging institutions. The cleaners are designed to leave a more pleasant smell. We...

Richmond, United Kingdom
Reviewed 24 September 2015

We looked at a couple of places in Bakersfield and they looked more than a little rough. So we decided to play safe and go for HoJo. Well look, it's clean and tidy, and the aircon works, which is pretty important on a hot September night; though the fan is too loud to run at night. The bathroom had a...

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank Mirabelle-M
hojobakersfield, General Manager at Howard Johnson Inn - Bakersfield, responded to this review

Thank you for staying at the Howard Johnson Inn Bakersfield and for mentioning our tidiness, cleanliness, working air condition, and, free wifi. Yes, we do not have an outlet in the shower area, but, there is one right outside in the vanity area, above the sink and next to the bathroom light switch. Unfortunately (or fortunately for some) we are...

Tustin
Reviewed 19 September 2015

Review collected in partnership with Howard Johnson
 Report
Helpful?
2Thank sps662
hojobakersfield, General Manager at Howard Johnson Inn - Bakersfield, responded to this review

42 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (27)
Viewed
Room/Suite (10)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (3)
Viewed
View from Room (2)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (1)
Viewed
Other (10)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (15)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (2)
Viewed
Dining (3)
Viewed
Room/Suite (2)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (2)
Viewed
Other (6)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Bakersfield hotels
2.7 km away
Vagabond Inn Bakersfield South
Vagabond Inn Bakersfield South
#36 of 62 in Bakersfield
298 reviews
5.3 km away
Red Roof Inn Bakersfield
Red Roof Inn Bakersfield
#18 of 62 in Bakersfield
117 reviews
5.4 km away
Rodeway Inn & Suites
Rodeway Inn & Suites
#33 of 62 in Bakersfield
115 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.9 km away
Vagabond Inn Executive Bakersfield Downtowner
27.2 km away
Vagabond Inn Buttonwillow I-5
Vagabond Inn Buttonwillow I-5
#43 of 62 in Bakersfield
102 reviews
5.5 km away
Travelodge Bakersfield
Travelodge Bakersfield
#40 of 62 in Bakersfield
277 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
  • Pool
About the property
  • Wheelchair Access
  • Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Things to do
  • Pool
  • Hot Tub
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
In your room
  • Air Conditioning
  • Microwave
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included

Additional Information about Howard Johnson Inn - Bakersfield

Address: 2700 White Lane, Bakersfield, CA 93304
Region: United States > California > Bakersfield
Price Range: $60 - $77 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Howard Johnson Inn - Bakersfield 2*
Number of rooms: 149
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Howard Johnson Inn - Bakersfield reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Howard Johnson Express Inn - Bakersfield Hotel Bakersfield
Howard Johnson Bakersfield
Bakersfield Howard Johnson
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Questions? Get answers from Howard Johnson Inn - Bakersfield staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Ground floor,,easy to leave”
 of 5 bubbles Moluskmoo, 20 May 2016 | Read review
“Ask for a king size room”
 of 5 bubbles teresah484, 10 Nov 2015 | Read review
“Rooms on the East side quieter”
 of 5 bubbles filix202, 16 Dec 2014 | Read review
“Make sure you are close to reception as this is where you might get WiFi”
 of 5 bubbles Photoguy2910, 6 Nov 2014 | Read review
“Quietest rooms are on north side”
 of 5 bubbles JayZee1, 21 Aug 2014 | Read review
5 of 5