We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

Portaferry Hotel

Show Prices
Certificate of Excellence
Enter dates for lowest prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
We check 200+ sites to find the latest and lowest prices.
Professional photos
Portaferry Hotel
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"]},"containerClass":null,"scriptFlags":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

316 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
Showing 314: English reviews
Start your review of Portaferry Hotel
 Click to rate
Reviewed 2 days ago NEWvia mobile

Went in on a rainy day, for a bite to eat and a coffee. Faced with a terrible urine smell, surly waitress, no skimmed milk, no soy milk. Woeful place. Such a shame, as it used to be great. I will never again, think of this place with fondness. Terrible.

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Browners25
Dublin, Ireland
Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

Called into the bar bistro just after lunchtime. No longer that busy. Drinks order was taken promptly and menus left with us. After quite a while I decided that I would go to our server rather than inconvenience her. She took our order without any apology for the delay. If we thought that had been a wait we were soon...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Victor T
Cahal A, Owner at Portaferry Hotel, responded to this review

Hi Victor, firstly on behalf of the hotel let me apoligise for our lack of service. I'm disgusted that you had to go and look for a waitress to take your order. As for an explanation, i have no idea what to say, but i can assure you this will be raised with our staff. I can only assume you...

Belfast, United Kingdom
Reviewed 5 weeks ago

I have just returned from an overnight residential at this hotel and i just had to write a review because it was the PERFECT stay Food - the menu was comprehensive and was excellent quality. Being a pescatarian it can sometimes be hit and miss finding something decent on the menu, but not here. I had the bouillabaisse for lunch...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank rogz
Cahal A, Owner at Portaferry Hotel, responded to this review

Hi rogz, I'm usually never stuck for words. But i don't know what to say, your review is without doubt the best, most detailed we have received to date. We appreciate the thought, effort and detail of your review. Its lovely to see our staff from the Kitchen to Housekeeping getting a mention. I have already shared this review on...

Portrush, United Kingdom
Reviewed 14 February 2017

We had lunch here a few years ago and it was just okay, however on this visit it was great, the whole place has had a freshen up the staff were really helpful and pleasant there was a great choice on the menu and the food was also as you would expect. Really good to see a local hotel like...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Calhame
Cahal A, Owner at Portaferry Hotel, responded to this review

Hi Calhame, Thank you for reviewing our hotel. Delighted you enjoyed our food. Fair play for praising our staff, and a special thank you for your remark "Really good to see a local hotel like this doing well" Thanks Cahal

Ballygally, United Kingdom
Reviewed 10 February 2017

We booked the one night dinner, bed and breakfast package and stayed in room 10 with beautiful views overlooking the pennisula. The room was clean and spacious with a large comfortable bed and all the extras you expect in an hotel room. Unfortunately the restaurant was not open so we dined in the bistro bar and the meal was very...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Johnny M
Cahal A, Owner at Portaferry Hotel, responded to this review

Hi Johnny, Thank you for reviewing our hotel. Its always a great boost for us as a team to have a 5 star review. Room 10 is my favourite room, as the view East all the way through the Narrows to the sea is outstanding. We believe in cooked to order breakfasts, its usually the last dining experience our guests...

A TripAdvisor Member
Level Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
3 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 January 2017 via mobile

What a fantastic afternoon of gin tasting. Excellent gin, great nibbles and music. A lively fun afternoon. The owner came round and talked to everyone. We were lucky to have booked an overnight stay, which was lovely. Breakfast was top class. Highly recommended this gem.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank A TripAdvisor Member
Cahal A, Owner at Portaferry Hotel, responded to this review

Thanks for taking the time to review us. Great for us and our staff to recieve a 5 star review. I think everyone enjoyed our Gin day, guests and staff. Thank you for recommending us and hopefully see you at our next Gin day. Thanks Cahal

Reviewed 30 December 2016 via mobile

Haven't been here for years. Had lunch here with a child included. A good practical and delicious menu yet still with unique features. Beautiful scallops served with bacon, chili sauce and veg and really skinny chips. Scrumptious mussels or a really chunky burger - all at a very economical rate. The restaurant is basic and a bit dated but clean,...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Tonyroden
Cahal A, Owner at Portaferry Hotel, responded to this review

Hi Tony, again its great to recieve a 5 star review. All our staff are encouraged to read all reviews, its important to share all comments with them, both good and poor to help us perform better. Thanks Cahal

County Galway, Ireland
Reviewed 30 December 2016 via mobile

Beautiful location. In the Ards peninsula .Great scenary and interesting walks.Fantastic ferry crossing from Strangford . Foot passenger or car. Portaferry Hotel old world type style. Great service ,very hospital. Friendly staff.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank anne c
Cahal A, Owner at Portaferry Hotel, responded to this review

Hi Anne, we're delighted with such a lovely review. Short and too the point. Thank you and hope you come stay with us again Thanks Cahal

Mazarron, Spain
Reviewed 27 December 2016

What a change this hotel is now. Bright, clean and homely. Staff are absolutely fantastic, nothing too much bother. Restaurant is great. Breakfast was unbelievable. Will be back, hopefully when the weather gets a bit warmer. Only criticism is room 1 is very cold so we would ask for another one.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Knockgolfclub1
Cahal A, Owner at Portaferry Hotel, responded to this review

Hi Knockgolfclub1, Thank you for a great review. Maybe next time i'll get you to Kirkistown for a game.... Apologies for room 1 not being warm enough Thanks Cahal

County Antrim, United Kingdom
Reviewed 12 December 2016

Unfortunately our visit was marred by a christmas party with our room directly over the band. We could not use our room until 11.30pm due to the volume of the band. I also believe that the standard of the food was also affected. Hotel has been finished to a good standard, lots of potential once they find their market. Great...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank rockb60
Cahal A, Owner at Portaferry Hotel, responded to this review

Hi Rockb60, sorry your visit was "marred" by a Christmas party. Im soor our food wasn't up to your standards, this had nothing to do with the party. We do advertise live music on our Website every Friday and Saturday night, and can only apologise for keeping you up so late. We will make sure to make guests aware that...

79 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (65)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (12)
Viewed
View from Room (9)
Viewed
Room/Suite (11)
Viewed
Dining (6)
Viewed
Other (27)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (14)
Viewed
Dining (4)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (1)
Viewed
Room/Suite (4)
Viewed
Other (5)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Portaferry
30.4 km away
Clandeboye Lodge Hotel
33.1 km away
The Old Inn Crawfordsburn
The Old Inn Crawfordsburn
#1 of 1 in Crawfordsburn
934 reviews
25.5 km away
La Mon Hotel & Country Club
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
26.0 km away
Strangford Arms Hotel
Strangford Arms Hotel
#1 of 1 in Newtownards
225 reviews
34.4 km away
Culloden Estate & Spa
Culloden Estate & Spa
#1 of 3 in Holywood
1,643 reviews
28.8 km away
Donard Hotel
Donard Hotel
#5 of 16 in Newcastle
113 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Room Service
About the property
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
  • Wheelchair Access
Things to do
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Smoking rooms available
  • Family Rooms
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly)
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Room Service

Additional Information about Portaferry Hotel

Address: The Strand, Portaferry BT22 1PE, Northern Ireland
Region: United Kingdom > Northern Ireland > County Down > Portaferry
Price Range: $123 - $216 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Portaferry Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 14
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your Portaferry Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Portaferry Hotel Northern Ireland
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Portaferry Hotel staff and other travellers.
5 questions
Ask a question
over a year ago
Ross-on-Wye, UK
1 month ago
Ross-on-Wye, UK
1 month ago
8 months ago

See all questions (5)

Questions? Get answers from Portaferry Hotel staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“I stayed in room 10”
 of 5 bubbles rogz, 17 Feb 2017 | Read review
“all front rooms have views over Strangford Lough and harbour”
 of 5 bubbles Calhame, 13 Feb 2017 | Read review
“Sea view rooms are well worth the additional charge.”
 of 5 bubbles O9271RJjohnm, 10 Feb 2017 | Read review
“Avoid rooms 1,2 and 3. Not very warm”
 of 5 bubbles Knockgolfclub1, 26 Dec 2016 | Read review
“Rooms over the restaurant to the front of the hotel are noisey, nice views.”
 of 5 bubbles rockb60, 12 Dec 2016 | Read review
5 of 5