We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

Inn on the Lake

Show Prices
Certificate of Excellence
Enter dates for lowest prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
We check 200+ sites to find the latest and lowest prices.
Professional photos
Inn on the Lake
View Map
{"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null,"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"moduleList":["handlers"],"template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"}}}
Add Photo Write a Review

1,557 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 1,552: English reviews
Start your review of Inn on the Lake
 Click to rate
Northamptonshire, United Kingdom
Reviewed 3 days ago NEWvia mobile

We arrived on Friday 17th March after quite a long drive, have stayed before but was a few years ago. On arrival we checked in easily with Petra who was very friendly and helpful, she explained how our booking worked, dinner, bed & breakfast, also our room with a lovely lake view, was very much appreciated. The views were stunning...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Fiona1958
yorkshire
Reviewed 3 days ago NEW

Thank goodness we were on a special deal. The room had no view probably because we were on a deal but the bathroom had no ventilation and also had shower curtain ....horrible and certainly not acceptable nowadays in a supposedly four star hotel. Staff were delightful with possible exception of one waiter who needs to learn to smile. Food looked...

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank lazytoad
Reviewed 4 days ago NEWvia mobile

We have been before to Inn on the lake as a couple with our dog. Having just had a baby, my husband was keen to build my confidence up in going away so booked Inn on the lake again. It was fantastic. We dined in the restaurant on the evening with our 3 month old and they weren't worried about...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Jemma R
Durham, United Kingdom
Reviewed 5 days ago NEWvia mobile

Very disappointed reception area clean and welcoming but room is 2 star at best holes in bed linen , no conditioner,shower cap and room has a view of frosted glass due to the appalling view please do not book without checking room number we are room 20. Had afternoon tea but had to ask them to clean table as they...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank p0ppy020
manageriotl, General Manager at Inn on the Lake, responded to this review

Dear p0ppy020 Im very sorry you felt the need to write a negative review. I know you have written the review whilst staying which is such a shame.If you had spoken to us at the point you found the small hole in the duvet we would of gladly changed it immediately. This was our oversight which are very rare but...

Reviewed 6 days ago NEWvia mobile

We booked the travel zoo deal of a night stay, scones on arrival, 3 course meal and breakfast. We arrived and got greeted by the friendly reception staff who told us where we could eat with the dog and where our room was. We went up to the room nice clean room and bed, bowl and towel provided for our...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Jade S
King's Lynn, United Kingdom
Reviewed 1 week ago

We stayed here in mid November 2016, the hotel was decorated for Christmas and was beautiful, the staff were very friendly and the service was great. We had a five course dinner which was very good except my steak was not up to the standard of the rest of the meal or indeed the hotel in general. Having said that...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank annealanchaplin
manageriotl, General Manager at Inn on the Lake, responded to this review

Dear annealanchaplin Thank you for your very kind comments, we are so pleased you enjoyed your pre Christmas break. The hotel looks wonderful during the festive season and the owners take great interest in the design and feel of Christmas. We do hope you choose to visit us in 2017 at some point but until then let us wish you...

Appleby-in-westmorland, United Kingdom
Reviewed 1 week ago

I can not fault this hotel from the minute we arrived until we left, nothing was too much trouble superb hospitality. Food excellent. Rooms had everything we needed. I would like to thank Teresa in sales she was very attentive to our needs.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Fiona M
manageriotl, General Manager at Inn on the Lake, responded to this review

Dear Fiona M Thank you for taking time to write such a lovely review. We are delighted you enjoyed your stay with us. I will pass on your comments to Teresa who will also be delighted as she takes great pride in the service we offer at The inn on the lake. We do hope you choose to visit us...

Liverpool, United Kingdom
Reviewed 1 week ago

Great location and if the weather is in your favour great views . Was only able to stay for the one night . The hotel has made best efforts to modernise the room we stayed in . It was clean with a good over the bath shower. We were able to park outside which was a plus . The breakfast...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Peter965
manageriotl, General Manager at Inn on the Lake, responded to this review

Dear Peter965 Thank you for your very kind review, we are so pleased you enjoyed your stay with us. We hope you choose to visit us again in the not too distant future but until then let us wish you well. Kind regards Gary and the team

Cork, Ireland
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

I cant believe I'm only getting round to writing this now (thought I'd already done it!) but myself and wife got married at the Inn on the Lake back in October 2014 after having shopped around 5 or 6 similar venues around the lakes. The Inn on the Lake was the first on our list and I have to admit...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Sunseekers_774
manageriotl, General Manager at Inn on the Lake, responded to this review

Dear sunseekers_774 Well better late than never, what a lovely review. Two years on you still have amazing memories of your very special day. We are so pleased you enjoyed your wedding day with us and we do remember you and your guests having a wonderful time . I will pass on your comments to all the staff and say...

Liverpool, United Kingdom
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

I am absolutely delighted at the superb hospitality, the absolute cleanliness, superb food and drink. Topped off by the most attentive helpful friendly staff. The bedroom and bathroom was spotless and the fell view magnificent. In excess of this was a helpful e mail the day before travel to tell me of a road closure close to the hotel and...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank stewart_lawrence
manageriotl, General Manager at Inn on the Lake, responded to this review

Dear stewart_lawrence Thank you for your very kind comments, we are delighted you enjoyed your stay with us. I will make all the team aware of your review as they really enjoy reading such lovely feedback. Let us wish you well and hope its not too long before you return. Kind regards Gary and the team

817 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (764)
Viewed
View from Room (50)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (223)
Viewed
Room/Suite (74)
Viewed
Dining (77)
Viewed
Bathroom (10)
Viewed
Business Centre/Function Rooms (11)
Viewed
Family/Play Areas (3)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (9)
Viewed
Other (307)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (53)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (12)
Viewed
Dining (18)
Viewed
Room/Suite (19)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (1)
Viewed
Other (3)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Glenridding
0.2 km away
BEST WESTERN Glenridding Hotel
18.7 km away
Applegarth Villa and Restaurant
12.4 km away
Lodore Falls Hotel
Lodore Falls Hotel
#5 of 5 in Borrowdale
1,989 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
21.7 km away
Gilpin Hotel & Lake House
Gilpin Hotel & Lake House
#3 of 20 in Windermere
1,281 reviews
7.1 km away
Macdonald Leeming House, Ullswater
8.4 km away
Sharrow Bay Country House Hotel
Sharrow Bay Country House Hotel
#1 of 1 in Pooley Bridge
335 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Room Service
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
About the property
  • Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
  • Wheelchair Access
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
Food & drink at the hotel
The Orangery
The Orangery
Cuisines: European, British
Things to do
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
Room types
  • Suites
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Family Rooms
  • Accessible rooms
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Room Service
  • Free Parking
  • Dry Cleaning
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Business Centre with Internet Access
  • Laundry Service
  • Banquet Room
  • Conference Facilities
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
The Inn on the Lake Hotel ia a 4 star hotel that enjoys one of the most spectacular settings in the Lake District in 15 acres of grounds with lawns sweeping to the shores of Lake Ullswater. The Inn on the Lake is only 12 miles from the M6 motorway and the drive is very dramatic with the road curving around the Lake and the backdrop scenery of the fells. There are 47 en-suite bedrooms, all thoughtfully designed with most rooms having breathtaking views, some looking towards the magnificent Helvellyn mountain range, while the majority look over the ever changing Ullswater. Each room is fully equipped with everything you come to expect in this quality 4 star hotel. For that special occasion upgrade to a superior room or one of the very popular, stunning four-poster bedrooms. From the moment you walk into reception you will find an interior that compliments this fabulous setting. This leads through to the popular Lounge Bar where a warm welcome awaits with large bay windows overlooking the well landscaped gardens, which lead to the hotels jetties on Ullswater. Enjoy a drink any time of the day, a light lunch or afternoon tea in the Lounge or on our Lakeside terrace. The award-winning 2 AA Rosette Lake View Restaurant provides something for all tastes, or for less formal dining The Ramblers Bar, situated within the hotel’s grounds, offers the option to enjoy a pint of real ale. The hotel also has its own outdoor activities including pitch & putt, croquet and children's outdoor play area. Gary and his team at The Inn on the Lake Hotel look forward to welcoming you soon. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Inn on the Lake

Address: Glenridding CA11 0PE, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cumbria > Lake District > Glenridding
Price Range: $319 - $450 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Inn on the Lake 4*
Number of rooms: 47
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda and LateRooms so you can book your Inn on the Lake reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Inn On The Lake Hotel Glenridding
Inn On The Lake Ullswater
Inn On The Lake Glenridding, UK - Lake District
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Inn on the Lake staff and other travellers.
10 questions
Ask a question

See all questions (10)

Questions? Get answers from Inn on the Lake staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“nothing all good”
 of 5 bubbles 753fionam, 13 Mar 2017 | Read review
“Unless a room with a view is very important try for a cheaper room without a view and save the view for when you are out .”
 of 5 bubbles Peter965, 12 Mar 2017 | Read review
“Fell View or Lake view are worth a little extra”
 of 5 bubbles stewart_lawrence, 8 Mar 2017 | Read review
“View out to lake on front, if you carnt room at back look on to fells.”
 of 5 bubbles 782kenr, 28 Feb 2017 | Read review
“Get a lake view room!”
 of 5 bubbles X6897AGlauraw, 28 Feb 2017 | Read review
5 of 5