We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Valley Lodge & Spa

Show Prices
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
Best prices for:1 room
Check In Check Out
Please enter your travel dates to continue
Check Availability
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Professional photos
Valley Lodge & Spa
Valley Lodge & Spa
Panoramas (15)
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"moduleList":["handlers"],"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

274 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
Showing 272: English reviews
Johannesburg
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 6 days ago NEW

I would have given the lodge a 4 out of 5 or great if it was a 3 star hotel but it's a 4 star and we expected more. It's the little things that make an impressionable experience and things like a flooding bathroom to cold food to not organizing something special for my partners' birthday like I had requested... More 

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank MsDaku
Johannesburg, South Africa
Level Contributor
185 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 201 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 week ago

What a lovely weekend, relaxing and peaceful. The rooms are beautifully appointed and neat and clean. Separate units, not attatched to the neighbours, made for quiet stay. We had room 76, a superior room next to the river. We loved it! Service was excellent! Plenty staff looking after all your needs, but never in your face to irritate you. Food... More 

Helpful?
1 Thank JohannesburgJudith
Gauteng, South Africa
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 1 week ago

We booked one night at Valley Lodge and Spa hoping to have a small escape on our 5th year wedding anniversary. We chose this lodge because it was not far from JHB and seemed great on the website. We were quite disappointed with the small things that make a getaway comfortable, our tv channels were extremely bad, we requested them... More 

Helpful?
1 Thank Tania2710
ValleyLodge, General Manager at Valley Lodge & Spa, responded to this review

Hi Tania2710... I am so sorry.... this is not good. Thank you so much for your review.... I have addressed these issues with my team. Regards Laurence More 

Pretoria, South Africa
Level Contributor
110 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 121 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

We just spend our 10-year wedding anniversary here. Just after arrival we went for coffee on the terrace. A biggish group of people were quite rowdy & loud. All the other guests just watched this group of people. Luckily they went not too long after. ROOM: We had a beautiful decorated room. (Nr 75) Stunning view. Huge bathroom with double... More 

Helpful?
1 Thank AnT0606
ValleyLodge, General Manager at Valley Lodge & Spa, responded to this review

Hi AnT0606.... Thank you so much for your review.... I will pick this up with my team. this is not what Valley lodge and Spa is all about. Regards Laurence More 

Johannesburg, South Africa
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

I was always very happy with attending Valley lodge, even though the prices were a bit high, i always felt like it was somewhat worth it. until we ventured out this weekend, after paying an enormous amount of money for one nights stay, and then being shunted to a slight upgrade of a luxury room, being marketed as a "Superior... More 

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
1 Thank tashielb
ValleyLodge, General Manager at Valley Lodge & Spa, responded to this review

Dear tashielb.... This is terrible... lease contact me on gm@valleylodge.co.za so that I can sort this out. I am so sorry. Regards Laurence More 

Level Contributor
5 reviews
Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

A lovely venue with friendly staff who are very helpful. The food was a huge disappointment, they market themselves as s food destination but all u get is an expensive conference style buffet🙈. The other disappointment is the type of custom they attract. We were kept awake until 3 in the morning with loud guests who continued the next afternoon... More 

Helpful?
Thank 306michelev
ValleyLodge, General Manager at Valley Lodge & Spa, responded to this review

Hi 306michelev... Thank you so much for your candid review. We had a group in (That will never be invited back) that well lets just say did not know how to behave in accordance. I am so sorry that you had to be part of this experience, this is not what we are about. Regards Laurence More 

Johannesburg, South Africa
Level Contributor
32 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Johannesburg has many venues within a couple of hours of town which are used for the multi-day workshops and conferences that South Africans are infatuated with. The locations vary greatly in quality so it was good to find that Valley Lodge - had really comfortable well equipped rooms (including capsule coffee machines) - excellent food, buffet style but good and... More 

Helpful?
Thank semarumi
ValleyLodge, General Manager at Valley Lodge & Spa, responded to this review

Hi semarumi.... Thank you so much for your review. We have increased the Wi-Fi from 5 megs to 10 megs... I hope that this will sort out this issue, if not we will re-look.... Regards Laurence More 

1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

Booked the best rooms they had availible and my wife and I where extremely disappointed! No maintenance is been done. The room that was given to us the aircon was not working and the toilet seat was broken. The aircon in the hotels they as well don't switch ON. Personally I will never go there again! For 4 Star I... More 

Helpful?
1 Thank Gary G
ValleyLodge, General Manager at Valley Lodge & Spa, responded to this review

Hi Gary G. I agree.... this is not what we are about, I have raised this issue with my Maintenance manager. Regards Laurence More 

Level Contributor
8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 24 October 2016

I would live here if it was an option. I love the calmness of the lodge, the staff are friendly & always ready to serve. To hear a river running just outside your room is heavenly. The food... My mouth is watering all over again. Fresh, delicious & more than enough for their guests. The spa, Wow!!! Beautiful, calm, relaxing... More 

Helpful?
Thank Reshego S
ValleyLodge, General Manager at Valley Lodge & Spa, responded to this review

Dear Reshego S... Such a stunning review..... Thank you so very much. Regards Laurence More 

Johannesburg, South Africa
1 review
Reviewed 24 October 2016

We Celebrate our 16th years Anniversary on Saturday 22nd October.. We had a great stay. Staff at the Spa & Restaurant was excellent . Room was perfect. Thank you to the General Manager and Staff. Kaisvel Niyaal

Helpful?
Thank kaisvelniyaal
ValleyLodge, General Manager at Valley Lodge & Spa, responded to this review

Dear kaisvelniyaal..... Stunning!!!!!!!!!!!!! I am so pleased you enjoyed you time with us. Regards Laurence More 

595 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (97)
Viewed
Room/Suite (25)
Viewed
Dining (7)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (21)
Viewed
Business Centre/Function Rooms (1)
Viewed
Bathroom (7)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (8)
Viewed
View from Room (3)
Viewed
Other (25)

TripAdvisor Photos: Professional photos exclusively commissioned by TripAdvisor

Viewed
All TripAdvisor Photos (432)
Viewed
Amenities (52)
Viewed
Luxury Room (68)
Viewed
Pool (19)
Viewed
Dining (63)
Viewed
Standard Room (69)
Viewed
Superior Room (85)
Viewed
The Hotel (76)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (66)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (10)
Viewed
Dining (10)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (3)
Viewed
Family/Play Areas (4)
Viewed
View from Room (2)
Viewed
Room/Suite (12)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
Other (24)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Magaliesburg
2.1 km away
African Pride Mount Grace Country House & Spa
4.4 km away
Budmarsh Country Lodge
Budmarsh Country Lodge
#2 of 7 in Magaliesburg
222 reviews
2.0 km away
Magalies Manor
Magalies Manor
#7 of 7 in Magaliesburg
47 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.3 km away
De Hoek Country Hotel
De Hoek Country Hotel
#1 of 7 in Magaliesburg
381 reviews
30.5 km away
Misty Hills Country Hotel
Misty Hills Country Hotel
#4 of 6 in Muldersdrift
411 reviews
11.6 km away
Maropeng Boutique Hotel
Maropeng Boutique Hotel
#1 of 1 in Cradle of Humankind World Heritage Site
154 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Pool
  • Room Service
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Spa
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
  • Free Internet
  • Free Parking
About the property
  • Wheelchair Access
Things to do
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Spa
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
  • Hot Tub
  • Tennis Court
Room types
  • Suites
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Family Rooms
Internet
  • Free Internet
Services
  • Room Service
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Laundry Service
  • Banquet Room
  • Conference Facilities
  • Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly)
  • Free Parking
  • Dry Cleaning
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Perfectly situated on the banks of the Magalies river and just an hours drive from the centre of Gauteng, the Valley Lodge & Spa offers superior accommodation in a majestic, natural setting. An ideal getaway for the busy executive needing time out, to reconnect with family or a haven of tranuility for a romantic weekend. Choose from our 76 well appointed,individually furnished rooms and spoil your senses with an array of world class treatments in our Spa & Hydra Therapy centre. Be it the private fire lit Saunders bar or the entertainment of Maloneys bar with a full size billiards table, pool table, darts & fooseball, Valley Lodge & Spa offers variety throughout its 250 acres. With natural winding paths and trails around the Magalies river, a private nature reserve boasting old stone age ruins, and for the more energetic guest, rowing boats, tennis courts and a swimming pool. Sunday lunch is still a popular attraction for city dwellers looking for a day away from the urban stress. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Valley Lodge & Spa

Address: 13 Jennings Street, 1791 Krugersdorp, Magaliesburg 1790, South Africa
Region: South Africa > Gauteng > Greater Johannesburg > Magaliesburg
Price Range: $253 - $287 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Valley Lodge & Spa 4*
Number of rooms: 76
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Hotels.com, Orbitz, HRS, Odigeo and Agoda so you can book your Valley Lodge & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Valley Hotel Magaliesburg
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Valley Lodge & Spa staff and other travellers.
2 questions
Ask a question

See all questions (2)

Questions? Get answers from Valley Lodge & Spa staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“there are a few nice rooms with river view but a lot of variety - best ask what is available and pick and choose”
 of 5 bubbles semarumi, 9 Nov 2016 | Read review
“All their rooms are stunning... The luxury rooms are the best.”
 of 5 bubbles resheg0s, 24 Oct 2016 | Read review
“Good for Couples . / Honeymoon”
 of 5 bubbles kaisvelniyaal, 24 Oct 2016 | Read review
“All rooms are great”
  • Very nice rooms
 of 5 bubbles adele656, 12 Sep 2016 | Read review
“Superior rooms are Amazing!!!”
 of 5 bubbles Carthusia9, 29 Aug 2016 | Read review
5 of 5
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay