We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

Rocking Chair Resort

Show Prices
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
Prices from our online travel partners are not available
We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Mountain Home
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Management photos
Rocking Chair Resort
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"moduleList":["handlers"]},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

58 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
Showing 58: English reviews
Level Contributor
29 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 October 2016

My wife and I spent a week here in Cabin #10. The property is nicely secluded. The cabin was a little worn, but functional and comfortable. We love that they welcome dogs -- our dog had a great time. We also loved having David's Trail directly accessible from the resort. We hiked it every day and the best hike is... More 

Helpful?
Thank David A
1 review
Reviewed 10 September 2016 via mobile

I always feel at home here and one of my favorite memories is playing games in cabin one! The staff is always friendly and helpful and I love coming back over and over! Definitely a place I would recommend to my friends :)

Helpful?
Thank Sasha L
Conway, Arkansas
Level Contributor
3 reviews
Reviewed 4 September 2016 via mobile

I don't even know where to begin with this place. We stayed in #5 at the resort. This cabin was filled with mold, mildew, bugs, destroyed furniture and appliances, broken toilet and disgusting shower. I honestly do not know how the owners in good faith can rent this cabin to people. DO NOT STAY HERE. The sheets were so bad... More 

Helpful?
Thank tabe72
rockingchairmom6, Owner at Rocking Chair Resort, responded to this review

We are sorry you did not enjoy your Labor Day weekend. This cabin was built in 1940. In the old days it was known as the honeymoon cabin. Nowadays with way larger houses, it seems to be smaller and smaller. You have plenty of options to choose any of our newer cabins, condos or secluded homes upon reserving, you picked... More 

1 review
Reviewed 16 August 2016

Loved the relaxed, cozy atmosphere of this resort. We had a genuine log cabin that was clean, comfortable and cozy. Our kids loved the playground, pool and especially the gameroom. The boat dock was perfect for our boat and the owners were very attentive anytime we needed anything. Very friendly atmosphere. We enjoyed our first stay at your resort and... More 

Helpful?
Thank Celeste T
Rison, Arkansas
1 review
Reviewed 1 August 2016 via mobile

I've never been to a place that sucked so bad. The cabin smelled of old cigarette smoke and it wouldn't come out no matter how much febreeze you sprayed. The toilet felt like it was about to fall through the floor each time you sat on it. The couch was covered in hair and I had to lint roll it... More 

Helpful?
Thank ADD_1122
rockingchairmom6, Owner at Rocking Chair Resort, responded to this review

In our business we strive to please everyone and it is very upsetting if a guest is unhappy and we take your complaint very serious. There were 24 cabins to clean that day and it was not up to your expectations which is why we offered you another cabin. We were sorry you refused . This makes us strive to... More 

Downers Grove, Illinois
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 29 June 2016

We had a large group and stayed in the Estate House and the Coach House~ Both were wonderful! They were clean, spacious, with lots of room to roam inside and out. We enjoyed the pool too, the whole place is just great! The owners are so friendly, accommodating, always available when needed. Will be going again this year and can't... More 

Helpful?
1 Thank KMiller11-11
Blytheville, Arkansas
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 5 June 2016

We had a great time at Rocking Chair Resort! 3 adults and 3 children - cute and clean cabins, loved the pool! Also rented a boat for the day. The owners were so nice and it felt like we were visiting family. Will definitely return!

Helpful?
1 Thank sh0vis
Eagle Rock, Missouri
1 review
Reviewed 23 February 2016

What a fun experience! We came down to participate in the David's Trail Endurance Run in January 2016. Rocking Chair Resort was the trailhead and base for the race, and all the after race festivities happened around the resort as well. The resort was easy to find and well laid out. We stayed in one of the condo units, #16.... More 

Helpful?
Thank TeresaS1965
Elgin, Illinois
2 reviews
Reviewed 5 February 2016

Hands down the best family resort iv been to in years! Clean cabins, Pet friendly and the staff is just great! They really know how to make their resort feel like home. My family will definitely be visiting here again this summer.

Helpful?
Thank Samantha R
Frisco, Texas
Level Contributor
42 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 November 2015

We stayed over Thanksgiving weekend in the "duplex" cabin #11 and #12. We had reserved a smaller cabin, but the owner said she had a water heater issue with the one I had reserved and upgraded us at no additional cost. The cabin was clean. It was eclectic and I actually loved that the furniture was random and a bit... More 

Helpful?
1 Thank texanative

38 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (32)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (10)
Viewed
Room/Suite (8)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (2)
Viewed
Business Centre/Function Rooms (1)
Viewed
Other (11)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (6)
Viewed
Room/Suite (2)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (1)
Viewed
Other (3)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Mountain Home hotels
10.6 km away
Hampton Inn Mountain Home
Hampton Inn Mountain Home
#1 of 16 in Mountain Home
246 reviews
10.1 km away
Ramada Mountain Home
Ramada Mountain Home
#10 of 16 in Mountain Home
374 reviews
12.7 km away
The River Rock Hotel
The River Rock Hotel
#3 of 16 in Mountain Home
41 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
9.2 km away
Days Inn Mountain Home
Days Inn Mountain Home
#4 of 16 in Mountain Home
300 reviews
10.3 km away
Comfort Inn
Comfort Inn
#2 of 16 in Mountain Home
123 reviews
10.5 km away
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites - Mountain Home
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Pool
  • Free Parking
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
About the property
  • Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Things to do
  • Pool
Room types
  • Kitchenette
In your room
  • Refrigerator in room
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly)
  • Free Parking

Additional Information about Rocking Chair Resort

Address: 278 County Road 763, Mountain Home, AR 72653-7228
Region: United States > Arkansas > Mountain Home
Number of rooms: 23
Also Known As:
Rocking Chair Ranch Hotel Mountain Home
Rocking Chair Hotel
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Questions? Get answers from Rocking Chair Resort staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Wifi works, but it is based up by the office so you may not be able to get it in your cabin.”
 of 5 bubbles B8422KFdavida, 10 Oct 2016 | Read review
“For a large group the Estate House & Coach House are perfect- the cabins around the pool are a great family fun location- all are good!”
 of 5 bubbles KMiller11-11, 29 Jun 2016 | Read review
“Bring pool towels and pool toys (if you have kids)”
 of 5 bubbles samanthar857, 4 Feb 2016 | Read review
“We really enjoyed the two-bedroom cabin number 14.”
  • Master Bedroom
  • Second Bedroom
  • Living Room
  • Living Room
  • Dining Area
  • Kitchen
  • Cabin 14
  • Cabin 14
 of 5 bubbles Rasharra_Solarix, 27 Apr 2015 | Read review
“Don't book anything here because if you do, you just might get there and not have a place to stay!”
 of 5 bubbles PrettyPlease, 27 Apr 2014 | Read review
5 of 5