Bagan Thande Hotel
Payments made by partners impact the order of prices displayed. Room types may vary.
The listings of booking offers for each property take into account the compensation paid to us by our partners. Prices shown may be for varying room types. Prices displayed are the lowest available, corresponding to the least expensive room type available, as provided from our partners as of the time of the user’s search.

Bagan Thande Hotel

Beautiful tree at night
Traveller (1446)
Panorama of the Deluxe River View Room at the Thande Hotel Bagan
360
Panoramas (7)
Deluxe River View rooms
Room & Suite (437)

View prices for your travel dates

Contact accommodation for availability.
There are similar hotels available.
View all
Did you already book this hotel?

About

4.0
#15 of 69 hotels in Bagan
4.6 of 5 bubbles
Location
4.2 of 5 bubbles
Cleanliness
4.2 of 5 bubbles
Service
3.9 of 5 bubbles
Value
We have airport transportation service upon request and have internet access as well and free wifi.
Read more
Suggest edits to improve what we show.Improve this listing
Property amenities
Free parking
Free High Speed Internet (WiFi)
Pool
Free breakfast
Bicycle rental
Babysitting
Airport transportation
Banquet room
Wifi
Lazy river
Pool / beach towels
Outdoor pool
Bar / lounge
Restaurant
Breakfast available
Breakfast buffet
Complimentary welcome drink
Poolside bar
Taxi service
Meeting rooms
Spa
Foot massage
Massage
24-hour security
Baggage storage
Concierge
24-hour front desk
Dry cleaning
Laundry service
Ironing service
Room features
Air conditioning
Private balcony
Room service
Safe
Minibar
Refrigerator
Flatscreen TV
Room types
Non-smoking rooms
Suites
Family rooms
Good to know
HOTEL CLASS
Star ratings are intended to indicate the general level of features, amenities, and services to expect. This property is classified according to Giata.
3.0 of 5 stars
HOTEL STYLE
Classic
Great View
Languages Spoken
English

Location

Archaeological Zone, Bagan 11221 Myanmar
Getting there
Car recommended
Places to stay are graded on a 0-100 scale. The higher the grade, the easier it is for travellers to find restaurants and things to do within walking distance.
Grade: 45 out of 100
45
Nyaung-u Airport
1,535Review19Q+A100Room tips

Reviews
We perform checks on reviews.
Tripadvisor’s approach to reviews
Before posting, each Tripadvisor review goes through an automated tracking system, which collects information, answering the following questions: how, what, where and when. If the system detects something that potentially contradicts our community guidelines, the review is not published.
When the system detects a problem, a review may be automatically rejected, sent to the reviewer for validation, or manually reviewed by our team of content specialists, who work 24/7 to maintain the quality of the reviews on our site.
Our team checks each review posted on the site disputed by our community as not meeting our community guidelines.
Learn more about our review moderation.

Traveller rating
  • 500
  • 746
  • 224
  • 43
  • 22
Time of year
Traveller type
Language
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Popular mentions
Sort by:
Detailed Reviews
Cornelia M wrote a review Jan 2020
5.0 of 5 bubbles
I stayed with my friends for the third time at this hotel, for me the best in Bagan. The location is excellent, one can see important Pagods by walk and visit the Museum, rentals of E-Bikes etc. are just around the corner. We choose the garden deluxe rooms as the rooms facing directly the river are very noisy early morning from dawn onwards due to the boat traffic on the river. Avoid the room 2023 as the outdoor kitchen is just at the side and its noisy.
The breakfast is very good, while sitting under the shadow of a huge Arcadia-Tree one can enjoy the view of the river. In the evening they offer a complimentary puppet show and harp concert, which is worth to attend. The food was very good. The Spa is also very good with reasonable rates compared to other hotels. It is wonderful to swim in the pool after a long day of visits. Many thanks to the whole staff who was always attentive and very friendly. We shall definitely come again to this lovely place.
Read more
Date of stay: December 2019
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from GrandTour765834, Sales Executive at Bagan Thande Hotel
Responded 17 Jan 2020
Thank you for staying with us again. It brings us a lot of pride and joy to hear that you're an avid fan of our hotel. We appreciate your loyalty and your trust. Your continued patronage of our hotel is sincerely appreciated and we hope to be part of your future trips.
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Clarissa Dai wrote a review Jan 2020
4.0 of 5 bubbles
We stayed for 5 nights at the river view room. Our room number was 2022, it was great with a beautiful view of the garden and river and private enough for us to get a good rest. The garden was beautiful and meticulously kept, I managed to get a couple of yoga sessions (tip, bring your own mat) done when I was there.

The mattress and pillow were nice and firm and while you can hear the boats it didn’t bother us.

However, I can’t give a 5 star rating because the dinner service is questionable. On our first night we had a superb meal and great service, so we decided to dine again another night. What a mistake! Not only did the food take 45 minutes to arrive and there was next to no service, the “special” salad was nothing more than big chunks of unseasoned cut vegetables. I could not understand how this was a “special” salad.

Overall, hotel is great, but if you want a good dinner I suggest taking a cab to Nyaung-U instead.
Read more
Date of stay: December 2019Trip type: Travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from GrandTour765834, Sales Executive at Bagan Thande Hotel
Responded 1 Jan 2020
Thank you for taking the time to review your stay with us.We're sorry to hear that our Dinner service didn't meet your expectations. We do hope you give us another chance as we will definitely improve our services. Once again, we’re so happy that you loved our room and hotel. We look forward to welcoming you back to our hotel in the near future.
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Aethelred wrote a review Jan 2020
Cambridge, Massachusetts
4.0 of 5 bubbles
When I came to Bagan, it turned out there had been a booking mistake, and I didn't have a place for the night. So we checked this hotel as it had been on the list and the neighboring one was booked out. They had rooms starting at $100 but said I could check online - where the same room was to be had for $50. I have no idea why they then don't give the room for the cheaper and, for them, net rate...

Anyway, so because this was to be just a night I took the cheapest room, which was simple, 70s style panelled, and with a real simple bathroom. But it also had a balcony, the bed was firm and nice, aircon worked, and for price and location it was really allright. Predominantly Chinese guests it seemed.

I also had my laundry done as this was needed, at the express rate - this was still not expensive, and while they were late and I needed to ask for it, all was done well. The reception and pool staff were only moderately kind, the least smiling in all Burma, but oh well. The pool was ice cold but still nice; I had it for myself during a late swim (just before 9, when it closed).

To my surprise, my rate included breakfast, which I really enjoyed: It was on a great terrace overlooking the river, and I loved the vista and the change of light. Bf itself was not bad, with some really good dishes - eggs were fried quickly and nicely, homemade yoghurt and Mohinga were excellent. Great start into the day!

Altogether, a nice hotel with many options one can choose from. In sum, I enjoyed my stay here.
Read more
Date of stay: January 2020
3.0 of 5 bubblesRooms
4.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
3.0 of 5 bubblesService
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from GrandTour765834, Sales Executive at Bagan Thande Hotel
Responded 21 Jan 2020
Thank you for choosing our hotel and we appreciate your positive feedback about our hotel. We're so glad to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us! Looking forward to welcoming you back soon.
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
mjlothar wrote a review Jan 2020
Geneva, Switzerland
2.0 of 5 bubbles
We expected a lot when paying 72 USD a night in Myanmar but this hotel fell short ok so many levels. We arrived very early by bus and I had told the hotel about this. I wish they had offered to send a taxi but instead left us to get ripped off at the terminal. We asked for an early check in and even though we saw several people check out they didn’t seem to be making a real effort to get us a room until I sent an email to the management and kept insisting. The room floor was dirty. Patio hadn’t been cleaned and an ashtray full of cigarette buds was left uncleaned. For dinner they force you to get the 20 USD pp menu, food was good but over priced for what it is. No other restaurant options nearby. Water bottles 1500 kat vs 500 everywhere else. Hotel had been over 90% Chinese tourists, big bus loads arriving throughout the day. Breakfast was a disaster. Constantly running out of food options and not replacing them for 20 mins. Our breakfast table was dirty and when we asked the waitress to clean it she just wiped it with my placemat and put the placemat upside down! It’s clear the owner never spends any time here and the management is totally clueless. Nobody pays attention to the property. The gardens are dirty and unkempt. The only upside for us were the comfortable beds and very hot water shower. The room was nice but the rest of the hotel a total disappointment. Also the morning reception staff should be made to wear uniforms and act more professional. We felt we were in their bedroom.
Read more
Date of stay: January 2020
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from GrandTour765834, Sales Executive at Bagan Thande Hotel
Responded 26 Jan 2020
Thank you for taking the time to write such a detailed review. We’re very sorry to hear that several things throughout your stay did not meet your expectations. If room is available, we are happy to provide early check in with free of charges but we do not guarantee for every guest because our occupancies are very tight during high season. And also, we offered your room at 8:00 AM even our standard check in time is 2:00 PM. That’s why we haven’t enough time for deep clean the room. You saw some of our in-house guest leave their room key at reception is for sunrise and not check out early morning (Just sharing information to you). Again, we’re sorry to hear that you weren't satisfied with the uniform of our receptionist and they wore coat due to cold season. Please note that your concerns have been passed on to our management team and we will try our best services in future. We do hope that you give us another chance as we will definitely improve our services. We hope you will accept our sincerest apologies.
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
atran1979 wrote a review Feb 2020
Adelaide, Australia
2.0 of 5 bubbles
The hotel is tired and requires improvement. Upon check in the vibe and tone was set. The staff lobby staff were unfriendly and because we were traveling with our children (so a party of 2 adults and 2 children aged 8 and 11) they made no concession for extra bed - wanted to charge us AUD$55 per night! We checked online and we could have booked another room would have been AUD$64!! Needless to say we were not impressed! When we got to the room it was dark - curtains were thin so the room was never dark at night the outside light would shine through and to top it all off, the bedding were ripped and tattered. Definitely would not recommend.
Read more
Date of stay: February 2020Trip type: Travelled with family
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Ngu Wah Soe, Owner at Bagan Thande Hotel
Responded 21 Feb 2020
Thank your for your candid feedback. We're sorry to hear that you weren't satisfied with the competence of our front desk team. We hope you will accept our sincerest apologies.
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
JohntheTraveller wrote a review Jan 2020
Sydney, Australia
3.0 of 5 bubbles
Great to sit and have a drink and maybe even dinner at Bagan Thande restaurant. Watching the sunset over the Irrawaddy is second to none. However would not recommend staying at Bagan Thande. Rooms are outdated, they price gouge you at every opportunity - much more so than anywhere I stayed in Myanmar and service is only ok - in some instances the attitude was very indifferent - which again I did not experience in other hotels I stayed at.
Read more
Date of stay: January 2020Trip type: Travelled with family
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from GrandTour765834, Sales Executive at Bagan Thande Hotel
Responded 23 Jan 2020
Thank you for your review. We're very sorry to hear that your stay did not meet expectations. Any further comments or suggestions you wish to share, do not hesitate to contact us anytime. Despite this, we hope to be able to welcome you back on a return visit to our hotel.
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Ting h wrote a review Jan 2020
4.0 of 5 bubbles
We went this hotel for its river view during sunsets and stayed there to have dinner. I definitely enjoyed the river view. The garden was nice and there were many places can take photos. But the dinner was quite disappointed especially they charge 20 USD per person for buffet dinner. They had few choices on the selections. Both chicken and pork were over cooked. If you want to enjoy the sunset only and this is the place I would recommend!
Read more
Date of stay: January 2020Trip type: Travelled with family
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from GrandTour765834, Sales Executive at Bagan Thande Hotel
Responded 26 Jan 2020
We're glad to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us and recommend on TripAdvisor. We have taken note of your comments about our meals. Any further comments or suggestions you wish to share, do not hesitate to contact us anytime. We hope to welcome you back to our hotel in the near future.
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Ana D wrote a review Feb 2020
Macau, China
4.0 of 5 bubbles
The hotel is very well located, the gardens are wonderful with a beautiful river view. The restaurant outside is also very nice (but chilly in winter, they should provide and indoor restaurant). The rooms are big, sufficiently comfortable for a 2 night stay. Could be improved (also the bathroom, too cold). The spa was disappointing, very, very cold (we complained and had a 50% discount, but what we really wanted was a relaxing experience - just add some heating system for winter). But globally it was a good experience and I would return.
Read more
Date of stay: January 2020
3.0 of 5 bubblesRooms
5.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
4.0 of 5 bubblesService
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from GrandTour765834, Sales Executive at Bagan Thande Hotel
Responded 13 Feb 2020
Thank you for taking the time to give us your feedback about your stay at our hotel. We're glad that you found our location convenient. We're disappointed to hear that our Spa service didn't meet your expectations. We well noted your kind suggestion. Thank you and look forward to seeing you soon.
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Lynn wrote a review Jan 2020
1.0 of 5 bubbles
I can't believe that the steak wasn't a whole piece of beef. Felt like a minced pie of whatever meat and this 'pie' tasted horrible. I gave up after a little bite and the waiters didn't care to ask why I left the whole steak untouched during our whole dinner. That was not what you expected to have after paying $30 given the consumption level in Myanmar. And to be honest the so called riverside view had nothing impressive. The least recommended stay in Bagan.
Read more
Date of stay: January 2020Trip type: Travelled with friends
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from GrandTour765834, Sales Executive at Bagan Thande Hotel
Responded 13 Feb 2020
Thank your for your candid feedback. We're sorry to hear that you weren't satisfied with the competence of our Dining. We apologize for this bad experience. We do hope you give us another chance as we will definitely improve our services.
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Julie Strait wrote a review Oct 2023
Abuja, Nigeria
3.0 of 5 bubbles
Perfect Location along the Ayeryawaddy River in Old Bagan. Three of us went up to Bagan from Mandalay and chose this hotel for it's location. Built in the 1970's it is spread out on the expansive grounds. Two of our rooms faced the river, the other faced the carport. This room is one you would not want to choose, loud neighbors and parking lot noise. The river view rooms were quiet. We had breakfast each morning there, and dinner a couple of times, the menu is mostly Burmese food, it would be helpful if they redid the menu. There is a pool and one can use after they finish cleaning at 9am, we used the pool, again it would be helpful if it were cleaned earlier for customers that want to swim early. The rooms need a renovation, starting with the beds, towels and linens. Bed was hard as you were lying right on the springs. Bath and shower were good. Safe did not work, I was given a key in which there was no place to insert and no directions what I was supposed to do with the key. No reception on the television. AC in room worked fine, no ceiling fan. Veranda was nice and spacious.
My friend went and had a massage, it was average, possibly due to it being a holiday weekend for the Burmese. Reception and check in was fine. Check out was fine, one friend was almost charged for a glass that broke, until she mentioned that floor had not been cleaned and there were glass shards on the floor. Overall customer service was good. Rooms were clean. This hotel is a family hotel, so if you do not like children running around playing and making noise choose somewhere different.
Read more
Date of stay: October 2023
3.0 of 5 bubblesValue
5.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
4.0 of 5 bubblesService
Trip type: Travelled with friends
Room Tip: Pool always loud and noisy in the late afternoon and evening. Rooms facing the carport are loud,...
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Zin P asked a question June 2020
Mawlamyine, Myanmar1 contribution
is it open now ?
Answer from GrandTour765834
Yangon (Rangoon), Myanmar1 contribution
Dear Sir or Madam, Greetings from Bagan Thande Hotel Group! We would like to inform you that our Bagan Thande Hotel, Old Bagan are now open start from 1st of August 2020.
Answer from GrandTour765834
Yangon (Rangoon), Myanmar1 contribution
Ms. Dawn Cunningham, Greetings from Bagan Thande Hotel Group! Firstly, we would like to thank you for choosing our Bagan Thande Hotel for your accommodation. We already replied your mail this morning. We found your booking via agoda as you mention in your mail. We could arrange airport pick up for you and charges will be US$ 10 per way for 1 or 2 pax and US$ 15 per way for 3 pax. Yes, it’s easy to find a taxi at the outside of Nyaung U airport. We took a note your early check in request in our system. For your information, early check in is depend on hotel room occupancy status and if room available we could arrange for it. Kindly let us know in advance if you would like to take airport arrangement from us. Looking forward to welcoming at our Bagan Thande Hotel at soon! Have a nice day! Best wishes, Patricia Kareng Sales Manager
Answer from AngieNewZealand
Sydney, Australia210 contributions110 helpful votes
Hi M, We were there as a family, but I would have no hesitation staying in this hotel on my own. The staff were wonderful and there are many other European tourists there when we stayed. I did sunset from the top of one of the many temples, and again there were many tourists there too. My son & his wife did a balloon rode at sunrise and said it was one of the best experience of their lives. The excursion was run by an Aussie guy. Eating in the hotel is great, as the restaurant looks over the Irrawaddy so has spectacular views. The pool was lovely too. although rather cold. Hire an electric bike from the hotel as they are very safe and well serviced. I loved Bagan and would definitely recommend this to any one wanting a unique and special experience. The Burmese are the friendliest, most gracious & kind people you could wish for. We did sail down the Irrawaddy from Bagan to Mandalay. Fantastic best trip and there were many single ladies doing the journey with us. I hope this helps. Angie
REFTT asked a question Feb 2017
Bangkok, Thailand3 contributions
Are the river view rooms wheelchair accessible (no stairs)?
Answer from AlchemyRider
Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia220 contributions130 helpful votes
The river view rooms on the lower level are accessible by stairs only. The same goes for the spa. There are a few river view rooms on the same level as the rest of the hotel that are wheelchair accessible. I would guess that those rooms are probably harder to get than the garden view / pool view rooms. The hotel front desk staff are very good. Email them with your question / request.
Answer from AngieNewZealand
Sydney, Australia210 contributions110 helpful votes
I believe you will need at least 3 nights at this hotel as there is so much to see in Bagan. We arrived in Bagan by minibus from Inle Lake so Im not sure if the hotel can arrange airport collection. My advise would be to ask the hotel to arrange a car to take you to Inle Lake. It is much cheaper to do this when you are there. We booked before we left home and paid considerably more using a provider we found online.Be aware that the journey will take around 10 hours. The scenery en route is well worth experiencing. Hope this helps you.
Julie Strait wrote a tip Oct 2023
Abuja, Nigeria15 contributions1 helpful vote
3.0 of 5 bubbles
"Pool always loud and noisy in the late afternoon and evening. Rooms facing the carport are loud, they are less money as well. "
Read full review
Tin A wrote a tip Dec 2022
Yangon (Rangoon), Myanmar12 contributions4 helpful votes
5.0 of 5 bubbles
"The best time to visit Bagan is in Winter."
Read full review
Roger B wrote a tip Nov 2022
Portland, Oregon151 contributions146 helpful votes
3.0 of 5 bubbles
"This place is on the river. Bring your bug repellant."
Read full review
barth42 wrote a tip Sept 2022
Yangon (Rangoon), Myanmar7 contributions1 helpful vote
5.0 of 5 bubbles
"Be aware of long power cuts during the day."
Read full review
Sarah H wrote a tip Mar 2022
5 contributions
5.0 of 5 bubbles
"River View Room"
Read full review
Not the right property for you?
There are more places to choose from in the Bagan area.
PRICE RANGE
AU$56 - AU$78 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
ALSO KNOWN AS
bagan thande hotel
LOCATION
MyanmarMandalay RegionBagan
NUMBER OF ROOMS
92
Prices are provided by our partners, and reflect total costs of the stay, including all taxes and fees known to our partners. Please see our partners for more details.
Is This Your Tripadvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing

BAGAN THANDE HOTEL (AU$56) - 2024 Prices & Reviews (Myanmar) - Photos of Hotel - Tripadvisor

Frequently Asked Questions about Bagan Thande Hotel
Which popular attractions are close to Bagan Thande Hotel?
Nearby attractions include Bagan Temples (1.4 km), Ananda Temple (1.5 km), and Sulamani Guphaya Temple (2.8 km).
What are some of the property amenities at Bagan Thande Hotel?
Some of the more popular amenities offered include free wifi, free breakfast, and a pool.
Which room amenities are available at Bagan Thande Hotel?
Top room amenities include a minibar, air conditioning, and a flat screen TV.
What food & drink options are available at Bagan Thande Hotel?
Guests can enjoy free breakfast, an on-site restaurant, and a lounge during their stay.
Is parking available at Bagan Thande Hotel?
Yes, free parking is available to guests.
What are some restaurants close to Bagan Thande Hotel?
Conveniently located restaurants include TS Bagan Restaurant, Khaing Shwe Wah, and Yar Pyi Vegetarian Restaurant.
Are there opportunities to exercise at Bagan Thande Hotel?
Yes, guests have access to a pool during their stay.
Does Bagan Thande Hotel have airport transportation?
Yes, Bagan Thande Hotel offers airport transportation for guests. We recommend calling ahead to confirm details.
Is Bagan Thande Hotel located near the city centre?
Yes, it is 1.0 km away from the centre of Bagan.
Are any cleaning services offered at Bagan Thande Hotel?
Yes, dry cleaning and laundry service are offered to guests.
Does Bagan Thande Hotel offer any business services?
Yes, guests have access to meeting rooms and a banquet room during their stay.
All Bagan HotelsBagan Hotel DealsLast Minute Hotels in BaganHotels near Bagan Thande Hotel
Things to DoRestaurantsFlightsHoliday RentalsTravel StoriesCruisesRental Cars