We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

Ngorongoro Rhino Lodge

Show Prices
Enter dates for lowest prices
powered by PriceFinder
Prices from our online travel partners are not available
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Ngorongoro Conservation Area
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Management photos
Ngorongoro Rhino Lodge
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"moduleList":["handlers"]},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

614 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 407: English reviews
Start your review of Ngorongoro Rhino Lodge
 Click to rate
Sydney
Reviewed 5 days ago NEW

This was a budget lodge that was well located to Ngorongoro crater. The rooms were average and basic with a few issues with the shower setup, but hey it could have been worse. Service was good and a nice welcome. Dinner and breakfast were reasonable and in a nice high ceiling lodge with verandah. I wouldn't return for a holiday,...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Jesterinoz
Rhino L, Manager at Ngorongoro Rhino Lodge, responded to this review

Many thanks for taking the time to place your review for Rhino Lodge. Indeed, for most guests it is a one night only stop and we're glad you appreciated the welcome and good service. We are in the process of replacing many of the showers and various other items in the bathrooms. During the high season this is not possible...

Aarhus, Denmark
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Very old, poor service and the food was not anything good. We barely had something to eat, as the food was not very inviting. Also, the lunch boxes were the worst we had on our 6 days safari adventure. The rooms had a good view, but you can get that lots of places. We would not stay here again.

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank DKanonym
Rhino L, Manager at Ngorongoro Rhino Lodge, responded to this review

We are so sorry to learn of your disappointment at your stay with us at Rhino Lodge. Our staff are normally known for their friendliness and eagerness to help in any way so thank you for alerting us to the fact the service was not good the night you were here & for the issues concerning the quality of the...

Boulder, Colorado
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Staying here for two nights during our Ngorongoro Crater visit was a fantastic choice. This was my favorite lodge of the 14 day safari. Why was it my favorite you ask? The staff was friendly and welcoming. The setting of the lodge is near the road to go down into the crater. However, it is set back away from the...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank sheflew
Rhino L, Manager at Ngorongoro Rhino Lodge, responded to this review

Many thanks for your wonderfully descriptive stay at Rhino Lodge. It is so good to learn that guests appreciate not only the wonderful scenery but also the wildlife that is an essential part of the experience also. You were fortunate indeed. Our staff always do their very best to make guests feel welcome and at home and nothing is too...

Norrbotten
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Stayed here with my boyfriend one night during a seven days safari. The location is good, just 20 minutes drive to the crater entrance. The view is also nice and the lodge felt safe and secure. No malaria mosqitos here or tsetse flies due to the high altitude. Due to the altitude the temperature is lower here, but in February...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Pluttan
Rhino L, Manager at Ngorongoro Rhino Lodge, responded to this review

Thank you for such an enthusiastic response to your stay with us at Rhino Lodge. We do aim to create a cosy and comfortable atmosphere, both in the rooms and in the main lounge/dining area and the woodburners are much appreciated by many guests. Our waiters and chefs do their best to make our guests feel at home. We do...

Elizabeth, New Jersey
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

This lodge had everything you would need. Dinner was a big and excellent buffet. Many of the workers are Masai and you can have very interesting and educational conversations if you start talking with them. Seeing African Buffalo out the back of the room was a hoot. The proprietor is quite attentive. We were very satisfied.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank linda e
Rhino L, Manager at Ngorongoro Rhino Lodge, responded to this review

Thank you Linda for your most kind review of our Lodge. I am particularly glad you got to see our resident herd of buffalo - it can be a surreal experience for those whose first visit it may be! I will pass your kind comments on to the staff as they do appreciate it when guests show an interest in...

Reviewed 4 weeks ago

After reading some reviews I wasn't expecting much but this is a lovely lodge with animals just beyond your deck off your room. the room is very nice with comfortable beds and a nice hot shower. There is even a small wood stove to heat the room if you are cold. The lounge area is lovely with a great outside...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank jtwhittier
Rhino L, Manager at Ngorongoro Rhino Lodge, responded to this review

Thank you for such a complimentary review and I am pleased you were so pleasantly surprised! Our aim is to make people feel comfortable and "at home" whilst experiencing a taste of the real Africa which I think you did with the animals passing by your deck. I will pass your kind comments on to the staff also. Best wishes...

Hong Kong, null, Hong Kong
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

They rocked the vegan and GF foods for us. Super attentive and deilcious. The service was great. Walls are a bit thin but overall the place is gorgeous and totally relaxing. The restaurant had a nice lodge feel.

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank dylanyo
Rhino L, Manager at Ngorongoro Rhino Lodge, responded to this review

Thanks Dylanyo from all the Team at Rhino Lodge for your most complimentary review. We do our very best to keep the standard of service high and to maintain a homely Lodge atmosphere and it sounds as though you appreciated both enthusiastically. From time to time we do get comments about the thinness of the walls but they are actually...

Saratoga, California
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

We stayed here only one night with our safari tour group. The food was excellent. The staff were very friendly and accomodating. The bathroom was rather small but well functioned although the water pressure to the shower was somewhat weak. The evening visit from Cape Buffalo right outside our window was memorable. This area get s chilly after sundown.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank galavantingsusan
Rhino L, Manager at Ngorongoro Rhino Lodge, responded to this review

Thank you Susan for your review of your stay with us at Rhino Lodge and for your comments about our staff which I will pass on. We are in the process of replacing a number of showers although the pressure is normally pretty strong so apologies for any inconvenience this may have caused you. Hopefully it was offset by the...

Vancouver, Canada
Reviewed 19 February 2017 via mobile

We went to this lodge after two luxury lodges and this a budget lodge so my comments might be slightly skewed. I would have normally given two stars to a facility like this. The lodge is old and it shows. The food is average, but like most places in Tanzania, I found the meat way over cooked. The wifi works...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Dhaliwal64
Rhino L, Manager at Ngorongoro Rhino Lodge, responded to this review

Thank you for your feedback from your stay with us at Rhino Lodge and yes, we are a budget lodge and I can appreciate that, following your stay in two luxury lodges, it was not really comparable. Thank you for letting us know about the problems experienced with the shower which have now been rectified and I am glad your...

Reviewed 17 February 2017 via mobile

This place is one of a kind. Mary welcomes you when you arrive full of dust and tired. Very friendly woman for a very friendly place. High up on the side of the crater this is the perfect place to spend the night before or after going down to the crater. The dinner and breakfast building is very pretty and...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Sebastien H
Rhino L, Manager at Ngorongoro Rhino Lodge, responded to this review

Thank you Sebastien for your veery positive comments about Rhino Lodge. We do try our best to make the Lodge as homely and friendly as possible as we are well aware that many people have travelled a long distance to reach us.We like the guests to be able to just relax and take in the wonderful views and exchange experiences...

409 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (357)
Viewed
Dining (40)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (76)
Viewed
View from Room (56)
Viewed
Room/Suite (71)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (1)
Viewed
Family/Play Areas (3)
Viewed
Bathroom (16)
Viewed
0:48
Videos (1)
Viewed
Other (93)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (52)
Viewed
View from Room (7)
Viewed
Room/Suite (6)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (5)
Viewed
Dining (3)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (1)
Viewed
Other (30)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Ngorongoro Conservation Area
2.0 km away
Ngorongoro Wildlife Lodge
Ngorongoro Wildlife Lodge
#2 of 2 in Ngorongoro Conservation Area
606 reviews
20.3 km away
Ngorongoro Sopa Lodge
Ngorongoro Sopa Lodge
#7 of 39 in Ngorongoro Conservation Area
1,471 reviews
3.7 km away
Neptune Ngorongoro Luxury Lodge
Neptune Ngorongoro Luxury Lodge
#1 of 39 in Ngorongoro Conservation Area
395 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
8.7 km away
Ngorongoro Serena Safari Lodge
Ngorongoro Serena Safari Lodge
#6 of 39 in Ngorongoro Conservation Area
1,082 reviews
16.1 km away
Gibb's Farm
Gibb's Farm
#1 of 47 in Karatu
606 reviews
8.6 km away
Lemala Ndutu Tented Camp
Lemala Ndutu Tented Camp
#26 of 39 in Ngorongoro Conservation Area
50 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Restaurant
  • Free Internet
  • Free Parking
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Breakfast included
Things to do
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Family Rooms
Internet
  • Free Internet
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Rhino Lodge is ideally located on the edge of the Ngorongoro crater rim. The Lodge was originally the home of Ngorongoro’s first conservator, and its developers have maintained the house’s original rustic, low-impact style and natural setting. Rhino Lodge offers a perfect base from which to explore the Ngorongoro crater and its surroundings. Game drives into the crater, and, for the more adventurous, walking safaris in the forest reserve and visits to nearby Maasai villages, can all be arranged from the lodge. And, on return after a long day, 24 comfortable en suite rooms with forest views, a cozy living space, friendly local staff and generous African-inspired meals offer guests a warm welcome home. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Ngorongoro Rhino Lodge

Address: Ngorongoro Conservation Area, Tanzania
Region: Tanzania > Arusha Region > Ngorongoro Conservation Area
Price Range: $345 - $892 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 24
Also Known As:
Ngorongoro Rhino Hotel Ngorongoro Conservation Area
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Ngorongoro Rhino Lodge staff and other travellers.
6 questions
Ask a question

See all questions (6)

Questions? Get answers from Ngorongoro Rhino Lodge staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Nothing to add”
 of 5 bubbles Jesterinoz, 24 Mar 2017 | Read review
“Choose something else”
 of 5 bubbles DKanonym, 15 Mar 2017 | Read review
“If you are a bird watcher, ask for a room facing the forest.”
 of 5 bubbles sheflew, 13 Mar 2017 | Read review
“Maybe a corner room would be quieter....”
 of 5 bubbles dylanyo, 25 Feb 2017 | Read review
“We had Room 22. Animals passing close by were nice to see so close.”
 of 5 bubbles Tiflis, 29 Jan 2017 | Read review
5 of 5