We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

Santos Express

Show Prices
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Professional photos
Santos Express
View Map
{"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null,"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"}}}
Add Photo Write a Review

341 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
There are newer reviews for Santos Express
See the most recent reviews
Showing 253: English reviews
Johannesburg, South Africa
Reviewed 20 August 2016

My friends & I always wanted to exoerience the train lodge. The rooms are very tiny, but then again we paid R175. Hahaha. The continental breakfast is cereal, toasted bread & tea. I would recommend for budget travelers 😀

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Dineo P
SantosTrain, Manager at Santos Express, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to review us. We look forward to seeing you soon!

Manchester, United Kingdom
Reviewed 20 August 2016

Two of us stayed in one of their standard rooms. The rooms were, as you would expect, a train cabin. They were big enough for the two of us with a nice view of the beach. We dined in the adjacent restaurant which was nice, home-cooked, food. The staff were very polite, in particular one their male receptionists (forgot his...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Lloyd T
SantosTrain, Manager at Santos Express, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to review us. We look forward to seeing you soon!

Western Cape, South Africa
Reviewed 18 August 2016

When I arrived at Santos Express I was a bitt worried.My friend booked us into Santos beach express because we could not find accommodation most places were fully booked or they charge ridiculous prices.I definitely recommend the royal suit.I could hear the waves crashing on the beach while I was laying in my bed and the waterfront just a stone...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank williamjohnp2016
SantosTrain, Manager at Santos Express, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to review us. We look forward to seeing you soon!

Reviewed 15 August 2016 via mobile

What a unique and awesome experience! My boyfriend and I stayed over one night in the honeymoon suite aka the caboose, and it was cozy and comfortable. The view is heavenly and the sound of the waves lapping on the shore is so cathartic. only one complaint, the compartments are not insulated so it was very cold inside - I...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank NICOLA S
SantosTrain, Manager at Santos Express, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to review us. We look forward to seeing you soon!

Reviewed 7 August 2016 via mobile

Most amazing stay, sleeping on the train brings back a lot of memory's, and the kids loved it. The royal suit is well worth the extra R300. Breakfast served in a authentic looking diner car. There is a full pub and restaurant on the premises

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Darren P
SantosTrain, Manager at Santos Express, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to review us. We look forward to seeing you soon!

Abu Dhabi, United Arab Emirates
Reviewed 4 August 2016

Staying any closer to the beach at Santos in Mosselbay would mean you are going to get wet, very wet! The Santos Express is no more than 30m from the beach and at night you can hear only the breaking waves, so if you are on a budget and need a place in Mosselbay to stay for a night or...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Trade M
SantosTrain, Manager at Santos Express, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to review us. We look forward to seeing you soon!

Sihnoukville
Reviewed 30 July 2016

Converted train into small but comfortable and cheap and clean accommodation with a difference. Great beach front and very good bar and restaurant. Not much to do in area but one night as a stopover is ideal.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank David G
SantosTrain, Manager at Santos Express, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to review us. We look forward to seeing you soon!

Johannesburg, South Africa
Reviewed 29 July 2016

We recently stayed here for two nights and loved it. I would gladly recommend staying here if this is your type of thing. One night would be enough if you are tall. Stunning view from room 33, coach 3. Kids will love the experience.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank pierre625
SantosTrain, Manager at Santos Express, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to review us. We look forward to seeing you soon!

Reviewed 21 July 2016 via mobile

I was really excited to stay here! A converted train sounds like a lovely and quirky place to stop off for a really individual experience. It was so disappointing. We had paid for 2 nights but could only hack the one and left! It's essentially an overnighter train that is parked and hasn't been converted at all.. it just stopped...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Amy R
SantosTrain, Manager at Santos Express, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to review us. We do regret that you were disappointed with your stay. We suggest that you try our more luxury Royal Suites on your next stay. They are spacious, comfortable and more private. We would have gladly upgraded you if you had voiced your discomfort. We look forward to seeing you again.

Cape Town Central, South Africa
Reviewed 20 July 2016

This was something unique, our kids loved it. The train is small but it is still very good value for money. Lots of character in the train, and main restaurant. It is right next to the beach and waking up in the train and looking over the ocean is a win.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank bvanderhoek
SantosTrain, Manager at Santos Express, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to review us. We look forward to seeing you soon!

151 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (142)
Viewed
View from Room (10)
Viewed
Room/Suite (27)
Viewed
Bathroom (3)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (17)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (10)
Viewed
Dining (6)
Viewed
1:43
Videos (2)
Viewed
Other (67)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (9)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Room/Suite (2)
Viewed
Business Centre/Function Rooms (1)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (1)
Viewed
Other (4)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Mossel Bay hotels
28.5 km away
Eight Bells Mountain Inn
Eight Bells Mountain Inn
#1 of 9 in Mossel Bay
297 reviews
3.1 km away
Oceans Hotel
Oceans Hotel
#4 of 9 in Mossel Bay
146 reviews
0.5 km away
Protea Hotel by Marriott Mossel Bay
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.8 km away
Point Village Hotel
Point Village Hotel
#2 of 9 in Mossel Bay
438 reviews
1.6 km away
Mossel Bay Backpackers
Mossel Bay Backpackers
#4 of 28 in Mossel Bay
141 reviews
0.6 km away
Mile Crunchers Backpackers
Mile Crunchers Backpackers
#5 of 28 in Mossel Bay
83 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Beachfront
  • Breakfast included
About the property
  • Beachfront
Things to do
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
Room types
  • Suites
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Public Wifi
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
  • Laundry Service
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Accommodation is in a train parked just 30m from the beach.We have an onsite restaurant and fully licensed bar. Function/Conference venue is available, perfect for a beach wedding. We can accommodate large groups comfortably. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Santos Express

Address: Munro Road | Santos Beach, Mossel Bay 6500, South Africa
Region: South Africa > Western Cape > Mossel Bay
Price Range: $27 - $42 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Santos Express 2.5*
Number of rooms: 28
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, HostelWorld and Travelocity so you can book your Santos Express reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Questions? Get answers from Santos Express staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“I prefer the privacy and would not stay in the dorm, just make sure you book right. There is royal suites for people that prefer more luxury”
 of 5 bubbles Wim_traveler, 24 Nov 2016 | Read review
“You can't escape the movement of other guests”
 of 5 bubbles RichardHNottingham, 20 Nov 2016 | Read review
“It's worth to wait and book the suites with sea view (B & D).”
 of 5 bubbles wanderwomantravels, 7 Nov 2016 | Read review
“The Royal Suites are by far the best. You have a private deck as well as a private gate entrance to the beach.”
 of 5 bubbles Spankfreax, 17 Oct 2016 | Read review
“all very similar, maybe opt nit to be by toilet of shower, so middle of the carriage?”
 of 5 bubbles Dobsokar, 25 Aug 2016 | Read review
5 of 5
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay