We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

Santos Express

Show Prices
Enter dates for lowest prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
We check 200+ sites to find the latest and lowest prices.
Professional photos
Santos Express
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"moduleList":["handlers"],"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

357 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 265: English reviews
Start your review of Santos Express
 Click to rate
Noordhoek, South Africa
Reviewed 1 week ago

Right on the edge of the beach with good views, sat outside in the sunshine. Cabonara, chilli poppers and a few drinks for R268 along with excellent service.Went back a couple of times whilst in the area and not disappointed.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Mikebarn
Reviewed 1 week ago

We really enjoyed our stay here. We stayed in the Royal Suites which are very comfortable.... overlooking the beach with a private deck. Room was large and comfortable with an en-suite bathroom. Really quirky staying in a railway carriage but great fun! The restaurant was ok just a little disorganised. Staff were friendly and helpful.... overall good value and location,...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Robert S
Table View, South Africa
Reviewed 1 week ago

On the spur of the moment we decided on a trip to Mosselbay for 3 days and decided on the Santos Espress. Unfortunately all the bigger cabins / rooms where booked out but for a very reasonable rate of 350 for 2 people per night with the plain breakfast included we thought we can do this. Wow very small but...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Mariaan B
Richmond, Canada
Reviewed 1 week ago

Cannot believe how small the rooms were but it was great fun and of course it is actually a real train and th view from the windows was right on the beach. The restaurant we found to be great and had all the South African foods that we wanted to try, the service was great and we enjoyed every meal...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank larsonvacation
Cape Town Central, South Africa
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

While the Santos Express caters for everyone from backpackers to people sharing a bathroom, I booked a night in one of the Royal Suites. Two compartments per coach - very roomy with a large bed and bathroom en-suite. The coach is a genuine old classic with lots of wood and fittings I remember from travels in the fifties. You have...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Bryan G
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

This is a very nice place to stay for one night. Rest eat breakfast and go to your next destination. Very central, nice places around to visit and eat some dinner. Only downside, if you are tall you are going to struggle to sleep with your legs straight. :) Awesome view of the beach.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank suzanne842014
Mossel Bay, South Africa
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

Please buy some new mattrattes so that it wouldn't feel like sleeping on a rock!!! Remove the Royal Boards that says Royal suites! It's pathetic!! Please get a room service in action!! Even if you need to dial from your personal phone to order.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank stone_rehanna
SantosTrain, Manager at Santos Express, responded to this review

Dear Rehanna Stone, Thank you for taking the time to review us, seeing as you spent less than 2 hours on our premises. We do not advertise room service, nor do we plan on offering room service. We do not advertise ourselves as a five star establishment that offers all the bells and whistles associated with chain hotels. It's a...

Somerset West, South Africa
Reviewed 18 February 2017

On our way to Tsitsikamma, we stayed one night (2nd time for me). Beautiful location, very nice beach, and fun sleeping on the train. Pricing is very good, the rooms are clean, and the Honeymoon Caboose as well Royal Suite are excellent. Only very negative point was the restaurant... we did not even finish our seafood, not fresh at all...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Polurso
SantosTrain, Manager at Santos Express, responded to this review

Dear Polurso, Thank you for taking the time to review us. We do regret that your experience in the restaurant was less than satisfying. Thank you for bringing this to our attention. The necessary internal investigations are in process, so that we can avoid this type of disappointment in future.

Reviewed 30 January 2017

Awesome accommodation in real old train compartments. Sea view included. Continental breakfast included. Bar and restaurant on premises as well. Very cold in winter but still lovely experience especially when woken by passing train.

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Dean S
SantosTrain, Manager at Santos Express, responded to this review

Dear Dean S, Thank you for taking the time to review us. So glad that you enjoyed your stay, despite the cold! You should come back in summer, the weather is absolutely amazing!

Reviewed 24 January 2017 via mobile

We booked this hotel as it's something totally different and unique. As the price is low it naturally raised some doubts with some of our group members but Santos proved that there was no need for those. Rooms are clean and shower/toilet work without issues. + really nice breakfast. I really enjoyed our stay even the room temperature can get...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Ulla S
SantosTrain, Manager at Santos Express, responded to this review

Dear Ulla S, Five stars for that review! Thank you so much! We work really hard so that our customers have the exact experience you did. We are super happy that you enjoyed your stay and we look forwar5d to having you here again soon.

155 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (146)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (11)
Viewed
View from Room (11)
Viewed
Room/Suite (27)
Viewed
Bathroom (3)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (17)
Viewed
Dining (6)
Viewed
1:43
Videos (2)
Viewed
Other (69)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (9)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Room/Suite (2)
Viewed
Business Centre/Function Rooms (1)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (1)
Viewed
Other (4)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Mossel Bay hotels
0.5 km away
Protea Hotel by Marriott Mossel Bay
1.8 km away
Point Village Hotel
Point Village Hotel
#2 of 9 in Mossel Bay
458 reviews
2.0 km away
Hotel Portao Diaz
Hotel Portao Diaz
#5 of 9 in Mossel Bay
104 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.1 km away
Oceans Hotel
Oceans Hotel
#4 of 9 in Mossel Bay
163 reviews
28.6 km away
Eight Bells Mountain Inn
Eight Bells Mountain Inn
#1 of 9 in Mossel Bay
313 reviews
10.1 km away
Little Brak Beach House
Little Brak Beach House
#11 of 30 in Mossel Bay
49 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Beachfront
  • Breakfast included
About the property
  • Beachfront
Things to do
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
Room types
  • Suites
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Public Wifi
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
  • Laundry Service
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Accommodation is in a train parked just 30m from the beach.We have an onsite restaurant and fully licensed bar. Function/Conference venue is available, perfect for a beach wedding. We can accommodate large groups comfortably. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Santos Express

Address: Munro Road | Santos Beach, Mossel Bay 6500, South Africa
Region: South Africa > Western Cape > Mossel Bay
Price Range: $27 - $48 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Santos Express 2.5*
Number of rooms: 28
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Travelocity, Hotels.com and HostelWorld so you can book your Santos Express reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Questions? Get answers from Santos Express staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Stay in the Royal Suites if you can.”
 of 5 bubbles , 23 Mar 2017 | Read review
“The bigger units have their own bathrooms and outside stoep”
 of 5 bubbles 357mariaanb, 20 Mar 2017 | Read review
“This is a train, just enjoy it and have fun”
 of 5 bubbles larsonvacation, 19 Mar 2017 | Read review
“Spend the extra on a Royal Suite. It's a special experience.”
 of 5 bubbles BryanG311, 14 Mar 2017 | Read review
“Stay away from Royal suites! Not up to standard!!!”
 of 5 bubbles stone_rehanna, 25 Feb 2017 | Read review
5 of 5