We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

Eight Bells Mountain Inn

Travellers' Choice award winner
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for lowest prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
We check 200+ sites to find the latest and lowest prices.
Professional photos
Eight Bells Mountain Inn
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_baseline_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_baseline_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_baseline_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_baseline_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"moduleList":["handlers"]},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

304 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 291: English reviews
West Midlands, United Kingdom
Reviewed 1 week ago

Stayed here for 2 nights as part of our visit to South Africa. Loved the huge grounds and the many activities on offer. I even played bowls on the well looked after bowling green for the first time in my life! The setting for this hotel was beautiful and was within easy reach of Mossel Bay which we visited on...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank lesley999Walsall
ReneBongers, General Manager at Eight Bells Mountain Inn, responded to this review

We appreciate the fact that you decided to stay with us on your South African visit and that you took the time to review us. Thank you for the kind words and expressing your honest opinion. Your review perfectly describes our offering and we are pleased that you found everything to your liking. Our water does come from a spring...

IlkleyWYorksEngland
Reviewed 1 week ago

We returned to stay at this lovely hotel after four years and found it as wonderful as ever. We stayed in cabin 4 with views to die for! The cabins are wonderfully equipped and furnished and have large comfortable beds. The pool area is excellent....sparklingly clean pool, plenty of sun beds and we spent a lovely afternoon enjoying the sunshine,...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank MairinaandTonyWilson
ReneBongers, General Manager at Eight Bells Mountain Inn, responded to this review

Thank you for again staying with us and for your positive review. We pride ourselves on being a traditional Country Inn and it is encouraging to hear that everything was to the guests satisfaction and that they appreciated our offering. We will endevour to continue on this basis and trust that your next visit will be soon and as pleasant...

manchester
Reviewed 1 week ago

Stayed here for one night after leaving Cape Town. Had asked to stay near Mossel Bay, which this isn't. Beautiful location up in the hills. If you love horses, then you won't be disappointed. Rooms are very clean and comfortable. Pool area wasn't up to standard. The pool looked very uninviting. The water was green! The restaurant was like going...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank bj_webster
ReneBongers, General Manager at Eight Bells Mountain Inn, responded to this review

Thank you for staying with us and for your review. We are situated 35 km from Mossel Bay at the foot of the Robinson Pass. As there was stormy weather the night before your arrival the pool may well had a green tinge to it as it does sometimes happen and we apologise for that. I am however somewhat surprised...

Durban
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Stopped for tea and cake. Very disappointed that the choice of cake advertised was not available; we were only notified some time after we had placed our order. The gardens are spacious and the venue seems to be a working farm.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank kuzak
ReneBongers, General Manager at Eight Bells Mountain Inn, responded to this review

Thank you for stopping for tea and cake at Eight Bells. I understand your disappointment that your choice of cake was not available after it was ordered and apologise for this oversight. I have now left strict instructions with all our waiters to ensure that they are always aware of what is available and to remove the items not available...

Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Based on earlier reviews here on Tripadvisor we decided not to stay in Mossel Bay, but to tavel some more miles north to Eight Bells Mountain Inn, And how happy we are for this decision -- a wonderful place in a great mountain landscape. Very nice rooms, excellent food, a safe dirt road for running, tennis court, pool, hiking tacks......

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Anders N
ReneBongers, General Manager at Eight Bells Mountain Inn, responded to this review

We thank you for deciding to rather come to us in the mountains than staying in town and are pleased to hear that you were happy with our offering. We always try our best and appreciate this type of feedback. Thank you once again.

Swellendam, South Africa
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

We have just returned from another wonderful stay at Eight Bells. This time we took our Sydney family along. Our two granddaughters, who love horse riding, had a ball. They went out every day with their mother on a supervised out ride on suitable horses on the farm with its beautiful views & enjoyed every minute. They also enjoyed swimming...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank seajay44
ReneBongers, General Manager at Eight Bells Mountain Inn, responded to this review

It is very gratifying to hear that you and your extended family enjoyed your recent stay with us. Thank you for reviewing us and for the kind words. I will certainly pass on your comments regarding the service and the good food to the staff concerned. Thank you once again for staying with us and we look forward to your...

Stockholm
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

We went away from N2 in Mosselbay and Then we found a gem! Eight Bells is a first class stay with several different rooms Nice people,wonderful garden,with lots of flowers and birds and a big pool The food is excellent we recommend this guesthouse for a long stay!

 Report
Helpful?
Thank britab2015
ReneBongers, General Manager at Eight Bells Mountain Inn, responded to this review

Thank you so much for your kind and positive review, it is much appreciated. We look forward to welcoming you back soon.

Cape Town
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

Spent 7 days at Eight Bells in January 2017 and will be back in January 2018! It has become our top local holiday destination as it offers absolute relaxation in the most beautiful surroundings! Staff are friendly, efficient and extremely welcoming. Stunning mountain walks and easy access to varied attractions in Outshoorn and Mossel bay. Looking forward to our next...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank robeloff
ReneBongers, General Manager at Eight Bells Mountain Inn, responded to this review

We love and appreciate your confidence in our offering and am very pleased to hear that you enjoyed your extended stay with us. Thank you so much for your review and the kind words. We are also looking forward to your next visit in 2018.

Palma de Mallorca, Spain
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

My Family and I spent a full week at the Eight Bells and hence there could be a tremendous amount to say but just thinking about some of it upsets me so I shall try to be factual. Our room was more than satisfactory and in fact comfortable but I was amazed by the fact that despite a drought in...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank James G
ReneBongers, General Manager at Eight Bells Mountain Inn, responded to this review

It is certainly disturbing to receive a review of this nature and it does make for good reading. I recall the client speaking to me on departure and after listening accepted the fact that he was not entirely happy with his stay. I offered my apologies and promised to look into the issues he raised, which I have done and...

Reviewed 15 January 2017 via mobile

We booked for one night on the way to a family event in Knysna. We were made to feel so very welcome! We stayed in one of the log chalets which had gorgeous views. Our young child was made to feel welcome at the restaurant and we had a lovely meal in the evening. There is a lovely aura to...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank HonestTraveller7744
ReneBongers, General Manager at Eight Bells Mountain Inn, responded to this review

We are glad that we were able to assist with a room during this very busy period and appreciate your comments. Thank you for staying with us and hopefully next time it will be for an extended period.

93 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (81)
Viewed
View from Room (13)
Viewed
Room/Suite (6)
Viewed
Dining (8)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (16)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (2)
Viewed
Family/Play Areas (2)
Viewed
Other (34)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (12)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (5)
Viewed
Family/Play Areas (1)
Viewed
Room/Suite (2)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (1)
Viewed
Other (3)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Mossel Bay hotels
28.8 km away
Protea Hotel by Marriott Mossel Bay
26.3 km away
Oceans Hotel
Oceans Hotel
#4 of 9 in Mossel Bay
152 reviews
29.6 km away
Point Village Hotel
Point Village Hotel
#2 of 9 in Mossel Bay
443 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
29.8 km away
The Point Hotel
The Point Hotel
#8 of 9 in Mossel Bay
226 reviews
28.9 km away
The Edward Charles Manor
The Edward Charles Manor
#9 of 9 in Mossel Bay
45 reviews
29.8 km away
Linkside2 Guest house
Linkside2 Guest house
#1 of 52 in Mossel Bay
604 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Pool
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Room Service
  • Breakfast included
About the property
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
  • Wheelchair Access
Things to do
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Tennis Court
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Family Rooms
  • Accessible rooms
  • Suites
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Public Wifi
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly)
  • Free Parking
  • Laundry Service
  • Room Service
  • Breakfast included
  • Conference Facilities
  • Babysitting
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Situated in South Africa’s picturesque Garden Route, Eight Bells Mountain Inn nestles in the Ruiterbos Valley Region at the foot of the Robinson Pass on the R328 between Mossel Bay (35km) and Oudtshoorn (50km). Renowned for its friendly hospitality, superb service and range of recreational facilities amidst magnificent mountain scenery.Facilities include swimming pool, tennis courts, squash, bowls, billiards, children’s play park and playroom, horse riding, walking trails, birding, on the 400-acre estate.Free wifi in all public areas and rooms. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Eight Bells Mountain Inn

Address: Robinson Pass on R328, Mossel Bay 6500, South Africa
Region: South Africa > Western Cape > Mossel Bay
Price Range: $125 - $151 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Eight Bells Mountain Inn 4*
Number of rooms: 25
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Agoda and Hotels.com so you can book your Eight Bells Mountain Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Eight Bells Mountain Inn staff and other travellers.
1 question
Ask a question

See all questions (1)

Questions? Get answers from Eight Bells Mountain Inn staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“The cabins have the best views of the mountains”
  • View from our room
 of 5 bubbles MairinaandTonyWilson, 12 Feb 2017 | Read review
“log cabins are private and have fabulous views”
 of 5 bubbles robeloff, 17 Jan 2017 | Read review
“Ask for one of the Swiss Cottages”
 of 5 bubbles 191JamesG191, 17 Jan 2017 | Read review
“Swiss Village rooms 3, 4 or 5.”
 of 5 bubbles 951brynd, 14 Jan 2017 | Read review
“Front rooms face the car park - rooms at rear of lodge have the best view.”
 of 5 bubbles P6201NQchrisg, 15 Dec 2016 | Read review
5 of 5