We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Eight Bells Mountain Inn

{"containerAttributes":null,"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null,"widget":{"moduleList":["handlers"],"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget"}}
About
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Value
Travellers' Choice 2018 Winner
Certificate of Excellence
Situated in South Africa’s picturesque Garden Route, Eight Bells Mountain Inn nestles in the Ruiterbos Valley Region at the foot of the Robinson Pass on the R328 between Mossel Bay (35km) and Oudtshoorn (50km). Renowned for its friendly hospitality, superb service and range of recreational facilities amidst magnificent mountain scenery.Facilities include swimming pool, tennis courts, squash, bowls, billiards, children’s play park and playroom, horse riding, walking trails, birding, on the 400-acre estate.Free wifi in all public areas and rooms.
Read more
Property amenities
Free High Speed Internet (WiFi)
Pool
Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly)
Free Parking
Wheelchair Access
Restaurant
Bar/Lounge
Public Wifi
Breakfast included
Dry Cleaning
Tennis Court
Laundry Service
Babysitting
Non-Smoking Hotel
Outdoor pool
Room Service
Conference Facilities
Show more
Room features
Non-Smoking Rooms
Family Rooms
Accessible rooms
Suites
Good to know
HOTEL STYLE
Mountain View
Great View
HOTEL CLASS
Location
Full view
Getting there
George Airport36 km
See all nearby hotels
Nearby restaurants
See all nearby restaurants
Nearby attractions
See all nearby attractions
Reviews (420)
Filter reviews
405 results
Traveller rating
225
141
29
9
1
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageEnglish
More languages
225
141
29
9
1
Show reviews that mention
All reviews horse riding underfloor heating donkey cart log cabin swiss village tennis courts billiard room bowling green lawn bowls table tennis squash court hiking trails beautiful surroundings swimming pool cango caves hot water family holiday
FilterEnglish
Updating list...
1 - 5 of 405 reviews
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

We again really enjoyed our stay at Eight Bells our only complaint was that hot water for our room adjacent to the pool took forever to arrive and despite having been warned it was just too long and in the morning never really was hot...More

Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Date of stay: November 2018
Thank Peter N
Response from Rene B, General Manager at Eight Bells Mountain InnResponded 1 week ago

Thank you for visiting us and for your review. We apologise that you had to wait a while for hot water but being an establishment with no Municipal services we had to become fully self-sufficient. We get all our water from a spring on the...More

Reviewed 3 weeks ago

We stayed in one of the Swiss chalets for a couple of nights over a weekend. The staff are really helpful and friendly and keep the grounds and premises spick and span. There are several walks of differing difficulty on the property and they are...More

Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Date of stay: November 2018
Thank FarAway03630049791
Response from ReneBongers, General Manager at Eight Bells Mountain InnResponded 3 weeks ago

Thank for staying with us for the weekend and for your review. We appreciate all feedback and are pleased to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us and had the chance to do some walks. We are about to embark on a new menu...More

Reviewed 3 weeks ago

A lovely tranquil setting to spend a few a days set away from the hustle and bustle of city life. Also a bit like home from home. Friendly service and good food. A relaxing environment where you naturally talk to strangers and passing tourists. And...More

Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Date of stay: November 2018
Thank oscard828
Response from ReneBongers, General Manager at Eight Bells Mountain InnResponded 3 weeks ago

We are so glad that you enjoyed your stay and appreciate the fact that you mention the tea times reminiscent of the past. As an English Country Inn we try and retain the good things of the past with added modern touches. Thank you staying...More

Reviewed 3 weeks ago

It was all perfect from the beginning to the end: the staff waited for us, although we arrived late around 9.30 pm, to serve dinner (the restaurant is very good by the way); the rooms are large and comfortable; the place is quiet and absolutely...More

Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Date of stay: November 2018
Thank rymp6689
Response from ReneBongers, General Manager at Eight Bells Mountain InnResponded 3 weeks ago

Thank you for staying with us and for your kind review. We are pleased to hear that you enjoyed your stay and found the only regret not being able to stay longer. One can only experience the true Eight Bells hospitality if you stay for...More

Reviewed 4 weeks ago

What I liked: Beautiful setting up in the mountains (a beautiful pass) between Oudtshoorn and Mossel Bay. Views are gorgeous, and you an get your own little Swiss style cabin. Great place for people who are in their 90's. What Was A Challenge: Our bellman...More

Date of stay: November 2018
Thank WorldProwler
Response from ReneBongers, General Manager at Eight Bells Mountain InnResponded 3 weeks ago

Thank you for staying with us and for your review. We do realise that we cannot please all guests all the time, but feel offended by some of your comments. We do apologies if the service received from the porter was not what you expected...More

View more reviews
Questions & Answers
Ask a question
Sarah J
3 August 2017|
AnswerShow all 4 answers
Response from ReneBongers | Property representative |
Sorry, did not see this question and alert at the time. I am sure my staff was able to assist you with a list of the things to do at Eight Bells and our surrounding areas. I trust you enjoyed your stay.
0
Votes
carolienk287
20 December 2016|
Answer
Response from ReneBongers | Property representative |
Dear Carolien We do a Christmas Lunch with preference to our In-house guests but regrettably have been fully booked since the beginning of November 2016.
0
Votes
Room Tips
"Try the Swiss cabins, because they face the sun and the mountains, and one sleeps in a walled room at home!!!"
Tess272013
31 Jul. 2018
Read review
"Have stayed in all sections of the hotel. Our preference is rondavel 22."
atdalziel
13 Jul. 2018
Read review
"Only issue was the hot water ran out after a hot shower."
372dianem
5 Jul. 2018
Read review
"Accommodation excellent."
anrolivier
28 Jun. 2018
Read review
Show More 
PRICE RANGE
USD 103 - USD 139 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
LOCATION
South AfricaWestern CapeMossel Bay
NUMBER OF ROOMS
25
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more. Claim Your Listing