We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

Le Bambou Gorilla Lodge

Show Prices
Certificate of Excellence
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
1 room
Check In Check Out
Please enter your travel dates to continue
Check Availability
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Professional photos
Le Bambou Gorilla Lodge
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"moduleList":["handlers"],"template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel"},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

245 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 225: English reviews
Kansas City, Missouri
Level Contributor
60 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
Reviewed yesterday NEW

The service and food were fantastic, the room was extremely spacious and private and the grounds were beautiful. It was everything we could have wanted on the night before our gorilla trek. Added bonus - they packed us a snack to take on the trek and cleaned our shoes after we got back which was so incredible.

Helpful?
Thank cobolovestravel
1 review
Reviewed 4 days ago NEW via mobile

We had a fantastic experience at Le Bambou Gorilla Lodge. The hotel was clean and comfortable and the evening fires kept the room perfectly warm. The staff was very accommodating and ensured we were well taken care of throughout our stay, even going so far as to clean our shoes after the trek. Alex, our guide and driver, was super... More 

Helpful?
Thank Laura M
Emmanuel G, Public Relations Manager at Le Bambou Gorilla Lodge, responded to this review

Thanks laura for your positive review, we are pleased you enjoyed your stay with us, we look forward to host you again. More 

New York City, New York
Level Contributor
58 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 week ago

We were shifted here for one night when the nearby Mountain Garden View Lodge failed to honor our prepaid reservations, claiming that renovations were underway and they were overbooked. The staff at Le Bambou were very welcoming and understanding of our plight. The rooms are large with VERY loud fabrics and a mishmash of furniture. Our bathroom was very large... More 

Helpful?
Thank DougS51
Emmanuel G, Public Relations Manager at Le Bambou Gorilla Lodge, responded to this review

Thanks for your appreciation, we are very pleased to hear that your enjoyed your stay with us, we look forward host you again. More 

Michigan Center, Michigan
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

I spent two nights at Le Bambou Gorilla Lodge, and it was one of those visits that gets stuck in your head and would like to share with everyone. The lodge is well located and absolutely just right for people who want to visit the Gorillas in Volcanoes National Park. The buildings are built in form of small cottages with... More 

Helpful?
Thank jackdonnily
Emmanuel G, Public Relations Manager at Le Bambou Gorilla Lodge, responded to this review

Thanks for taking your time to review our property, we are glad to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us, we look forward to host you again once you think of visiting Rwanda once more More 

1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

We received an excellent service at Le Bambou Lodge, the food, and rooms are excellent. The personnel and the manager are friendly with interests to make the stay memorable! I will consider Le Bambou for my future visit. Thank you Jacky & Emmanuel. Best. Eugene S

Helpful?
Thank Eugene S
Emmanuel G, Public Relations Manager at Le Bambou Gorilla Lodge, responded to this review

Dear Eugene, We really appreciate your time to review our lodge, we are happy you enjoyed your stay with us More 

Lusaka Province, Zambia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

We've always wanted to see the Gorillas and researched all options and decided on Rwanda. It was the best decision we made..Came across Le Bambou Gorilla Lodge on the internet and it fitted in perfectly with our expectations. Beautifully set in lush gardens with amazing view of the volcanoes in the background and the rooms secluded in their own little... More 

Helpful?
Thank SKRKVR
Emmanuel G, Public Relations Manager at Le Bambou Gorilla Lodge, responded to this review

Dear Smriti and Kiran, Thanks for your encouraging review and we are happy to have you enjoyed your stay at our lodge. More 

Lausanne, Switzerland
Level Contributor
34 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

We were only in the area for one evening before the tracking of the gorillas the next morning in Volcanoes. I didn't want to spend a lot on luxury accommodation because it didn't seem that it would be worth it just for one night. I wanted something clean and comfortable. My tour operator suggested Le Bambou and it was perfect!... More 

Helpful?
Thank Tunali
Emmanuel G, Public Relations Manager at Le Bambou Gorilla Lodge, responded to this review

Thanks for your encouraging review we look forward to provide the same service to all guests who will stay with us More 

Level Contributor
53 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 October 2016

Le Bambou is a reasonable lodge for gorilla treks, it is well located, has good views of one of the mountains, rooms are spacious. The only cons are that room floors were a little dirty and could not walk bare foot, and food could also improve a little more. Everything else was wonderful.

Helpful?
Thank Christian O
Emmanuel G, Public Relations Manager at Le Bambou Gorilla Lodge, responded to this review

Thanks so much Christian for sharing your experience you had with us More 

Agoura Hills, United States
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 October 2016

The staff couldn't be nicer, however, the rooms were cold, damp and rugs were dirty. Our first room was so cold, we couldn't take off our jackets. The wood was damp so our room got smoky. The bathroom was huge, which was a disadvantage because the shower didn't have an enclosure. The floors were stone, which , added to the... More 

Helpful?
2 Thank Arlene B
Emmanuel G, Guest Relations Manager at Le Bambou Gorilla Lodge, responded to this review

Dear Arlene, We are sorry for you not enjoying your stay at our property, but as you saw we are located just at the foothill of the volcanoes thus the place is known to be cold but not too cold like in the West, temperatures ranges to minimum 10 degrees which i think for westerners not too that cold, we... More 

Watford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
139 reviews
43 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 110 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 October 2016

I stayed here 4 years ago and chose to stay again as it is a mid price range lodge near to the start of the gorilla treks. The accommodation has expanded in 4 years and the main area of the hotel is larger. There are detached little lodges set within the bamboo filled grounds which is a bit different from... More 

Helpful?
1 Thank happytime19
Emmanuel G, Public Relations Manager at Le Bambou Gorilla Lodge, responded to this review

Thanks for your appreciation , we look forward to host you again. More 

237 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (201)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (62)
Viewed
Room/Suite (58)
Viewed
Bathroom (5)
Viewed
View from Room (13)
Viewed
Dining (10)
Viewed
Family/Play Areas (2)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (1)
Viewed
Business Centre/Function Rooms (1)
Viewed
0:48
Videos (1)
Viewed
Other (48)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (36)
Viewed
View from Room (5)
Viewed
Business Centre/Function Rooms (2)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (16)
Viewed
Room/Suite (5)
Viewed
Dining (4)
Viewed
Family/Play Areas (1)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
Other (2)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Ruhengeri
4.5 km away
Five Volcanoes Boutique Hotel
0.5 km away
Mountain Gorilla View Lodge
2.2 km away
Villa Gorilla
Villa Gorilla
#4 of 14 in Ruhengeri
96 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.5 km away
The Peakspot - Kinigi
The Peakspot - Kinigi
#2 of 10 in Musanze
12 reviews
16.8 km away
Red Rocks Rwanda - Campsite & Guesthouse
11.4 km away
Home Inn
Home Inn
#4 of 12 in Ruhengeri
32 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Free Breakfast
About the property
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
  • Wheelchair Access
Things to do
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Hot Tub
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Suites
  • Family Rooms
  • Accessible rooms
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Public Wifi
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Free Breakfast
  • Laundry Service
  • Airport Transportation
  • Dry Cleaning
  • Concierge
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
LE BAMBOU GORILLA LODGE: Positioned at the foot of Mountains Volcanoes, very close to Volcanoes National Park , home of Mountains Gorillas. This beautiful lodge provides breathtaking views of Rwandan hills and the slopes of the Volcanoes National Park. Situated in Northern Province , Musanze district, KINIGI Sector - RWANDA. Le Bambou Gorilla Lodge is nestled in a forest of Bamboo trees. An awe-inspiring experience awaits you in this part of Africa. Share the Mountain Gorilla's family space, soak up the serenity found in nature and marvel at the abundance of primates in this magical spot. Regards Emmanuel GATERA Le Bambou Gorilla Lodge ... more   less 

Additional Information about Le Bambou Gorilla Lodge

Address: Ruhengeri-Kinigi | Volcanoes National Park - RWANDA, Ruhengeri, Rwanda (Formerly Le Bambou Gorilla Village)
Region: Rwanda > Northern Province > Ruhengeri
Price Range: $268 - $435 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 9
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Jovago.com and Booking.com so you can book your Le Bambou Gorilla Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Le Bambou Gorilla Hotel Ruhengeri
Le Bambou Gorilla Lodge Rwanda/Ruhengeri
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Le Bambou Gorilla Lodge staff and other travellers.
3 questions
Ask a question

See all questions (3)

Questions? Get answers from Le Bambou Gorilla Lodge staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Cottage number 12 has the best view of volcanoes mountains.”
 of 5 bubbles jackdonnily, 17 Nov 2016 | Read review
“Rooms closer to Lobby are better, could get very dark to the far end rooms of the hotel.”
 of 5 bubbles christiano143, 23 Oct 2016 | Read review
“Sub standard - States it is a deluxe lodge. It's not in any stretch of the imagination”
 of 5 bubbles 687arleneb, 12 Oct 2016 | Read review
“Garden Room with fireplace, excellent food, close to the park”
 of 5 bubbles umamira, 16 Aug 2016 | Read review
“Quiet, peaceful and a great place to relax.”
 of 5 bubbles USAguest, 15 Jun 2016 | Read review
5 of 5
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay