We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

Island Safari Lodge

Show Prices
Enter dates for lowest prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
We check 200+ sites to find the latest and lowest prices.
Professional photos
Island Safari Lodge
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

133 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 101: English reviews
Start your review of Island Safari Lodge
 Click to rate
Heilbron, South Africa
Reviewed 17 January 2017

We where camping there for 7 days during December.The staff are all so friendly. They even made an effort to clean the pool after a pump broke down a few days before our arrival. The food are very good and the bar provided ice cold drinks. The abblution blocks are very clean and braai's and dustbins are cleaned dailly even...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Ericka E
ISL_Maun, General Manager at Island Safari Lodge, responded to this review

Good Day, Thank you for your review, and for choosing to stay at Island Safari Lodge. We are happy that you had a pleasant experience whilst staying with us. Thank you for your support, and we trust that you had a safe journey onward from Island. Warm Regards

Polokwane, South Africa
Reviewed 11 January 2017

Well needless to say I was horrified when we arrived at the camp site; from the website photo's we were expecting to be in the bush; but to absolute horror we arrived to a view of a domestic farm with cattle, donkey's etc. The camp was so noisy, there were parties going on all around all night long, the livestock...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Cherie K
ISL_Maun, General Manager at Island Safari Lodge, responded to this review

Good Day, Thank you for your review. We are disappointed to hear that your experience at Island was not what you had expected. Our websites portray the experiences we create from Island in the vicinity as parks, reserves and the Okavango Delta is right on our doorstep through the activities, daytrips and safaris we run. Our website does mention though...

Johannesburg, South Africa
Reviewed 29 December 2016

I have to commend the staff on their helpfulness and knowledge with regards to the surrounding areas and advice on where we should visit. The biggest down side to this camp was the noise from the neighbours across the river, the music went on all night and kept us all awake... it really is a massive negative point to this...

Review collected in partnership with this hotel
 Report
Helpful?
Thank Z6313LCnatalies
ISL_Maun, General Manager at Island Safari Lodge, responded to this review

Good Day, Thank you for your review, and for choosing to stay at Island Safari Lodge. It was certainly a pleasure to host you and hope to see you on a return visit again. We are sorry to hear that the noise pollution had somewhat of a negative influence on your experience at Island. Unfortunately this is something that we...

Maun, Botswana
Reviewed 9 December 2016

I have been staying at Island Safari Lodge near Maun on a regular basis since 1978 and have always enjoyed its rustic charm set among large Sycamore fig and Jackal Berry trees and adjacent to the Thamalakane River. It is an ideal stepping stone into the Okavango Delta by either road or boat. The lodge was at an all time...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank bryningdcb
ISL_Maun, General Manager at Island Safari Lodge, responded to this review

Good Day, Thank you for your review, and especially for the support you have shown Island over the years, it really is very much appreciated. We are happy to hear that you have had a pleasant experience during your last visit. Thank you again for your support, we look forward to hosting you again. Warm Regards

Uberlingen, Germany
Reviewed 7 December 2016

Pleasant surprise when we arrived ant the Island Safari Lodge. We stayed for three nights on the campsite, our basis for a all day canoe tour and hike and a flight over the Okavango Delta - and some relaxed time at the pool site. Good dinners in the evening.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Wilfried Z
ISL_Maun, General Manager at Island Safari Lodge, responded to this review

Good Day, Thank you for staying at Island Safaris Lodge, we are really pleased to hear that you had an overall pleasant experience and that you enjoyed it here and that you had a relaxing experience. Thank you again for your support, it is very much appreciated. We hope to see you return to Island, it will be a pleasure...

Heerlen, The Netherlands
Reviewed 7 November 2016

We stayed 3 nights on the campsite of Island Safari Lodge. We had a lovely spot with good facilities. But there were also some so called Overlanders and they made a lot of noise when they left early in the morning (04.30 am). So may be separate them more from the other guests of the campsite.

Review collected in partnership with this hotel
 Report
Helpful?
Thank kees_irene
ISL_Maun, General Manager at Island Safari Lodge, responded to this review

Good Day, Thank you for your review and for staying at Island Safari Lodge. Your support is very much appreciated. We have taken note of your suggestion in regards to noisy campers, and completely understand as groups of guests in the campsite can at times be noisy. We will do our best to mention to large groups to be mindful...

Johannesburg
Reviewed 28 October 2016

We stayed here on day 2 of our Nomads Okavango odyssey tour. What a lovely place. Although only overnight, I would have loved to stay a day longer.. it was right on the water edge and the chalets were comfortable and well appointed.

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Vievoo1
ISL_Maun, General Manager at Island Safari Lodge, responded to this review

Good Day, Thank you for your review and for staying with us at Island. We are really pleased to hear that you have had a god time whilst staying with us, its been a pleasure to have you. We trust that your journey onwards from Island was a pleasant one too. Warm Regards

Melbourne, Australia
Reviewed 18 October 2016

We stayed at Island Safari lodge [ISL] as our pre safari accommodation. Because of this we have little idea of the attractions of Maun and whether ISL is a suitable venue for a longer term stay. On the basis however that our stay was for transit purposes, it was ideal. Whilst not luxurious [not something we cared about] the cabins...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank peter18152013
ISL_Maun, General Manager at Island Safari Lodge, responded to this review

Good Day, Thank you for your review and for choosing to stay at Island Safari Lodge. We are pleased to hear that you had a pleasant time whilst at Island. Your support is much appreciated. We look forward to hosting you again in the future. Warm Regards

Fredericia, Denmark
Reviewed 18 October 2016

For 2 days we stayed at this place, and we were alright satisfied... They have a nice big pool, okay wifi and a silent location, away from the main roads. The food in the restaurant though - wasn't anything special...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank ErikKraft
ISL_Maun, General Manager at Island Safari Lodge, responded to this review

Good Day, Thank you for taking the time to review, and thank you for choosing to stay at Island Safari Lodge. We are pleased to know that you had a pleasant stay whilst at Island, and we hope to host you again in the future. I have handed the feedback to our management and will look into options on improving...

Pretoria, South Africa
Reviewed 17 October 2016 via mobile

Island Safari Lodge is located +- 10km north of Maun towards Savuti's side Nice swimming pool Good bar with friendly staff Nice river view However, the effort of the staff at reception was neither great, nor were they friendly. We also had to deal with the music of some locals about 300m away on the otherside of the river ......

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Eduan K
ISL_Maun, General Manager at Island Safari Lodge, responded to this review

Good Day, Thank you for your review and for staying at Island Safari Lodge. We appreciate your support and hope to host you again in the future. I would like to apologise for the experience you had with our reception team, the ladies are generally very friendly and have had some very positive feedback. However, we will certainly look into...

80 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (48)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (12)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (5)
Viewed
View from Room (4)
Viewed
Bathroom (4)
Viewed
Room/Suite (6)
Viewed
Dining (4)
Viewed
Other (13)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (32)
Viewed
Dining (2)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (4)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (7)
Viewed
View from Room (1)
Viewed
Business Centre/Function Rooms (1)
Viewed
Other (17)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Maun hotels
11.1 km away
Cresta Riley's
Cresta Riley's
#1 of 2 in Maun
107 reviews
0.5 km away
Okavango River Lodge
Okavango River Lodge
#22 of 41 in Maun
120 reviews
12.3 km away
Maun Lodge
Maun Lodge
#11 of 41 in Maun
166 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
17.8 km away
Royal Tree Lodge
Royal Tree Lodge
#4 of 41 in Maun
72 reviews
12.3 km away
Kamanga Safari Hotel
Kamanga Safari Hotel
#25 of 41 in Maun
17 reviews
0.0 km away
Thamalakane River Lodge
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Pool
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
About the property
  • Wheelchair Access
Things to do
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
Room types
  • Suites
  • Family Rooms
In your room
  • Air Conditioning
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Free Parking
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Island Safari Lodge is set on a 300 acre private island reserve, and is just 10 km away from Maun Airport. It is situated on the banks of the Thamalakane River under a canopy of beautifully lush and green Okavango trees. The lodge overlooks a floodplain of fields and water that are frequented by an abundance of birdlife and the occasional Hippo. The lodge offers a tranquil bush setting that is complimented by the river view, a pool and the iconic tranquil call of the African Fish Eagle. The accommodation is comfortable and set in the lodge gardens. The lodge comprises of 12 Chalets all with en suite showers, WI FI, DSTV and air conditioning. The lodge has a main bar and restaurant area with seating indoors or out in the gardens. You are able to choose from a la carte menu for lunches and dinners accompanied by our wine list. It is an ideal place to relax alongside flowing waters, or beside one of the swimming pools, using the free WI-FI services and ordering refreshments from the restaurant. For those active bush loving visitors who are interested in adventure, there are many recreational excursions and opportunities available. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Island Safari Lodge

Address: Shorobe Road, Maun, Botswana
Region: Botswana > North-West District > Maun
Price Range: $114 - $123 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Island Safari Lodge 2*
Number of rooms: 12
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity and Hotels.com so you can book your Island Safari Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Island Safari Hotel Maun
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Island Safari Lodge staff and other travellers.
1 question
Ask a question
Questions? Get answers from Island Safari Lodge staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“No room tip. If it ain't broke - don't fix it. Nothing broke here - move along...... ”
 of 5 bubbles 867giorgiot, 11 Aug 2016 | Read review
“More electricity points. Clear camping spots. less trees, more sunshine.”
 of 5 bubbles jochemtadema, 31 Jul 2016 | Read review
“Mozzie gauzes on the windows would be great. ”
 of 5 bubbles 23christine, 29 Jun 2016 | Read review
“We did not use the rooms...just campsite”
 of 5 bubbles Travelvice2014, 29 Jun 2014 | Read review
“Chalet 102 has a perfect view over the river”
 of 5 bubbles StefaanV672, 2 Jun 2014 | Read review
5 of 5