We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Island Safari Lodge

About
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Value
Island Safari Lodge is set on a 300 acre private island reserve, just 10 km from Maun Airport. Located on the banks of the Thamalakane River under a canopy of beautifully lush and green Okavango trees, the lodge overlooks a floodplain of fields and water that are frequented by an abundance of birdlife and the occasional hippo. The accommodation is comfortable and set in the lodge gardens. The lodge comprises of 12 Heritage chalets, 6 Family rooms and 6 Heritage rooms, all with en suite showers, wi-fi, DSTV and air conditioning. The lodge has a main bar and restaurant area with seating indoors or out in the gardens. You are able to choose from a la carte menu for lunches and dinners accompanied by our wine list. Relax by one of the two swimming pools or head to the restaurant and bar for the river view. For the adventurous there are walking trails, boat cruises, day trips to nearby reserves or longer mobile safaris.
Read more
Property amenities
Pool
Free Internet
Free Parking
Wheelchair Access
Restaurant
Bar/Lounge
Airport Transportation
Public Wifi
Non-Smoking Hotel
Laundry Service
Concierge
Breakfast Available
Show more
Room features
Non-Smoking Rooms
Air Conditioning
Good to know
HOTEL STYLE
Mid-range
Great View
HOTEL CLASS
Location
Full view
Getting there
Maun Airport10 km
See all nearby hotels
Nearby restaurants
See all nearby restaurants
Nearby attractions
See all nearby attractions
Reviews & more
236Reviews
191Photos
2Q+A
34Room tips
Traveller rating
  • 46
  • 94
  • 59
  • 19
  • 18
Time of year
Traveller type
Language
  • More languages
  • Filter
  • English
Show reviews that mention
Island Safari Lodge is beautifully situated by the river, looks good at first sight, but is deceptive. Unfortunately, it has no obvious safety concept for its campsite.
Despite fencing, guarded by 3 security guards, another one at the entrance gate,
in November 2018 our car was
Read more
Response from ISL_Maun, General Manager at Island Safari Lodge
Responded 2 weeks ago
Dear Mr. Fehres, While we are sorry that this unfortunate incident occurred at our facility, we find your review to be unfairly abrasive in laying all the blame at our doorstep when we are also victims not only of your incident but also of the other infrequent incidences that occurred on our property. We know we are not a security service, and so have hired a globally reputable firm to provided this service for us at huge expense in excess of USD20,000.00 per annum. We have 3 guards on duty at night and one during the day. You mentioned our electric fence around the property, and we do and this fence has the power to deter Elephants from entering, this also installed at great expense to ourselves for the sole purpose of security to our patrons. Furthermore, our speedy support of your well being and comfort after the unfortunate incident by both owners and management of Island Safaris is something you have also taken cognizance of. Where we are unable to agree with you on is that you intimate our apparent unwillingness to fix this problem of petty crime in Maun. We are very much in the forefront of the push to eradicate this kind of behaviour in our community. We are not alone in a world where crime is a way of life for many. Our relationship with the Police and local communities is strong enough for us to be able to address these issues as and when they occur and at times in between. Consequently in the last year only 0.17 % of the customers that stay in our lodge and campsite have been affected by this kind of criminal activity. While we strive for a 0% we are not responsible for what makes other people tick. We have responded directly to you with much more detailed information about what we are doing regarding crime, as well as the lengths we went to to support you and Ursula in your time of need, and would appreciate credit where it is due. Regards
Read more
Excellent camping facility with lots of trees. Can use all the facilities of the lodge. We had the use of the pool and had breakfast at the lodge. Near to town if you need anything. Very helpful and friendly staff.
Read more
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Response from islandmobilesafari, General Manager at Island Safari Lodge
Responded 4 weeks ago
Good Day, Thank you for your review. We are happy to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us. Thank you for your support, we do appreciate it very much. Warm Regards
Read more
We spent 3 nights at on of the campsites. They are quiet, shady, spacious, literally next to the Thamalakane River (seperated by a fence as there are crocs in it we saw one the other day). Some have direct river view. Each campsite has electricity and as a camper you have access
Read more
Response from ISL_Maun, General Manager at Island Safari Lodge
Responded 4 weeks ago
Good Day, Thank you for taking the time to review, and for choosing to stay at Island Safari Lodge. We are pleased that you had a good time whilst with us. Thank you for your support. Warm Regards
Read more
Many could be said but the word is home. I was treated so well, carefully and full of love. The family (and the extended family) that run the lodge makes you part of the family. The trips organized, the food, the staff so sweet. The room was perfect, clean, quiet and comfortable.
Read more
Response from ISL_Maun, General Manager at Island Safari Lodge
Responded 4 weeks ago
Good Day, Thank you for your review, and for choosing to stay at Island Safari Lodge. It was great to have you here and happy that you enjoyed your time! Thank you for your support, it's very much appreciated. Warm Regards
Read more
Nice and quiet location on the river. Nice bar with terrace. There are also a few routes to go for a walk.Campsite is very simple, no private water connection, no fire pit and just a roasted barbecue.Trash cans are without covers so that the monkeys distribute all waste and garba
Read more
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Response from ISL_Maun, General Manager at Island Safari Lodge
Responded 4 Nov. 2018
Good Day, Thank you for taking the time to review, it is good to hear that you enjoyed your time at Island Safari Lodge. We are sorry to hear that you were disappointing regarding the day excursion, although on investigating this our team informed us that they in fact did offer to assist in placing you with another tour operator, but that you had opted to make the arrangements on your own. We have taken your comment regarding the organization of the campsite allocation seriously and have addressed this with our team to ensure we improve on our service delivery where this is concerned. We sincerely apologise for the inconvenience of this and that it had a negative impact on your stay with us. Warm Regards
Read more
Previous
Album Categories
All photosTravellerRoom & SuiteDining Pool & BeachBusiness Centre & Event Rooms
Cottage
Cottage
Previous
I would like to make a booking please but can't seem to get anywhere
Good Afternoon, and thank you for contacting us. Please kindly contact us on the below numbers. +267 6860300 or +267 6861063 Please advise if I can be of any further assistance. Warm Regards
0 votes
Hi - did they finally place mosquito nets in the chalets as they are talking often about? I'll be there again in April 2017 - in August 2014 there hadn't been any mosquito nets.... Kind regard Bele
Good Afternoon, Thank you for the message. The new mosquito nets is a part of our annual replacement and upgrade planned for the lodge in this season. I am confident that we will have mosquito nets replaced in the near future. Best Regards
0 votes
Show all answers
"Campsite no 3 for two nights and then one night at chalets 101 - 105, dinner/bed & breakfast. Everything was need and fresh."
"Any other place but please keep away from this place."
"Chalets are more upmarket, and more costly. Heritage rooms are adequate."
"Install fridge. Move fixed miror nearer to powerpoints."
"Rooms closer to the reception have better wifi"
Previous
PRICE RANGE
USD 19 - USD 120 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
ALSO KNOWN AS
island safari hotel maun
LOCATION
BotswanaNorth-West DistrictNgamiland EastMaun
NUMBER OF ROOMS
24
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more. Claim Your Listing