We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Sitatunga Campsite

Show Prices
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
Prices from our online travel partners are not available
We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Maun
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Management photos
Sitatunga Campsite
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"]},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

65 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
There are newer reviews for Sitatunga Campsite
See the most recent reviews
Showing 53: English reviews
Caroline Springs, Victoria, Australia
Reviewed 26 July 2016 via mobile

Sitatunga camp was amazing! We stayed for a week and loved every minute of it. The staff were so friendly and helpful. My son and I had such a great time and can't wait to go back. Everything was clean and fresh. The food was really yummy and the bar had a great atmosphere. We also went on a safari...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Kylie J
Gerald S, Owner at Sitatunga Campsite, responded to this review

Thank you Kylie. We really enjoyed having you over. hope fully we will see you soon.

Potchefstroom, South Africa
Reviewed 13 July 2016

We booked campsites but on arrival decided to upgrade to chalets. Very comfortable chalets with 2 beds, coffee station, own bathroom with open air shower. The restaurant serves the best ribs and pizza as well as breakfast. We booked a scenic flight over the Delta with them and Christiaan was very helpful in this regard. Free WiFi at the restaurant....

 Report
Helpful?
Thank ngmooi
Gerald S, Owner at Sitatunga Campsite, responded to this review

Thank you for your kind review. We enjoyed having you stay over. See you again soon. PS. i will tell Christiaan.

Randers
Reviewed 11 July 2016

Quite disappointing rooms in a delightful setting. Lovely bar area with reasonable wifi, and two nice pools. The chalets was very primitive and boring. Kettle for coffee but that was it. Bare walls and outdoor shower and toilet in a very dull setting. The rooms are to be frank, off putting and resemble a prison cell. No decoration and concrete...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank EnClair
Gerald S, Owner at Sitatunga Campsite, responded to this review

Thank you for you review. We are sorry that you found our rooms to be boring, also that we are on the wrong side of town.. We agree that this type of accommodation might not be for everyone but we do very well with our target market. Most people find the chalets to be quaint but adequate. Hope you visit...

Cologne, Germany
Reviewed 30 April 2016

We were in a camp site and liked very much the bar. Internet was for free and the staff member Kecki (not sure about the name) was very helpful and proactive. One point less for the ablution blocks, escpecially the one in the back of the camp sites.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Ni C
Gerald S, Owner at Sitatunga Campsite, responded to this review

Thank you for you review. we do like to hear the good comments along with the bad. We have rectified the problems with the ablution so you are guaranteed hot water and clean ablutions at all times.

Vanderbijlpark, South Africa
Reviewed 30 April 2016

The campsite was good, but electricity seems to only come on at 18:00 until morning. The second time we camped, on our way home, during my daughter's shower the water suddenly went off. Apparently they were working on a water problem and didn't bother to tell anyone not to shower during that time! Secondary showers (not the main complex) were...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Liz V
Gerald S, Owner at Sitatunga Campsite, responded to this review

Thank you very much for your review. We have the power connected to a Daylight sensor hence the power coming on at 18h00. we are currently sorting this issue out. terribly sorry about the shower. we look forward to seeing you again soon

Dublin, Ireland
Reviewed 3 April 2016

Spent a night here as part of a Nomad overland tour. We stayed in one of the chalets. This was the most basic hotel we stayed in for the whole 42 nights of the trip. The brick chalet had a canvas roof and an outdoor toilet. Surprisingly there was air conditioning. The chalets are small with two single beds. The...

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank champkis
Geraldton, Australia
Reviewed 29 March 2016

This camp and restaurant is just outside of Maun. The restaurant is in a beautiful spot with large trees and a really good play area for the children. Our kids had a fabulous time! The food was however quite average which is very unfortunate. Nice family outing though.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank ants_krause
Petaluma, California
Reviewed 2 March 2016 via mobile

This was another lodge chosen by Acacia Africa Tours as part of our Chobe Waterways tour. It was a rather poor choice, and we ended up spending three nights here. This is a glorified campground, with small, cinder block 'chalets' built in one area of the grounds. The chalets are small and dark, with canvas roofs and outside toilets and...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank pfefmeister
Gerald S, Owner at Sitatunga Campsite, responded to this review

Dear Sir. Thank you for your review. We are terribly sorry that you did not enjoy your stay here. At Sitatunga we pride ourselves in running a clean and efficient camp. We have been having trouble with our "wifi" lately but we have managed to procure a new system. with regards to the mouse droppings... we have searched every single...

Seattle, WA
Reviewed 5 January 2016

The owner’s on-site and active at this place and, as a result, you have excellent camping plus chalets – extraordinarily well-designed and well-built chalets – first class internet service, a beautiful cool pool & lounge area, a children’s play area, plus a spacious, cool bar. And shade. Everything is in good condition, staff are plentiful and well trained, and, even...

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank Nail56
Gerald S, Owner at Sitatunga Campsite, responded to this review

Dear Sir. Thank you for your kind review. We hope to see you when you come back to Africa :) from the team Sitatunga Camp

Willemstad, Curacao
Reviewed 27 December 2015

We stayed in the small chalets which was nice. Not very spacious, but good beds, outside shower and toilets which is cool. The floor was however a bit dusty but that did not really spoil our stay but it something that can be improved. Rooms had airconditioning. The bar area was nice but they closed too early before 10 Place...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank huub9999

32 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (20)
Viewed
Dining (3)
Viewed
Bathroom (3)
Viewed
Room/Suite (2)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (2)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (5)
Viewed
Family/Play Areas (1)
Viewed
Other (4)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (12)
Viewed
Family/Play Areas (1)
Viewed
Room/Suite (2)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (1)
Viewed
Other (8)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Maun
212.7 km away
Cresta Riley's
Cresta Riley's
#1 of 3 in Maun
102 reviews
0.0 km away
Grassland Bushman Lodge
Grassland Bushman Lodge
#3 of 11 in Ghanzi
26 reviews
223.6 km away
Okavango River Lodge
Okavango River Lodge
#21 of 40 in Maun
118 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
223.6 km away
Island Safari Lodge
Island Safari Lodge
#11 of 40 in Maun
130 reviews
0.0 km away
Rivernest Boutique Cottages
0.0 km away
Kaziikini Campsite
Kaziikini Campsite
#27 of 40 in Maun
3 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Near Sitatunga Campsite

Top-rated Attractions Nearby
Top-rated Restaurants Nearby

Amenities

Highlights
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
Things to do
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Sitatunga Campsite is located 7klms out side of Maun on the road to Ghanzi. We offer camping, 12 simple clean and affordable cabin rooms as well as 12 air conditioned and en-suite chalets. It has been said that we have the coldest beer and the bluest pools in Maun. Sitatunga Camp has a great setting and you can relax in our bar and restaurant. The campsite offers large well shaded areas with powered sites and bbq / braai facilities. There are two ablution blocks. The campsite has security guards employed on a full time basis. Predominantly our business is with overlanders so come and enjoy some beers and tell some stories.also offered are mokoro safaris and day trips in to the Okavango, Mobile Safaris and day trips to National Parks, Scenic Flights either Helicopter or Fixed wing aircraft and Horse riding ... more   less 

Additional Information about Sitatunga Campsite

Address: A3 Road to Ghanzi, Maun, Botswana
Region: Botswana > North-West District > Maun
Price Range: $4 - $87 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Sitatunga Campsite staff and other travellers.
1 question
Ask a question

See all questions (1)

Questions? Get answers from Sitatunga Campsite staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“schöne Bar”
 of 5 bubbles HaseT_13, 30 Apr 2016 | Read review
“I'd upgrade to the chalets if you are tired of tenting. They are very well done and have A/C and showers and W/C.”
 of 5 bubbles Nail56, 5 Jan 2016 | Read review
“Find a ensuite room and double check facilities such as aircon/fans etc.”
 of 5 bubbles Xeebot1, 10 Nov 2014 | Read review
“I liked my chalet on the edge of the bush.”
 of 5 bubbles NibbanAh, 7 Apr 2014 | Read review
“Cabins are nice:)”
 of 5 bubbles Bellyfuss, 8 Jul 2013 | Read review
5 of 5