We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Jao Camp

Moremi Game Reserve Border, Moremi Game Reserve, Botswana
Lowest prices for your stay
24/12/2017 25/12/2017
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Moremi Game ReserveSee available hotels in Moremi Game Reserve
Traveller (138)
Room & Suite (26)
Dining (6)
  • Excellent82%
  • Very good13%
  • Average1%
  • Poor3%
  • Terrible1%
Travellers talk about
Airport Transportation
Fitness centre
Paid Wifi
Free Parking
Breakfast included
5.0 Star Hotel
All hotel details
{"containerClass":null,"containerAttributes":null,"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","moduleList":["handlers"],"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"}},"scriptFlags":null}
Write a Review
Reviews (121)
There are newer reviews for Jao Camp
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year

31 - 35 of 105 reviews

Reviewed 5 March 2016

Amazing people, attention to detail , The Jao family spoilt us. Managers , Newman and Rovey were fantastic. Where else would you get a champagne drive thru in the middle of the bush to finish your game drive ? Jao is not there to impress...More

Response from WildernessSafaris, Manager at Jao CampResponded 7 March 2016

Dear LIEZLPRUTTON, Your golf course analogy is beautifully perfect. Thank you so much for your kind review we are delighted to read all your wonderful memories and overjoyed with the high recommendation. Thank you again, The Team at Jao

Reviewed 1 March 2016

Waking up to the sound of hippos, seeing water birds at sunset, elephants drinking and bathing, papyrus growing in watery lanes while being cared for by staff that know their jobs...all this and more, make Jao one of the most memorable places we have visited...More

Thank Joanne o
Response from WildernessSafaris, Manager at Jao CampResponded 4 March 2016

Thank you Joanne O, We are overjoyed to hear you have such wonderful fond memories a couple of years later and sincerely hope your reminiscing will lead to a return visit. We will always have someone to assist you any time you need. We are...More

Reviewed 20 February 2016

Jao camp was our first camp on our month long, 6 camp trip through Africa. The accommodations and location of Jso is absolutely stunning but the game viewing is limited. I recommend this camp to travelers who may wish to relax a bit more than...More

Thank KassandraBrooks
Response from WildernessSafaris, Manager at Jao CampResponded 1 March 2016

Dear KassandraBrooks, Thank you for your fabulous review, we are slightly disappointed that your activities with your guide were not as amazing as some of the other camps you stayed at but will definitely look into this and rectify this immediately should this be the...More

Reviewed 9 February 2016

A great safari destination is the sum of more than the amenities and the game interaction experience; it embraces the ethos, and most particularly the attitude, friendliness, knowledge, and fundamental humanness of the staff. And here Jao excels. The facilities, food, rooms are exceptional and...More

1  Thank Jon Q
Response from WildernessSafaris, Manager at Jao CampResponded 23 February 2016

Dear Jon Q, Thank you for your wonderful review, we are overjoyed to see what an amazing stay you had with us and we are extremely grateful for your high praises. We cannot wait to share your beautiful words with MD as well as our...More

Reviewed 27 January 2016

My wife and I have been in a lot of safari camps, but Jao in the Okavango Delta has to be near the very top of the list: beautiful views, superior lodging, great food, mekoro rides, etc .It's one of those places on our "lets-go-back"...More

Thank Rich B
Response from WildernessSafaris, Manager at Jao CampResponded 3 February 2016

Dear Rich, Thank you for your wonderful review and we do hope we will see you and your wife again soon. Located on a large island in the Okavango’s western enclave, Jao’s position – amongst waterways and lagoons, yet close to seasonal floodplains – means...More

Awards & Recognition
Certificate of Excellence
  • Top amenities
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
  • Hotel Amenities
  • Airport Transportation
  • Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly)
  • Things to do
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
  • Hotel class
  • Room types
  • Suites
  • Number of rooms
  • 9
  • Location
  • Botswana >
  • North-West District >
  • Okavango Delta >
  • Moremi Game Reserve
  • Also Known As
  • Jao Camp Hotel Okavango Delta
Add Photo Photos
Traveller (138)
Room & Suite (26)
Dining (6)
Pool & Beach (4)
Hotel & Grounds (138)
Bathroom (2)
Ask a question
Questions & Answers
15 December 2016|
AnswerShow all 2 answers
Response from WildernessSafaris | Property representative |
Hi there, The activities on offer from Jao camp form part of the overall stay at the camp, where accommodation, meals, local drinks and twice daily scheduled camp activities are included in the nightly rate. These... More
28 September 2016|
Response from WildernessSafaris | Property representative |
Hello Janine, Could we please ask you to contact our enquiries department who is best suited to assist you with availability. There is a direct link from the Wilderness Safaris website alternatively you can email enquiry... More
Fiona H
9 January 2015|
Response from WildernessSafaris | Property representative |
Hello Dave and Fiona, You will love Africa no matter when you come, however the best way to make a decision would be to tell your Travel Agent what you are most interested in seeing - birds, predators - what type of safari... More
Room Tips
"The smaller the room number the further away from the main area you will be."
Read review
"All rooms have river / swamp views. I think rooms 7, 8 or 9 would be my favourite"
Read review
"All rooms are equally exceptional incl bed, lounge, bathroom/vanity, tub, in/out shower, a large outdoor deck..."
Read review
"No bad rooms."
Read review
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more. Claim Your Listing