We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

Jao Camp

Certificate of Excellence
Prices from our online travel partners are not available
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Moremi Game Reserve
07/05/2017 08/05/2017
Show Prices
Management photos
Jao Camp
Add a photo
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"moduleList":["handlers"]},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

112 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
There are newer reviews for Jao Camp
See the most recent reviews
Showing 99: English reviews
Cape Town, South Africa
Reviewed 31 October 2016

My wife and I spent 5 glorious nights at this amazing camp in October. From the minute we arrived the greeting by the staff was warm and genuine. The lodge itself a mind blowing mixture of African / Arabic and Indonesian architecture and the rooms or should I say " Villas " jaw dropping beautiful. The staff especially Pelile and...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank 988allan
WildernessSafaris, Front Office Manager at Jao Camp, responded to this review

Dear Allan and Gail, Thank you for your beautiful review, we too hope to welcome you back to our little slice of paradise soon. We are delighted to see that Pelile, Newman Lydia, Atty and all the fabulous staff in camp were able to help make your entire stay with us a once in a lifetime experience. We look forward...

Reviewed 3 September 2016

I had read of Jao in the book Spectacular Hotels. It lived up to the name! From pervasive exciting game presence - elephants off our deck, hippos underneath our door platform, cape buffalo under the walkway - to terrific food and an amazing staff our stay exceeded even my elevated expectations. We had a once in a lifetime experience with...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Jeb T
WildernessSafaris, Manager at Jao Camp, responded to this review

Dear Jeb, Hearing that Jao both lived up to its name and exceeded your expectations, delights us no end! The Okavango Delta is a truly special place for many reasons, but especially because it provides the opportunity for us to get really close to the wonders of nature - such as the wildlife in and around the camps. Lovely to...

Seattle, Washington
Reviewed 24 July 2016

I couldn't agree more with all the other 5-Star reviews! Jao Camp was beyond expectations! We travelled with our two teenage daughters (before our youngest heads off to college): and had the experience of a lifetime. Highlights: The always amazing food -- the beds with heated blankets (for those slightly chilly nights) -- and the cacophony of sounds from baboons,...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank mimiseattle2016
WildernessSafaris, Public Relations Manager at Jao Camp, responded to this review

Dear Mimiseattle2016, Thank you for the amazing review, we are thrilled to see that every element of your stay exceeded your expectations. We have shared your beautiful words with MT and all the staff in camp who are just as eagerly hoping you will visit us again soon. You will have to come back after your daughter graduates so we...

Atlanta, Georgia
Reviewed 16 July 2016

Every single person on the Jao Camp team wants your stay to be one of the best memories of your life. From the initial welcome with song and dance you will be very happy you chose Jao Camp for a special experience. It also has one of the top rated spas in Botswana, and a massage feels really good after...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank ourcottage
WildernessSafaris, Manager at Jao Camp, responded to this review

Dear ourcottage, Thank you for your amazing review and outstanding recommendation. We are thrilled to see what a wonderful time you had with us. And most of all that you had a chance to enjoy the spoils of the Jao Sap. We will be sure to share your kind words with all our staff in camp, especially OT who you...

Ballito, South Africa
Reviewed 15 July 2016

Jao Camp is an awesome place where you can choose water or terrestrial activities, but be sure to do your research and ask about water levels because the Okavango Delta does have seasonal water at various times and places. Have just visited the gorgeous area and was delighted to be driven by guides who knew how to position us to...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Timmot2016
WildernessSafaris, Manager at Jao Camp, responded to this review

Dear Timmot2016, Thank you for your wonderful review, we are thrilled to see how much you enjoyed your stay with us and delighted you had such a great time with Jakes taking photos. Thank you again Wilderness Safaris

Belgium
Reviewed 2 July 2016

This top of the range camp, which came at the end of a three stop safari in Botswana did not disappoint. The Okavango Delta is a unique environment and gives a completely different take on Africa, combining water-baszd activities (boat rides through the Delta, makoro canoe ride at eye level to the water) with traditional driving safaris, mostly on land;...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Eurofolk
WildernessSafaris, Manager at Jao Camp, responded to this review

Dear Eurofolk, Thank you for your beautiful review, we are delighted to read all your amazing memories of your stay with us and glad to see you were finally able to spot the elusive leopard. We are glad to see we were so highly recommended by your travel agents and hope you will visit us again soon. Kind regards Wilderness...

London, United Kingdom
Reviewed 10 June 2016

This an excellent camp, with great rooms, good service, good guides and an overall nice feel. The food (including the high tea) is of a high standard. Unfortunately, we did not find the wildlife and wildlife viewing that enjoyable.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Sanjay0123456
WildernessSafaris, Manager at Jao Camp, responded to this review

Dear Sanjay, Thank you for your wonderful review, we are glad to see almost all the elements of your stay was able to exceed your expectations. We are sorry however to hear the animals did not cooperate completely. This however is all the luck of the draw at most times with their movement patterns continuously changing. Kind regards Wilderness Safaris

Colorado Springs, CO
Reviewed 7 June 2016

The elevated Jao Camp in the Okavango Delta is like a Tarzan or Swiss Family Robinson movie set, but it's real! I loved this camp for so many reasons; the jungle style, the attention to comfort, the food, the guide and all the people that worked there. Even though the rooms are open to the elements on the water side...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank LCCSCO
WildernessSafaris, Manager at Jao Camp, responded to this review

Dear LCCSCO, Thank you for your amazing review, we are delighted to see how much you enjoyed your stay with us and how many great memories you have of this magical time. We are sorry to hear the staff did not get the information about both your dietary needs but glad to hear our wonderful chef took good care of...

Texas
Reviewed 3 June 2016 via mobile

It started with a Botswanian singing greeting from some of the staff on our arrival to the camp. Friendly relaxed but excellent service throughout. Beautifully decorated rustic camp right on the delta waters. Amazing rooms! Great food! World class spa! Excellent knowledgeable guides for game viewing. Our guide July was great. A Mokoro ( canoe) exploration of the Delta waters...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank osvaldof
WildernessSafaris, Manager at Jao Camp, responded to this review

Dear Osvaldof, Thank you for your wonderful review, we are delighted to see what a great stay you had with us and will be sure to share your kind words with July, Jackson and the entire team in camp. We hope you will visit us again and for a longer stay, as long as you would like. Kind regards Wilderness...

Jupiter, Florida
Reviewed 2 April 2016

Build on pilings above the bush , the well appointed tents give you great wildlife viewing from the privacy of your own room and lots of activity happened below our tent . Elephants and Giraffes were constant visitors and we saw most of the wildlife species living at this part of the world . Needless to say food , drinks...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Flyingplumber
WildernessSafaris, Manager at Jao Camp, responded to this review

Thank you Flyingplumber, for your wonderful review. We are thrilled to read about your fabulous memories of your stay with us. Our elevated rooms and walkways do offer fabulous sights and during the wet season the landscape transforms completely. We hope you will come back soon to see this. If nothing else just to sit in the private sala and...

164 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (126)
Viewed
Room/Suite (14)
Viewed
View from Room (5)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (4)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (15)
Viewed
Dining (4)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
2:41
Videos (2)
Viewed
Other (81)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (38)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (6)
Viewed
Room/Suite (6)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
Dining (2)
Viewed
Other (23)
07/05/2017 08/05/2017
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Moremi Game Reserve
0.0 km away
Cresta Riley's
Cresta Riley's
#1 of 2 in Maun
109 reviews
0.0 km away
Mankwe Bush Lodge
Mankwe Bush Lodge
#1 of 1 in Okavango Delta
44 reviews
0.0 km away
Sanctuary Chief's Camp
Sanctuary Chief's Camp
#7 of 27 in Moremi Game Reserve
202 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 km away
Sanctuary Chobe Chilwero
Sanctuary Chobe Chilwero
#6 of 20 in Chobe National Park
248 reviews
0.0 km away
Great Plains Conservation Selinda Camp
Great Plains Conservation Selind...
#15 of 70 in Okavango Delta
180 reviews
0.0 km away
Mapula Lodge
Mapula Lodge
#18 of 27 in Moremi Game Reserve
79 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
Things to do
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
Room types
  • Suites
Services
  • Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly)
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
A sophisticated and hidden Okavango Delta retreat.Located on a large island in the heart of the Okavango, Jao Camp’s individually handcrafted and luxurious tents look out onto the essence of the Delta – swathes of water, swaying reeds, leaping lechwe and dancing cranes. The main area is an elaborate two-storey wooden structure with lounge and dining area, two plunge pools, a library, curio shop and boma for dining under the stars, complemented by an excellent wine cellar. An award-winning spa and gym epitomise luxury in the most remote, scenically splendid setting.HighlightsJao’s position – amongst waterways and lagoons, yet close to dry Kalahari woodland – means you can enjoy both land and water experiences, depending on the time of year and the level of the waters that move ceaselessly through the area. Here, spectacular herds of red lechwe are followed by lion and leopard, while other game includes tsessebe, giraffe, elephant, hippo and crocodile, occasional sitatunga and regular spotted-necked otter. Experiences: Mokoro • Boating (seasonal) • Seasonal catch-and-release fishing • Day and night game drives • Seasonal hide for sleep-outs or game viewing ... more   less 

Additional Information about Jao Camp

Address: Moremi Game Reserve Border, Moremi Game Reserve, Botswana
Region: Botswana > North-West District > Okavango Delta > Moremi Game Reserve
Price Range: $1,354 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Jao Camp 5*
Number of rooms: 9
Also Known As:
Jao Camp Hotel Okavango Delta
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Jao Camp staff and other travellers.
3 questions
Ask a question

See all questions (3)

Questions? Get answers from Jao Camp staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“All rooms have river / swamp views. I think rooms 7, 8 or 9 would be my favourite”
Rebecca_travelsaway, 16 Apr 2017 | Read review
“All rooms are equally exceptional incl bed, lounge, bathroom/vanity, tub, in/out shower, a large outdoor deck area & siesta napping area.”
SParkerJr, 21 Mar 2017 | Read review
“No bad rooms.”
cameronb482, 3 Jan 2017 | Read review
“6, 7 ,8 probably the best.”
rossano_giachino, 27 Dec 2016 | Read review
“each room is accessed of an elevated walkway. Animals [apart from elephants] can roam freely through the camp.”
raymondmD3218HC, 16 Nov 2016 | Read review
5 of 5