We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

Glen Usk Hotel

Expedia.comUSD 50*
View Deal
04/06/2017 05/06/2017
1 room 2 adults 0 children
Lock in the lowest price from our partners
View Deal
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Professional photos
Glen Usk Hotel
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"moduleList":["handlers"]},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

246 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
There are newer reviews for Glen Usk Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Showing 244: English reviews
Sheerness, United Kingdom
Reviewed 29 November 2016

I visited the hotel with a group of friends called the Forget me Nots.. 25/11/16 for a long weekend Turkey and Tinsel. We was warmly welcomed by Helen and our luggage was swiftly taken to our rooms.. very warm rooms I shared a twin room facing the front overlooking the park. The beds have sheets and blankets... very very tightly...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Libby T
Gemma A, Guest Relations Manager at Glen Usk Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time and trouble to leave your positive feedback it was pleasing to read that overall you enjoyed your stay. We certainly hope you will be back to stay with us again at some point in the future.

Norwich, United Kingdom
Reviewed 18 November 2016 via mobile

We had a lovely 4 nights break with Grand uk coach holiday here. Helen the manager is a lovely caring lady very helpful and good sense of humour and very hard working. The food is very good and the service quick friendly. The rooms clean and daily fresh towels if needed. The beds very comfortable and the room big. The...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank queeny1955
Gemma A, Guest Relations Manager at Glen Usk Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time and trouble to leave your positive feedback it was pleasing to read that overall you enjoyed your stay. We certainly hope you will be back to stay with us again at some point in the future.

Loule, Portugal
Reviewed 15 November 2016

On arrival me and a friend was met by a nodding snoozing elderly lady behind the counter we found this not to damage our arrival at all we found it funny and understood... The hotel is simple,if you are going for decor don't go if your going for a stay in a quaint old building and enjoy the relaxation homely...

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank jackthelassie
Gemma A, Guest Relations Manager at Glen Usk Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time and trouble to leave your positive feedback it was pleasing to read that overall you enjoyed your stay. We certainly hope you will be back to stay with us again at some point in the future.

Manchester, United Kingdom
Reviewed 14 November 2016

We arrived on 12/11/16 for one night with National Holidays and was given a room on the first floor. The room was well decorated and it and its on-suit was very clean, as were the sheets and towels. In the room was a telephone, T.V. and tea/coffee making facilities. The furniture was old but quite serviceable. the double bed was...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Gerald P
Gemma A, Guest Relations Manager at Glen Usk Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time and trouble to leave your positive feedback it was pleasing to read that overall you enjoyed your stay. We certainly hope you will be back to stay with us again at some point in the future.

Chester, United Kingdom
Reviewed 8 November 2016

Booked this hotel online for January 2017. Rang to double check my room was on suite. Began the conversation with 'I have booked a room in January' and was immediately greeted with 'we are not open in January'. I explained I had booked online with the response ' oh she's bloody well opened us in January has she!' Not a...

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank norrisandrita2016
Gemma A, Guest Relations Manager at Glen Usk Hotel, responded to this review

Thank for taking the time and trouble to leaved your comments. Please accept my sincere apologies for the manner in which you were greeted on the telephone, I can assure you that this is not standard practise.

Farnham, United Kingdom
Reviewed 5 November 2016

we stayed at the Glen Usk Hotel for 4 nights, the room was very out dated, we had to get a member of staff to come up and sort out the curtains as they could not be closed. The rad did not work, and the towel rail had bear wires showing, The table in the restaurant was to small to...

 Report
Helpful?
3Thank mrsjjones23
Gemma A, Guest Relations Manager at Glen Usk Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time and trouble to leave your feedback. We do not respond to anonymous postings on TripAdvisor. If you have a genuine point to make, and wish us to investigate and respond to you in writing, please email us at gemma.wilson@theukholidaygroup.com, stating your full name, the date and duration of your stay with us, and your...

Manchester, United Kingdom
Reviewed 30 October 2016 via mobile

Whilst food and entertainment was satisfactory the bedroom was like a step back in history and our room needed refurbishment. Not seen fitted sheets and presurplus blankets in years. The main criticism was the unacceptable behaviours of staff. The main man in the restaurant was very rude with customers. The receptionist was more bothered about smoking in the doorway and...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Mike K
Gemma A, Guest Relations Manager at Glen Usk Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time and trouble to leave your feedback. We do not respond to anonymous postings on TripAdvisor. If you have a genuine point to make, and wish us to investigate and respond to you in writing, please email us at gemma.wilson@theukholidaygroup.com, stating your full name, the date and duration of your stay with us, and your...

Reviewed 27 October 2016

nice hotel excellent food lovely breakfast looking forward to next year hotel was nice the staff were really helpfull close location to centre handy parking free after 5 at night so park 5 go 9 enjoyed myself

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Tony B
Gemma A, Guest Relations Manager at Glen Usk Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time and trouble to leave your positive feedback it was pleasing to read that overall you enjoyed your stay. We certainly hope you will be back to stay with us again at some point in the future.

Gloucester, United Kingdom
Reviewed 24 October 2016

This Hotel was run by a BASIL FAWLTY who loved shouting at paying customers as well as staff, he was rude to almost everyone of us paying guests who had the misfortune to stay there for 3 nights recently, The rooms were cold where he turned the heating off late afternoon/evening/night, only coming on briefly in the morning. Food was...

 Report
Helpful?
3Thank ajllewe
Gemma A, Guest Relations Manager at Glen Usk Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time and trouble to leave your feedback. We do not respond to anonymous postings on TripAdvisor. If you have a genuine point to make, and wish us to investigate and respond to you in writing, please email us at gemma.wilson@theukholidaygroup.com, stating your full name, the date and duration of your stay with us, and your...

Darlington, United Kingdom
Reviewed 17 October 2016

really enjoyed our visit went doe 5 days with National Holidays, Had a lovely room at the front with loads of space, N Very clean and comfy. Does need a bit of TLC. Our radiator was not working on arrival but within five minutes someone came and sorted it. Lovely food and plenty of choice. Many thanks to Helen and...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Prince37055
Gemma A, Guest Relations Manager at Glen Usk Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time and trouble to leave your positive feedback it was pleasing to read that overall you enjoyed your stay. We certainly hope you will be back to stay with us again at some point in the future.

81 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (72)
Viewed
View from Room (4)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (18)
Viewed
Room/Suite (15)
Viewed
Bathroom (5)
Viewed
Other (29)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (9)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (4)
Viewed
Dining (3)
Viewed
Room/Suite (2)
04/06/2017 05/06/2017
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Llandrindod Wells
0.1 km away
Metropole Hotel
Metropole Hotel
#1 of 3 in Llandrindod Wells
1,289 reviews
0.1 km away
Hotel Commodore
Hotel Commodore
#3 of 3 in Llandrindod Wells
230 reviews
10.1 km away
Cedars Guest House
Cedars Guest House
#2 of 3 in Builth Wells
54 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 km away
The Montpellier Hotel
The Montpellier Hotel
#23 of 32 in Llandrindod Wells
5 reviews
2.5 km away
Three Wells Hotel
Three Wells Hotel
#2 of 5 in Howey
167 reviews
0.3 km away
Llanerch Inn 16th Century Hotel
Llanerch Inn 16th Century Hotel
#16 of 32 in Llandrindod Wells
76 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Free Internet
  • Free Parking
Things to do
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Family Rooms
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Public Wifi
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Meeting Rooms
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Located in the centre of Llandrindod Wells, overlooking Temple Gardens the Glen Usk Hotel offers a warm welcome for all visitors, whether the group or coach visitor, conference delegate, independent or family holiday makers and business visitors. The hotel boasts a restaurant overlooking the gardens with a fine table d'hote menu and a spacious lounge bar with access onto the ornate veranda. Entertainment for residents is held on a regular basis. There is a lift to all floors. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Glen Usk Hotel

Address: South Crescent, Llandrindod Wells LD1 5DH, Wales
Region: United Kingdom > Wales > Powys > Llandrindod Wells
Price Range: $54 - $128 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Glen Usk Hotel 2*
Number of rooms: 79
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Priceline, TripOnline SA and LateRooms so you can book your Glen Usk Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Glen Usk Hotel Llandrindod Wells, Wales
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Glen Usk Hotel staff and other travellers.
5 questions
Ask a question
Preston, United Kingdom
10 months ago
6 months ago

See all questions (5)

Questions? Get answers from Glen Usk Hotel staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“The best rooms are at the front as these face onto a park”
billbQ5442OU, 3 Apr 2017 | Read review
“Ask for a quiet room when booking.”
johnmoorse, 30 Mar 2017 | Read review
“Front...overlooking small park”
189clareb, 27 Mar 2017 | Read review
“206 faced park twin beds”
LibbyT571, 28 Nov 2016 | Read review
“The highest room we felt was private and de reached from the rest of the rooms”
jackthelassie, 15 Nov 2016 | Read review
5 of 5
Expedia.com
USD 50* /night
View Deal
LateRooms.comUSD 65
Hotels.comUSD 51
Booking.comUSD 52
View all 8 deals
*Disclaimer
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Change dates