We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

Ord House Hotel

Certificate of Excellence
11/06/2017 12/06/2017
1 room 2 adults 0 children
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Professional photos
Ord House Hotel
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"moduleList":["handlers"],"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"containerClass":null,"scriptFlags":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

78 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
Showing 70: English reviews
Start your review of Ord House Hotel
 Click to rate
Aberdeen, United Kingdom
Reviewed 1 week ago NEW

We spent the weekend here and have a lot to say... There are a few positives but many negatives which is a real shame. Lets start with the positives, the hotel is located in a secluded peaceful setting very close to the Muir of Ord distillery. Its a lovely old building dating from 1647 and has ample parking set in...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank maraalfa
Reviewed 14 April 2017 via mobile

A nice place to stay. A nice old house in a very nice location off the road and behind Glen Ord distillery. The room was nice and the food was good too with a good cooked breakfast and nice coffee in the morning. The bar was good to relax and have a local beer from the Black Isle Brewery. There...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank John M
21Eliza, Owner at Ord House Hotel, responded to this review

So pleased you enjoyed your stay here and Poppy will be very pleased to be mentioned - she works hard at keeping her place in front of the fire! Hope to see you next time you are up this way.

Reviewed 12 October 2016

This hotel was rather strange. I don't think it should be called a hotel, rather a B&B. The long drive was terribly potholed not what you would expect for a hotel. The room was big but had a very creaky bed & no TV. We ate in the small bar which was cosy with a fire & could not fault...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Hilary P
Reviewed 26 September 2016 via mobile

My partner brought me to the highlands as a surprise for my birthday and we stayed at this hotel. I was not disappointed! The surroundings were idyllic, the hotel was beautiful and the staff were extremely welcoming. The food was also very delicious. If you want a hotel full of character then this is the one for you. I truly...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Hazelj87
Burbank, California
Reviewed 17 September 2016

We spent three nights at Ord House and really enjoyed it. While it first appears a bit worn, that was a part of the charm of the place! There are several cozy sitting rooms - and the warm fires set the tone for a quiet lovely place to relax. Be certain to spend some time in the bar complete with...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Kmclaughlin96
21Eliza, Owner at Ord House Hotel, responded to this review

So pleased that you enjoyed your stay here and everyone did their bit to contribute to that enjoyment. I will pass your remarks onto Poppy - the sleeping Labrador! Hope to see you back sometime and by next summer the drive should be repaired.

West Virginia
Reviewed 16 September 2016

On first arrival we were a bit concerned about what we had gotten ourselves into. The road coming in was full of craters and the building showed signs of wear inside and out. But after meeting Johnny, the proprietor, his staff, James and Holly, and the dogs, Poppy and Bella, we realized that this place was steeped in warmth and...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Karen M
21Eliza, Owner at Ord House Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for your kind words and we are so pleased that you enjoyed your stay. It means a lot to all of us to realise that our efforts are appreciated . Hope to see you back here and mending to he drive is top of the list for this winter!

London, United Kingdom
Reviewed 15 September 2016 via mobile

The seat of the Mckenzie's. Could be said to be a little tired but more like character as not the polished country mansion. It's 400 years old so expect some worn around the edges but is very comfortable. This place is very dog friendly so expect dogs in the bar. The young couple doing most of the running just for...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Essexboy10
21Eliza, Owner at Ord House Hotel, responded to this review

So pleased that you did enjoy your couple of days here and we hope that you will be back again.

Poole, United Kingdom
Reviewed 12 September 2016

..................If you want charming,atmospheric and friendly then it is.All in a lovely 400 year old building and nice grounds. The staff were friendly, informative and made sure you had all you needed. The rooms are charming period rooms, clean, warm and comfortable, if a little worn around the edges. The food and the basement bar were great and I enjoyed...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank tony-wimborne
21Eliza, Owner at Ord House Hotel, responded to this review

So pleased you enjoyed your stay here. It was a pleasure having you and we hope that you will be back. Its lovely when guests appreciate the house!

Reviewed 9 September 2016

It has been almost a year since I've been to this hotel and I honestly wish I could go back soon! I live in the U.S and this was my first trip to Europe and honestly it was the best way to begin that trip!! The hotel is so perfect and everything that I had hoped for!! I have recommended...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Pamela Ann I
21Eliza, Owner at Ord House Hotel, responded to this review

We are looking forward to seeing you back here as well!!

Lisburn, United Kingdom
Reviewed 30 August 2016

We have just returned from an enjoyable four night stay at Ord House Hotel. The hotel is situated in very quiet wooded grounds, well away from the road. Our room had a pleasant outlook over the gardens. It featured some creaky floorboards, as must be expected in a house of this age. The bathroom was clean and modern. Some updating...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank John S
21Eliza, Owner at Ord House Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for the very honest review you have given and I am so pleased that you enjoyed your stay. It was a pleasure to have you here. We continue to mend and update rooms and furnishings - a bit like the forth road bridge - it is a never ending job! We look forward to you coming back to...

43 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (22)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (18)
Viewed
Room/Suite (1)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
View from Room (1)
Viewed
Other (1)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (21)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (11)
Viewed
Room/Suite (5)
Viewed
View from Room (2)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
Other (2)
11/06/2017 12/06/2017
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Muir of Ord
7.9 km away
Coul House Hotel
Coul House Hotel
#1 of 2 in Contin
761 reviews
7.6 km away
Kinkell House Hotel
Kinkell House Hotel
#2 of 3 in Dingwall
127 reviews
1.4 km away
The Dower House
The Dower House
#1 of 1 in Muir of Ord
32 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
10.4 km away
Tulloch Castle Hotel
Tulloch Castle Hotel
#1 of 3 in Dingwall
706 reviews
4.2 km away
Priory Hotel
Priory Hotel
#1 of 4 in Beauly
313 reviews
11.6 km away
Bunchrew House Hotel
Bunchrew House Hotel
#6 of 34 in Inverness
601 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Breakfast included
About the property
  • Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
Things to do
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
Room types
  • Suites
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Family Rooms
Internet
  • Public Wifi
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly)
  • Breakfast included
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Laundry Service
  • Concierge
  • Multilingual Staff
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Historic 17th-century country house hotel set in 60 acres of gardens and woodlands. Comfortable and spacious bedrooms with en-suite bathrooms and views over the garden. Log fires in all public rooms including the 'gun room bar'. AA rosette for food. Emphasis on using fresh, locally sourced produce. Dogs welcome. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Ord House Hotel

Address: 3 Ord Drive, Muir of Ord IV6 7UQ, Scotland
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Scottish Highlands > Muir of Ord
Price Range: $180 - $248 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Ord House Hotel 2*
Number of rooms: 12
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline and Agoda so you can book your Ord House Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ord House Hotel Muir Of Ord, Scotland
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Questions? Get answers from Ord House Hotel staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Avoid at all costs”
alisont450, 21 Aug 2016 | Read review
“Need to be fit to get to the upper floor rooms.”
  • Another large reception room to right, reception area hidden.
UKDiver2007, 29 Jun 2016 | Read review
“Ask for the four poster it ads to the experience of this Charing hotel.”
markydog, 22 Jun 2016 | Read review
“Eat at the hotel, best place in the area.”
204tom, 18 May 2016 | Read review
“Best views are from the upstairs rooms but all the rooms seem to have views across the large, well kept gardens”
Yorkie2013, 14 Aug 2015 | Read review
5 of 5
No availability for your dates from these sites
Agoda.com
* /night
View Deal
Booking.com
Priceline
*Disclaimer
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Change dates