We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

Sonesta Maho Beach Resort & Casino

Show Prices
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
1 room
Check In Check Out
Please enter your travel dates to continue
Check Availability
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Professional photos
Sonesta Maho Beach Resort & Casino
Sonesta Maho Beach Resort & Casino
Panoramas (11)
View Map
{"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null,"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"}}}
Add Photo Write a Review

3,558 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
There are newer reviews for Sonesta Maho Beach Resort & Casino
See the most recent reviews
Showing 3,061: English reviews
Chaguanas, Caroni, Trinidad and Tobago
Reviewed 2 June 2014

I visited this hotel with my husband for my birthday between 21st - 24th May 2014. I regret that my husband didn't have more time to research a more decent hotel. Customer Service: The best service we received at Sonesta Maho was upon arrival at reception, where we were greeted with a beverage and a cold towel. Reception was very...

 Report
Helpful?
6Thank Ruslene T
Amanda F, Manager at Sonesta Maho Beach Resort & Casino, responded to this review

Dear Ruslene T, Thank you for taking the time out to review your recent stay with us. It’s unfortunate to see that you did not enjoy your time with us, like we hoped you would, but it is nice to hear that you felt safe on our property and that you enjoyed the views from your Premium Ocean View Room....

Edmonton, Canada
Reviewed 1 June 2014

My husband and I traveled in many countries all over the World but recently vacationed for the first time in Sint Maarten. We stayed at Sonesta Maho Beach resort and had the best time ever. The hotel was very clean and there were daily entertainment activities for children and adults. Out room was on the 8th floor with a breathtaking...

 Report
Helpful?
3Thank ccicerone
Amanda F, Manager at Sonesta Maho Beach Resort & Casino, responded to this review

Dear ccicerone, First of all, thank you for choosing to have celebrated your 30th Wedding Anniversary with us at our Resort and for leaving a review about your time spent with us. We appreciate all the positive feedback regarding our rooms, views, food and staff. Here at Sonesta Maho Beach Resort, we want to do everything we can to make...

Montreal, Canada
Reviewed 1 June 2014

back from my 26th visit at the Sonesta Maho and it wont be the last.as per the usual eveything was just perfect.this time i had the change to go to the Sports Bar witch is part of the all inclusive the meal was delicious i had the steak very well cooked and my friend had the ribs and still talking...

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank guylaine c
Amanda F, Manager at Sonesta Maho Beach Resort & Casino, responded to this review

Dear Guylaine C, Thank you for your positive review about your recent stay to our Resort. We are so happy to hear that you enjoyed everything about your time with us, especially the food, beautiful rooms, housekeeping services and our friendly & helpful staff! We will pass on your feedback to each employee mentioned, it's nice to see that so...

Toronto, Canada
Reviewed 1 June 2014

We've visited this hotel quite a few times....each time we stayed we were treated like family. The rooms have been renovated, which gives it a fresh look (no complaints, as ours was cleaned daily along with lots of toiletries provided). The reason we keep coming back is because of the people and the food!! Milton, Kemption and Sharon (please keep...

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank RAFIENA R
Amanda F, Manager at Sonesta Maho Beach Resort & Casino, responded to this review

Dear Rafiena R, First of all, thank you for choosing to continue to stay with us; we love when our guests keep coming back. We truly want each and every guest to have a fantastic vacation and to leave our Resort happy, relaxed and more refreshed than ever, and it’s great to hear you keep leaving our Resort with positive...

Sault Ste. Marie
Reviewed 1 June 2014

Firstly, let me say that before visiting St. Maarten, I tried to decide on the Sonesta Maho Beach Resort or its 'sister' resort (the Sonesta Great Bay). I decided to choose the Sonesta Great Bay even though it was more expensive. However, when we arrived at the St. Maarten airport (we traveled with Sunwing), we were told that we were...

 Report
Helpful?
4Thank roamingprofessor
Amanda F, Manager at Sonesta Maho Beach Resort & Casino, responded to this review

Dear roamingprofessor, Thank you for taking the time out to write your positive review about our property. We always love to hear when our guests enjoyed their time with us, because on behalf of all of our staff here, we really want to make every guest stay with us as memorable as possible. Among so many of the good things...

Tacoma, Washington
Reviewed 31 May 2014

Amanda was the best!! She is so sweet and an awesome person. The location was very good, loved the planes coming into the airport it seemed like you could touch them. Of course they were loud but what do you expect and they only fly during the day. The food was delicious and good drinks as well.

 Report
Helpful?
3Thank Tammy L
Amanda F, Manager at Sonesta Maho Beach Resort & Casino, responded to this review

Dear Tammy L, Thank you for taking the time out to write your review about your time with us. We're glad to hear that you had a great time while staying at our Resort and thank you for highlighting our food and drinks. We'll also make sure to pass on your kind words to Amanda. We hope to see you...

Columbus, Ohio
Reviewed 31 May 2014 via mobile

I've visited this hotel numerous times - and stayed only because it is chosen for me by my company. The checking process is often very slow with personal preferences ignored. Rooms are generally clean but in poor repair - faucets rusty and not very functional - water not clear - television very unclear - door latches difficult to make work...

 Report
Helpful?
3Thank PapaYankee
Amanda F, Manager at Sonesta Maho Beach Resort & Casino, responded to this review

Dear PaPaYankee, Thank you for taking the time out to provide us your feedback about our Resort. We apologize that you did not enjoy your time with us, as much as we hoped you would. We have spoken to the Front Desk to pass on your feedback. We are also in the process of renovating our hotel rooms, so next...

New York
Reviewed 31 May 2014

We just returned and thoroughly enjoyed ourselves on this vacation. I was nervous after reading some of the negative reviews. I found the staff to be extremely friendly and helpful. Everyone from the front desk to the towel hut to the bars to the wait staff - could not be more accommodating. There were plenty of choices for breakfast which...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank VCBeachGirl
Toronto, Canada
Reviewed 31 May 2014

We were there May16 - 23. Took a taxi to the resort,paid 10.00$, but I read later that it should be 6$ for 2 passengers with 2 bags, but I cannot verify that. Takes about 7 minutes to reach the resort.Check in was smooth. I could compare quality of the rooms as we had other friends and family on different...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Cedric J
Amanda F, Manager at Sonesta Maho Beach Resort & Casino, responded to this review

Dear Cedric J, Thank you very much for sharing your comments about your recent stay to Sonesta Maho Beach Resort. We are in the process of improving our rooms and by the next time you come back to visit us, we’re sure you’re going to enjoy the "new look". The pizza is a real hit at our Resort, and the...

Morristown, New Jersey
Reviewed 30 May 2014

Traveled with a group 5/18to 5/23, After reading about sickness and dirty smells and gross food, I wasn't overally excited but I'm usually just happy being on vacation and little things don't bother me. Well, then came the front desk. I will sum it up by long wait, and 10 ppl wandering around purposely going out of their way to...

 Report
Helpful?
3Thank mmoore79
Amanda F, Manager at Sonesta Maho Beach Resort & Casino, responded to this review

Dear mmoore79, We very much appreciate your comments regarding your recent stay with us. We are glad that we beat your expectations and that you had a better time than you thought you would. We apologize that you felt our staff was not as attentive as they should be, and we have passed your feedback on to the appropriate Manager....

3,080 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (2574)
Viewed
View from Room (196)
Viewed
Room/Suite (169)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (483)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (424)
Viewed
Dining (189)
Viewed
Business Centre/Function Rooms (8)
Viewed
Bathroom (30)
Viewed
Family/Play Areas (11)
Viewed
0:29
Videos (4)
Viewed
Other (1060)

TripAdvisor Photos: Professional photos exclusively commissioned by TripAdvisor

Viewed
All TripAdvisor Photos (426)
Viewed
Amenities (126)
Viewed
Beach (41)
Viewed
Deluxe Room (43)
Viewed
Pool (28)
Viewed
Pool-Ocean View Room (39)
Viewed
Premier Island View Room (33)
Viewed
Dining (50)
Viewed
The Hotel (66)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (80)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (22)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (9)
Viewed
Room/Suite (17)
Viewed
Business Centre/Function Rooms (4)
Viewed
Bathroom (3)
Viewed
Family/Play Areas (11)
Viewed
Dining (11)
Viewed
View from Room (2)
Viewed
Other (1)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Maho
11.0 km away
The Westin Dawn Beach Resort & Spa, St. Maarten
10.3 km away
Grand Case Beach Club
Grand Case Beach Club
#3 of 8 in Grand Case
1,661 reviews
0.6 km away
Alegria
Alegria
#5 of 7 in Simpson Bay
147 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.4 km away
Mercure Saint-Martin Marina & Spa
0.3 km away
Sonesta Ocean Point Resort
7.1 km away
Sonesta Great Bay Beach Resort, Casino & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Pool
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
  • Restaurant
  • Beachfront
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Spa
About the property
  • Beachfront
  • Wheelchair Access
Things to do
  • Pool
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
  • Restaurant
  • Casino and Gambling
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Spa
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Family Rooms
  • Suites
In your room
  • Air Conditioning
  • Minibar
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Public Wifi
Services
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly)
  • Dry Cleaning
  • Laundry Service
  • Concierge
  • Banquet Room
  • Multilingual Staff
  • Conference Facilities
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
With its limitless all-inclusive meals, drinks, Kids Club and scheduled activities program, Sonesta Maho Beach Resort & Casino is a destination within a destination, offering exhilarating fun with the island's most exciting nightlife, a variety of accommodations and first-rate amenities for singles, couples and families. The 10-acre, 395-room beachfront property is conveniently located on St. Maarten's southwest shore just minutes from the airport and features a large signature Oasis pool area with swim-up pool bar, cascading waterfalls and separate kids pool, oceanfront wedding gazebo, five restaurants and bars, fitness center, four tennis courts, and more than 24,000 square feet of meeting space. Enjoy other amenities including Maho Serenity Spa and the destination's largest gaming emporium Casino Royale as well as access to motorized water sports for an additional fee. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Sonesta Maho Beach Resort & Casino

Address: 1 Rhine Road, Maho, St. Maarten-St. Martin
Region: Caribbean > St. Maarten-St. Martin > Sint Maarten > Maho
Price Range: $357 - $752 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Sonesta Maho Beach Resort & Casino 3.5*
Number of rooms: 395
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, BookIt.com, West Indies, Sabre Hospitality Solutions, Priceline, Odigeo and Travelocity so you can book your Sonesta Maho Beach Resort & Casino reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sonesta Maho Beach Hotel
St Martin Sonesta
Sonesta St. Maarten/St. Martin
St Maarten Sonesta
Maho Beach Hotel
St. Maarten/St. Martin Sonesta
Hotel Style:
#2 Casino Hotel in Maho
#2 Spa Hotel in Maho
#2 On the Beach Hotel in Maho
#2 Top resorts Hotel in Maho
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Sonesta Maho Beach Resort & Casino staff and other travellers.
366 questions
Ask a question

See all questions (366)

Questions? Get answers from Sonesta Maho Beach Resort & Casino staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Premium Room, Floors 6 and above.”
 of 5 bubbles wriggles89, 9 Dec 2016 | Read review
“6th floor and up are the most new and the views are beautiful!”
 of 5 bubbles karinezangao, 7 Dec 2016 | Read review
“Choose ocean or garden but specify not facing the main street!”
 of 5 bubbles EthelM609, 7 Dec 2016 | Read review
“Stay away from the rooms facing Rhine road if you are a light sleeper”
 of 5 bubbles George4321, 6 Dec 2016 | Read review
“Try to get a room not facing the clubs as the unz unz unz can get quite annoying after 11pm.”
 of 5 bubbles miki_018, 4 Dec 2016 | Read review
5 of 5
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay