We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

Auchenlarie Holiday Park

Pitchup.comUSD 28*
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
11/06/2017 12/06/2017
1 room 2 adults 0 children
Lock in the lowest price from our partners
View Deal
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Professional photos
Auchenlarie Holiday Park
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

608 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
Showing 607: English reviews
Start your review of Auchenlarie Holiday Park
 Click to rate
Reviewed 6 days ago NEWvia mobile

We took a couple of friends across for a short break in the complex and invited us to join them for our evening meal, it was a great deal 2 courses for £15 and food was really lovely it was a good choice as well.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank 88sdill
Reviewed 6 days ago NEWvia mobile

Just back from a long weekend First of all the site is very clean and tidy We rented a gold caravan and this was very clean and modern and the lovely thing about Auchenlairie is that every van has its own decking The swimming pool is small but again very clean (£1 non refundable lockers?) Unfortunately the arcades are pretty...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank stuart m
Deb M, Manager at Auchenlarie Holiday Park, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to post your comments. Very disappointing for us that the arcade has had a few problems. We use an outside company to provide and maintain the machines. All reported problems will be rectified as soon as possible. Pleased you were happy with the accommodation and that you had an enjoyable holiday with us.

Glasgow, Scotland, United Kingdom
Reviewed 1 week ago

Just back from here :) I never give any place an Excellent in a review but need to now :) We went for three nights and stayed for six it was amazing id recommend it to anyone only cost us £43 for three nights :) Lovely place , Great food not cheap crap and Not over expensive like other caravan...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank fireballmcnailz
Preston, United Kingdom
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Well after a ten year break I took my teenage son here .he was a toddler last time we were here.Has it was just the two of us I went for the basic bronze 6 berth caravan ,The cheapest one,so imagine my surprise when I arrived at a brand new caravan 2017 with a great sea view .i kept expecting...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank lancashirehotpot50
Deb M, Manager at Auchenlarie Holiday Park, responded to this review

Thank you for your review - long time no see! Great comments, and comments that have been passed on to senior partners regarding teenager activity. Unfortunately, we have been having issues with the WiFi. We use a third-party provider and they have informed up new infrastructure is planned and that BT were doing 'something'!

Newton Stewart, United Kingdom
Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

Lovely meal food great good priced view amazing staff friendly not long to wait to be served caravan park looking great too always entertainment on at night hill down to the beach but beautiful clean beach

 Report
Helpful?
Thank mmclymont1
UK, Shropshire
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

Firstly we had a great time at Auchenlarie, the location is great, facilities great and the staff are really helpful, if you travel for miles and want to smaple scotland, this is a great starting point. My Advice, depending on weather, the pitches (A, B, C, D, E, F, etc) are all hard standing on top of hill, you will...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Gwagg
Deb M, Manager at Auchenlarie Holiday Park, responded to this review

Thank you for your comments. We do occasionally have issues with reception for TV / Internet and mobile. Sometimes the volume of users affects access to internet; mobile phone signal? Again, we are at the mercy of providers - we find a cheap Vodafone pay-as-you go works if you need to access an emergency number whilst on Park. We are...

Reviewed 22 April 2017 via mobile

Booked a 4 night break with the family staying in a bronze pet friendly caravan (£250) was very pleasantly suprised by the caravan. Views were wonderful staff were friendly, forget the name of the lady from the west coast who does the singing on Wednesday and looks after the kids entertainment but she was absolutely amazing at her job!!! A...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Joe D
Deb M, Manager at Auchenlarie Holiday Park, responded to this review

Thank you for your very constructive comments. We use all comments, they help us to maintain and where necessary, improve our service to our guests. Will certainly pass on your comments to our entertainment team - pleased you enjoyed what they put on. Sorry the food was a disappointment for you - again, your comments will be passed on.

Reviewed 22 April 2017 via mobile

I came to this park with my family of 2 daughters 5 and 11 and son of 13 and obviously my wife got check in straight away great got to Van (not great) as we didn't arrive till late we could not sort anything with reception So had to spend our first night in a very dates can with issues...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Stephen B
Deb M, Manager at Auchenlarie Holiday Park, responded to this review

I am so pleased we were able to offer you alternative accommodation. Our Reception Team are very customer focussed and it is a credit to them that any issues are swiftly dealt with. Thank you for your comments and great that you will be returning to us.

Newcastle upon Tyne, United Kingdom
Reviewed 20 April 2017 via mobile

I booked a bronze 2bed caravan through hoseasons mon - fri. Lovely clean new caravan number 92R. Beds are not made up on arrival but i only paid £160 for holiday so wasnt too fussed. There was no outside seating on decking and no oven gloves for oven. Site is nice, theres a mix of old, very old and new...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Erin D
Deb M, Manager at Auchenlarie Holiday Park, responded to this review

Thank you for your interesting comments, some of which have been passed on to senior management. We respond to all criticisms - good and not so good. Did you make a complaint regarding the temperature of your food? If you had I feel sure we would have made every effort to rectify the problem with replacement meals. We do have...

South Lanarkshire, United Kingdom
Reviewed 19 April 2017 via mobile

Booked a 2 bedroom caravan, which was spotlessly clean and had a great outlook (red zone). Very hilly park so need good walking legs to go up and down to the complex. Soft play area and swimming pool were great, never too busy and kids had a ball = Hit The newly refurbished restaurant is lovely and reasonably priced -...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Louise G
Deb M, Manager at Auchenlarie Holiday Park, responded to this review

Your comments regarding no allocation of pitches has been passed to senior management. We do respond to all criticisms - good and not so good - it is the way we can continue to maintain and where necessary, improve our service. Our newly refurbished Surfside Bistro Restaurant - with the boat, the Smuggler's Tryst - has been a huge success....

380 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (363)
Viewed
View from Room (50)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (32)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (15)
Viewed
Bathroom (9)
Viewed
Room/Suite (30)
Viewed
Dining (9)
Viewed
Family/Play Areas (7)
Viewed
Other (211)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (17)
Viewed
View from Room (1)
Viewed
Other (16)
11/06/2017 12/06/2017
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Castle Douglas
7.5 km away
Bank of Fleet Hotel
Bank of Fleet Hotel
#2 of 3 in Gatehouse of Fleet
77 reviews
24.9 km away
Imperial Hotel
Imperial Hotel
#4 of 5 in Castle Douglas
80 reviews
25.1 km away
The Market Inn Hotel
The Market Inn Hotel
#1 of 5 in Castle Douglas
74 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
14.3 km away
The Selkirk Arms Hotel
The Selkirk Arms Hotel
#1 of 4 in Kirkcudbright
460 reviews
18.4 km away
Conifers Leisure Park
Conifers Leisure Park
#1 of 10 in Newton Stewart
272 reviews
21.0 km away
The Old Station House
The Old Station House
#4 of 13 in Castle Douglas
62 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Pool
  • Beachfront
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
About the property
  • Beachfront
  • Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Things to do
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
Room types
  • Kitchenette
Internet
  • Paid Wifi
Services
  • Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly)
  • Free Parking
  • Laundry Service
  • Self-Serve Laundry

Additional Information about Auchenlarie Holiday Park

Address: Gatehouse of Fleet, Castle Douglas DG7 2EX, Scotland
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Dumfries and Galloway > Castle Douglas
Price Range: $24 - $112 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 49
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Booking.com and PitchUp so you can book your Auchenlarie Holiday Park reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Auchenlarie Holiday Park Hotel Castle Douglas
Auchenlarie Holiday Park Castle Douglas, Scotland
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Auchenlarie Holiday Park staff and other travellers.
50 questions
Ask a question

See all questions (50)

Questions? Get answers from Auchenlarie Holiday Park staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Avoid BH weekends for Touring or Caravans”
Gwagg, 25 Apr 2017 | Read review
“Request a sea view you wont be disappointed.”
stephenmclean23, 12 Mar 2017 | Read review
“Blue Zone for location to entertainment”
wwfc79, 6 Mar 2017 | Read review
“Make sure of the grade of the caravan.....”
Mazz24v, 28 Feb 2017 | Read review
“Upgrade to better caravans”
Q3898BGcolinc, 22 Feb 2017 | Read review
5 of 5
Pitchup.com
USD 28* /night
View Deal
Priceline
Booking.com
*Disclaimer
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Change dates