We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

Ballachulish Hotel

Hotels.comUSD 121*
View Deal
19/06/2017 20/06/2017
1 room 2 adults 0 children
Lock in the lowest price from our partners
View Deal
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Professional photos
Ballachulish Hotel
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"moduleList":["handlers"]},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

1,150 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
There are newer reviews for Ballachulish Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Showing 1,080: English reviews
Singapore, Singapore
Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

Beautiful hotel with lovely sitting rooms and library. Full of character. Would recommend this hotel to people who are not fussy with rooms and would like to stay in a place with a lot of history. The building itself has been around since early 1900s if I'm not wrong- and there are a lot of lovely paintings around the hallways....

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank auxifer
Hotel-GManager, General Manager at Ballachulish Hotel, responded to this review

Dear auxifer thank you for your comments its good to read that you enjoyed the character of this old building and had a good experience exploring our lounge areas hopefully we will be welcoming you back again soon.

New York City, New York
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

The floors creak and the rooms are somewhat tired but that seems to add to the fun of the hotel. The staff is friendly and efficient and the hotel was a welcome change over the "chain hotels" that we were staying in. We had a room facing the front and the view was positively stunning. There was lots of cabinet...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank elaine212
Hotel-GManager, General Manager at Ballachulish Hotel, responded to this review

Dear elaine212 thank you for such a fantastic review and so nice to hear that you enjoyed all our creaks and traditional feel to the hotel and its great to read that you would definitely recommend us to your friends

Hassocks, United Kingdom
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

Had a 2 night stay here as wanted to explore the area around fort william. Hotel set beside the loch with good views. Hotel is dated but added to the charm so didn't worry me. Room adequate with large bed. They could do with being a bit more thoughtful with tea/coffee such as supplying biscuits and bottled water it was...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank melbowles
Hotel-GManager, General Manager at Ballachulish Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you melbowles for taking the time to write your review its great to hear that you enjoyed your meals with us we are also looking at different options with regards to the tea making facilities and adding shortbread or biscuits.

Sale, United Kingdom
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

Had a very pleasant stopover at the Ballachulish Hotel on the way home fro Harris. Although we didn't arrive until 21.00ish, we were made very welcome. The place was everything you would expect from an old hotel, lovely large rooms, atmospheric creaking stairs and superb guest lounges. We had a pleasant drink in the bar before bed and a friendly...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Greybeard6
Hotel-GManager, General Manager at Ballachulish Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you Greybeard6 for your lovely comments and great review hopefully it wont be to long before your back for a visit

Falkirk, United Kingdom
Reviewed 22 April 2017

popped into the the ballachulish for brunch yesterday , had some lovely bacon and egg sandwiches , been here many times before and again did not let us down , have to give thanks to anita for her welcome , service and attitude ,keep up the good work anita , a credit to the hotel , see you all soon...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank John D
Hotel-GManager, General Manager at Ballachulish Hotel, responded to this review

John D thank you for your wonderful review. All comments have been passed to our relevant teams and yes Anita is a valued member of our staff. Hopefully we will welcome you back soon

Ayr
Reviewed 21 April 2017 via mobile

We stayed here for Easter and the big bonus was being able to bring the dog who also seemed to thoroughly enjoy himself. Food in the restaurant was surprisingly good as we expected bog standard Scottish fare. The only downside was that the room was uncomfortably warm even with the window open, and the breakfast was a bit dried up...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank macbee1910
Hotel-GManager, General Manager at Ballachulish Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you macbee1910 for writing your lovely review. I am pleased to hear you enjoyed the food in our restaurant. Hope to see you return in the future

Northamptonshire, United Kingdom
Reviewed 21 April 2017 via mobile

We booked up a couple of rooms at the aforementioned hotel, it was really reasonably priced at £60 a night per room for Bed & Breakfast. The room (112) was old fashioned and tired but had a clean and comfortable bed, the carpet was stained and old and the furniture was very old fashioned and worn (chair had holes in...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Soupastar39
Hotel-GManager, General Manager at Ballachulish Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Soupastar39 thank you for taking the time to give our hotel a review, The hotel is just starting the first stage of a long term refurbishment plan under the new owner so the next time you hopefully come to see us you will see the differences.

Galashiels, United Kingdom
Reviewed 21 April 2017

Sorry to say this hotel is very run down our room 120 was very dated and in need of some TLC the view was was just of the back of the hotel and we could here the generator or fan . The bed was very comfortable room was clean bathroom was acceptable.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Debbie P
Hotel-GManager, General Manager at Ballachulish Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Debbie P Thank you for taking the time to write your review. Your comments have been passed on to the relevant departments.

London, United Kingdom
Reviewed 19 April 2017

We had a 1 night stay in the hotel, the room was stated to be ready at 2.00 but we had to wait until 3.00, had a tipple in the bar which was comfy and had great views, positives the food in the evening was great value, and very well presented, the service we had from all but the what...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank PhilP812
Hotel-GManager, General Manager at Ballachulish Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Phil P, Thank you for writing your nice review, I have passed your lovely comments on to our restaurant staff. Owen is delighted with regards to his service. Plans are in progress to make improvement with the hotel,I do hope you would consider returning to us one day

bham
Reviewed 18 April 2017

Booked this hotel for 4 nights dinner and breakfast in featured rooms, was allocated room 102 & 103, room 102 was slightly bigger with better views however jacuzzi did not work, room 103 was smaller with just one small Window but with view over loch so pleasant and jacuzzi did work! This hotel is ok for the money for a...

 Report
Helpful?
5Thank BhamLisa
Hotel-GManager, General Manager at Ballachulish Hotel, responded to this review

Dear BhamLisa thank you for taking the time to write your review I am sorry to hear that overall you didn't seem to enjoy your stay but do wish that you had brought this to my attention while you were with us as I am sure we could have rectified things for you there and then especially the choices available...

710 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (476)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (135)
Viewed
View from Room (46)
Viewed
Room/Suite (81)
Viewed
Dining (15)
Viewed
Bathroom (11)
Viewed
Family/Play Areas (4)
Viewed
Business Centre/Function Rooms (2)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (1)
Viewed
Other (181)

TripAdvisor Photos: Professional photos exclusively commissioned by TripAdvisor

Viewed
All TripAdvisor Photos (227)
Viewed
Amenities (16)
Viewed
Feature Double Room (32)
Viewed
Dining (59)
Viewed
Signature Feature Double Room (32)
Viewed
Standard Double Room (34)
Viewed
The Hotel (54)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (7)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (2)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Other (4)
19/06/2017 20/06/2017
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Ballachulish
3.4 km away
Isles of Glencoe Hotel & Leisure Centre
0.4 km away
RiverBeds Luxury Wee Lodges
RiverBeds Luxury Wee Lodges
#1 of 3 in Ballachulish
127 reviews
5.2 km away
Glencoe House
Glencoe House
#1 of 1 in Glencoe Village
305 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 km away
The Loch Leven Hotel
The Loch Leven Hotel
#1 of 2 in North Ballachulish
664 reviews
2.5 km away
Onich Hotel
Onich Hotel
#1 of 2 in Onich
626 reviews
19.2 km away
Inverlochy Castle Hotel
Inverlochy Castle Hotel
#2 of 21 in Fort William
545 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
About the property
  • Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
Things to do
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Family Rooms
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Public Wifi
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Meeting Rooms

Additional Information about Ballachulish Hotel

Address: Ballachulish | just off the main A82 Glasgow to Fort William Road, Ballachulish PH49 4JY, Scotland
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Scottish Highlands > Glencoe > Ballachulish
Price Range: $102 - $294 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Ballachulish Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 53
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Cancelon, Cheap Tickets, Priceline, LateRooms, TripOnline SA, Agoda and HotelQuickly so you can book your Ballachulish Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ballachulish Hotel Glencoe, Scotland
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Ballachulish Hotel staff and other travellers.
18 questions
Ask a question

See all questions (18)

Questions? Get answers from Ballachulish Hotel staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“We were situated at the front of the building overlooking the Loch so can't fault the room we had.”
  • view at back of hotel from car park
  • this was the view from our room
_f_broadbent, 17 May 2017 | Read review
“Since there is no elevator, if you have a hard time with steps, ask for a room on the bottom.”
mlewiscps21, 16 May 2017 | Read review
“As for a room facing the front - it's worth a million dollars!”
elaine212, 3 May 2017 | Read review
“Ask for loch view.”
Greybeard6, 29 Apr 2017 | Read review
“views over the loch”
Kriskirb, 13 Apr 2017 | Read review
5 of 5
Hotels.com
USD 121* /night
View Deal
HotelQuicklyUSD 142
TravelocityUSD 130
Expedia.comUSD 130
View all 13 deals
*Disclaimer
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Change dates